Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gun Dog.. Gun Dog

• 10-09-2008 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭

Wel lads i Want to get a good dog for shooting all types of game, Phesant woodcock snipe duck, also bring to corn field for pigeon shooting and to the wood. Any views on which dog to go for??As i said before i like a dog that points so i was thinking a Brittany spaniel but some say they are very active.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I've only ever seen videos but I hear good things about germen wire haired pointers as great all rounders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭LadyTBolt

Hungarian Vizsla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

German Wirehair.
    Excellent retrievers, land and water. Will work heavy cover and has enough range for open fields. A utility shooting dog.

By nature, gun dogs are intelligent, active breeds that require plenty of attention, extensive training, and abundant exercise. Rare is the gun dog that is born steady to wing and shot or lacks for energy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

German Wirehair.
    Excellent retrievers, land and water. Will work heavy cover and has enough range for open fields. A utility shooting dog.

By nature, gun dogs are intelligent, active breeds that require plenty of attention, extensive training, and abundant exercise. Rare is the gun dog that is born steady to wing and shot or lacks for energy.
    i have three wire hairs i use for stalking my bitch will point deer a long way off and her grand daughter is starting to do the same i had my pup back my bitch on a hind n calf last week ,they will swim for shot ducks hunt game and hop off foxes ,there easy to train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

in my opinion there is only one dog for the type of shooting your talking about and its the Springer spaniel now a lot of lads have different dogs eg pointers setters spaniels labs mutts hounds and exotics personally i like springers and they are good all rounders .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Vegeta wrote: »
    I've only ever seen videos but I hear good things about germen wire haired pointers as great all rounders.

+1. for a pointing dog they seem very versatile. if its an all rounder then i think you should go for a springer though. thats what i'l be getting next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭eveie

springers are excellent dos, have natural ability and in my experience dont require a whole lot of training as it comes natural to them. my bitch had a litter only 3 months ago could have given you one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

While I agree springers are great all rounders (have had many in the past) they are flushers not pointers and the OP said he preferred a pointing dog.

Saying that I think he will source a good springer before he'd get a wirehair so that has to be taken into account too.

Luckily this year I had some spare cash so I got the best of both worlds buying a very good setter and a lab for the fetching.

Since then the lab has sired some pups. We kept 2 and one is showing great promise already by sitting to command and retrieving. He was kept as a pet but a few minutes every evening could turn him into a cracker of a dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

stevoman wrote: »
    +1. for a pointing dog they seem very versatile. if its an all rounder then i think you should go for a springer though. thats what i'l be getting next.
    if your setter is a good dog you should think about putting a springer dog across her. you'll get good dropper pups. dropper will hunt like a springer.

whitser wrote: »
    if your setter is a good dog you should think about putting a springer dog across her. you'll get good dropper pups. dropper will hunt like a springer.

would it not ruin her if i wanted to breed her another time with a pure bred setter. plus would i have trouble getting rid of the pups?

wont ruin her at all. getting rid of pups, might have some trouble, but i'd say most would end up local in working homes.
    i wont buy another dog again if i can help it. breed my own when i need new stock. too many chancers out there selling bad stock. least if you breed your own you know the breeding is good. plus you'll be able to carry on a line probably for the rest of your days.

wont ruin her at all. getting rid of pups, might have some trouble, but i'd say most would end up local in working homes.
    i wont buy another dog again if i can help it. breed my own when i need new stock. too many chancers out there selling bad stock. least if you breed your own you know the breeding is good. plus you'll be able to carry on a line probably for the rest of your days.

goof point whitser. at least you know what your getting and you'l always get rid of your dogs locally to working homes, even if you have to let them go for nothing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

too many chancers out there selling bad stock.

+1 for that.
    I'm stuck with a stupid lab that has papers as long as your arm and she wouldn't retrieve a duck if you dropped it stone dead at her paws:mad:

She won't hunt, won't search for dropped game, won't do anything except follow my pointer around like a shadow.

I love the German Shorthair Pointer but they do come up short on retrieving from water, so all in all the wirehair pointer is probably the best all round option.

By the way, anyone wants a lab for a pet - you can have mine!

+1 for that.
    I'm stuck with a stupid lab that has papers as long as your arm and she wouldn't retrieve a duck if you dropped it stone dead at her paws:mad:

She won't hunt, won't search for dropped game, won't do anything except follow my pointer around like a shadow.

I love the German Shorthair Pointer but they do come up short on retrieving from water, so all in all the wirehair pointer is probably the best all round option.

By the way, anyone wants a lab for a pet - you can have mine!

i agree there's nothing as bad and dissapointing as getting a bad dog. is she old? black or golden? did you buy from working stock or was it somewhon who breeds them and claims to work them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

stevoman wrote: »
    i agree there's nothing as bad and dissapointing as getting a bad dog. is she old? black or golden? did you buy from working stock or was it somewhon who breeds them and claims to work them.

She's about 3 and she's been spayed. She's a yellow lab and she came from a long line of FTCH's. The breeder is reasonably well known in those circles - in fact I got my pointer there too and she's brilliant (except for the retrieving from water). That's why I bought the lab in the first place, we lost too many birds over her so I decided to get a retriever to pick up. I paid €450 for her as a pup but she turned out to be too timid. She's not gun shy at all, far from it, but if you raise your arm or shout at her she cowers and looses all interest in work.

I had her out on her own on the opening day of the ducks. I dropped the first duck and it fell about 50 yards away still mad alive. The dog ran straight to it and picked it up, but dropped it as soon as she realised it was still alive. She ended up herding it back to me like a sheepdog herding a sheep! The second duck I dropped stone dead and it landed in a flood about 25 yards out. The dog ran in the general direction, had a quick sniff and came back. I raised my hand to guide her back out and that was the end of that. I ended up throwing stones out to the duck to get the dog out and she eventually picked it up and dropped it about 10ft away from me. The third duck fell about 80 yards away in black darkness. It was too dark to see but I had an idea where it fell. I called up the dog who had gone off in the opposite direction and went to try and find the bird which had landed with a thump on a grassy hill. She sniffed around and suddenly started to trail. She jumped a wire fence (which was unusual in itself) and set off with her nose to the ground. I thought "at last, she's getting the hang of it". Not to be, she went about 10 yards along another sheepwire fence, got excited and then gave up. I ended up climbing the sheepwire fence and there was my duck on the other side belly up. The dog was within about 2 feet of the duck and gave up.

That was the straw that broke the camel's back and I decided I didn't want to keep feeding a bad dog. So she's up for grabs if anyone wants a nice family pet - I'll even deliver her (within reason). My lab is very affectionate and would make a lovely pet, but thats about all she'd do.

I'm going to stick with my two pointers, I have a pup out of my own bitch and am looking forward to seeing him work this year.

jwshooter wrote: »
    i have three wire hairs i use for stalking my bitch will point deer a long way off and her grand daughter is starting to do the same i had my pup back my bitch on a hind n calf last week ,they will swim for shot ducks hunt game and hop off foxes ,there easy to train

JW,
    Hans passed on in 03, best all around dog I ever shot over.
    High IQ's, they remember everything. So be sure not to train bad habits. ;)

Outstanding nose, determined search, and aggressive disposition toward predators ( GW's have a strong tendency to be cat sharp). Painstaking tracker, especially on blood. On shot and wounded game one would hard pressed to find a more thorough, persistent and methodical gundog.

P&B, that is a pity regarding your yellow lab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

Lads

Ye are all signing the praises of the Wirehaired pointer. I would love to see one in action. Is anyone heading to the national trials this year, I believe they are on in castletownroche?

I am a bit confused though, I though yuo should have one dog for say tracking deer and another for flushing birds. By the sounds of it the German does all of the above - the only question is are we taling about different dogs or has anyone found a dog that can do both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

Another thing to consider when your choosing a dog is the size of the dog.Labs and pointers are big dogs and need a good bit of room.My springer is kept outside where she has a good sized run and kennel but my dad keeps his springer inside in the house and my mother wouldnt have it any other way.If you dont have a lot of room a springer or a cocker would be ideal.

kerryman12 wrote: »
    Lads

Ye are all signing the praises of the Wirehaired pointer. I would love to see one in action. Is anyone heading to the national trials this year, I believe they are on in castletownroche?

I am a bit confused though, I though yuo should have one dog for say tracking deer and another for flushing birds. By the sounds of it the German does all of the above - the only question is are we taling about different dogs or has anyone found a dog that can do both?

KerryM12

German Wirehair. A Versatile hunting dog. One dog for feather & fur, hunt, point & retrieve (HPR) + tracking.

If one spends any time hunting in Germany it becomes obvious, 'the Drahthaar is the most frequently used hunting dog by the hunting establishment in Germany, and that is not without reason: The versatile work range of the all-around dog demands an intelligent, mentally flexible dog. Endurance and a will to obey, as well as the ability to concentrate on the work at hand, characterise this robust, medium sized dog in a coarse overcoat.' Their endurance, swimming ability and heavy coat also make them well suited to wildfowl/waterfowl hunting in the most adverse conditions.

My German is not all that good but the translation of "German Wirehair" is "Deutsch Drahthaar". The German word "Draht" translates to mean "Wire" and the word "Haar" translates to mean "hair". German Wirehaired is a literal translation of Deutsch Drahthaar into English.
    The Drahthaar is an amalgam of several breeds: Griffon, Pudelpointer (German Pudel and the Spanish (English) Pointer), Shorthair and Stichelhaar (which in turn is a combination of the Pudelpointer, Pointer, Foxhound and Polish Water Dog). Now that is a mix.

When others quit, work is just beginning for Wire's. As a dog that can be used universally for a full range of tasks and as a dog for the work after the shot, the Drahthaar is unsurpassed. He brings to the hunt many specialities. Drahthaar's have an inbred capacity to track and pursue (and even dispatch) wounded game persistently and uncompromisingly in some of the most difficult conditions. This saves the game from unnecessary suffering.

Wires are house dogs at heart, gentle with children, a very good family dog but will adjust to life in the kennel if need be.

The German Wirehair is a very devoted, even-tempered and versatile gundog and they are some of the most athletic dogs I have ever seen or worked.

http://www.drahthaar.de/
    http://www.drahthaar.de/galerie/Apport%20mit%20Schnepfe.jpg
    http://www.kimmax.co.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

KerryM12

German Wirehair. A Versatile hunting dog. One dog for feather & fur, hunt, point & retrieve (HPR) + tracking.

If one spends any time hunting in Germany it becomes obvious, the Drahthaar is the most frequently used hunting dog by the hunting establishment in Germany, and that is not without reason: The versatile work range of the all-around dog demands an intelligent, mentally flexible dog. Endurance and a will to obey, as well as the ability to concentrate on the work at hand, characterise this robust, medium sized dog in a coarse overcoat. Their endurance, swimming ability and heavy coat also make them well suited to wildfowl/waterfowl hunting in the most adverse conditions.

My German is not all that good but the translation of "German Wirehair" is "Deutsch Drahthaar". The German word "Draht" translates to mean "Wire" and the word "Haar" translates to mean "hair". German Wirehaired is a literal translation of Deutsch Drahthaar into English.
    The Drahthaar is an amalgam of several breeds: Griffon, Pudelpointer (German Pudel and the Spanish (English) Pointer), Shorthair and Stichelhaar (which in turn is a combination of the Pudelpointer, Pointer, Foxhound and Polish Water Dog). Now that is a mix.

When others quit, work is just beginning for Wire's. As a dog that can be used universally for a full range of tasks and as a dog for the work after the shot, the Drahthaar is unsurpassed. He brings to the hunt many specialities. Drahthaar's have an inbred capacity to track and pursue (and even dispatch) wounded game persistently and uncompromisingly in some of the most difficult conditions. This saves the game from unnecessary suffering.

Wires are house dogs at heart, gentle with children, a very good family dog but will adjust to life in the kennel if need be.

The German Wirehair is a very devoted, even-tempered and versatile gundog and they are some of the most athletic dogs I have ever seen or worked.
    very true i hope i will never be with out one or three ,the lad training the dog has to have a understanding on how the dog thinks on all game and deer ,there a springer, pointer ,lab and guard dog all rolled into one i cant say enough about them .but if you do put the time into them you will be rewarded with the best all round hunting dog on the planet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

Thanks DB thats great information.

Good to hear such positive comments, I will keep it in mind for the future.

REgards

KerryM12

If one spends any time hunting in Germany it becomes obvious, 'the Drahthaar is the most frequently used hunting dog by the hunting establishment in Germany, and that is not without reason: The versatile work range of the all-around dog demands an intelligent, mentally flexible dog. Endurance and a will to obey, as well as the ability to concentrate on the work at hand, characterise this robust, medium sized dog in a coarse overcoat.' Their endurance, swimming ability and heavy coat also make them well suited to wildfowl/waterfowl hunting in the most adverse conditions.

http://www.drahthaar.de/
    http://www.drahthaar.de/galerie/Apport%20mit%20Schnepfe.jpg
    http://www.kimmax.co.uk/
    i've heard they'll smash a fox too when the chance arises. they are being used alot now in lurcher breeding by crossing with long dogs.

A Spanish (Mexico) Pointer ( Field Trial Dog) working Quail, dog covers a bit of ground. :)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_iEwNPWSlg&eurl=http://wenaha.blogspot.com/search/label/Bird%20dogs

Two French Brittany Spaniels and an English Setter working Partridge:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d73DEuRNTCY&feature=related

Turn up the volume oh the Britt vid :D