Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Ireland Dublin One Hundred - Sun 21st September, 1pm start

• 16-09-2008 9:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭

10,000 starting chips:
    Sunday 21st September 2008, 1pm start
    Carlton Airport Hotel, Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Co. Dublin
    €100 (+ €20 reg) Entry Fee.
    100% Prize-pool payout.
    Professional Dealers at every table throughout the tournament.
    If you would like any more information please email stephen(at)pokerireland.ie

To book your seat email the above today or register in the tournament section on pokerireland.ie

Blinds;
    Level 1; 1:00pm - 1:30pm 25-50
    Level 2; 1:30pm - 2:00pm 50-100
    Level 3; 2:30pm - 3:00pm 75-150
    Break 15 mins
    Level 4; 3:15pm - 3:45pm 100-200
    Level 5; 3:45pm - 4:15pm 150-300
    Level 6; 4:15pm - 4:45pm 200-400
    Level 7; 4:45pm - 5:15pm 300-600
    Break 45 mins (Dinner)
    Level 8; 6:00pm - 6:30pm 400-800
    Level 9; 6:30pm - 7:00pm 500-1,000
    Level 10; 7:00pm - 7:30pm 800-1,500
    Level 11; 7:30pm - 8:00pm 1,000-2,000
    Break 15 mins
    Level 12; 8:15pm - 8:45pm 1,500-3,000
    Level 13; 8:45pm - 9:15pm 2,000-4,000
    Level 14; 9:15pm - 9:45pm 3,000-6,000
    Level 15; 9:45pm - 10:15pm 4,000-8,000
    Break 15 mins
    Level 16; 10:30pm - 11:00pm 5,000-10,000
    Level 17; 11:00pm - 11:30pm 8,000-15,000
    Level 18; 11:30pm - 12:00pm 10,000-20,000
    Level 19; 12:00pm - 12:30am 15,000-30,000
    Level 20; 12:30am - 1:00am 20,000-40,000
    Level 21; 1:00am - 1:30am 25,000-50,000
    Level 22; 1:30am - 2:00am 30,000-60,000

Tournament Director; Stephen Mc Lean

BoylePoker.com will be running a satellite to this tournament (Wednesday night at 8pm, $5 re-buy)

We are also running a specific league for this tournament. Players will receive points for a cash relative to their finishing position. We will then have a major prize for the top 9 players to battle it out for in a single table tournament. Full details are posted on pokerireland.ie

Expecting a big turnout for this tournament next Sunday, hope to see you all there.

Registration desk opens at 12:30pm.

Cheers,
    Stephen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Players please pre-register for this on pokerireland.ie

We have over 30 pre-registrations which is pretty high, I think we can expect at least 100 players this Sunday but we need to have an idea on numbers.

Many thanks,
    Stephen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 ClubRoyale

Can you put down..

Dave Murphy
    Keith Lawler
    Cillian Harding Downes

Thanks Stephen.

ClubRoyale wrote: »
    Can you put down..

Dave Murphy
    Keith Lawler
    Cillian Harding Downes

Thanks Stephen.

No worres, cheers mate.....have a good few brand new players coming to play this on Sunday now too.

Gonna be a great tournament I think.

Stephen.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

carfax wrote: »
    No worres, cheers mate.....have a good few brand new players coming to play this on Sunday now too.

Stephen.
    All your tournaments are :D

Clareman wrote: »
    All your tournaments are :D

lol, well I certainly think so :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭eoin-dubh

muffed my way to this tonight on BP.........

Do I need to bring ID along on Sunday ?
    ty

eoin-dubh wrote: »
    muffed my way to this tonight on BP.........

Do I need to bring ID along on Sunday ?
    ty

Well if you didn't come on here for a big boast the answer would be no :pac:

Yeah sure why not, bring some ID so we can laugh at your picture.... see you there Eoin :)

Stephen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Not guaranteed Stephen but I might have sufficient brownie points built up to get out for this. Im a maybe though at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭e05bf05a

is there a cap placed on the number of entrants the tournie has?
    can you place Mark Moran down on that list? my lift into the hotel leaves town at 12.30 so im a bit sketchy on my ETA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭ROONEYED BY 2/3

Stephen.
    Looking forward to a good game.
    best of luck, im sure it will be a good turn out u run a good show.
    keith.

e05bf05a wrote: »
    is there a cap placed on the number of entrants the tournie has?
    can you place Mark Moran down on that list? my lift into the hotel leaves town at 12.30 so im a bit sketchy on my ETA

No prob, 2pm is deadline for late entries.

Stephen.

P.S. give me a call on 087 2424626 if you are going to be any later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Its actually a bad day for this.Chelsea -v- ManUnited and Ryder Cup singles. Hope you have tvs around the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

Players please pre-register for this on pokerireland.ie

We have over 30 pre-registrations which is pretty high, I think we can expect at least 100 players this Sunday but we need to have an idea on numbers.

Many thanks,
    Stephen.

hi stephen,

put me in, please

denis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr Minraise

CHD wrote: »
    Its actually a bad day for this.Chelsea -v- ManUnited and Ryder Cup singles. Hope you have tvs around the place!

Dont forget about the All-Ireland Final aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭e05bf05a

thank you

Dont forget about the All-Ireland Final aswell.

The Football (the real football, not the soccer) will be on the telly in the room. It looks like it could be the match of the decade :), I wouldn't miss it.

Will come back to you if we run into any complications with this.

Stephen.

So the Chelsea match isn't on anywhere?

hmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Lurker1977

So the Chelsea match isn't on anywhere?

hmmm...

It's alright, it'll be on in the hotel bar. You should have plenty of time to get comfortable to watch it:pac::pac::pac::p

Yeah yeah, look at Mr.Bigshot :pac:

I will show you how to final table without needing that ace on the river and finding QQ in the perfect spot etc etc!

You playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭ROONEYED BY 2/3

Yeah yeah, look at Mr.Bigshot :pac:

I will show you how to final table without needing that ace on the river and finding QQ in the perfect spot etc etc!

You playing?

IM PLAYING SO U BUYS ARE BETTER OFF AT HOME WATCHING THE MATCH, LOL

Just want to confirm that we will have a fair bit of sport on the big screen during the day tomorrow, but we will also be concentrating on the poker a little bit :).

Hope to see you all there tomo.

The standard of dealing in this for 20% reg is a complete joke. Gets way to crapshooty aswell.No play in it towards the end at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Just home from this. 56 runners.

Regarding the standard of dealing there was 3 trainee dealers on, who were rotated around the tables. None of them were at a table for more than 20 minutes for the duration of the whole tournament, and there was no trainee dealers on after 7pm. Also, if any player had a problem with a trainee dealer being at their table they would have been replaced with a more experienced dealer immediately as happened in one instance. Please voice any concerns to me in person during the tournament. We want to train dealers in tournaments like this so when they deal at the IPO or for other poker companies they are of a good enough standard. Equally, from what I saw and feedback I acquired from certain players I had asked to watch the trainee dealers, their main complaint was that they were "a bit nervous" but that the technical skills were ok. Please mention this to me during play in future.

As for the tournament getting crapshooty, i have to completely disagree and stand by my product. Two tables out, after 7 hours of play, the average stack was 20big blinds. The average stack at the final table was 15.55 big blinds (560,000 chips / 9 players at 2k/4k). I simply do not accept this to be considered crapshooty.

It was crapshooty. Trainee Dealers were on for longer than 20 minutes at my table. like 30 mins nothing crazy but still for 20% reg its not acceptable imo.

Is the reg just for the dealers or does some go to the Irish Open fund thing you guys have.

EDIT:Blinds were 2k/4k for like 8mins, Avg stack being 62k and blinds 3k/6k with no time pressure is bad. You could replay a level or two, wouldnt hurt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

It was crapshooty. Trainee Dealers were on for longer than 20 minutes at my table. like 30 mins nothing crazy but still for 20% reg its not acceptable imo.

Is the reg just for the dealers or does some go to the Irish Open fund thing you guys have.
    in what way was it a crapshoot? ditpoker's description sounds pretty decent for the end of a tournament

also the reg would have to pay for the room in the hotel as well as paying for myriad other things like transport, equipment etc

in what way was it a crapshoot? ditpoker's description sounds pretty decent for the end of a tournament

also the reg would have to pay for the room in the hotel as well as paying for myriad other things like transport, equipment etc
    Im not here to just bad mouth Poker Ireland. They do a good job but a few improvements could be made.

In future I will not have as many trainee dealers on, so i have a far more equal spread across the field.

As a player I like when levels are replayed but its not something I want to get into the habit of from a TD perspective as it may lead to players, in future events, expecting levels to be replayed.

Regarding the reg fee, it was 15 for the first few games but we had to increase it as numbers dropped but our expenses remained the same and we were faced with a situation of dont run the event or increase the price tag. Sadly it is a case of passing the cost on to the consumer but was unavoidable.

I think I spoke to you (or someone in a chelsea jersey) about the bray/wicklow game next week. We are considering experimenting with different ways of costing the event and structuring it too. Hopefully, we will find a common ground to improve the game across the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ElectraBlue

Ah c'mon! The trainee dealers have to start somewhere... remember Poker Ireland have the IPO in a few weeks and with 60+ tables going at same time, meaning 80+ (:eek:I hope!!!) dealers needed, completely understandable that there would've been a few trainees working today in prep for this event.

I understand totally the costs and all that TD stuff and wouldnt mind the reg usually, but when we have to count out the chips for a dealer and correct him several times and do his job really then thats unacceptable.

It was me you spoke too, Looking forward to the Wicklow game. Its great to have good monthly games around and its great to have you guys running these events and looking to improve and make them as good as possible.

The crapshooty bit isn't to bad, me just being a nit but having less in-experienced trainee dealers would be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Was one of the dealers at this. Was the one in the black shirt. Hope i didnt frustrate anyone by my dealing.

From talking to the trainee dealers i found that they believed they had learned alot and that they would be much more confident for future events

I understand totally the costs and all that TD stuff and wouldnt mind the reg usually, but when we have to count out the chips for a dealer and correct him several times and do his job really then thats unacceptable.

It was me you spoke too, Looking forward to the Wicklow game. Its great to have good monthly games around and its great to have you guys running these events and looking to improve and make them as good as possible.

The crapshooty bit isn't to bad, me just being a nit but having less in-experienced trainee dealers would be great!

Hi CHD,

Yeah we're loking at ways to reduce the costs of these tournaments... ... Just to clarify, the reg fee you are paying is €16.70 (approx) +21%VAT... ... Out of that €16.70 we have to pay for hotel, transport of equipment (equipment itself costs thousands to start off) and of course fully qualified dealers.

The free-roll we are running before next Easter is costing €10,500. This means that we have to clear €2,000 per month for this not to cost us a fortune :).... .... None of the 100 games have made a profit so far, they are as much a tool for promoting the IPO as much as anything else.

Appreciate the feedback as always but we are definitely doing our best, there is a reason there are usually no regular tournaments with this type of structure... ...

One last thing and I've said it before. The average stack in a tournament will always come close to ten big blinds when it gets close to the money. Thats because some players will be hanging on for dear life while others are pressing ahead their chip advantage. Once the bubble bursts it usually means a few players will get knocked out in quick succession and the average stack goes back up.... .... This is the case in just about every well structured, competitive tournament. Even the GJP deep-stack apparently went down to 20 big blinds average stack at one stage (afaik) and that started off with deep deep chip stacks.

Stephen.

Just for the record with 56 runners yesterday we had 7 fully qualified experienced dealers, with 4 trainee dealers.

I personally was very impressed with all the new dealers....They will all be great dealers with one or two more hours of real tournament experience.

Stephen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Just for the record with 56 runners yesterday we had 7 fully qualified experienced dealers, with 4 trainee dealers.

I personally was very impressed with all the new dealers....They will all be great dealers with one or two more hours of real tournament experience.

Stephen.

I was looking forward to playing this yesterday but due to other circumstances I was unable to play. For the last couple of months now I ve been trying to get up to this game but family commitments have not allowed that.

I would just like to add that it may be a bit harsh for people to point such criticism at dealers / stucture etc when the people who run this event do their upmost to promote well structured affordable tournys all over the country and in my opinion are posssibly the hardest working promoters of poker in Dublin alongside the likes of JP Poker.

These guys have a huge tourny coming up in a few weeks i.e the IPO and need to train dealers for this tourny. Quite simply ask the TD to remove the dealer from your table if you feel he / she is slowing down the game. I believe the TD will accomodate this whenever possible.

With regard to the reg fee, as Stephen has said these events are currently running at a loss due to expensive overheads. The biggest expense probably being the rental of the hotel room.

One day I will eventually play this.

Jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Jayminator wrote: »
    I was looking forward to playing this yesterday but due to other circumstances I was unable to play. For the last couple of months now I ve been trying to get up to this game but family commitments have not allowed that.

I would just like to add that it may be a bit harsh for people to point such criticism at dealers / stucture etc when the people who run this event do their upmost to promote well structured affordable tournys all over the country and in my opinion are posssibly the hardest working promoters of poker in Dublin alongside the likes of JP Poker.

These guys have a huge tourny coming up in a few weeks i.e the IPO and need to train dealers for this tourny. Quite simply ask the TD to remove the dealer from your table if you feel he / she is slowing down the game. I believe the TD will accomodate this whenever possible.

With regard to the reg fee, as Stephen has said these events are currently running at a loss due to expensive overheads. The biggest expense probably being the rental of the hotel room.

Jay
    Well said Jay , +1

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Jayminator wrote: »

Jay

+2 Well said Jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

The standard of dealing in this for 20% reg is a complete joke. Gets way to crapshooty aswell.No play in it towards the end at all.

I was at it yesterday, yes there were new dealers, one guy was actually physically shaking, but they did the fundemental things right, they took their time, they made people aware when it was their turn, there was no misdealing. Yes they were slower that someone with more experience, but for god sake give them a chance. I think that is very petty tbh

Stephen is training dealers for the IPO, and he is using these tournaments to give them some vital experience. Set up was brillant with Football and Gaelic football on a big huge projection screen. I don't mind paying €20 reg fee for a top quality venue and a professionally run event...

Well Done Stephen and Jeff
    And thanks for getting myself and Martin seperate tables;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

Thanks to Stephen & Jeff for running this tournie yesterday, was a great event. Agree with Smurph about the dealers - slow and nervous but not making big mistakes and obviously trying to learn with every hand. V polite and apologetic whenever there was a problem too.

Busto in 9th when KK cracked by ace on turn for 75k pot 10 out and then ace on river (always a tease!) cracks 1010 for my last 22k. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Sure L plater dealers are great for paranoid players, only good dealers can stack the deck agianst you ..Live poker is rigged I tell ya

Steve, I'm sorry to hear you make a loss at these events, I'll try to play the next one but going on the northside in -EV, people like Smurph, Flushdraw and bottomfeeder will rob ya blind......................or is that rob yer blinds... ..I sure as hell don't mind a 20% reg fee in a tourny 110/120 meh...barely two pints of plain in the difference. Unless the dealer is showning attitude we should try to be a little patient. I for one would find it difficult to be short to a dealer if his hands were shaken with nerves........
    Good post young Jay btw. Now lend me 2k for Killarney and I'll gladly pay you on shrove Tuesday

League points will be calculated ahead of our next Dublin game. Results for this event are below:

1st: Stephen Walsh €1200
    2nd: Paul O'Neill €1200
    3rd: John Vickers €1200
    4th: Sherman Mayer €650
    5th: Cillian Downes €500
    6th: Richie Neville €300
    7th: Joey Berrill €200
    8th: Alan McDermott €150
    9th: Ronan Gallagher €100
    10th: Mark Hammell €100

I know they need to learn somewhere and all that. I'm not bad mouthing, just giving feedback as its really annoying having dealers who are inexperienced and getting feck all hands in during a 30 minute level.

Having all the sport on was brilliant. Im not complaining about €20, just 20% reg is steep.But considering all the costs involved i won't complain again!

Hope you get it right and can run these profitably as its great to have these games around, See yous in Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

EDIT:Blinds were 2k/4k for like 8mins, Avg stack being 62k and blinds 3k/6k with no time pressure is bad. You could replay a level or two, wouldnt hurt!

maybe you are a trainee poker player as well, people like you shouldnt play poker at all, blaming the dealers for ur lost is a lousy excuse.
    everyone must start from somewhere or something.

i dont know if the dealer on my table is a trainee or what but i know hes inexperience bcoz the way he deal the cards and count the chips, yah, they slowing the game but i have to live with it coz they need to be train for the upcoming tournament, i sometimes correct him (which i shouldnt) but thats where they learn, from their mistakes and from the "EXPERIENCE" players and "EXPERIENCE" dealers.

maybe you are a trainee poker player as well, people like you shouldnt play poker at all, blaming the dealers for ur lost is a lousy excuse.
    Came 5th and won money, didn't blame them for any of my mistakes.

Jog on.

i dont know if the dealer on my table is a trainee or what but i know hes inexperience bcoz the way he deal the cards and count the chips, yah, they slowing the game but i have to live with it coz they need to be train for the upcoming tournament, i sometimes correct him (which i shouldnt) but thats where they learn, from their mistakes and from the "EXPERIENCE" players and "EXPERIENCE" dealers.
    I know how getting experience works.