Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

imac, buy now or update soon?

• 14-09-2008 3:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭

Yes, I know these threads come up a lot but I did do a search first :)
    I know it's pretty certain that the MB and MBP are getting updated next month but I don't know what's happening the imac.
    Macrumours doesn't show anything about any updates next month.

I do have an 18 month old macbook but tbh the hardisk is almost out of space at this stage and I'd have to upgrade. As it never leaves the gaff so it'd be nice to be working with more than a 13.3" screen.
    I do have a emac (old skool :cool:) but it's seriously old and has all of 700mhz CPU and 256mb ram. It's served me well but time for something better.

What ye reckon, there are some seriously tempting imacs over on the reburbished store. But will I get buyers remorse if they upgrade next month?

Finally, I got my first macbook based on the advice I got here and have never looked back. Ye're all so helpful :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

I'm looking at iMacs now too, but I've decided to hold off, just in case. If there is an update it'll probably be quad processing with a better graphics card. At the same time though, Snow Leapord (the next OSX iteration) is due "early" next year, so it could be worth while waiting a little longer, but if you're anything like me that's far too much time to wait :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

I think it'll be notebooks only in October's event - we might see the updates Projectmayhem mentioned for iMacs as a "silent" update (direct refresh of the Apple site with no press event) before the holiday period but no major refreshes until January and Macworld if not later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭Passenger

Well if there is an iMac update it won't be anything major and certainly not anything cosmetic. The design was updated only last year. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

but if you're anything like me that's far too much time to wait :D

Damn straight! :D

Correction:
    Actually ordered this:
    http://store.apple.com/ie/product/G0FH0B/A

From the reburbished store
    Can't wait-thanks for the advice all

Delivery date October 2nd - October 10th :(
    Sure I assume it's in Cork at the minute, not sure why the long delay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭johnk123

Even if an update does come in the next while, you still have a really good imac on your desk.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I think now is a good enough time to buy. iMacs were only updated in April. However there was a rumour a while back that there might be a speed-bump before Xmas but it seems a little unlikely and not worth waiting for imo.

Imac delivered, it's beautiful

And what's more is the one I paid for definitly stated 2gb ram and 500gb hard drive.
    What I have now have 4gb ram and it's either 700gb or 750gb harddrive, 690gb free at the minute.

That was an unexpected bonus, fair play Apple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

micmclo wrote: »
    That was an unexpected bonus, fair play Apple!

Probably more of a screw up than anything... They might come looking for it when whoever was expecting that one gets your configuration instead, which has lower specs, as refurbs are already configured. You might have no problem keeping it for the hassle anyway (it's not like it's your fault they sent the wrong one) but I'd contact them just to be sure. The specs of what you ordered in the first place should be confirmed on the invoice.

I figured it might be a mistake.

Hey if they want it back they'll have to get a courier to get it back and to meet me at my convienance and then another courier to send me mine.
    I reckon they'll leave it :)

But what is on the invoice is what I ordered, 24"screen, 500gb HDD, 2gb ram, 3.06ghx cpu.
    But when I check the system profile it all matches except 4gb ram and I've 690gb on the hard disk so loadsa space.
    To buy off Apple that's close to €200 of upgrades as they charge a fortune for Ram
    Somebody messed up somewhere and packed somebodies upgraded imac into my box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭dubmick

seems to happen a lot with the refurb store. That's a 750gb hard drive.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

micmclo wrote: »
    I figured it might be a mistake.

Hey if they want it back they'll have to get a courier to get it back and to meet me at my convienance and then another courier to send me mine.
    I reckon they'll leave it :)

But what is on the invoice is what I ordered, 24"screen, 500gb HDD, 2gb ram, 3.06ghx cpu.
    But when I check the system profile it all matches except 4gb ram and I've 690gb on the hard disk so loadsa space.
    To buy off Apple that's close to €200 of upgrades as they charge a fortune for Ram
    Somebody messed up somewhere and packed somebodies upgraded imac into my box.

Seems to happen quite regularly. Forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭johnk123

Yeah, i think it happens quite alot on the refurb store. Probably something like if two people order the same computer off the store, they send one person that computer and the other something with nearly the same specs. Whatever happens, you got lucky. Leave it at that

johnk123 wrote: »
    Whatever happens, you got lucky. Leave it at that

Score! :D

Don't worry folks, I was hardly going to ask Apple to take away an imac with a better spec than the one I ordered.

Thanks anyway