Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stunning win for Vittel!

• 14-09-2008 1:32pm

What a great grand prix! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Cracking stuff, so many possibilites. Where's the rain when you need it eh? ;)

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

great for the toro rossa team and vettel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Big up Vettel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Yeah fantastic achievement for him. To get Pole and then to go on and actually win in such convincing fashion is incredible, and to top it all he now becomes the youngest ever driver to win an F1 race beating Alonso's record by a year.
    Well done Vettel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭The Dude 87

More wet races please!!!!!!!!:D:D Really spiced things up the last two races!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I would install a sprinkler system with a programme to give one 15 min downpour and one light shower at random intervals.

Mike.

How many hours until Red Bull lose Vettel for next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Great result fair play to him.

Feel hamilton deserves a mention also for the race he drove compared to raikkonen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭FedFrank2

well done to vettel, felt sorry for bourdais too, imagine what could have been for him. vettel was simply stunning this weekend, what foresight by me to him in my fantasy f1 team :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

That was a cracking race and a superb result for Toro Rosso. They're still poor by F1 standards, but it's amazing what a little extra cash has done for them compared to when they were Minardi. Vettel impressed me towards the end of last season in China, and since he got over his awful start to this season he's definitely been one to watch. Also really happy for Gerhard Berger, he was always one of my favourites when he was driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Fantastic job by Vettel, delighted for him and Minardi, ahem, whoops, excuse me, I mean Toro Rosso! :D Bet Mateschitz (sp?) and the main Red Bull team must be a little peed off that the much smaller, much less financed sister team have scored the Red Bull corporation's first G.P. win, though. So much for the much vaunted Adrian Newey/Renault engine combination, eh? :rolleyes:

Had to laugh when I heard the Italian national anthem playing right after the German one. I thought to myself, "Jaysus, there's a combination we haven't heard in quite a while! I wonder if it's something we're going to have to start getting sick and tired of listening to again?" :D Then I remembered that Vettel is going to the main Red Bull team next year so I guess not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Well done Vettel, great drive!! All that training at the Regenmeister's home track has paid off!!
    And thanks for rubbing that itv's nose in it. Am getting really peed off their one sided coverage at this stage.
    I really hope there's more to come from him, he seems like a nice fellow with a sense of humour and doesn't seem too bothered at all by his public image.
    Really sorry for his team mate Bourdais, could've finished on the podium too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Woden wrote: »
    Great result fair play to him.

Feel hamilton deserves a mention also for the race he drove compared to raikkonen

Not another Hamilton Lover-Boy..
    Yeah right.. Hamilton drove so much better than Kimi he only finished 2 places ahead of Kimi ,, Remember he also drives a car that handles much better in those conditions than the Ferrari does.. so.. No votes for Lewis today i am afraid :D

vectra wrote: »
    Not another Hamilton Lover-Boy..

Hardly tbh. Which I believe would be detected based on other posts I have in this forum. But I felt credit where credit was due. He drove a good race to minimize damage after the poor qualifying and if the predicted rain had come it would have made for an interesting finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭stever

Amazing stuff from torro rosso and SV for dominating the Italian GP. Kubica deserves a mention for his drive from 11th on the grid.

Anyone notice that the three men on the podium won their first gp this year?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Fantastic qualifying and great race. Great result for the sport. I was well impressed with Vettel when I saw him in December at the ROC in London (although that's a more relaxed atmosphere and can't really be taken very seriously).
    Ya, noticed the 3 new boys alright! Good future ahead for the sport! All we need now is for BMW to close the gap to the front 2 teams and a 4th team to close up too, so we can see a 4 or 5 way battle!
    Anyone else notice that 2008 is the year for the youngsters?
    Feb this year new record for youngest ever WRC round winner - Latvila, and Sept youngest F1 race winner Vettel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

mike65 wrote: »
    I would install a sprinkler system with a programme to give one 15 min downpour and one light shower at random intervals.

Mike.
    I second this proposal! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Hamilton drove a good race to be fair considering he made moves before Kimi even looked like he was aware the race had started. However, he won over few friends I would say with some dodgy moves that even ITV were cringing at! I cringed myself though when they started suggesting that Hamilton had his gear stolen yesterday and someone drove in his place and that THIS is Hamilton! :rolleyes:

Bad stuff from Ferrari, Massa didn't move...Kimi eventually got himself in gear. Surprised that Hamilton slowed at the end but maybe he FINALLY matured enough to realise that 1 point lost was better than going off track (or maybe he was just quite slow once he caught up).

Delighted for Vettel though! Unfortunate that Bourdais stalled on the grid, could have been an even better weekend for the team and good for him after last weekends judgement that took his point off him.

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

A great result for Vettel and well done to him and Torro Rosso.

ITV's consistent eulogising of Hamilton is becoming sickening. They waxed lyrical about him again (yes he did drive well at times) but coveniently avoided criticising Hamilton in the way they would have heaped it other drivers had they driven off Glock & Webber as Hamilton did. 7th place was a fair reward for his weekend, but no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭superjosh9

shamwari wrote: »
    ITV's consistent eulogising of Hamilton is becoming sickening...

I can't take it anymore!!! It's unbearable now. I used to hate the David Kennedy, Declan, Gary combo but at least they are impartial and just keep talking about everyone - esp whoever is going fast - and always listing the driver's laptimes whether they are 1st or 10th - i.e, whoever is going fast! I used to switch on to them when ITV is having an ad break - but I am finding more and more that I just leave them on.

Gary Anderson keeps saying 'to be honest, in my opinion, you know, I mean' far too much though. He must learn some more English.

GO TORO ROSSO! I like Bourdais too - he seems to want to do well.

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    Hamilton drove a good race to be fair considering he made moves before Kimi even looked like he was aware the race had started. However, he won over few friends I would say with some dodgy moves that even ITV were cringing at! I cringed myself though when they started suggesting that Hamilton had his gear stolen yesterday and someone drove in his place and that THIS is Hamilton! :rolleyes:

Delighted for Vettel though! Unfortunate that Bourdais stalled on the grid, could have been an even better weekend for the team and good for him after last weekends judgement that took his point off him.

Yes heh was only saying to a friend last night. You know its bad when Brundle stops defending him.

Indeed unfortunate for Bourdais was hoping for a strong result for him to carry on the recent form.

Looking forward now to the night race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

I am officially no longer reading news that concerns Hamilton...ITV are no longer the worst culprits of pimping him, he is! THIS is the reason that I have had a dislike of him (you know when there is some reason but can't place why....I have solved that mystery)

Some quotes:
    "I showed that I was quickest in the wet and had great pace. I think a win was possible today."

"I'm not surprised (to be still in the lead) because I drove my arse off and you know what I can do in the wet."

"He just clipped my front wheel and went on, but the lucky thing is that the car didn't break. Just imagine if the car had broke, it would have been disastrous." (Webber incident - pretty sure Webber had no room)

Compare that to Vettel who has said that he is not the next Schumi (called baby Schumi in German press :D), gets on well with media apparently (but in a friendly manner rather than the above) and has been touted by Berger and Schumacher to win championships...

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    I am officially no longer reading news that concerns Hamilton...ITV are no longer the worst culprits of pimping him, he is! THIS is the reason that I have had a dislike of him (you know when there is some reason but can't place why....I have solved that mystery)

Some quotes:
    "I showed that I was quickest in the wet and had great pace. I think a win was possible today."

"I'm not surprised (to be still in the lead) because I drove my arse off and you know what I can do in the wet."

"He just clipped my front wheel and went on, but the lucky thing is that the car didn't break. Just imagine if the car had broke, it would have been disastrous." (Webber incident - pretty sure Webber had no room)

Compare that to Vettel who has said that he is not the next Schumi (called baby Schumi in German press :D), gets on well with media apparently (but in a friendly manner rather than the above) and has been touted by Berger and Schumacher to win championships...
    Ya, Brundle was saying he's so friendly that he's giving F1 drivers a bad name! He even shakes hands with the camera and sound men when being interviewed! I'd love to see him in a good car and repeatedly hand Hamilton his arse.

Ya, we know what you can do in the wet alright - complain that the brakes aren't working and it's not your fault, even though your team mate who's paid to support your whiney ass had the same brake problem, kicked your ass in qualifying, and still blamed himself for not being quick enough.
    Lewis needs to be beaten with a modesty stick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

My opinion of Hamilton has changed after watching that GP. His "move" on Webber was pathetic and I sincerely hope that he didn't see Glock, as pushing another driver onto wet grass at that speed is unforgivable.

I think he's started to believe the hype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

I agree with what's been said about Hamilton, but I'd rather not dwell on it after a great day for the sport.

Seeing Vettel on the podium was fantastic, I love his attitude and the way he and the team performed all weekend was incredible. They didn't just luck into that victory, they dominated the entire weekend in difficult conditions and claimed a well deserved win. Small teams aren't supposed to do that in F1. Brilliant stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

IanCurtis wrote: »
    My opinion of Hamilton has changed after watching that GP. His "move" on Webber was pathetic and I sincerely hope that he didn't see Glock, as pushing another driver onto wet grass at that speed is unforgivable.

I think he's started to believe the hype.
    My opinion hanst changed and never will.. He always was and always will be an A$$hole with a big mouth and a small brain.
    He has made 3 more enemies on the track yesterday.
    Glock stated that the next time he is beside Hamilton on the track he is going to drive the same as Hamilton does ( DIRTY..!! )
    I sincerely hope Massa Sends him home crying this year.. You know what..?
    Wouldnt it be beautiful for Massa to Pip him to the drivers champ by one point again as Kimi did last year.. or Better still Kimi to Dominate the rest of the season and for him to do it again.. Would be some laugh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

For Massa to win the title at Interlagos would be incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Hamilton drove well with the car underneath him but most of his overtaking "moves" happened on straights before the turn. It was sickingly easy.

McLaren is some car in the rain. They could do with being rid of Kovalainen because he should of been challenging Vettel in this race in that car. Don't know why Ferrari were so quick to continue Raikonnen's contract considering his not giving a damn about racing at the moment.

As for Hamilton's "robust" moves i'd say plenty of the drivers are not down with him and before the end of this season one of them will not drive onto the grass to avoid him but hold their legitimate ground and let him nail them if he's going for one of his moves. I can imagine the ITV uproars already.

Vettel must be sick that he joined the so called better car of the Red Bull teams. He deserves a better car and everyone's respect for having to work his way up the grid to be the potential future champion. Him, Hamilton and Kubica should be some battles for the future, not forgetting Alonso's relative young age and undoubted ability.

60% chance of rain in the night race at Singapore according to the long range forecasts. But if you ask me they are useless. Two weeks is too far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

on hamilton, thought it was an excellent drive, might have challenged for the win or podium if he had risked the inters at his first stop, he did seem to move across on webber(or was it trulli) and alonso a bit sharply... will be interesting to see how the season ends for him, apparently he was booed by the italian crowd doing the drivers parade before the race... so maybe that got him riled up a bit

the one think i did think was a bit much was when he was interviewed after the race, he said "oh who won the race, did vittel win the race?"... just seemed a bit weird that he didn't know who finished first... but maybe he only thinks about himself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,672 ✭✭✭Oblomov

I think it is too early to begin comparisons with the elite, as it were..

Names like Buton and Boutson spring to mind as one Grand Prux winners, having benefitted from a depleted field in the wet.

Good luck to the guy but, a little common sense is needed at this point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Oblomov wrote: »
    I think it is too early to begin comparisons with the elite, as it were..

Names like Buton and Boutson spring to mind as one Grand Prux winners, having benefitted from a depleted field in the wet.

Good luck to the guy but, a little common sense is needed at this point
    Who compared him to the elite? It was a great drive by Vettle unlucky for Bourdais good to see one of the so called lesser teams at the front even if it was down to the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

having benefitted from a depleted field in the wet

How was the field depleted? All the main runners were there but not quick enough in qualifying and or the race.

More great quotes from hamilton today:

"I have been a racing driver since I was eight years old and I know pretty much every single manoeuvre in the book, and that's why I'm the best at my job."

"We are talking about a skilled driver under intense pressure making a split-second decision which no-one, not unless they are in Formula One, can comprehend."

Tozzi told Hamilton to "stop personalising" the issue as he was under instruction from Ferrari, who "know as much about Formula One as you do".

Hamilton responded: "With respect, I doubt it."

I hope they increase his punishment like they did to Irvine back in the day :p