Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What size shot for mallard?

• 16-09-2008 8:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭

Hi lads.Was out during the weekend with the dog and gun looking for a few snipe and stumbled upon a nice flooded area full of mallard...I`ve never shot duck before and was wondering what size cartrige ye would recomend... I have half a carton of eley pidgeon(6 1/2) will get the job done or will I need to get somethig like 5`s....

Thanks in advance
    Dwight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

dwighet wrote: »
    Hi lads.Was out during the weekend with the dog and gun looking for a few snipe and stumbled upon a nice flooded area full of mallard...I`ve never shot duck before and was wondering what size cartrige ye would recomend... I have half a carton of eley pidgeon(6 1/2) will get the job done or will I need to get somethig like 5`s....

Thanks in advance
    Dwight

6 in the first and 5 in the second and your sorted dwight.

ps - keep your lucky pond location a secret as you will only get a few nights out of it.

pps - it better not be my secret splash in offally! :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

stevoman wrote: »
    6 in the first and 5 in the second and your sorted dwight.

ps - keep your lucky pond location a secret as you will only get a few nights out of it.

pps - it better not be my secret splash in offally! :P:P

So is that 6 in the tight choke and 5 in the open or vise verser?

Im out in Thurles so you ducks are safe:D Actually with me behind a shotgun most ducks are safe:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

So is that 6 in the tight choke and 5 in the open or vise verser?

Im out in Thurles so you ducks are safe:D Actually with me behind a shotgun most ducks are safe:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

I dont have choked barrells dwighet so whatever barrell you fire fiorst should be your 6 and then your second firing barrell should be your 5. Iv been doing pretty well with that set up this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I dont have choked barrells dwighet so whatever barrell you fire fiorst should be your 6 and then your second firing barrell should be your 5. Iv been doing pretty well with that set up this year!

What kind of gun do you have? As far as I know it would be very very rare to get a gun which is not choked. Sure they don't have interchangeable chokes but most double barrel game guns are 1/2 and 3/4 choke I think

I have a semi auto and use full choke for duck along with 36 gram 6 (even though these carts are more like a 5 and a 1/2) or 5.

What kind of shotgun are you using dwighet? Over and Under, semi auto etc etc. You could get away with a heavier cart in a semi auto but I'm not sure how much you'd enjoy shooting 36 gram carts through a light over and under.

I would recommend 36 gram 5 and 6 as long as the recoil doesn't bother you.

Also if the 6 1/2 eley carts were heavy enough (35-36 gram) then I would use them night flighting as they can come in quite close. If they are 30-32 gram then I'd buy a box or two of heavier stuff. I am using SAGA number 6s 36 gram and they are doing the business for me. High Brass on them is good for my sticky semi auto too

Vegeta wrote: »
    What kind of gun do you have? As far as I know it would be very very rare to get a gun which is not choked. Sure they don't have interchangeable chokes but most double barrel game guns are 1/2 and 3/4 choke I think

I have a semi auto and use full choke for duck along with 36 gram 6 (even though these carts are more like a 5 and a 1/2) or 5.

What kind of shotgun are you using dwighet? Over and Under, semi auto etc etc. You could get away with a heavier cart in a semi auto but I'm not sure how much you'd enjoy shooting 36 gram carts through a light over and under.

I would recommend 36 gram 5 and 6 as long as the recoil doesn't bother you.

Also if the 6 1/2 eley carts were heavy enough (35-36 gram) then I would use them night flighting as they can come in quite close. If they are 30-32 gram then I'd buy a box or two of heavier stuff. I am using SAGA number 6s 36 gram and they are doing the business for me. High Brass on them is good for my sticky semi auto too

I just got myself 2 boxes of eley alphamax 5`s..36 gram.. The gun is a zabala athena side by side with interchangable chokes.I dont mind a bit of recoil.It gets the blood pumping.
    I was thinking of using 3/4 and 1/2 chokes.. What would you suggest?

its a lumar veg. what i mean by it not being choked is that i dont have the manuel chokes on it. it prob is factory choked.

I just got myself 2 boxes of eley alphamax 5`s..36 gram.. The gun is a zabala athena side by side with interchangable chokes.I dont mind a bit of recoil.It gets the blood pumping.
    I was thinking of using 3/4 and 1/2 chokes.. What would you suggest?

The alphamax are great carts. Bit pricey but they definitely do the business.

Yeah I would start with 1/2 for first shot and 3/4 for the second shot. See how you get on. If you are a bit of a marksman don't hesitate to move to 3/4 and full though.

I love flighting a busy pond, it is some of the most exciting shooting to be had. We did a local pond last friday the 5th and 30 mallard must have come in. Even when we were pulling in the decoys and collecting the downed birds with the lab swimming around they were still coming in. I only shot 2 but it got the heart pumping I tell ya.

Let us know how you get on anyway

The alphamax are great carts. Bit pricey but they definitely do the business.

Yeah I would start with 1/2 for first shot and 3/4 for the second shot. See how you get on. If you are a bit of a marksman don't hesitate to move to 3/4 and full though.

I love flighting a busy pond, it is some of the most exciting shooting to be had. We did a local pond last friday the 5th and 30 mallard must have come in. Even when we were pulling in the decoys and collecting the downed birds with the lab swimming around they were still coming in. I only shot 2 but it got the heart pumping I tell ya.

Let us know how you get on anyway
    will let you know how i get on...thanks for your help.

well dwighet any luck with the ducks?

I got one..Am happy enough with that.... the feckers were flying straight over me and landing in another flooded area 80 yds behind me.A good 20 birds landed there so I got myself some more decoys this morning on the way to work as I only had 2...Now i have 6.. I think I have there flight path sussed out and were there landing so I will give it a go tonight maybe..Its a toss up as a mate of mine spotted 5 nice Fallow bucks this morning on our deer shoot so I might be taking the rifle out this evening..."It never rains but it pours" I think I will go for the deer as most lads wait for the weekend to stalk so I will get first crack at them...If there still there...

great to see your getting the action. get a duck hand call. very effective. im heading out myself tonight myself for a crack at them.

I have a digital call that I was using. It has various duck calls magpie crow and fox calls on it..I used that but they just strarted to circle me and out of range.. Perhaps I was spotted...My hide wasnt great...

i find if i stand in the middle of the splash in full camo the come in although all you really get is about 15 minutes of action before night falls.

Hey dwighet, not trying to upset anyone here or anything but as far as I can recall electronic callers are illegal for game birds (not certain on unprotected birds, think they're ok for this, will try and check the wildlife act but its tough going so if anyone knows the section off the top of their head let me know). I'd get one of the manual ones. They work ok.

Recently I have been wondering about calling duck. On Friday night I was night flighting and two mallard flew past. I called with the manual caller and they turned towards us. I continued calling and they did not commit to the pond. I was wondering by continuing calling did I give them the ducky signal to flee or something. I'm new to using a caller, we have not used one in previous years

Anyone know a good place to learn about calling duck?

Recently I have been wondering about calling duck. On Friday night I was night flighting and two mallard flew past. I called with the manual caller and they turned towards us. I continued calling and they did not commit to the pond. I was wondering by continuing calling did I give them the ducky signal to flee or something. I'm new to using a caller, we have not used one in previous years

from experience on calling in vermin i found that if you lured the birds in using the call and continued to use it they eventually got close to the call, got spooked and then felw away. i then began to call them until they were comitted, then i ceased calling and they came in everytime so they did. as the old saying goes curiousity killed the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

Hey dwighet, not trying to upset anyone here or anything but as far as I can recall electronic callers are illegal for game birds (not certain on unprotected birds, think they're ok for this, will try and check the wildlife act but its tough going so if anyone knows the section off the top of their head let me know).

B]WILDLIFE ACT 1976[/B] SECTION 35.

Certain use of scarecrows, decoys birdcalls and calls of wild mammals restricted.

SECTION 35.

—(1) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Act apart from this section, but subject to section 42, a person shall not—

( a ) use as a scarecrow any live wild bird which is tethered, or

( b ) use as a decoy for the purpose of hunting any wild bird a live wild bird which is tethered or secured by braces or other similar appliances or which is confined in a cage or pen or which is blind, maimed or injured, or

( c ) use a stuffed or artificial decoy in the form of any bird for the purpose of hunting any protected wild birds, other than wild duck and wild geese, or

( d ) use an electrical or other instrument or appliance (including recording apparatus) emitting or imitating birdcalls or the calls of wild mammals for the purpose of hunting a protected wild bird or a protected wild animal which is a mammal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Plus 1 on JR post.
    Read the Rules.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~

Use your call to position the birds, BUT, use your call sparingly.

If one is not proficient with a wildfowl call, use the "greeting" call only and when the birds turn drop the call. A sour note at this stage will - will - flare the birds.

Several on line companies sell duck and goose instructional cd / tapes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

Worth a look!

http://www.performancecalls.com/articles/how_to_blow_a_duck_call.html

J.R. wrote: »
    B]WILDLIFE ACT 1976[/B] SECTION 35.

Certain use of scarecrows, decoys birdcalls and calls of wild mammals restricted.

SECTION 35.

—(1) Notwithstanding anything contained in this Act apart from this section, but subject to section 42, a person shall not—

( a ) use as a scarecrow any live wild bird which is tethered, or

( b ) use as a decoy for the purpose of hunting any wild bird a live wild bird which is tethered or secured by braces or other similar appliances or which is confined in a cage or pen or which is blind, maimed or injured, or

( c ) use a stuffed or artificial decoy in the form of any bird for the purpose of hunting any protected wild birds, other than wild duck and wild geese, or

( d ) use an electrical or other instrument or appliance (including recording apparatus) emitting or imitating birdcalls or the calls of wild mammals for the purpose of hunting a protected wild bird or a protected wild animal which is a mammal.
    OOPS:o:o:o I was`nt aware of that..Thanks for the heads up....

Did i say digital caller..I meant hand caller;););)

i went out myself last night so i did. it was eventful but the tally didnt add up to the shots i took. i brought the setter with me and she sat by my side patiently as i waited for ducks to come in. the only time she broke was when i fired and she ran in looking for birds, she did it without command so i may get that out of her (she still wasnt bad for her first night at the nightflights though). a few mallard came in from right behind me first and i pulled too quick and missed a sitter. the teal where coming in low everywhere and i found it hard to get a shot and at one stage was afraid id get hit in the head by one. one teal flew in lovely for me and i hit him with the second barrell. of course the setter broke and by the time i got over to her the teals head was off its body and skin well broken and i had a very guilty looking dog looking at me. just when i was correcting the dog two fine mallard came straight over my head nice and slow and of course brains here had no cartridges in the gun. that was the last of the flights for the night so all i had to my name after it was a broken up teal not worthy of bringing home with the damage that was done for him. i left him neatly down for mr fox though so at least he'l eat well today.

I wish I could take my dog while decoying duck...He wont sit still just mad to hunt....h e`s great on the pheasant but a pain in the hole trying to keep him quiet while on a pond....He`s a sprocker so I guess that says it all... Mad in the head he is but im crazy about the little fecker....My yard isnt big enough for another dog so i have to change my name to Fido and do my own retreiving...