Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronation Street

• 17-09-2008 9:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone else enjoying Corrie at the moment?
    Blanch and her one liners:D
    Beckys character was awful when she arrived on the street but now herself and Roy are great in their scenes together.
    Kirks auntie Pam could be Del Boys sister going around flogging her stuff.
    Even David Platt seems to be happy for once:rolleyes:
    But we all know his character works better when he plays evil David.:D
    When you think that it has been going since 1960 and has passed its 6,000 episode and is still up there with the rest of them and holding its own very well.
    Anyone got a fav storyline , might be nice to be reminded of some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Cazlou

One of my favourites will always be Des's travelling gnome!:D Remember when Derek and Mavis's garden gnome went missing and they kept getting postcards from it!?!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

That was corrie at its best , Mavis and Derek , what a team. No matter how serious the story lines might get in Corrie they always throw in a laugh somewhere. Couldn't
    stop laughing at Vernon singing his song " Don't Fall into The Masons Arms" to Liz,Quality.:D
    And Blanch tonight when yer man Morton was making excuses for his wife trying to make him ill.
    When he said to Blanch and Norris " l made a mistake with my medication "
    Blanch to Norris : " Yes , he told her where to find it ".:D

I didn't see it tonight :( but sure I'll catch a repeat.
    One of the funniest lines from Becky a couple of weeks ago when the chav one was giving Roy abuse for getting her son from the middle of the road "Oi! Kerry Katona!":pac: they better get her and Roy back to their double-act quick sharp!

Any conversation/banter between Norris and Rita is always classic, especially while she's been berating him over Emily's will
    Aww speaking of Rita, I do sometimes wish they'd do a special episode of her going to visit Mavis..that'd be class!:o

Wasn't it Thelma Barlow that played Mavis so well?
    lm sure the actress herself would probably agree to it.
    The viewers would love it too, it would be nice to see things going good for Mavis , maybe having won the lottery or inherited a castle and have all these hunky
    servants,could you just imagine Rita bringing Norris along to visit.His face would be a picture.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Graceland

I remember a funny scene with Bet Lynch. Annie Walker gave her a dress to wear, and when Bet came into the rovers wearing it, all the mens eyes nearly popped out of their heads, because she was showing cleavage. I think it was Len who turned around and said to Annie that he didn't know she had anything like that in her closet. Annie's face was a picture here. I had to laugh when she turned around to Bet and said "You have it on backways".
    You really needed to watch this scene to appreciate it fully.

Graceland wrote: »
    I remember a funny scene with Bet Lynch. Annie Walker gave her a dress to wear, and when Bet came into the rovers wearing it, all the mens eyes nearly popped out of their heads, because she was showing cleavage. I think it was Len who turned around and said to Annie that he didn't know she had anything like that in her closet. Annie's face was a picture here. I had to laugh when she turned around to Bet and said "You have it on backways".
    You really needed to watch this scene to appreciate it fully.

l remember it , classic corrie.
    Also Jack and Vera when he was meeting a redhead in the Rovers and got himself all dressed up in his good gear , saw the redhead at the bar and cosied up to her,
    and when she turned around it was Vera in a wig, she beat him out of the Rovers with her handbag.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Also Jack and Vera when he was meeting a redhead in the Rovers and got himself all dressed up in his good gear , saw the redhead at the bar and cosied up to her,
    and when she turned around it was Vera in a wig, she beat him out of the Rovers with her handbag.:D

:D that was Jack in his Vince St.Clare days, wasn't it? I have to say, i think norris is the best comedic character in a soap on television, he's superb. What I love about Corrie is that it doesn't take itself too seriously - perfect example were the two hairdressers that David was working for - hilariously camp. Can you imagine eastenders having characters like that? Or when Fred Elliot fell down the hole in Audreys garden - another character was being killed off at the time (can't remember who - anyone?) and they interspersed these incredibly sad scenes with scenes of high farce, with fantastic effect.

It was indeed Thelma, such a unique comic talent - have ye ever seen her in Dinnerladies - she's so understated yet fab!

Ah both those scenes you mentioned were great!:D

Do any of you remember Corrie's most chilling death?!

Forget the violence of Charlie and Maxine's deaths - the ultimate passing HAS to go to Curly's stalker (Anne I think her name was) got locked in the cold-room in freshco's and froze to death!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

found this when trying to figure out who died in that scene, it's from boards actually :)
    CORONATION STREET 2005

* Sarah Platt finally gets a nice boyfriend - called Scooter!

* Adam Barlow (son of Mike and grandson of Ken) returns to the Street

* Claire Peacock starts training as a train driver

* This leads to the rumour that producers are planning the biggest stunt
    ever in soap
    history - the Coronation Street train crash would see a train plummeting
    onto the
    cobbles. This part of the storyline has not yet been confirmed, but Tony
    Wood (the
    show's producer) has said it is one of a few possible blockbuster plots
    which they hope
    will beat Mad Maya's revenge

* Mad Maya will be back! Tony Wood revealed in Inside Soap magazine that
    Maya is a
    "fantastic character" and that "Dev and Sunita should not get too cosy
    yet!"

* Tommy, Angela and Katy Harris WILL leave Coronation Street early 2005
    after Katy stabs
    Tommy to death in a frenzied attack which will shock viewers. Insiders have
    said that
    the storyline will be more "gruesome" than when Richard Hillman attacked
    Maxine and
    Emily. Martin will be the number 1 suspect, but Angela will end up taking
    the blame for
    the death. Only Craig will remain in the Street.

* This story leads to the possible introduction of a new family onto the
    Street -
    insiders have reported that an Asian family are a strong possibility.

* Craig and Rosie Webster will turn into Goths, and both will go "off the
    rails" as they
    enter their teenage years.

* Rovers barmaid Violet will announce that she is HIV Positive - news which
    will shock
    boyfriend Jason Grimshaw. However, Jason will end up supporting her.

* Factory worker Kelly Crabtree will embark on a steamy affair with
    newly-single Steve
    McDonald

* Meanwhile, Sally Webster will have an affair with new boss Ian Davenport

* Shelley's relationship with Charlie will take on a frightening new twist,
    as he begins
    to abuse her physically as well as psychologically. Insiders reveal that
    the storyline
    will come to an "explosive" end in mid-2005 - hinting that Charlie will end
    up "far
    worse off than Peter"

* Deirdre and Ken will remarry in early 2005 - but the day will be ruined
    when Deirdre's
    ex (and Tracy's real dad) Ray Langton turns up and drops dead at the
    ceremony.

* This may be the final year for Jack and Vera - both actors Bill Tarmey
    and Liz Dawn
    have suffered serious health problems in recent years, and may leave the
    show next year.
    Rumours suggest the Duckworths will leave on a happy note after winning the
    lottery.

* There will be serious trouble ahead for Danny and Frankie Baldwin in 2005
    - though no
    word as yet what that storyline will involve.

* Meanwhile, Jamie Baldwin will continue his relationship with Leanne
    Battersby for the
    foreseeable future, as will Warren's relationship with Candice.

* Les Battersby and Cilla Brown will marry in one of the most hilarious
    wedding
    ceremonies ever. In actual fact, the storyline was thought up after actors
    Bruce Jones
    and Wendi Peters joked about it at a party after an awards bash - and
    bosses thought it
    was a fantastic idea!

* Dev will be written out of the show indefinitely, after actor Jimmi
    Harkishin was
    warned to take time off to sort out his drug problems or be sacked. Tony
    Wood confirms
    Dev will be coming back.

* Romance is on the cards for David Platt - though no word on who the
    "lucky" girl is
    yet!

* "Big plans" are in store for Maria Sutherland - though no word on what
    storylines may
    be coming up yet!

* Tracy Barlow will depart Coronation Street next year as actress Kate
    Ford's contract
    expires in November. The star has already admitted that she has no
    intention of signing
    on for another year.

* And for the biggest storyline of the year! Factory worker Sonia and cab
    driver Patrick
    will leave after both were axed - will anyone notice?!

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Graceland

I remember this scene so well, it was very funny to watch.

And if you think of that scene and then think of Jack when he found Vera dead , you can so see why Corrie works so well. l needed the tissues for that one.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Jeeze , Corrie's really keeping up with the times Sophie actually mentioned Big Brother tonight.:D