Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asgard II sinking in the Bay of Biscay

• 11-09-2008 8:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭

Everyone was evacuated safely and with no injuries, but what a blow for the DOD.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Has it sunk by now? Earlier reports were that water was coming in through the bilges until it had taken on water to the deck level (which I suppose is sunk really).

If it's not holed and in a reasonable depth of water, would it be salvageable?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Never mind the DoD, what a blow for the entire country, our only sail training vessel is gone and after it rendered many, many years of fantastic work for the people of Ireland and for Ireland herself. Asgard 2 had been to the states and even as far as Austrailia. At a time when the Irish ensign is a dying breed, it's a huge blow for Irish seafaring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Last update I could find was at 7.50 this morning, when she was still foundering to deck level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Update - she's gone. From RTE:

"The sail training vessel Asgard II has sunk 20 miles off the coast of France in the Bay of Biscay.

The ship was lost at 8.25 local time (7.25am Irish time) 20 nautical miles from the French coast, south-west of Belle-Île-en-Mer..

Asgard II had earlier been abandoned after taking water overnight

The alarm was raised shortly before 2.30am this morning.
    The Government-owned Asgard II was heading from Falmouth in Cornwall to La Rochelle in France for minor maintenance.
    On board were five crew and 20 trainees, most of them Irish.
    At 2.20am, UK Marine Coastguard in Kinloss picked up a distress signal from the vessel.
    It is understood the Master of the Asgard reported the ship was taking in water.
    All crew and trainees took to life-rafts, and have been rescued safely by a French coastguard vessel.
    They were taken to a hotel on the nearby island of Belle-Île-en-Mer.
    A spokesperson from the Department of Defence said the Asgard had water up to its decks, but had not yet sunk.
    The LE Niamh was on its way to offer assistance.
    Officials from the Irish Embassy in Paris are travelling to the island to meet them.
    Commandant Fergal Purcell of the Defence Forces says it was too early to know whether the Asgard could be recovered."

Hopefully she's salvageable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Onion11

What a tragic loss. I trained and sailed aboard her years ago, and it was an amazing experience. Hope the crew and trainees get over the shock ok, must have been terrifying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Ships just don't sink. Any info on the cause?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Tarakiwa

There are a few threads on this topic on boards today so I hope you dont mind me repeating myself if you have read this in any other thread!

I think it is a huge loss for the country.

I had the pleasure of securing a berth for the 1995 Tall Ships Race. It was a wonderful experience and if all other trainees got out of it what I did then it will be a huge loss!

I hope that something can be done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 lordhawhaw

The ship that came to assist in rescue was "Arklow Venus".
    A ship from the home town of Asgard, where she was built by Tyrell.

Asgard: Great ship, outstanding service, Great Crew. Its years since I was aboard but can still visualise the ropes from stern to bow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Energizeer

Was it a white squall or what like?

I saw the asgard in cork harbor a few times. It's a pity.
    How much did it cost to train on her?
    I never knew it was owned by the govt.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Where did you hear about the Arklow Venus? (Unfortunately not Irish, but Dutch)

What a shame.
    As an ex seafarer, I had the opportunity to have been on her and to see her in foreign ports was a delight.
    Again, a shame and a great loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 lordhawhaw

http://www.premar-atlantique.gouv.fr/actualite/communiques/2008/9/11.html

Two ships "la bell Poule" possible STV pictured below, and "Arklow Venus" a commercial ship first on scene for assistance if my french is any good!. La belle Poule is identical to Asgard, if the internet is to be correct. She's a brig and painted White. Sister ship perhaps? The design and deck layout is so similar. Its a bit ironic if true. 2663617978_2dae26b1ce.jpg?v=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Very sad news indeed, was supposed to go on her last week but couldn't unfortunately.

Did a week on her ten years ago, alot of happy memories and still one good friend from the voyage.

It's a huge loss to the state. One of the few maritime projects that has really been a success for the state both here and abroad. She was a gem of a boat, nothing fancy, but a real gem, I always felt so proud when I saw her anywhere!

I suppose she is salvageable, but that most likely will be it.

What is next tho I wonder??

CJ Haughey was the driving force behind her being built in its, but who will push a for a replacement if one is needed??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Darr

Very saddened to hear the news this morning , spent a long cruise on her during the 94 tall ships from the UK to Oporto , always treasured the memories of that trip and the amazing sites and sea's we saw.

had always hoped I would see my own kids off on her for a trip someday ..
    Alas don’t think it will happen now.

And more the pity as the current "Government" would never be able to pull off anything as special/useful/awe inspiring/inspirational and prideful as this wonderful vessel so I fear that is the last we shall see of her.

I have heard she is resting in 19m of water but would probably cost a fair bit to raise her .. and you know the lads in office won’t have any spare cash in the current economic state ( well except to keep 350 cops by the shell pipe line , new cars , Expenses and the other vitals of the country)

a sad day
    Darr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭huber

What a disaster. I spent the best week of my life sailing on the Asgard about ten years ago. It was an amazing week that I will never forget. I hope all the crew will recover from the shock, an waful thing to happen with so many trainees onboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Yeah its such a shame.
    I sailed on her twice, the last time was about 3 months ago. It was a fantastic experience. Hopefully the government will either salvage her or build a new one.

Darr wrote: »
    Very saddened to hear the news this morning , spent a long cruise on her during the 94 tall ships from the UK to Oporto , always treasured the memories of that trip and the amazing sites and sea's we saw.

had always hoped I would see my own kids off on her for a trip someday ..
    Alas don’t think it will happen now.

And more the pity as the current "Government" would never be able to pull off anything as special/useful/awe inspiring/inspirational and prideful as this wonderful vessel so I fear that is the last we shall see of her.

I have heard she is resting in 19m of water but would probably cost a fair bit to raise her .. and you know the lads in office won’t have any spare cash in the current economic state ( well except to keep 350 cops by the shell pipe line , new cars , Expenses and the other vitals of the country)

a sad day
    Darr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Despite what we have said about CJ Haughy and his scandals, He was the very man that got the Asgard project off the ground. Give him some credit.

Despite what we have said about CJ Haughy and all his scandals, He was the very man that got the Asgard project off the ground. Give him somne credit.

YEs, i mentioned this in my original post on the first page.

Theres nobody in the current government who cares enough about Irelands Maritime heritage to get the Asgard show back on the road.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Glad to see the government are sending the LE Niamh to the scene, that including the 2 boats at Rossport leaves us with 5 boats to patrol the whole Irish coast, I'd be feeling very happy right now if I was a drug smuggler or if I wanted to engage in some illegal fishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

LE Niamh eh? I was under the impression it was LE Eithne that was heading there as thats what Pat Kenny said this morning when talking to Willie O'Dea and he didnt correct him. Also told she is in about 90M of water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Glad to see the government are sending the LE Niamh to the scene, that including the 2 boats at Rossport leaves us with 5 boats to patrol the whole Irish coast, I'd be feeling very happy right now if I was a drug smuggler or if I wanted to engage in some illegal fishing.

Could not agree more!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 skippergonzo

fair play to that skipper
    he got everyone off safe and sound in plenty of time
    thats 3 of my old ships sitting on the bottom now

Whilst the Asgard 2 was not a ship "of the fleet", she did belong to the state and in the absence of any salvage vessels under the Irish ensign, then I would imagine that the LE Niamh (or any other vessel they send) would be sent to assist in the initial investigation of the accident. The Asgard 2 was lost in 70m of water and it will take considerable assets and expertise to operate in those seas.

So whilst our coasts are invaded by Columbian drug lords and our seas being swept clean of "our assets", maybe the navy will be carrying out worthwhile work which may be put to use at another time.

So instead of whining and moaning about how the fleet is being deployed, why aren't you campaigning to have yet more Customs Cutters purchased and perhaps even a dedicated Salvage and Towing vessel chartered to allow this work to be done without having to use the ships you are so lamenting?

The Asgard was FULLY insured so money should be no object. It was a modern boat that was built in recent times and not some irreplaceable antique. The original detailed plans for CJ Haughys “Pirate vessel” are still available,.

There is plenty of redundant chippies from the former building boom that will gladly take up the privilege with the likes of FAS to build a replacement so lets get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

The Asgard was FULLY insured so money should be no object. It was a modern boat that was built in recent times and not some irreplaceable antique. The original detailed plans for CJ Haughys “Pirate vessel” are still available,.

There is plenty of redundant chippies from the former building boom that will gladly take up the privilege with the likes of FAS to build a replacement so lets get on with it.

Sure, but the expertise just isnt around any more!

If it was to be salvagable....would it be possible that it could be sailed again as a sail training ship? I dont know much about salvage tbh!

timmywex wrote: »
    Sure, but the expertise just isnt around any more!
    If anything there is more skills and expertise now than ever has been with so much foreign input from highly skilled immigrant tradesmen plus there are tools and equipment availible now that didn't exist 30years ago. The only difficulty I could see would be choosing the correct seasoned timber.

They can also learn from mistakes and design flaws from the previous boat and improve on them. Perhaps they could make the next model "unsinkable" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Onion11

If anything there is more skills and expertise now than ever has been with so much foreign input from highly skilled immigrant tradesmen plus there are tools and equipment availible now that didn't exist 30years ago. The only difficulty I could see would be choosing the correct seasoned timber.

They can also learn from mistakes and design flaws from the previous boat and improve on them. Perhaps they could make the next model "unsinkable" :D

Like the Titanic?:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

With all due respect to the many skilled craftsmen out there, there is no comparison between a shipwright and a building site carpenter/joiner. The nearest woodworking craft would possibly be a wet cooper, but they are as scarce as hen's teeth.

As for FAS, I'd move it to Humour only I'd have to put up with it there too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭UrbanFox

Hagar wrote: »
    With all due respect to the many skilled craftsmen out there, there is no comparison between a shipwright and a building site carpenter/joiner. The nearest woodworking craft would possibly be a wet cooper, but they are as scarce as hen's teeth.

As for FAS, I'd move it to Humour only I'd have to put up with it there too. :D

Correct.

Did a few thousand miles on Asgard II in the 90s. Exceptional experiences with happy memories.
    We should be so grateful that all souls were saved as lesser accidents have ended up tragically.

Ultimately, a lot will depend on what salvors (hopefully SMITs) say and the insurers want to do. Hopefully, this will not end up being treated as a constructive total loss whereby the government take the insurance money and Asgard II stays on the bottom. In that event we may wait a long time to see ASGARD III given the bad financial experiences in relation to boat building for this type of vessel in the recent past i.e. Jeanie Johnston & Dunbrody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

The latest seems to be that Asgard II has been located sitting upright on the seabed and that it looks like she sprang a plank.

What do they do now ?

Anyone know if a comparable salvage job has ever taken place for a vessel like this ?

I would love to see her raised and repaired. I sailed on her a few times and it was always good.