Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumped at the weekend, advice please.

• 16-09-2008 10:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi there, just need a little help please, not really sure what to do.

I’ll try to make this as to the point as possible. My girlfriend and I have been together almost 4 years, we have been through a lot together. We met online through a dating website and for the 1st 2 years it was long distance, her living in Waterford and me in Cork but we made it work and never had any major fights of arguments. Then we traveled around the world for a year together and even though we were in each others pockets a lot we worked through it and were much stronger coming out the other side. Got home, got jobs, I got straight back into my old job in Cork and after being in Newbridge for about 8 months she has got a great job in Clonmel, only an hour away from me, so that was great. She moved there a few months ago and things have been going well.
    I borrowed money when I came home to buy a car so I couldn’t really afford a hol this year so when I said I didn’t want to go on hols this year she said she would go on a Sun hol with one of her friends instead, which was totally fine with me.

She came back from the hol last weekend and broke up with me saying that she needed time apart to make sure I am the right person for her, to get her head together as she is feeling confused and wants to do this now and not a few years down the line where we could be married and have a hse and stuff. She said she didn’t feel like she missed me enough on the hol and that maybe we were just good friends instead of boyfriend and girlfriend and needs the time and space to be sure.

Now this was very hard to take as I have been the best boyfriend I could be in the whole 4 years (she said that herself, and also said that she would never find someone as good as me) so it’s the old cliché “its not you its me”, makes me feel helpless, like there’s nothing I can do to change her mind. So after some hugs and tears I said ok you can have as much time and space as you need as if there is a chance of salvaging the relationship I want that, don’t want to pressure her into anything, I also told her that if I wasn’t the person that could make her happy then not to settle for me and go and find the person that can make her happy, because I love her and that’s what I want for her at the end of the day.

I said my goodbyes and left. Its been very hard not to contact her, not to just send a little nite nite text, you know it’s the little things that are missed the most, but I have been keeping busy and trying not to think about it (its only been a few days but so far its been ok) then this morning I get and email from her which was along these lines:

“You probably don’t want to hear from me but I am missing u and I don’t want to be on my own. What I was going to suggest is if we took things slowly and maybe went out for a few dates (since we never got to go on a first date!) and see how it goes. U can tell me to get lost if u want.”

Now I don’t really know what to do at this point, I don’t see how a few dates can change anything? I taught she wanted space?? Like WTF??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

first of all the ball is in your court now, so if you want to make it work and get back with her again, here's your chance, however she broke your heart once, nothing is going to stop her doing it again.

It looks to me though that the few days apart made her realise just how good she had it with you.

I say got for it, but don't get your hopes too high. good luck man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

“You probably don’t want to hear from me but I am missing u and I don’t want to be on my own.

Oh you poor sausage, your head must be in meltdown. This is a tough one to call. Her email saying that she doesn't want to be on her own. Does that mean without you or without a boyfriend? Has she now realised that old adage of the grass being greener isn't always that? I'd just be concerned that she would use you for companionship and comfort to help her process the breakup while keeping an eye out for a replacement? Sorry to sound harsh but that's what I deduced from her email. It seems odd that after being so adamant that she needs space and time to think, she then finds herself at a loose end at the weekend, out of her comfort zone perhaps and thinks that you'll be able to keep her amused until she gets her head around being single again?

She could on the other hand really really miss you and want you back.......I find the "date" thing a little odd after four years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭themacdaddy

miss fluff has some good points. well i am kind of on the opposite side of things...i have a girlfriend for a few years now and not sure whether i want a break...sometimes people need to be sure they really want to be with the person they are with...and maybe a break can help that decision.i think its up to you but if she really misses you and you miss her maybe ye should meet up and just talk things out and ask her whats going on in her head....ye obviously are very close....i am sure ye will work it out and if not then its not meant to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Trust me OP, from experience she is just feeling lonely. If you want her back, she must first realise what she is missing. Then ye can be together. Let her go and she might come back. Don't reply to the texts. Give her the space she wanted. Maybe in a week or so send her one to make sure she is OK but no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Waccoe

Dude,

She asked for a break, so you give her a break!

Simply email her back saying contact me in a couple of months if you still would like to see me!

In the meantime go out and enjoy yourself! Meet up with old freinds, score other women perhaps!

You gotta have standards and be a man! there only you that counts at the moment!!

Dont forget she dumped you, would you take that from anybody else??

Probably not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

I wouldn't jump straight back in. You don't want to show you are too eager. Unfortunately some people would perceive this as a weakness. I'd reply saying to love to meet up with her again the weekend after next as you have other things planned for this weekend. Maybe she will appreciate you a little better then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Have to say I know how hard it is not to text etc.........so congrats on that.

I honestyl believe she is just in panic mode,feeling lonely..have I made the right decision etc.

I would take her first comments as gospel,she said what she said for a reason, and that is the bottom line and wont change.

Get on with your own thing and forget her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Did she have a fling on holiday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Rushing back in and getting back together even if at a staggered pace will not sort anything out for either of you and whatever problems you have may still stand.
    Tell her you both obviously need time to be able to make the right decision for the two of you.
    This may be a knee jerk reaction on her behalf or more but I'd reckon you need a month at least to clear your heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Dfens

I agree with the earlier posts, absence does make you appreciate & miss the good thing you've got.
    It sounds to me like your girl is looking for a bit of romance and excitement in your relationship, hence the 'first date' suggestion. I can imagine that she & her friends had a bit of girly fun & flirtation while on their holiday & she misses this from your realtionship & perhaps felt that ye were getting too settled. It is important to make a bit of time for fun & romance (even the tiniest little spontaneous gestures) in any relationship. Try get her to talk about her feelings as to what happened to lead up to the break.
    However, I feel a good basis for a solid & lasting relationship is that you are also 'best friends'.

If you are going to meet her & go on the first date, I wouldn't agreed to a weekend straight away though, make her wait a bit longer (good things come to those who wait...:)) but maybe say that you've missed her too so that she doesn't think that you're being too cool.
    I hope this works out for you either way but from what you've said I think you two have a good future ahead of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

No, she did not have a fling on the hol, there is no one else involved. Thanks for all the replies, some good pointers there but still don't know what to do or say. I haven't replied to her yet. Ur right Miss Fluff, me head is in total meltdown!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

6th wrote: »
    Did she have a fling on holiday?
    That's the first thing that came to mind when I read this thread. OP, I may be just overly paranoid in general, but if you are to consider getting back together you may want to ask about her holiday. It seems very strange to be dumped because someone didnt miss you enough on holiday. And if she was being honest about it, it them makes her seem incredibly immature in my mind.

If you still want to be with her, then meet up with her first. Don't go on a date. You need to talk things through and find out what's on her mind and if there's a way of getting past it.

As others said, there's also the possibility that she simply lonely and doesn't so much need you as she needs anything to keep her company. Take things very easy because if you jump straight back in, you could be setting yourself up for a fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Waccoe wrote: »
    Dude,
    She asked for a break, so you give her a break,
    Simply email her back saying contact me in a couple of months if you still would like to see me!
    In the meantime go out and enjoy yourself! Meet up with old freinds, score other women perhaps!
    You gotta have standards and be a man! there only you that counts at the moment!!
    Dont forget she dumped you, would you take that from anybody else??
    Probably not!

+1 tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Blackpitts

hey OP, i think you are too soft with her.
    Go out for a date but DON'T give the impression that you are waiting for her to change her mind, she is too comfy now.
    She has to understand that she did a mistake and there might be the risk of loosing you, so don't be either doormat (the fact that perhaps she had a fling during her holidays can only help you to keep some distance) or too harsh.
    I know you just want to get back together with her and be nice but have some self-respect ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭beth-lou

then this morning I get and email from her which was along these lines:

“You probably don’t want to hear from me but I am missing u and I don’t want to be on my own. What I was going to suggest is if we took things slowly and maybe went out for a few dates (since we never got to go on a first date!) and see how it goes. U can tell me to get lost if u want.”

Now I don’t really know what to do at this point, I don’t see how a few dates can change anything? I taught she wanted space?? Like WTF??

Why didn't she mention the word love in that email? If I had broken up with someone after 4 years and then realised my mistake, it would be because I realised that I loved them. And she hasn't mentioned love.
    Also, I'm afraid that I agree with the others who have suggested a fling. It is a possibility. Perhaps she had a fling and she felt incredibly guilty on her return and felt she had to finish it. Or she had some serious flirting and mistakenly thought that relationships should be like that always.

Or maybe she just realised that the romance is gone and wants to rekindle it in your relationship. But still, she didn't mention love. That would be the first word to fall from my lips.

You need to ask her what happened on holidays that made her question your relationship and her feelings and take it from there. I wouldn't put time limits on your time apart, but I would say take your time and thread carefully. The break could actually be a good thing. Sometimes people do need space to sort out their feelings. Talk to her. See what comes out. but don't be a pushover.
    Best of luck. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Sesudra

hey OP,my two cents-an ex broke up with me out of the blue on a night out(the week of Valentines but whatever!) and then,about a week later,just as I was starting to feel a wee bit better,he sent an email almost exactly like the one your ex sent you.I met up,we took things slow,got back together,then 6 months later,he decided he was better off single and broke up with me again.

now,not saying thats gonna happen to you but I agree with the other posters who've said she might be looking for a security blanket while she stays on the look out for something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭RentDayBlues

OP, you clearly have a lot of feelings for this girl so go with your heart, you can aks as many opinions as possible but in the end you have to decide whats best for you. If you miss her and want to give it another go, tell her but on your terms. The last thing you want to do is make the situation worse by trying to be cool.

Also, based on your situation and previous relationship, it simply sounds like this is the first time you've both had to do the "normal" everyday thing. You spent 2 years doing the long distance thing which gives you both a lot of freedom, you spent a year travelling which is great, you're together all the time, its fun and new! Now you have to get back to the hum drum routine of life!

If you love her and want to give it another go, then do! If you're feelings are hurt and you want to make her suffer tell her you're not ready. And if the break is doing you good and you're beginning to enjoy single life, then you need to ask yourself some questions.

Either way best of luck. Sometimes toughing it out despite the hard times is the best thing you can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

She's only offering a little trial on her terms to see how it goes i.e. see how she feels. You play the game her way and then maybe it might work out. She's not declaring that she made a huge mistake and also undying love and commitment to you.

So tell her that you now need space. She wanted it finished and that's exactly what she got. You didn't get a choice in it. But you have a choice now. Fair play to you OP for thinking about this and not doing the ultimately easiest thing which would be to jump straight back in and wait around for her.

Its not wrong to break it off and move on. And it was brave of her to do it. But it is wrong to go back and reverse over the person who's heart you've just broken just because you're a bit lonely. She obviously thought long and hard about her first choice but hadn't lived it yet. Its still what she wants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

As harsh as it sounds, i'd get shot of her. She is playing games with your head to make herself feel better. As has already been said, shes probably panicing now thinking 'omg i dont want to be alone', so what does she do? She runs back to what she knows best, you.

Down the line she will have these feelings again, and the next time there will be a guy involved or whatever.

I'd text her back and tell her you've moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Like many others who posted here, the first thing I thought of when I read your original post was "did she have a fling on the holiday?" I think you need to ask her about this. It's pretty weird that after being with someone for four years you break up with them coz you didn't miss them enough on holiday ... that's just weird? I think it's very strange.

It's very upsetting for you to have to go through this but it sounds now like she either (a) has realised her mistake or (b) is lonely, like others said. The whole going on dates again is also very very strange - I find this the most odd thing of all!? Being together 4 yrs, then going back on dates - who does that? Dates are for getting to know each other at the start, not when you've been together for 4 yrs, that's a hell of a long time.

Only you can decide what you want but from the sounds of it you want her back. Agree to meet up with her if you like and discuss everything - the holiday, the actual reason she ended things (it's not you, it's me - is not a reason), what does she expect by "dates" and does she think there is a future for you and above all - why she has changed her mind so quickly - it's Tuesday now, the weekend was only two days ago!

If you do want her back and she has realised she's made a mistake, then you could regret it forever if you don't give it another shot. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

If you accept her offer you will be doing so from a position of weakness and it is almost bound to fail as you will always be at the mercy of her whims.

If I were in your position I'd reply to say "no, thanks." Go out and enjoy your single life and then at least 6 months later, if you're still interested, try to re-establish contact with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭unhappycamper

Don't get suckered into the quick fix, it never works. Take a months break and consider what you both really want. Trust me I just got buggered myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

unhappycamper has it in one.

Think about it.... What stopping her doing this to you again ?? Nothing...

Make her sweat.... Think about it.... Do you actually want somebody who could potentially be your wife share a mortgage and bear children only to go.... "I am not too sure if I missed you enough while I was out at Tesco earlier so I am off to mammy's to think about my life"

Pft

Strike one and in the same breath. a Final strike ! Next woman please...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I have to agree with most of the other posters...

She has these doubts, and after a few days on her own these doubts are suddenly gone?

No, it doesn't work like that, she's just feeling lonely and running back to the only thing she knows, you. She hasn't had enough time on her own to really know what she wants.

I say give her a few months, if she still feels like she misses you, then you have something. Right now if you go back to her, everything will be fine for a few weeks/months, and then her doubts will creep back in, and you'll be left heartbroken once again.

It's hard, but a few months apart will show you whether it's meant to be or not.

If you decide to take the break, then you need to have NO contact, because the break is pointless if you're still talking/meeting all the time and will prove nothing.

ditto MM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Villaricos

A few days isnt enough to sort out what is muddling her head, whatever it is. I suspect what she misses is the little things you mentioned yourself, like the nite nite texts etc.

But if she really needs to think bout if your the one a few days isnt going to be enough. Tell her she asked for space, she now has to take it. not in angry way just more matter of fact.

her line sounds exactly like one Ive heard before. A couple, together a few years, the girl decides she needs to be single again to know if the boy's the one. they both see other people and a year later they begin dating again. Thats my mum and dad and theyve been married for over 30 years now, and are very much still in love so dont be afraid to give your girl her space and tell her not to be afraid to take it, if you two are meant to be, you will be. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭unhappycamper

One of the hardest things to do when your in a relationship is to take a proper no contact 3 - 4 week break, if you both do the chances are you will come to some sort of fresh understanding of what you are both looking for and after, if I could turn back the clock myself I would have done that as opposed to the quick fix method and then getting dumped out of the blue like a piece of thrash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

If you go back to "dating" your girlfriend of four years, it will all end in tears.

I don't know how you'll decline her offer to meet up. It must be impossibly hard, but if you go out with her, you'll lose all control. Text her "no thanks," and go for a good night out with the lads that same night.

Then see what her next move is.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

She's bored ****less (as would be anyone back living in Clonmel after a year on holiday round the world) and needs some excitement back in her life - to be seduced, basically. Unless you know how to do this - and it will be nigh on impossible if you come across as the tiniest bit needy - forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭metalgear2k2

just talk to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Well we had a talk yesterday and we decided that we would go out on a date on the 4th of Oct, no contact till then.

She said that she missed how it used to be when she was in Waterford, carefree, no expectations of each other. She said she wants us to take it slow and try to get to know one another again and to try not to fall back to our old ways. I think she means that she wants some romancing and excited in our relationship, I would say that we are both probably guilty of getting too comfortable and probably taking each other for granted etc.

Thanks everyone for all the replies and while I respect everyone’s view on the matter, I’m a little shocked at the amount of people that have told me to just forget her. I cant just forget her, I don’t want to just throw away the last 4 years so I'm going to do what I can to try and see if we can get it all back on track and if that makes me less of a man then so be it.

I told her I’m not going to be a security blanket or a doormat for her while she keeps looking for something else and if it feels like that’s what’s going on then I’ll end it myself, I know there is a risk of me being broken hearted, again, but I’m a risk taker, life’s too short to have any regrets, so I’m going into this eyes open and hope I can see the bigger picture through the “love fog” so to speak.

And to clear one thing up, she DID NOT have a fling on the holiday, I asked her straight up and she said no she didn’t, and I thrust her, she said she had plenty of offers but she wasn’t even tempted as she had a guy in her life 10 times better than any of them. Her words, not mine.

Thanks again for all yer help, it has made it a bit easier, just getting other people views, and getting it down on "paper"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Well we had a talk yesterday and we decided that we would go out on a date on the 4th of Oct, no contact till then.

She said that she missed how it used to be when she was in Waterford, carefree, no expectations of each other. She said she wants us to take it slow and try to get to know one another again and to try not to fall back to our old ways. I think she means that she wants some romancing and excited in our relationship, I would say that we are both probably guilty of getting too comfortable and probably taking each other for granted etc.

Make no mistake about this. She staged a coup to take control of the relationship. She won and all you're now doing is negotiating the terms of your surrender. Any one can be magnanimous after they've won the war.

Good luck. You sure are going to need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

Gyalist wrote: »
    Make no mistake about this. She staged a coup to take control of the relationship. She won and all you're now doing is negotiating the terms of your surrender. Any one can be magnanimous after they've won the war.

I have to agree here. I know relationships should not be about one one-upmanship but that is basically what she has done and you have submitted to this. She should know that relationships are not about constant flowers and romance (I blame Hollywood for that) all the time. After four years you should both be moving to a different phase of the relationship.

Of course, this was your own decision and I wish you luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭beth-lou

Good for you.

I really don't think she "staged a coup" or anything like it. She had doubts. Totally natural.

I broke up with a boyfriend about 10 years ago, we had drifted and things weren't working. I think we managed a week apart, got back together and we are now married with two kids. We've been together for 13 years in total. Some great times, some hard times, but that is what a relationship is all about. It's not all Mills & Boon. Nobody knows whats going on except for the two of you. Best of luck, hope it all works out and I think you are doing the right thing, no matter how it works out. You sound like an optimist which will serve you well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Gyalist wrote: »

Great description.

OP, I know you've a big commitment made to your g/f, but something made her want to break up after four years together, are you sure it was just a lack of romance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Hi OP,

Take it easy and be careful. About 5 months ago I was saying the same things to my ex. I missed how things used to be, things were too hard/too difficult/too familiar. I wanted to 'get to know each other again'. I wanted to take things easy and slow. I wanted to 'get things back' to how they 'used' to be.

The thing is OP, life moves along. As much as we might like to escape the hurt and pain of years of life, we cannot. Expierences in life which scar us, scar the relationships we have at the time too. Also with the very passage of time, other people become familiar, comfortable pieces of reliable furniture. And that itself is a good thing. Knowing the people you love well and feeling you can rely on them is part of a full and happy life.

As nice a sentiment as it is to get to know someone who you already know better than most, one comes accross the same findings, with none of the surprise and wonder. The things which irked haven't suddenly gone away either. Especially after 3 weeks. I can only imagine that if one were to try and get to know someone that they loved again after years of being apart that one would learn, well properly learn things. Things which they couldn't have learned before. OP, neither you nor your ex are going to meet new people on 4th of Oct. And you loved her as she was, but clearly she had reservations about you.

Don't let her string you along. Be sure you are getting what you need too. And don't let her hold you there while she trys to make up her mind. It will just cause you both more pain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

she said she had plenty of offers but she wasn’t even tempted as she had a guy in her life 10 times better than any of them. Her words, not mine.

So much better that she felt the need to break up with you AS SOON as she got back.

You have been warned. You're more blind now than you ever were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

So much better that she felt the need to break up with you AS SOON as she got back.

You have been warned. You're more blind now than you ever were.

+ + + 1

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hi OP,

Take it easy and be careful. About 5 months ago I was saying the same things to my ex. I missed how things used to be, things were too hard/too difficult/too familiar. I wanted to 'get to know each other again'. I wanted to take things easy and slow. I wanted to 'get things back' to how they 'used' to be.

The thing is OP, life moves along. As much as we might like to escape the hurt and pain of years of life, we cannot. Expierences in life which scar us, scar the relationships we have at the time too. Also with the very passage of time, other people become familiar, comfortable pieces of reliable furniture. And that itself is a good thing. Knowing the people you love well and feeling you can rely on them is part of a full and happy life.

As nice a sentiment as it is to get to know someone who you already know better than most, one comes accross the same findings, with none of the surprise and wonder. The things which irked haven't suddenly gone away either. Especially after 3 weeks. I can only imagine that if one were to try and get to know someone that they loved again after years of being apart that one would learn, well properly learn things. Things which they couldn't have learned before. OP, neither you nor your ex are going to meet new people on 4th of Oct. And you loved her as she was, but clearly she had reservations about you.
    Great post and good advice.
    Don't let her string you along. Be sure you are getting what you need too. And don't let her hold you there while she trys to make up her mind. It will just cause you both more pain.
    Even better advice.

While all this talk of coups etc may seem ott I do tend to agree that it can happen. I've seen it happen enough anyway.

It sounds to me like you have both moved beyond the honeymoon period into the long term actual future together. You were ok with the status quo, but something has made her question that future. Very common dynamic in longterm male female relationships. You being in the relationship will have a better idea what that issue may be.

This stuff is rarely out of the blue either. Think back in the last 6 months and the seeds of this will be there to be found.

I've no doubt that she may love you, but she may be reconsidering if she wants to spend a future with you. The holiday and time apart has condensed that, hence the "sudden" change in her demeanour. I'd be fairly sure she has discussed this with her female friends probably on that holiday.

I also agree that she probably hasn't copped off with someone else. For two reasons; 1, you know her better than anyone here and you believe her and 1, she's still up for working on it, or so it seems. There could also be 3, where she simply hasn't met anyone else, so she doesn't want to be on her own. The latter is the concern.

My advice. Do not contact her during the break. For any reason beyond an actual emergency. Take the time apart to reexamine your own reasons for wanting the relationship to continue. Take the time apart for you, first and foremost. Rediscover what you want(I know, I know, its a bit Dr phil but you know what I mean:)). Be very aware that this is your decision too. If she holds all the cards in this it will make her think less of you, even subconsciously. How much she thinks less of you depends on her, you and the strength of the relationship.

Do not be too surprised that in the interim she has a look around. This is part of the break. Have a look around yourself. Also be prepared that on the night of your date you get a "Dear John/it's not you it's me/I've met someone else/I'm not ready for this now, but maybe in the future/etc" type of conversation. If that happens. Agree with her. Walk away with your head held high. Do not agree to friendhip and do not try to fight it as her mind will be made up. This is what this break means to her. She's trying to make up her mind. If you contact her you will likely make her mind up for her and push her away. If you tell her you love her it also likely will push her away. She has made a break and walked so let her walk.

The thing is this. She knows you love her(or should do). It's not your feelings that are at issue, it's hers and how she feels about you. No matter how much and how often you tell her or show her you love her, it doesn't matter if she doesn't feel the same or feels differently. A common enough mistake people make. I know I have back in the day.

If you've spent the interim time looking to your own needs and your own life then while this possible outcome will be very difficult emotionally, you will survive it better. And grow from it. Hopefully it won't come to that. Good luck anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Good advice there Wibbs.

Might I suggest, in the meantime, going out, talking, flirting with other women.
    Don't have to jump into bed with the first person you see, but, it might give you some perspective, as to whether or not, she's as special as you've built up in your head.

I’m a little shocked at the amount of people that have told me to just forget her. I cant just forget her, I don’t want to just throw away the last 4 years so I'm going to do what I can to try and see if we can get it all back on track and if that makes me less of a man then so be it.

Maybe they/we have been there, read the book, bought the t-shirt and know how this adventure ends.

Best of luck though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

I wouldn't say forget her, i'd say follow your heart!! Love is different for different people, i think ye can rekindle this. Keep yourself busy and an odd text or two wouldnt do any harm to her between now and Oct 4th. Best of luck with it, i hope it works out for you. There isn't enough true love out there. Don't give up on true love too easily. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭qt9ukbg60ivjrn

She came back from the hol last weekend and broke up with me saying that she needed time apart to make sure I am the right person for her,

this is a late reply and i only glanced over what everyone else was saying but last time i heard this from a gf was because she cheated on me (i foudn out 3 months later cause i read her diary, the bastard that i am!)