Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Council house waiting list?

Options
  • 16-09-2008 3:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Do any of yis have an idea of how long a single person would wait for a council house in Fingal?

A single person. She has no kids, its just herself.

Basically she (my cousin) is on disability allowance and is having no luck finding anywhere to rent. She can get rent allowance of course but even then she has had no luck finding anywhere for the past 3 years.

I've been helping her look constantly for the last 3 years and it was either that they wouldn't accept RA or the place was a dog box. Literally the plce would be the size of a boxroom and if she was lucky she would have her own bedroom.

She cant live in a place like that because it would be really hard on her health which is bad anyway. She is most days too ill to leave the house, now you could imagine basically living your whole day every day in one tiny dingy room. She needs a proper place with more than one room so for the days when she is too sick to leave the house at least she can move from room to room. Also its her illness is not a temporary thing, she would be facing living in a place like that for the rest of her life, the places you can afford on RA (they have to be €520) are not suitable for living in for the rest of your life.

She never put herself on the housing list because neither of us know of any single people who get offered houses so she didn't think it woudl make a difference.