Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Order Unit

• 17-09-2008 3:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭

/////////

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

I know from talking to a couple of public order lads at marlay park gigs, that they were normal beat members who did that course that when gigs are on kit up and go on stand by for trouble.

So sort of a 2 tier system aswell here i gather, with full time PO units and those that are trained and ready to kit up if needs be.

No idea of the training tho

Never said i did, only said i talked to officers who did while at marlay park, thats all.
    Here most Police Stations have a core of trained and equipped 'PO/Level 2/PSU' officers on every shift, who are trained not only to deal with riots but also to deal with particularly dangerous prisoners in custody, i.e cell relocation/extraction, angry man scenarios on the street involving persons armed with anything other than firearms, as well as barricade/siege scenarios. All this can be dealt with locally without calling upon specialist units, on account of units undergoing specialist training.

Has this been fully rolled out now for local officers in AGS?

I know i didnt answer your question fully, but i did inform you that this is the case within dublin anyway.

Just casue it was me who said it doesnt mean it is lies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

metman wrote: »
    It'd be interesting to find out how its translated to Eire.

Hey Metman, come back for a quick visit before the anglicisation process is irreversible.

You're beginning to sound like John Motson " the Republic of Eire".

Only joking, you know we appreciate the input from all our colleagues in blue on "The Mainland" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Metman I seriously hope you are messing about with Clada and Fyr.Fytr.

If your not then I'm afraid you need to get a grip on yourself. The Emergency Services forum is as it says for us to compare tactics, procedure, stories etc and to get to know each other. We do not need a member of AGS, Met, Ambo or whatever slagging off other members. You have contributed greatly to this forum as have others (even non emergency members) but the way you are acting lately, you letting yourself down and the us too.

When this forum began I was hoping that people of all ages and shapes could come here and ask questions without being ridiculed and up until recently we have done that. So far we have been able to regulate ourselves with little need for moderators to intervene.I wish this could continue.

If I have misinterpretated your comments, then I apologise.

TheNog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I' not gonna get into an arguement with you but I'm just saying that maybe you need to take a step back and re-assess some of your comments lately.

TBH I'm am used to both kinds of "walters", the harmless ones and the annoying ones but there is no need to ridicule anybody.

How am i waltering when what i am saying is personal expereince from talking to acutal public order members??

One thing saying i was a member of a pou, complete other thing when i pass on my expierence of communicating with serving members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

I agree. It is one thing to infer that you have more experience of something than you do (= "Waltering").

However, Fyr.Fytr clearly prefaced his comments with a reference to the source (talking to serving members at a gig he worked at) and also made it clear he is not aware of the extent/nature of the training involved.

This is not wrong. Your attitude is. Again, you seek to restrict debate and discussion to a select few. I have made the point before that we all have something to learn from the comments and opinions of those outside our chosen professions - even though these comments may be ill-informed or poorly thought out. I think you agreed with me at that point.

We know Fyr.Fytr's background by now. Granted, he (and others) may have been guilty of over enthusiastic posting (? Waltering) in the past but in this case he has clearly indicated his level of knowledge and where it came from. I think this shows a degree of maturity and represents a progression that all of us here could do well to follow.

If you still have difficulties with this, then perhaps it is you who needs to reflect. I for one do not want to read only the comments of those in any job and none from outsiders.

Cheers, i tried to argue the point but to no avail.

Thanks for using your common sense.

I will freely admit that my previous post may have been out of line, ive apologised, learned from it and moved on. It would be fantastic if some of the members on here followed suit, as the majority are fine very informative willing to answer questions and give advice, just one or two feel the need to nit pick, criticise and discredit anything i say regardless of what it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

metman wrote: »
    Anyone aside from myself and JonAnderton actually have any experience of public order/shield/petrol bombing training?

(Fyr.Fytr your imagination doesn't count son, sorry) :D
    F##K SAKE MAN SETTLE.... relax there......... judging by your opening post the only thing you left out of it was that you had done all this training and were absolutely brilliant at it and came out top of the class.... well done I'm sure. I'm sure FYR FYTR in his role as a fireman has completed courses that would turn your hair grey like that running into burning buildings and stuff that most of us (including policemen) only marvel at from a distance....very far from the actual fire.All he said was he had been talking to a Garda at a concert....."your imagination doesn't count" you said......Well neither does ones own opinion of oneself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I leave ye alone for 10 minutes and look what happens!

I don't think Fyr Fytr actually is one.(Fyrfytr please correct me if i'm wrong)

Correct im an not....yet

Sorry if my username is misleading.

But as 480905 said, all i did say was i was talking to a member, nothing more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

Oh right.........sorry , my mistake. It doesn't really matter what people are or aren't . For an individual to come on and slag off when they obviously don't have a clue who they're posting about ...Like that metman person making comments like " your imagination doesn't count".....That attitude sucks.

480905 wrote: »
    Oh right.........sorry , my mistake. It doesn't really matter what people are or aren't . For an individual to come on and slag off when they obviously don't have a clue who they're posting about ...Like that metman person making comments like " your imagination doesn't count".....That attitude sucks.

I agree. although people disagree the least we can do is be civil, its common courtesy

480905 wrote: »
    Oh right.........sorry , my mistake. It doesn't really matter what people are or aren't

You're right. So long as we're popular.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I like deadwoods attitude.

Agree there eroo, humor is the best medicine.............damn im going to be a crap nurse.

"so you've cancer eh.....a tumor walks into a bar..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Agree there eroo, humor is the best medicine.............damn im going to be a crap nurse.

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »

...and the Barman says "I'm not serving you, you're off your head!"

Ah youve been a patient of mine before then eh :p