Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bertie rides again?

• 16-09-2008 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭

should we not just throw the towel in and ask bertie to come back and get us out of this current pickle? i hear hes available on contract

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

rides your ma! /AH response

Em but yeah I agree I love him what a man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

What in the name of god makes you think Bertie could get us out of this current pickle? Assuming you mean the economic downturn here, it's not something that just happened because of Cowen, all the seeds were planted while Bertie was in power.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I wonder how much he goes for...I'd love to pay him to just come round to my gaff and chill out. I can show him 2 girls 1 cup and he can show me the pics of Mary Harney naked he almost definatly has!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Bertie was in for the good times. Bertie did not provide the good times.

He got out at the best possible time. He may be able to discuss soccer on tv, but mend a worldwide recession he can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

What in the name of god makes you think Bertie could get us out of this current pickle? Assuming you mean the economic downturn here, it's not something that just happened because of Cowen, all the seeds were planted while Bertie was in power.

it s world problem and nothing to do with local irish politicians, nothing can protect you from those banks.

at the same time, bertie back and charlie mc in finance and we would have some wheelers and dealers that might actually have the balls to front the banks about this terrible situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

i love the way bertie just left at the perfect time

he was forced out, he didn't leave, the press back then and now have a lot to answer for. all press people should be shot unless they od on prozac and give us something positive other than jade goody's illness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

Good riddence to bad rubbish. The man is a crook, a lier and a repugnant sniviling little crook. He should have been forced out years ago.As it is he got out just before it all went to ****. Him and his FF cronies and crooks played a huge part in the dreadful economic situation in which we now find ourselves.

Moojuice wrote: »
    Good riddence to bad rubbish. The man is a crook, a lier and a repugnant sniviling little crook. He should have been forced out years ago.As it is he got out just before it all went to ****. Him and his FF cronies and crooks played a huge part in the dreadful economic situation in which we now find ourselves.

don't be an idiot, you can't blame our politicians for todays economic woes. look to your corporations and particularly your banks, they are the real culprits, muppet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

sigh , the thread title is so misleading ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

don't be an idiot, you can't blame our politicians for todays economic woes. look to your corporations and particularly your banks, they are the real culprits, muppet
    Actually, you are mistaken in this. The policies implemented by politicians over the last six to eight years without a doubt contributed greatly to the utterly ruinous situation we find ourselves in at the moment, never mind the "suicide" comments by Mr Ahern. Or have you already forgotten the pay raise he tried to hide by threatening to knock half the drivers off the road?

He should be brought up on charges of treason, tbh.

Actually, you are mistaken in this. The policies implemented by politicians over the last six to eight years without a doubt contributed greatly to the utterly ruinous situation we find ourselves in at the moment, never mind the "suicide" comments by Mr Ahern. Or have you already forgotten the pay raise he tried to hide by threatening to knock half the drivers off the road?

He should be brought up on charges of treason, tbh.

do you really think that a load of irish politicians acting like hoarding squirrels would have actually been able to protect us from this current global crisis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

it s world problem and nothing to do with local irish politicians, nothing can protect you from those banks.

at the same time, bertie back and charlie mc in finance and we would have some wheelers and dealers that might actually have the balls to front the banks about this terrible situation.

the only thing bertie would be doing if he were leader right now is bending over backwards for the unions at the pay talks , our massively bloated and inneficent public service is entirely bertie ahernes doing , the man only saw votes when he sat down to deal , was fine when times were good

do you really think that a load of irish politicians acting like hoarding squirrels would have actually been able to protect us from this current global crisis?
    Who said anything about hoarding? Not spending the record tax receipts on an increasingly bloated and inefficient public sector would have been a good start. Spending them on export based domestic industries, or for gods sake infrastructure so we don't lose 50% of the water through leakage before it hits the taps would have been even better.

Regardless of the useful PR side effect of the financial carnage going on in the international markets at the moment, Irish politicians will ultimately bear the responsiblity for their mismanagement of the economy, and Bertie Ahern top of the bill.

Who said anything about hoarding? Not spending the record tax receipts on an increasingly bloated and inefficient public sector would have been a good start. Spending them on export based domestic industries, or for gods sake infrastructure so we don't lose 50% of the water through leakage before it hits the taps would have been even better.

Regardless of the useful PR side effect of the financial carnage going on in the international markets at the moment, Irish politicians will ultimately bear the responsiblity for their mismanagement of the economy, and Bertie Ahern top of the bill.

there is nothing that could have been done to lessen the impact of what has happened, nothing. things were good and everybody enjoyed it, thats what good times bring. blaming politicians is bullsh!t. banks gave money out to people who really had no long term way of paying it all back. people took the money and never thought about "what if?". people need to take responsibility for their own actions. reading the small print on mortgages, insurance, crediit cards, referendums helps, blaming politicians that the people voted in is just a cop out, grow up and take some responsibility.

there is nothing that could have been done to lessen the impact of what has happened, nothing. things were good and everybody enjoyed it, thats what good times bring. blaming politicians is bullsh!t.
    No, you know whats bullshit? Loosening banking regulations to allow securitisation of just about anything so the banks felt they could pass out loans without consequence. Bullshit is increasing the public pay packet at three times the rate of the private sector. Bullshit is a thirty grand pay rise for a nonentity whose best contribution to the country was to be unceremoniously hauled out of office.
    banks gave money out to people who really had no long term way of paying it all back. people took the money and never thought about "what if?". people need to take responsibility for their own actions. reading the small print on mortgages, insurance, crediit cards, referendums helps, blaming politicians that the people voted in is just a cop out,
    Oh so now its the fault of the people? I thought it was teh evul corporations and banks a minute ago?
    grow up and take some responsibility.
    Step lightly boy, you're out of your depth here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

should we not just throw the towel in and ask bertie to come back and get us out of this current pickle? i hear hes available on contract

Not even Carol Vorderman could make the sums work on this one. Get ready for a rough ride.

Moojuice wrote: »

The current dilemma was coming anyway.

What do you feel the Government did to contribute towards it?

No, you know whats bullshit? Loosening banking regulations to allow securitisation of just about anything so the banks felt they could pass out loans without consequence. Bullshit is increasing the public pay packet at three times the rate of the private sector. Bullshit is a thirty grand pay rise for a nonentity whose best contribution to the country was to be unceremoniously hauled out of office.
    sure it is, but no one forced the people to take the money, did they? no one put a gun to their head and said "here, take this or die mothafu'cka, did they?" no they didn't. your need to blame bertie and his cohorts is lame
    Oh so now its the fault of the people? I thought it was teh evul corporations and banks a minute ago?
    sure the corporations are evil. the banks are even more evil, but no one forced the people to participate. all they had to do was say no and we wouldn't all be in this mess, but could they? NO, they couldn't, thought it would never end, and of course capitalist institutions like banks and insurance companies are going to harvest when the crop of idiots is ripe.
    Step lightly boy, you're out of your depth here.
    just threading water, and anyways, don't be arogant, it really doesn't suit you sir

kraggy wrote: »
    Not even Carol Vorderman could make the sums work on this one. Get ready for a rough ride.

maybe charlie mc would come back too, that'd surely knock the whole thing into place, we need a little trickiness in high places presently

What do you feel the Government did to contribute towards it?
    Theres only like 20 posts in this thread, is it that hard to read them?

no they didn't. your need to blame bertie and his cohorts is lame
    If you have any facts to dispute the evidence laid on the table, feel free to trot it out. I'm not saying all the blame must be laid at their feet, but a poor job was done, at best, if not outright malfeasance, and they must answer for that.
    all they had to do was say no and we wouldn't all be in this mess, but could they? NO
    Well then, let this be an object lesson to all those who dispute the power of marketing.
    just threading water, and anyways, don't be arogant, it really doesn't suit you sir
    Neither do your accusations of muppetry suit you.
    maybe charlie mc would come back too, that'd surely knock the whole thing into place, we need a little trickiness in high places presently
    Charlie Mc has already achieved his own political demise, due to his support of software patents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

sure it is, but no one forced the people to take the money, did they? no one put a gun to their head and said "here, take this or die mothafu'cka, did they?" no they didn't. your need to blame bertie and his cohorts is lame
    And no one let the market spiral out of control so that 40% of all property was sold to speculators either? No one allowed an overly corrupt planning system to continue, increasing the price of zoned and exponentially? No one allowed themselves and their country to become overly dependent on construction? No one forgot/neglected to look after basic infrastructure? No one messed up the privatisation of services such as telephon/broadband? No one neglected to pour money into education and indigenous technology and development? I can keep going all day long with things they could have done and should have done to safeuard this country and its inhabitants but of course you'll just ignore them anyway.

Your arguments also amount to a declaration that families don't deserve a home and shouldn't have paid the going rate for a what is, in your eyes, just a commodity - either that or you admit FF fubar'd the housing market. Which is it???

If you have any facts to dispute the evidence laid on the table, feel free to trot it out. I'm not saying all the blame must be laid at their feet, but a poor job was done, at best, if not outright malfeasance, and they must answer for that.
    i have seen no evidence to support what you say, sure a poor job was done, but in hindsight, from the perspective we have now, no matter how good it was when it was happening, a poor job was always going to be done. there was ample opportunity for the sheep in this country to change their government but they didn't, as wealth rose so too did apathy.
    Well then, let this be an object lesson to all those who dispute the power of marketing.
    consumers consume, even if they don't need it, they must have it, most especially if the jones have it
    Neither do your accusations of muppetry suit you.
    touche, douche
    Charlie Mc has already achieved his own political demise, due to his support of software patents.
    sure, but he and bertie would be a lot better in this situation than biffo and brian. two of them are fu'cked. we'll have enda and eammon in next and where is that going to leave us, fu'ck sake
    Boggle wrote: »
    And no one let the market spiral out of control so that 40% of all property was sold to speculators either? No one allowed an overly corrupt planning system to continue, increasing the price of zoned and exponentially? No one allowed themselves and their country to become overly dependent on construction? No one forgot/neglected to look after basic infrastructure? No one messed up the privatisation of services such as telephon/broadband? No one neglected to pour money into education and indigenous technology and development? I can keep going all day long with things they could have done and should have done to safeuard this country and its inhabitants but of course you'll just ignore them anyway.
    i won't ignore any of them. they are all valid. i'm interested to hear how any of these items, properly managed, would have protected us from the international crises the world is experiencing presently. how we might have been insulated against them. i'd appreciate an insight into how you think the governments policy would have averted the pressures brought on by oil and gas prices, perhaps food is an issue and banking.
    Boggle wrote: »
    Your arguments also amount to a declaration that families don't deserve a home and shouldn't have paid the going rate for a what is, in your eyes, just a commodity - either that or you admit FF fubar'd the housing market. Which is it???
    no they don't. everyone should own their own home but banks should not have given money to people who didn't meet the credit criteria, which they did, they should now have to shoulder the blame. they were giving out money they didn't have

Theres only like 20 posts in this thread, is it that hard to read them?

Your attitude sucks. Someone's very angry tonight. Hold on til I put the toys back in your pram.

I commenced responding before I saw your posts above. Very sorry to have inconvenienced you.

poor toys, huh

touche, douche
    And that was it for suspectdevice, lets have a big round of applause for what will surely become post of the month here on boards.
    Your attitude sucks. Someone's very angry tonight. Hold on til I put the toys back in your pram.

I commenced responding before I saw your posts above. Very sorry to have inconvenienced you.
    Thats alright, its not like bothering to read the thread makes it better for the rest of the posters who put their time and effort into contributing to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

touche, douche
    And that was it for suspectdevice, lets have a big round of applause for what will surely become post of the month here on boards.

It's not like they even rhyme. It would have at least been funny if they rhymed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

there is nothing that could have been done to lessen the impact of what has happened, nothing. things were good and everybody enjoyed it, thats what good times bring. blaming politicians is bullsh!t. .
    Rubbish, politicians couldn't make a decision to make their lives and threw money at the problem. By failing to take action earlier on issues like cost competitiveness they're having a major effect on our future, we are no longer competitive globally cos the govt pumped money into the public service, hiring hundreds of thousands of extra people to do nothing. Where did all the money on the health service go? on wages. that was a political choice because Bertie wanted an easy life. Billions down the drain, billions that could have been putting into something productive like infrastructure. The transport system in Dublin is so bad that the IDA usually helicopter visiting company executives around because they know the traffic would put them off. That was a political decision and they lacked the political will to do it. They wouldn't pull the trigger because they had to make a decision. Instead they prefer to opt for something like a consultant's report, a review of the report, a third opinion on the report and then maybe they make a decision two years later.
    Bertie can head off into the sunset confident he ruined Ireland for the next five years and all of his little calls to the Sindo to bitch about Cowen, who is completely unproven in a downturn and fecked up the only major challenge he's faced politically (health), won't do anything to help him.
    Besides given his memory, he's probably forgotten he was Taoiseach at this stage

Thats alright, its not like bothering to read the thread makes it better for the rest of the posters who put their time and effort into contributing to this thread.

not loved as a child? Already explained that I had commenced replying but got distracted. I asked you a simple question and you showed your twatness.

Its alright, not showing any consideration at all for others merely displays ones manliness and the length of ones langer, which one no doubt uses to bat aside supermodels as one sashays down the street.

jdivision wrote: »
    Rubbish, politicians couldn't make a decision to make their lives and threw money at the problem.
    what does that even mean?
    By failing to take action earlier on issues like cost competitiveness they're having a major effect on our future, we are no longer competitive globally cos the govt pumped money into the public service, hiring hundreds of thousands of extra people to do nothing. Where did all the money on the health service go? on wages.
    i fail to see how this would have stopped the banks from lending too much money to people who really could not have repaid it.
    that was a political choice because Bertie wanted an easy life. Billions down the drain, billions that could have been putting into something productive like infrastructure. The transport system in Dublin is so bad that the IDA usually helicopter visiting company executives around because they know the traffic would put them off.
    That was a political decision and they lacked the political will to do it. They wouldn't pull the trigger because they had to make a decision. Instead they prefer to opt for something like a consultant's report, a review of the report, a third opinion on the report and then maybe they make a decision two years later.

Bertie can head off into the sunset confident he ruined Ireland for the next five years and all of his little calls to the Sindo to bitch about Cowen, who is completely unproven in a downturn and fecked up the only major challenge he's faced politically (health), won't do anything to help him.

Besides given his memory, he's probably forgotten he was Taoiseach at this stage

you fail to see that what is happening here now is not within your control. its all part of a global crisis, which ireland did not cause nor does it have the solution. we just have to ride this one out. heard someone yesterday blame it on ireland not voting in favour of lisbon.

its all part of a global crisis, which ireland did not cause nor does it have the solution. we just have to ride this one out. heard someone yesterday blame it on ireland not voting in favour of lisbon.
    Good lord, how are you not banned yet?

don't be silly, why would i be banned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

there is nothing that could have been done to lessen the impact of what has happened, nothing. things were good and everybody enjoyed it, thats what good times bring. blaming politicians is bullsh!t. banks gave money out to people who really had no long term way of paying it all back. people took the money and never thought about "what if?". people need to take responsibility for their own actions. reading the small print on mortgages, insurance, crediit cards, referendums helps, blaming politicians that the people voted in is just a cop out, grow up and take some responsibility.

spoken like a true fianna failer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

don't be silly, why would i be banned?

Because I say so.
    Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

I don't think Bertie deserves much of the credit for creating the boom years but nor do I see much point in portioning blame to him for squandering them. The thieving sod is gone now to pastures new on the conference circuit with his fat pension.

Still he should have been sold on Ebay as a mixed bag of spare organs when he ran around with a jacket over his head for his daughters wedding so it wouldn't interfere with her magazine contract.

I squirmed with embarrassment when I saw that reported on BBC news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bertie could suck the sweat off a snakes balls