Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exsqueeze me, is that a spider?

• 16-09-2008 12:49pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Right so in the office today one of the girls spots "the-biggest-spider-ive-seen-in-my-life" in one of the offices so we had to go dispose of it.

She was pretty mental over it actually, using phrases such as "seriously like it was huge" to describe what i expected to turn out to be a daddy long legs or something.

Anywho, there turned out to be 2 of them and they were the biggest fecking spiders ive ever seen in ireland! They even had horns!

we get alot of international deliveries here so we reckon they came in a crate or something.

Alas all the girls could breathe again after we caught the monsters (the smell of farts at this stage was something else!)

We're kinda feeling sorry for them. They probably live in some tree with an unpronouncable name in a forbidden forest in Tibet. now they stuck in a smelly bush in rainy ireland.

But now we dont know what to do with them. We cant kill them. We cant release them into the wild otherwise we risk upsetting the local eco balance.

So what should we do? Spider Wars? Spider Mating and dating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Pics please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Whatever you do don't release it. Found out recently that Spiders prey on young girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Put a speck of glue on the ends of each of their legs.
    Hold spiders out, and place each of their leg tips of the leg tip of the other spider.
    'Spider ball' now created.... release and let hilarity ensue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Pics please.

I remember working in an office beside where the lost and found would come in. One day a HUGE yellow spider flew out of the L&F area and flew down the office. Terrifying! One of the women stood on it, to a massive CRUNCH coming off it.

Eugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

faceman wrote: »
    Alas all the girls could breathe again after we caught the monsters (the smell of farts at this stage was something else!)

What, did you try and gas the spiders or something? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Pics or GTFO. Ideally place something familiar beside them for a size reference. Such as a coffee cup or a euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

faceman wrote: »
    Right so in the office today one of the girls spots "the-biggest-spider-ive-seen-in-my-life" in one of the offices so we had to go dispose of it.

She was pretty mental over it actually, using phrases such as "seriously like it was huge" to describe what i expected to turn out to be a daddy long legs or something.

Anywho, there turned out to be 2 of them and they were the biggest fecking spiders ive ever seen in ireland! They even had horns!

we get alot of international deliveries here so we reckon they came in a crate or something.

We're kinda feeling sorry for them. They probably live in some tree with an unpronouncable name in a forbidden forest in Tibet. now they stuck in a smelly bush in rainy ireland.

But now we dont know what to do with them. We cant kill them. We cant release them into the wild otherwise we risk upsetting the local eco balance.

So what should we do? Spider Wars? Spider Mating and dating?

Pics or it didn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Pighead wrote: »
    Whatever you do don't release it. Found out recently that Spiders prey on young girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

chin_grin wrote: »
    Pics or it didn't happen.

I concur... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

anyone say "Yore Ma" yet ??

no

good

Yore Ma !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

seamus wrote: »
    Pics or GTFO. Ideally place something familiar beside them for a size reference. Such as a coffee cup or a euro.

Just not a pic of em in a bath tub.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That happened where I worked too, even had the local rag in to take pictures. It turned out to be a local Spider, apparently they can grow quite big. The one we caught looked like it might even have a stinger at the back. Foreign spiders just couldn't survive here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tegenaria_atrica

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Whatever you do don't release it. Found out recently that Snyper preys on young girls.

Fixed that for you Pighead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

pic-a-tures please

Just not a pic of em in a bath tub.

Thanks.

Bath tub...

Office...

You see why this would be confusing... :rolleyes:

Pighead at his very best lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

try calling the gov. dept. that deals with this kind of thing. Can't remember the name for them though. Read a story recentley about a soldier who came back from iraq with a spider in his gear. It killed the family dog and they still cant find it. The things can run at speeds of up to 12mph too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Bath tub...

Office...

You see why this would be confusing... :rolleyes:

Do a search for DJ Spider.

yeaaaa-ha... ok.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

There's a massive one living outside our office window too. Must be the weather or something.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

cornbb wrote: »
    There's a massive one living outside our office window too. Must be the weather or something.

I used to rent a flat in a converted Georgian house and around this time EVERY year we got these big monsters of spiders.. sound not unlike the ones the op described.. Had the 'horns' too.. We cought one once under a pint glass and it's legs were sticking out from under the glass, couldn't fit the whole bastard in... Had a pic but can't find it.. Fast runners they are too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Kill them. Take no chances. Dismember and napalm the corpses.

Do this. Now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Silenceisbliss

Kold wrote: »
    Kill them. Take no chances. Dismember and napalm the corpses.

Do this. Now.

DO IT...BEFORE THIS HAPPENS!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

why can't you kill them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

My mate brough back a couple of lighters from china, fake zippo's, when we opened one a small radioactive green spider crawled out... Needless to say one of the lads stamped on the poor thing... Last thing we need is another spiderman sequal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Ah. Thats my curiosity satisfied. Thanks big lad

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

ScumLord wrote: »
    That happened where I worked too, even had the local rag in to take pictures. It turned out to be a local Spider, apparently they can grow quite big. The one we caught looked like it might even have a stinger at the back. Foreign spiders just couldn't survive here.

well spotted dude, them those spiders we caught!

update on story, we released the spiders into the office next door...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

FX Meister wrote: »
    try calling the gov. dept. that deals with this kind of thing. Can't remember the name for them though. Read a story recentley about a soldier who came back from iraq with a spider in his gear. It killed the family dog and they still cant find it. The things can run at speeds of up to 12mph too.

They're not technically spiders. And the dog just died shortly after confronting the spider - there was no evidence the spider killed him. Unless he choked on it, which would explain why they can't find it.
    ScumLord wrote: »

Found one of those on our stairs last week, gf freaked. Took a fair while to catch it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

So, I've not had much time to surf boards the past few days, can someone explain this to me?

Snyper change his name?

/shame

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I feel really proud and scared that i was able to open a thread with the expression "Exsqueese me" and no one gave out to me! :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Naos wrote: »
    So, I've not had much time to surf boards the past few days, can someone explain this to me?

Snyper change his name?

/shame

Do a seach for DJ Spider