Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question to AGS members

• 14-09-2008 6:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

This is directed to members of the AGS.

Some of you may know me, I run a voluntary support service for members who suffer stress etc in their working lives. Recently I sought your insights into a number of topics and the response as always was fantastic.

In the past my research has been published in the Garda Review, and Sunday Newspapers. I have advised on issues of welfare in relation to my previous research.

Last year a new Policy was issued in relation to Bullying in the Force, I wondered if anyone had a views on this? if its working? have you noticed any changes over the past six months? and if in fact you have been in a position were you have had to use this policy?

I have the option of posting a survey type question on this topic on my very basic information site at www.stresskills.ie, and would really welcome your insight as to the type of question I could ask and your feelings on this subject.

My intention is to relay this feedback to the GRA, with a view to having any issues in the policy raised. I also hope to possible use this and previous questions asked as part of an MSc Research Paper into this area.

Thank you in advance for your consideration and time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Worthwhile topic m4j. Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Bullying exists but report it? Do you have a career suicide wish? Not until discretion and genuine confidential ways too deal with it exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Agree with Karlitosway. It's all in place but then, so is the whistleblower charter, tetra, I.T., etc.
    I don't have a bullying problem or a chip on my shoulder but I wouldn't be confident of being dealt with any degree of confidentiality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭m4j

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond and the really nice comment.

I have noticed that there has been an increase in reported issues to myself, mainly from younger members who are clearly unable to have the issues addressed in confidence.

I believe this issue above others to be a very real problem on the ground for members and their families and would like to build a list of all comments and suggestions in relation to the concerns and issues felt, if that was ok with ye?

I can promise you that every comment will be issued to those that can formally try and make a difference. This will be the most confidential arena to do so and would basicly mean cutting and pasteing only the comment onto a word document, just say what you want fed back and I will do so, again only if that was ok with you, you can even email me directly at stresskills@gmail.com in complete confidence. I will feedback to you any response I receive, and keep you updated as to any changes.

I really hope that this is some sort of help, and welcome any and all feedback.

Thanks again for taking the time to respond, its appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

I would be wary about stating my views in a public forum like this, but I have read the policy and I can confirm that it is being high lighted through Professional development courses and promotion courses.I am in a position where I need to be very aware of the policy.

I completly respect your concerns and am very grateful for your response. If you would like to pm me I would welcome to hear any advice or comments you would have and can assure you completeconfidentiality.

The truth is I have been involved in the area of Garda Welfare on a voluntary basis for six years, I enjoy this work and have acepted that change is hard fought. I have been accepted to a point by those in a position to make or address change, this relationship has required alot of time and good faith on both sides I have the oppurtunity to raise the concerns of those on the ground, in this regard I have collected the concerns of those I am in contact with but would like to use this window of oppurtunity to give as much feedback as possible.

Any feedback will be treated with complete respect.

Thanks so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I wouldn't have any faith in confidentiality of the AGS for bullying etc. I have been told confidential things some employees were having, one probationer whose probation was to be extended was told after all of us, sergeants giving out about other sergeantsetc, etc.

Tbh I haven't seen the charter yet. Were they given out? My station can be so bad with communication.

Thank you for replying your a star.

I understand that the new policy document was issued nine months ago (open to correction on this) however, its affects should of been felt over the past six months, it was hoped I believe that members would be fully aware of this new guidline and have noticed change.

I have no doubt that such policies are hard to incorportate, but am starting to think that if the policy went in line with standard work practices much like the policies found in most private sector employers then it may well face problems, its only a personal opinion of late that policies such as these should be developed with the culture of an organisation in mind.

Thank you again for responding its an important topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

TheNog wrote: »
    I wouldn't have any faith in confidentiality of the AGS for bullying etc. I have been told confidential things some employees were having, one probationer whose probation was to be extended was told after all of us, sergeants giving out about other sergeantsetc, etc.

Tbh I haven't seen the charter yet. Were they given out? My station can be so bad with communication.

its a red covered a4 page sized book should be plenty of copies knocking about

vasch_ro wrote: »
    its a red covered a4 page sized book should be plenty of copies knocking about
    never seen a bit of it. typical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Propping up the bandy leg of the desk in the public office nog :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Could AGS not follow the lead of the Defence Forces regarding bullying? It has been stomped out successfully, almost entirely! Just don't follow the way of A7! I've heard horror stories..

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Propping up the bandy leg of the desk in the public office nog :p

Or probably one of the lads selling laptops cheap
    eroo wrote: »
    Could AGS not follow the lead of the Defence Forces regarding bullying? It has been stomped out successfully, almost entirely! Just don't follow the way of A7! I've heard horror stories..

What is A7?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

TheNog wrote: »
    Or probably one of the lads selling laptops cheap

What is A7?

It is the regulations/guidelines for dealing with harassment,bullying,abuse etc. I don't know the in's and out's of it(hadn't have the lecture yet). However, I've been told it is being misused by some. For example, female refusing to carry heavy backpack that everyone else is carrying as it is 'too heavy', threatens to use A7 to highlight the fact she is being ''picked on''.

Thank you to all those who have posted and PMED, I am also greatful for those who have contacted me through the enclosed email, I have another week left to put things together so please please get involved it can only benifit you all in the long run.

Many thanks:)

Thank you again to all of those who have contributed to this topic.

From the vast majority of responses it is clear that the issue of bullying in the force is very real and that there is a lack of confidence in the ability of the service to manage it.

There is only a few more days before all feedback can be given in order to try and affect any changes that may well be required by those on the ground. If anyone has not given suggestions or experiences they would like known about the new bullying policy and the issues you feel need to be addressed please PM in complete confidence ASAP.

I see this as a great oppurtunity that should not be lost so please put aside any concerns you might have about sharing your insights and let me know any good or bad experiences, suggestions and insights you might have. Even those of someone else you might know would be great.

Many thanks to you all.

MJ4,
    Have you a questionnaire/specific questions you could post here or pm to members? It might give you more accurate feedback. Some people here tend to go off topic:D.
    Interested to see how it turns out. Woossy academic type.;)

Hi Deadwood,

This is a great point my apologies I dont have a questionnaire as its not so much a study or research. I was contacted by members involved with the policy making and implimentation process for feedback from those on the ground. The feedback I receive is from members I voluntarily work with through the support service and in order to give a more broad view here.

For those who have not contacted me through here I can only assume that they have no concerns or experience of bullying or of the bullying process which is great. My only fear is that some may have confidential views to share but dont feel confortable in sending me them for whatever reason.

As for how it looks now, well its not looking that positive overall

Thanks for taking the time to write its appreciated.:)

m4j wrote: »
    Thanks for taking the time to write its appreciated.:)
    No problem.
    I hope we're not losing mj4's balance and objectivity on this forum?

deadwood wrote: »
    No problem.
    I hope we're not losing mj4's balance and objectivity on this forum?

I didn't realise I had any :D

m4j wrote: »
    I didn't realise I had any :D
    Oh yeah. You're like karlitosway, you've a chip on both shoulders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

i think i've a chipped hip

pa990 wrote: »
    i think i've a chipped hip
    Salsa or Sour Cream?