Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marked up British police car in cork

• 14-09-2008 11:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭

Was out for a walk this weekend when i saw this creature. Not too sure what it is or who owns it but i could't help myself questioning the legality.

http://img508.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image008up7.jpg

It's a fully marked up car complete with lights and the whole 9 yards. If this was not enough 2 Boyios were directing traffic to beat the band. These 2 men were dressed in police jackets, "bobby" hats and even had belts with battons and radios.

http://img378.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image014er9.jpg

Anyone else heard of or seen this thing before? Is it legal, And WHY THE HECK????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Holy crap. The invasion wasnt just a rumour. Run!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

I've heard of an exchange in Dublin a few years ago when one police officer patrolled Dublin in company with a guard as part of an exchange program

Looking at that car though, it looks a bit old, a Vauxhall Senator??? maybe not a current issue vehicle... There wasn't any sort of Car show on or anything was there... or maybe filming???

In fact... I'm going to put a bottle on it being an old Thames Valley car...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The cops have not been driving Senators for a few years now! :p

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

mike65 wrote: »
    The cops have not been driving Senators for a few years now! :p

Mike

Eh mike, this is a cork themed thread. It's still the 80's there.
    This is a response to those Damn free staters.
    Thought you'd know that being next door and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its true that the ozone hole is still expanding over Cork!

Mike.

Did Gene Hunt tell you to f**k off or he'll stamp on all yer toys by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Jon, it looks like an old tvp motor alright, but the kit the bobby is wearing isn't TVP.

TVP have coxcombe helmets and the one shown sure aint, they also issue a different high viz....though with film crews who knows....

I'm guessing a vintage car show or filming.. Aint kosher thats for sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

The police"" were on there own.

not another vintage in sight.

No Tv cameras, there was like a dog show in the hall nearby, but these lads had no dogs.

The pic does not show it that well but the second fella had a pair of jeans.

The gear did not seem to be any period specific, newish jackets, new stiff hand cuffs, older batton, older style radio, very old car, no idea about the hats. Just the way it appeard, not that i'm professing an indepth knowlage,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Any reason you didn't ASK them? ;)

Fair point though, Monadnocks aside, is it against the law to wear 'police' marked equipment in the Republic?

Driving a blue lighted car might raise a few eyebrows, but as far as I'm aware over here, it's only illegal to actually use the lights, but I'm no rat so open to correction on that. What's the story over?

maglite wrote: »
    The police"" were on there own.

not another vintage in sight.

No Tv cameras, there was like a dog show in the hall nearby, but these lads had no dogs.

The pic does not show it that well but the second fella had a pair of jeans.

The gear did not seem to be any period specific, newish jackets, new stiff hand cuffs, older batton, older style radio, very old car, no idea about the hats. Just the way it appeard, not that i'm professing an indepth knowlage,,

Either a pair of 'Walters'...lol or on their way to a show... Why were they directing traffic?...with the hats and belt kit on??.. Very strange?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Either a pair of 'Walters'...lol or on their way to a show... Why were they directing traffic?...with the hats and belt kit on??.. Very strange?...
    Sadly, they're still better equipped than us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

deadwood wrote: »
    Sadly, they're still better equipped than us!

Ha! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Road Wars - Langer style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

Naked Camera or something perhaps??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭mixer101

Something we're gonna see on a future Naked Camera perhaps....?

(bryanmurr got there a couple of seconds before me!!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Fair point though, Monadnocks aside, is it against the law to wear 'police' marked equipment in the Republic?
    Why would it be? Sure we don't have Police* in the Republic, now if it said Garda there might be a legal problem.

*Unless you count the PAs Military Police

Sure airport "police" have gotten away with it for years :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Hagar wrote: »
    Why would it be? Sure we don't have Police* in the Republic, now if it said Garda there might be a legal problem.

*Unless you count the PAs Military Police

And Airport Police.

Could confuse tourists too - serious enough if someone calls themselves Police to a visitor and robs them or the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    And Airport Police.

Could confuse tourists too - serious enough if someone calls themselves Police to a visitor and robs them or the like.

Like when homer simpson met the "wallet inspector" :D

I'd ate anyone to confuse me with a real Policeman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

deadwood wrote: »
    I'd ate anyone to confuse me with a real Policeman!

Not a chance in hell of that happening anytime soon, I hear even the judges ask too see your ID :D

I would have thought this could be deemed illegal for the simple reason that many many nationalities recognise 'police' way before they recognise 'Garda' so if people were approaching them or vice versa and they were playing along they are impersonating the police force in the country. However if its only a specific innocent use such as a play or kept on private property I wouldnt think theres much of an issue there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

mixer101 wrote: »
    Something we're gonna see on a future Naked Camera perhaps....?

(bryanmurr got there a couple of seconds before me!!:o

Great minds think alike I suppose:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I think it should be illegal to impersonate all ES, regardless of whether they are wearing 'GARDA' or 'POLICE'. Imagine someone in that get up seen in a border town in the Republic? There would be uproar in 'certain quarters' of this country. Never mind how dangerous that would be.

eroo wrote: »
    I think it should be illegal to impersonate all ES, regardless of whether they are wearing 'GARDA' or 'POLICE'.
    +1.
    That guy who played a guard on Glenroe was brutal.
    And those g.p.'s on the Chronic, Clinic...

And as for garda patrol.....