Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Floyd Mayweather Jr.

• 11-09-2008 10:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hello Everyone,

Only started posting here recently and there seems to be a fair few boxing fans on this forum (to my delight), alot of you seem to know your stuff and im just wondering what you all think of Floyd Mayweather Jr.
    I mean in my experience discussing Floyd with boxing fans people either love him or hate him.
    Do you believe he will come back?
    Do you believe all this retirement talk is another one of floyds marketing and promoting stunts??
    Do you think floyd is dodging anyone e.g. Miguel Cotto, Shane Mosley or Maragarito?
    How do you rate Floyd?

Me personally i am a big Mayweather fan, i do believe he is one of the greatest boxers who has ever lived.
    He is technically an unbelivable fighter and as some people may find him boring to watch i think its fascinating,
    his defence is unreal and his speed is mindblowing.
    I dont think he is dodging anyone to be honest, i believe he is the pound for pound best in the world and i also believe there is nobody out there at the moment who could beat him,
    I mean the only threat i see is Miguel Cotto but i think floyd would still outbox him,
    Floyd too quick for Cotto.
    I think floyd would make **** of Margarito, the only thing in my opinon margarito has is a hollow head.
    He keeps coming forward no matter how ****in hard you hit him but i couldnt see him going twelve rounds walkin into floyds Straight rights and left hooks.
    I Also believe that floyd will indeed be back, I mean he is a marketing genius and who he fights i dont know...
    I would most likely see him having a rematch with either Oscar or Ricky,
    they would gross a hell of alot more money then a fight with either Cotto or Margarito.
    Especially with all the news of Floyds home being broken into and seven million dollars worth of jewellery stolen aswell as him being sued by a big property developer in Florida....
    Money may not exactly be "tight" for "Money" Mayweather but for someone who has a 20 thousand dollar a day gambling habit i see this as a major push for floyd to get back in the ring.
    I mean there has been rumours that floyd has been training heavily still even tho he is supposed to be "retired,"
    Okay he has been pretty much living in the gym his whole life and you couldnt just stop like that because u've quit your trade but the fact that are rumours of him still sparring begs the quesion.............

Anyway.......
    Floyd Mayweather Jr.
    Discuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

He will be back and as good as ever!
    i also think he's 1 of the greats but would like him to face the best out there, cotto, margarito, cintron the list of potential fights goes on..
    i love watching him as he makes it all look so easy..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,378 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Paul, he may well be back; but I doubt he will be as good as ever.
    His best days are well past, and IMO, he doesn't impress above 140 lbs
    Beating a jaded and OLD Oscar is not impressive and I didn't even give
    him that win.

He may come back and fight a super fight, but against whom?

He has to fight the best to be seen as the best.

It's Margarito or Cotto or NOBODY!

Something tells me he's is secretly hoping Pac beats Oscar, where he will
    then come out of retirement to fight Pac, the smaller smaller man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭richie rich08

can tell you have no idea what you are talkin about....Firstly floyd doesnt impress over 140?
    Eh how about how he schooled Zab Judah at 146?
    A fighter they thought would given floyd problems because he was quick aswell!
    Or how about Carlos Balodmir at 147? In which he won every single round!
    Or Arturo Gatti at 140? I find that fight hard to watch floyd beat him that bad!
    He still had unreal speed uptil the end of his career yeh i do agree with you that he wasnt as good. But to say he doesnt impress above 140 is ridiclous,
    He wasnt throwin as many combos against Oscar or Hatton,
    but that didnt take away from the fact he was hurtin them with that vicious straight right and the quick left hook!

I agree with you that floyd would like to fight pac if anyone....
    But yet again you made a stupid comment sayin "the smaller smaller man"
    do you know anything about these two??
    Manny is 5 6 1/2" and Floyd is 5 8"???
    Floyd has fought most of his career down around the weight class pacquaio is dominating?
    He is hardly bigger them in Physically either........
    I mean cmon?
    What kind of comment was that!!

I believe that would be a brillant fight and they could fight at whatever weight class they wanted too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

C'mon now , you cant make Manny a Welterweight just like that.
    He's only just moved UP to Lightweight !!!

2 different sizes , and 2 different frames...... you'll see it against Oscar how different they are.
    There's 14lbs weight difference between Manny's optimum weight and Floyd's optimum weight ! every ounce makes a difference in the ring.

Floyd will return sometime I'm sure.... when i first seen the news of his retirement , I just passed it by as useless tabloid rubbish.
    I didnt actually think he'd stay away this long !!!
    I wondered if it was a way to get out of the Oscar fight.
    It recieved really bad press , and PPV wasnt expected to be as rich as the first.

But, Floyd is not even close to his sell-by date .... the oportunity will be there for years to come for a return to the ring.
    When that big money fight comes along , he will be back.

can tell you have no idea what you are talkin about....Firstly floyd doesnt impress over 140?
    Eh how about how he schooled Zab Judah at 146?
    A fighter they thought would given floyd problems because he was quick aswell!
    Or how about Carlos Balodmir at 147? In which he won every single round!
    Or Arturo Gatti at 140? I find that fight hard to watch floyd beat him that bad!
    He still had unreal speed uptil the end of his career yeh i do agree with you that he wasnt as good. But to say he doesnt impress above 140 is ridiclous,
    He wasnt throwin as many combos against Oscar or Hatton,
    but that didnt take away from the fact he was hurtin them with that vicious straight right and the quick left hook!

I agree with you that floyd would like to fight pac if anyone....
    But yet again you made a stupid comment sayin "the smaller smaller man"
    do you know anything about these two??
    Manny is 5 6 1/2" and Floyd is 5 8"???
    Floyd has fought most of his career down around the weight class pacquaio is dominating?
    He is hardly bigger them in Physically either........
    I mean cmon?
    What kind of comment was that!!

I believe that would be a brillant fight and they could fight at whatever weight class they wanted too

How was the comment stupid?

Do the research on both and a history of the divisions they competed in.
    There's a lot more to size than simply height. Pac is at best a 126 lb man.
    Now, PBF was 126 lbs in the games of 1996 aged 20. Are you following me.
    How does smaller man sound. Is that more accurate?

PBF's best weight was 135-140, where he was a natural and big fighter. Pac
    is a blown up feather in the 140-147 lb range.

Think a little more before labeling someone stupid!
    Because in this instance, it has clearly backfired for you

http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=6129&cat=boxer

In 1998/99, Pac was still a flyweight for chrissake! He didn't enter the 126
    range until aged 24/25

I'm not gonna' bother listing Floyd's weights as a pro; I'll let you try that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭richie rich08

yeh but pacquiao has been recently fighting at a weight in which floyd was aswell for several years,
    what i am saying his pacman is well able to compete at that weight also!!

it would be a brillant fight,
    which i believe floyd would win not because of "size" which clearly isnt,
    Sure look at pac is going upto for de la hoya??
    Its suicide in my opinon, that is were there is a major size difference,
    sure around the time floyd fought de la hoya they were talkin size difference aswell.
    But floyd did it,
    Pac wont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Floyd has amazing talents but he will not be remember as one of the greatest.

He fought no body at 147, scrapped a SD against Oscar.

Money talks the talk but he failed to walk the walk.

He will be back.
    He avoided every legit welter.

Floyd does indeed make it look easy. But his record is not full of the elite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

Anyone who thinks Floyd lost to oscar needs to reevalute their scoring methods. Also take into account the fact that he was moving from 147 to 154, not to mention who he was fighting.

Who can beat floyd? cotto? margarito?

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I reckon alot of deep thought went into Mayweathers "retirement" this time. My guess is that he will be back in 2009 against the December 6th winner to claim back his lb4lb title and all of that. Either he gets a much smaller fighter in pac (who at that stage will be billed as being proven at welter if he gets by oscar) or he gets an even older Oscar. Pretty much win win. I can also see him taking on Margarito after that...maybe.
    Apart from that it would be a warm up against Hatton in Wembly.

I wouldnt mind if he took on hatton, pac or de la hoya as long as he fought Margo or whoever the top welter is late 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

akindoc wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks Floyd lost to oscar needs to reevalute their scoring methods. Also take into account the fact that he was moving from 147 to 154, not to mention who he was fighting.

Who can beat floyd? cotto? margarito?

lol

?

Oscar says he will give Mayweather a rematch because he needs the money!!!

http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=15865

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Floyd Mayweather was a brilliant super-feather. He completely dominated some very, very good competition. IMO As good as there ever was in that weight division.

Floyd Mayweather then fought the acknowledged best lightweight at the time Castillo and got a bad decision in his favour. I had him losing by aprox. 3 rounds. He won the rematch without setting the world alight. He beat Sosa and N'dou. So what ? Very, very ordinary lightweight career.

Floyd Mayweather fought 3 times at light-welter. DeMarcus Corley was acknowledged at the time as the 'gatekeeper' of the division. Fight him first and if you beat him you're ready for the elite. Corley seriously rattled Floyd, but Mayweather won a fair but unimpressive decision. He then fought Henry Bruseles. WHO ?? He then fought a completely and utterly washed-up past his best, old Arturo Gatti, who even when he was at his best (at super-feather) would have been an easy fight for Floyd.

That's his light-welter legacy !!! No Kostya Tsyzu, no Cotto.... no anybody !!

At welter, he fought an old, way past his best light-welter, Sharmba Mitchell. He then fought an ex-light welter (Judah), also way past his best, who had just lost to the very ordinary Carlos Baldomir !! Judah gave him plenty of problems early on, but did his usual disappearing act in the second half of the fight. Then we had the aforementioned very ordinary Carlos Baldomir. As predictable a result as boxing could produce. Then there was the very close fight that divided lots of knowledgable folk against a way past his best De la Hoya. I still think that was quite a good result for Mayweather, but nothing special. Then there was Hatton, a light-welter, who was the victim of some of the most atrocious refereeing I have ever seen, which prevented him from working on the inside as he was being held every single time and resulted in him getting totally frustrated and commiting the cardinal sin of losing his cool and getting punished for it..... and that's it..... no Cotto, no Margarito, no Williams.

It's not as if he had cleaned out the division and there was nothing left out there for him to prove his greatness against.

Mayweather only proved himself (and then some) at super-feather and to a much lesser extent at lightweight. Above that he has left more questions than answers.

megadodge wrote: »
    Floyd Mayweather was a brilliant super-feather. He completely dominated some very, very good competition. IMO As good as there ever was in that weight division.

Floyd Mayweather then fought the acknowledged best lightweight at the time Castillo and got a bad decision in his favour. I had him losing by aprox. 3 rounds. He won the rematch without setting the world alight. He beat Sosa and N'dou. So what ? Very, very ordinary lightweight career.

Floyd Mayweather fought 3 times at light-welter. DeMarcus Corley was acknowledged at the time as the 'gatekeeper' of the division. Fight him first and if you beat him you're ready for the elite. Corley seriously rattled Floyd, but Mayweather won a fair but unimpressive decision. He then fought Henry Bruseles. WHO ?? He then fought a completely and utterly washed-up past his best, old Arturo Gatti, who even when he was at his best (at super-feather) would have been an easy fight for Floyd.

At welter, he fought an old, way past his best light-welter, Sharmba Mitchell. He then fought an ex-light welter (Judah), also way past his best, who had just lost to the very ordinary Carlos Baldomir !! Judah gave him plenty of problems early on, but did his usual disappearing act in the second half of the fight. Then we had the aforementioned very ordinary Carlos Baldomir. As predictable a result as boxing could produce. Then there was the very close fight that divided lots of knowledgable folk against a way past his best De la Hoya. I still think that was quite a good result for Mayweather, but nothing special. Then there was Hatton, a light-welter, who was the victim of some of the most atrocious refereeing I have ever seen, which prevented him from working on the inside as he was being held every single time and resulted in him getting totally frustrated and commiting the cardinal sin of losing his cool and getting punished for it..... and that's it..... no Cotto, no Margarito, no Williams.

It's not as if he had cleaned out the division and there was nothing left out there for him to prove his greatness against.

Mayweather only proved himself (and then some) at super-feather and to a much lesser extent at lightweight. Above that he has left more questions than answers.

Says it all for me. Floyd had some super moments and some less than super.
    Overall, at peak, at 140 lbs, he is IMO a super fighter. I don't rate his welter exploits much at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

anyone take seriously the UFC rumors about him?

raven136 wrote: »
    anyone take seriously the UFC rumors about him?

No not unless he trains or has trained the ground game for 1-2 years, he could afford the best coaching but it would never stay a secret, plus the money in ufc is way less than what he can get for boxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

cowzerp wrote: »
    No not unless he trains or has trained the ground game for 1-2 years, he could afford the best coaching but it would never stay a secret, plus the money in ufc is way less than what he can get for boxing.

yes,.. I believe the purse for televised UFC is closer to 100K - 150K for the victor.
    He could be looking at between 5 - 25 million in a well publicised boxing return, depending on the opponent !

Also , Floyd was one of the first boxer's to publicly rubbish UFC/MMA , claiming that it was a sport for people who couldnt make it in the world of boxing.

hilarious post.

floyd is 100 times better than hatton and bounced his head off the ringpost to illustrate this, after easily outboxing him and teaching him a lesson.

again, please post your scorecard if you have dl beating floyd. as i said, anyone who did needs to reevaluate how to actually score a fight.

the number 1 consensus welterweight champion needed "3 warm up fights" in order to fight floyd while they were at 140. The offer was on the table. and floyd is criticised for this? lol

cotto and margarito would be easily outboxed by floyd all night. williams would get potshotted to death.

you also conveniently forgot corrales in your assessment, which was seen as a genuine 50,50 fight at the time. and the very ordinary carlos baldomir was the very fighter floyd was criticised for not facing when he took on judah as baldomir was the lineal champ at 147, floyd took that crown in the ring.

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    Also , Floyd was one of the first boxer's to publicly rubbish UFC/MMA , claiming that it was a sport for people who couldnt make it in the world of boxing.

This was just to publicise his fight with DLH, he's meant to be an mma fan and was known to go to mma before this, most people know that and take it with a pinch of salt...

if they had equal access to both he might be right anyway, considering the pay differences at the top level but i think people just do what they started with as thats what they know, a world class mma fighter would possibly be a world class boxer if he had started at it as a kid! same applies to all sport, some people are just talented and just need to be taught!

akindoc wrote: »
    hilarious post.

floyd is 100 times better than hatton and bounced his head off the ringpost to illustrate this, after easily outboxing him and teaching him a lesson.

again, please post your scorecard if you have dl beating floyd. as i said, anyone who did needs to reevaluate how to actually score a fight.

the number 1 consensus welterweight champion needed "3 warm up fights" in order to fight floyd while they were at 140. The offer was on the table. and floyd is criticised for this? lol

cotto and margarito would be easily outboxed by floyd all night. williams would get potshotted to death.

you also conveniently forgot corrales in your assessment, which was seen as a genuine 50,50 fight at the time. and the very ordinary carlos baldomir was the very fighter floyd was criticised for not facing when he took on judah as baldomir was the lineal champ at 147, floyd took that crown in the ring.

Scorecard?

Who needs one. From what I saw, and I only saw the bout twice because it was so damn poor; Oscar forced and Oscar threw and Floyd ran and Floyd ducked and Floyd hid. Now, at times, Floyd threw punches and Floyd connected; but he was the runner and had Oscar not forced it, IT wouldn't have even happened. How the hell anyone scored the bout for Floyd is beyond me. Were they just watching Floyd all along and getting caught up with the hype and unbeaten record etc?

walshb wrote: »
    Scorecard?

Who needs one. From what I saw, and I only saw the bout twice because it was so damn poor; Oscar forced and Oscar threw and Floyd ran and Floyd ducked and Floyd hid. Now, at times, Floyd threw punches and Floyd connected; but he was the runner and had Oscar not forced it, IT wouldn't have even happened. How the hell anyone scored the bout for Floyd is beyond me. Were they just watching Floyd all along and getting caught up with the hype and unbeaten record etc?

Agreed.

After the fight i thought DLH won, i could not watch it again though!!
    DLH tried to win while FMW just went through the motions, if they rematched i believe FMW would easily beat him but he would have to try this time!!

cowzerp wrote: »
    Agreed.

After the fight i thought DLH won, i could not watch it again though!!
    DLH tried to win while FMW just went through the motions, if they rematched i believe FMW would easily beat him but he would have to try this time!!
    Paul, he just couldn't handle Oscar's style and speed, albeit deficient speed at that stage; and I doubt had they fought again, that much would have changed.

Floyd was simply against a bigger man with talent and ring skills and speed. It confused him and he couldn't solve the puzzle.

I can't see there being much difference second time round, apart from Oscar being even more a shell of his former self!

walshb wrote: »
    Paul, he just couldn't handle Oscar's style and speed, albeit deficient speed at that stage; and I doubt had they fought again, that much would have changed.

Floyd was simply against a bigger man with talent and ring skills and speed. It confused him and he couldn't solve the puzzle.

I can't see there being much difference second time round, apart from Oscar being even more a shell of his former self!

Lads you seem to be talking about a fight that you haven't seen.

It was a close fight but floyd won it clearly. Fights are scored round by round and floyd won more rounds simple as that. Can you really blame him for not being as offensive minded as he could have been considering the size deficit? Floyd outlanded DLH by 207-122 punches and took over down the stretch, as he usually does.

Sounds like you expected Floyd to stand in the pocket and trade with DLH, the bigger man, the bigger puncher, with one of the most granite chins in boxing.

However if you watch the fight, floyd didn't RUN, he stood his ground or was shoulder rolling on the ropes. He wasn't as offensive as he usually is but he landed more punches as counters and pot shots. He staggered DLh too at one point I recall.

It was a CLEAR and CONSISE win for Floyd.

hilarious post.

Another classic Akindoc post !!

He disagrees with someone, so decides to lie and misquote the other poster in order to make his point, all the while thinking nobody will notice !!

I'll give you 10 out of 10 for consistency !!

1. Please quote where I said I thought De la Hoya beat Mayweather. Go on. Find it. It must be there, as you reckon I need to "reevaluate how to actually score a fight". The bit where I said " I still think that was quite a good result for Mayweather" was conveniently ignored. Or was it? I don't really know, because your emotive posts usually end up contradicting themselves somewhere along the line.

2. I "conveniently forgot Corrales" in my assessment did I ? So the very first three sentences of my post somehow managed to avoid your eagle eyes ? Go back and look at them ! Go on. OK, since you missed them the first time you'll probably miss them the second so I'll quote myself - "Floyd Mayweather was a brilliant super-feather. He completely dominated some very, very good competition. IMO As good as there ever was in that weight division."
    The "IMO" stands for In My Opinion, BTW. (The "BTW" stands for By The Way, by the way).

Not alone was I crediting him for his excellent win against Corrales, I was saying all his other highly impressive wins in the super feather division have him up there with the very best that ever fought in that division IN MY OPINION !!

3. So Floyd is "100 times better than Hatton". Really ? Exactly 100 or just roughly ? You'd imagine with those odds in his favour he'd have destroyed him in, at the very worst, the first minute. Yet for six rounds he did almost nothing other than hold incessantly !! Over and over and over again, with the full backing of a biased ref !! WHY ?? Especially if he was 100 times better !! I shiver to think what sort of a spectacle we'd have had if he was only twice as good as him !!

4. Maths question (maybe you can ask your maths teacher for advice on this one) - If it takes a fighter 100 times better than another ten rounds to finish said fighter, how many hundred times better than Tommy Hearns was Marvin Hagler ?

5. How do you (or anyone) know what would happen if Floyd fought Margarito, Williams or Cotto ? There's only one way to prove it and it ain't on an internet forum !!

In summation, the reason I rate Mayweather so highly at super-feather is because he fought and easily beat top class competition. The reason I don't rate him at 140 or higher is because he avoided the best fighters. It's very simple really.... or at least it should be. With Akindoc who knows ?

Another classic Akindoc post !!

He disagrees with someone, so decides to lie and misquote the other poster in order to make his point, all the while thinking nobody will notice !!

I'll give you 10 out of 10 for consistency !!

1. Please quote where I said I thought De la Hoya beat Mayweather. Go on. Find it. It must be there, as you reckon I need to "reevaluate how to actually score a fight". The bit where I said " I still think that was quite a good result for Mayweather" was conveniently ignored. Or was it? I don't really know, because your emotive posts usually end up contradicting themselves somewhere along the line.

2. I "conveniently forgot Corrales" in my assessment did I ? So the very first three sentences of my post somehow managed to avoid your eagle eyes ? Go back and look at them ! Go on. OK, since you missed them the first time you'll probably miss them the second so I'll quote myself - "Floyd Mayweather was a brilliant super-feather. He completely dominated some very, very good competition. IMO As good as there ever was in that weight division."
    The "IMO" stands for In My Opinion, BTW. (The "BTW" stands for By The Way, by the way).

Not alone was I crediting him for his excellent win against Corrales, I was saying all his other highly impressive wins in the super feather division have him up there with the very best that ever fought in that division IN MY OPINION !!

3. So Floyd is "100 times better than Hatton". Really ? Exactly 100 or just roughly ? You'd imagine with those odds in his favour he'd have destroyed him in, at the very worst, the first minute. Yet for six rounds he did almost nothing other than hold incessantly !! Over and over and over again, with the full backing of a biased ref !! WHY ?? Especially if he was 100 times better !! I shiver to think what sort of a spectacle we'd have had if he was only twice as good as him !!

4. Maths question (maybe you can ask your maths teacher for advice on this one) - If it takes a fighter 100 times better than another ten rounds to finish said fighter, how many hundred times better than Tommy Hearns was Marvin Hagler ?

5. How do you (or anyone) know what would happen if Floyd fought Margarito, Williams or Cotto ? There's only one way to prove it and it ain't on an internet forum !!

In summation, the reason I rate Mayweather so highly at super-feather is because he fought and easily beat top class competition. The reason I don't rate him at 140 or higher is because he avoided the best fighters. It's very simple really.... or at least it should be. With Akindoc who knows ?

I was responding to your comments, "divided a lot of knowledgable folk" about the DLH PBF result. Again, i say floyd clearly won, as did freddie roach who trained oscar.

Floyd was teeing off on Hatton from as early as the 4th round. He was taking it easy in there. He actually hit Hatton with probably the best left hook I have ever seen just 30 seconds in the fight to show him what was going to happen. He was way way better than Hatton and your crying about the ref wont change anything. He beat Hatton easily at his own game, fighting on the inside. Again, watch the fight to see how often floyd stood on the ropes or in the pocket with hatton and beat him there. no contest.

again, you criticise him for not fighting the best at 140 (which im sure you think is hatton) when hatton needed "3 warm up fights" to fight him. good logic. lets also criticise lennox lewis because he didn't fight riddick bowe. lennox should be criticised because bowe threw the belt in the bin.

At 147 he would be tested against the likes of margarito and cotto but would be a clear clear favourite and in my mind he would easily outbox them, teaching them both a lesson in the process.

I was responding to your comments, "divided a lot of knowledgable folk" about the DLH PBF result. Again, i say floyd clearly won, as did freddie roach who trained oscar.

But it actually did divide opinion (even look on this board). You said yourself it was close and I haven't heard anybody else say otherwise. The best boxing publication out there 'Boxing News' had it a draw.
    He actually hit Hatton with probably the best left hook I have ever seen just 30 seconds in the fight

If that's the best left hook you've seen you need to watch more boxing. Sugar Ray / Gene Fullmer, Frazier / Ali 1, etc.
    He beat Hatton easily at his own game, fighting on the inside

Nope, he didn't. Every time it went to the inside he held !! And got away scott free !!
    you criticise him for not fighting the best at 140 (which im sure you think is hatton)

I meant Tsyzu and Cotto as I said in my original post.

I would like to see him fight the 3 most dangerous welters. If he beat them, there would be no doubt whatsoever about his greatness, whereas right now there is.

Mayweather took it easy on Hatton the whole way through. He did catch him with a good few shots including that left hook and even tried the check hook a couple of times throughout.
    IMO he was letting Hatton wear himself out then take him out in the latter stage. If he turned on the heat it would have looked like Mayweather Gatti 2. If Mayweather Hatton happens again Ive a feeling Floyd will be more offensive from the start and it wont make it past 6.

joepenguin wrote: »
    Mayweather took it easy on Hatton the whole way through. He did catch him with a good few shots including that left hook and even tried the check hook a couple of times throughout.
    IMO he was letting Hatton wear himself out then take him out in the latter stage. If he turned on the heat it would have looked like Mayweather Gatti 2. If Mayweather Hatton happens again Ive a feeling Floyd will be more offensive from the start and it wont make it past 6.

exactly, it would have actually been worse than mayweather gatti. i hate the way people like megadodge defend ricky and criticise the ref. "floyd ran all night and held in close, he can't beat ricky inside". they must have missed floyd beating ricky inside over and over. he had a very easy night in there against hatton.

people will always criticise floyd imo. no matter what he does. he could beat margarito and people would still want him to fight cotto etc.

People will always criticise Floyd for various reasons alright but in fairness there are a few. My thoughts on Cortez performance was that it was absolutley dreadfull and put Hatton at a disadvantage as he likes to work on the inside.
    Although Mayweather beat him on the inside he did tend to rely on questionable tactics (ducking the head below waist height is a no no in the rule book isnt it?) <EDIT: And lets not forget the good old forearm stuck firmly in face when in close.>
    I still maintain that if Hatton could have gotten near him with some properly set up body shots then he would have at least softened Mayweather up. He did land body shots alright but the impact of them relys on the footwork,angles etc and Floyd was always 2 steps ahead.
    Should they meet again Hatton fairs better with a different ref but Floyd negs that out by moving out of seconds gear