Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supporter Abuse

• 08-09-2008 1:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭

Before you read on, let me say that I am huge hurling supporter, I follow my own county(Galway) throughout the league and championship and only missed Antrim game this year. I love watching hurling and I appreciate good hurling.

I was at the match yesterday Kilkenny display was not short of outstanding yesterday and they dominated Waterford all over the field and even though it was one sided I enjoyed watching Kilkennys brilliance. I would be lying to say I hoped they would play like they did yesterday, as a Waterford victory would almost have been justice for the pain they have suffered in the past 6 years in Semi-Finals. It was plain to see after 20 mnutes this wasn't going to happen.

I was in on time for the minor match and was gutted that Galway had let Kilkenny grab the winning goal, after they had dominated for the first 25 minutes of the second half. When the senior match started I was shouting for Waterford and hoped they could at least come closer than 10 points to Kilkenny.

When Kilkenny started getting a stranglehold on the game, the Kilkenny man in front of me turned around and told me in no uncertain terms to "Shout for your own county", Pretty hard I thought since they weren't playing, so I gave a wry smile and ignored him. I had done nothing to provoke him. For each of the Kilkenny goals I was almost assuaulted by this same man waving his fists and roaring in my face like a baboon. I have been to many matches throughout the years and never been verbally attacked like this. To make it worse, his kids and wife were sitting along side him, so it's not as if he was some sort of thug. He certainly acted like one. I am a pretty laid back and didn't retaliate, but believe me I was tempted.

I know all Kilkenny supporters are not like this, I had met a lovely man and his wife from Graigue-Ballycallan earlier on in the day and had a great hurling chat with them while waiting in a restaurant que. I respect Kilkennys excellence but like most would love to have seen Waterford break the mould yestetday. I was glad to attend such a game and see such a display of excellence but for me it will tarnished by the actions of this one Kilkenny supporter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

It is something which sadly happens with all counties. A small number of idiots who will ruin the game for all around them while at the same time thinking they are great. GAA games can do without them IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭silliegillie

There is always one isnt there. Usually you can have a of banter with people but sometimes th8ings make your blood boil. I was at an AI semifinal a few years back. Wexford where playing TIpp and I was on the Hill. I was with 2 other mates. 2 of us wexford and 1 tipp. Every time tipp got a point (they where well ahead at this stage) Myself and My other wexford mate would hit our Tipp friend on each arm. It was all done in good fun and nothing else Behind us for the whole match was another wexford man and his child chatting away to a Garda friend. With the end of the Match the Gard walked away. Tipp Scored again. My friend recieved the Gentle hits from both of us and then this Guy from behind kicks him in the ass starts shouting abuse at him and and really shoves him hard with an Umbrella. I have never witness such Menace and vengence from any one in all my life. It disgusted me.
    I think that these people are idiots and they are known as idiots where ever they are from and no one likes them nor do they have any friends. It makes me feel better. There is no need for it. A bit of slagging and a bit of jeering is all part of the fun but unforunately in life some people are just gob****es at it. In fairness most Kilkenny supports a I have had the privilage to chat with are very gratious and Humble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I remember going to a Tipp-Galway hurling game about 2 years ago in Croke Park.

I went on my own as it happens and was sitting in the Cusack upper. Loads of empty seats but I was sitting in my designated seat anyway.
    The gentleman behind me was there with his wife and kids and would put his feet up on my seat when I was leaning forward so if I leaned back into my seat, I'd get two sharp prods in my back. This went on for a while until I got him to stop.

Jaysus, for the rest of the game, he'd be tap-tap-taping the back of my seat. "Doing nothing wrong boss, loads of free seats, why don't you go elsewhere if it's bothering you." Maybe someone tapping your seat has happened you in a cinema or a bus, it's damn annoying.
    If he was trying to get rid of me it worked, didn't hang around for the second game, Kilkenny and Offaly afaik.

Last time I was in Croke Park, not been since and I suppose this was a once-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Well you wont be bothered by him ever again when Dublin start winning Leinsters in hurling next year:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Perhaps i should shed light on a similer situation that i was involved in only a few days ago. Was in Croker for the Kerry vs Cork and Wexford vs Tyrone game. Towards the last 10-15 mins Wexford and Tyrone fans started streaming in. Cork were on top and and when they equalised the whole crowd jumped up celebrating... be they Cork, Wexford or Tyrone fans. A group of 20 somethings from Wexford in front of me turned around fists clenched and a huge grin on his face... as if his own county had equalised. This made me feel really angry, especially as it felt as if the game was slipping away from Kerry at that stage.
    Anyway this story has a happy ending, as Kerry won... and as we left Croke Park 30 mins into the Tyrone Wexford game, with Tyrone 10 points up, those lads weren't half as vocal. Gave me a warm fuzzy feeling inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Sir Graball

Well you wont be bothered by him ever again when Dublin start winning Leinsters in hurling next year:pac::pac:

Dream on!!

Yeah, Cyberdave there's always one clown who can't control himself. Being from KK I would say you met the exception.
    Ye must be dissapointed at losin' the minor game. That was one of the worst KK underage displays I've seen in years. To score 1:1 in the second half and win a title is beyond belief. Galway should have been more clinical in front of goal however. Another great find in young Burke though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

CyberDave wrote: »
    I was in on time for the minor match and was gutted that Galway had let Kilkenny grab the winning goal, after they had dominated for the first 25 minutes of the second half. When the senior match started I was shouting for Waterford and hoped they could at least come closer than 10 points to Kilkenny.

When Kilkenny started getting a stranglehold on the game, the Kilkenny man in front of me turned around and told me in no uncertain terms to "Shout for your own county", Pretty hard I thought since they weren't playing, so I gave a wry smile and ignored him. I had done nothing to provoke him. For each of the Kilkenny goals I was almost assuaulted by this same man waving his fists and roaring in my face like a baboon. I have been to many matches throughout the years and never been verbally attacked like this. To make it worse, his kids and wife were sitting along side him, so it's not as if he was some sort of thug. He certainly acted like one. I am a pretty laid back and didn't retaliate, but believe me I was tempted.

A simple word with the stewards would have resolved the issue fairly quickly, usually.

I'd have spat on him, tbh, a great big sneeze, a nice 'orrible phelgmy one. Scum deserve scum tactics, imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I've gotten abuse from Waterford fans at the Kilkenny Waterford match league final game last year. I also got abuse from Tipp fans at a Tipp Limerick game. I've gotten abuse from Offaly fans at a Leinster final. I've gotten the most abuse I've ever received at the many Cork Kilkenny clashes. Point is, there are ar$ehole fans in every county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

theres always a small few at every match who ruin it for the genuine decent supporters around them. on one or two occasions in recent years i've actually been afraid for my own safety because fo the behaviour of these muppets.

shame on all who behave like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Have been stuck behind goals before at Ulster matches with armagh so called supporters, they were hairy experiences.. some of them with their tricolours and calling us free state b******s, wheres the logic in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I was at the hurling final yesterday and all the Kilkenny fans around me were well behaved and I was impressed.

Then at half time or just before half time,this muppet "fan" from Kilkenny came down from the back row of the lower Canal to goad and jeer the Waterford supporters leaving to go to get refreshments or take a leak.He was shouting at them and for the stewards to "lock the doors and make them watch" as their county got further annihilated.

For me this crossed the line of friendly banter and having a laugh.He positioned himself to get a reaction and he did but not the reaction he expected.One Waterford supporter came out with a classic comeback..."we're not leaving,we're going to take a p1ss you w&nker" and the first three rows of the section laughed and cheered.For me this defiant line dragged it back into friendly banter territory as had he come across another fan who didn't give a damn,the Kilkenny fan surely would have got decked.

He was gobsmacked as he couldn't make a comeback from that.:D Did anybody else see this?It was in section 316.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I'm not denying that these type of people are in every county. They are. It really upset my enjoyment of the game. I was much more vocal, nothing malicious mind, during the minor match and he never said a word. I really don't know what I did or said to provoke this animal of a man. I think he just decided he would pick on me for backing Waterford because there wasn't any Waterford people around. He really got under my skin, it not as if I berated any of the Kilkenny players or abused him. Sadly, I will probably remember the game more for this unprovoked attack than the display of hurling brilliance by Kilkenny.
    Yeah, Cyberdave there's always one clown who can't control himself. Being from KK I would say you met the exception.
    Ye must be dissapointed at losin' the minor game. That was one of the worst KK underage displays I've seen in years. To score 1:1 in the second half and win a title is beyond belief. Galway should have been more clinical in front of goal however. Another great find in young Burke though.

Disappointed alright. The goalkeeper is from my own club at home. He was at fault for the first two goals I think, flapping at the first one and coming off his line for the second. I couldn't believe Kilkenny had gone so long without scoring, but like a said to the lad beside me, no better team to get a goal when they needed it most. We should have made more out of our dominance. They shot a couple of bad wides. Burke is good alright. I just hope he can make the transition ot senior level along with the likes of O'Halloran and Connolly, the two corner backs, who I thought were excellent as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

shiibata wrote: »
    Have been stuck behind goals before at Ulster matches with armagh so called supporters, they were hairy experiences.. some of them with their tricolours and calling us free state b******s, wheres the logic in that

It shows their ignorance, just point out to them that callin you a free stater is acknowledging the border put in place by the 'brits' and watch their heads break (cos they are just SO Irish) it brings me a lot of fun up here :D

To answer the op you get them in all walks of life, durin the "battle of healy park" mossy quinn put a point over and i of course cheered and this tyrone gurrier came up to me and told me if i cheered again he would "leave me for dead"

All i did was hand my jacket to someone and told him to throw the first punch and i would be throwin the last one and the stupid cnut walked away

Also at the Dublin derry match in croker last year some derry friends were on the hill and one got hit in the head with a coin, of course when he still brings that up he neglects to remember the 15 or so Dubs who were around him callin whoever threw it a scumbag etc :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

I wouldnt get too bothered about what some supporters say at a match. Championship games always brings out the best and worst in excitable types. I always get a good laugh, especially at 2 over excitable old fellas having a go at one another. Street theatre at its best! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭lemd

I was at a Kilkenny Waterford game a few years back in Croke park. I was a neutral and so went with the underdog, now i don't get particularly animated during a match i just applaud a good score or let out the odd shout if i'm really getting into it, nothing to cause any offence. Anyway Waterford won with a last minute goal and the whole place roared. Ref. ended the game and an oldish Kilkenny man a few seats away got up walked towards me, pushed me as he walked by and only that my friend caught me i would have fallen over the seats. Everyone around us was shocked, although i was wearing a jacket with a Mayo crest at a hurling game:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Haha, you just reminded me of playing hurling against a team from Strabane before. I cracked a 20-metre free off the crossbar and they cleared it, when one of the defenders came out roaring at me and calling me a Free State ba$tard - I was like WTF - so was he when the ref gave him a straight red card! Laughed my ass off at him... muppet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Happens all the time guys unfortunately. I have to say ive been the drunk a$$hole who has made silly comments from time to time also. Not often mind but when a defeat really hurts you, you can turn into a complete a$$. Not making excuses and i hate to see it but have been a sh1t after matches in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I have often heard of few minor scuffles from time to time in games but nothing really too serious,never seen anything myself luckily, until I went to the Cork v Kerry (drawn game) this year never seen anything thing like it was in lower Hogan think twas section 315 something close anyway if im right anyway I must have seen about 5 fans 4 kerry 1 cork kicked out by stewards there was war in some parts I must admit it was crazy.

When Cork were down by 8 points this father with his two kids who were no more then 7-8 years old they were leaving the ground he was quiet kept himself while kids were well being kids with there horns etc but baiscally just doing what kids do. Anyway when they got up to leave (just pity they never got stay on till end for there sake)this Kerry woman who was I say in her 50's she was making smart comments throughout the game started showing the V sign with both her hands to the father and the kids and basically laughing into there face.

I was gobsmacked and I must admit so were lot people around me. The father just turned away he said soemthing did not hear it but sounded like he was talking to his kids to ignore her..

In fairness both sets fans were on the mad one that day but that was something just little bit lower then the lowest me thinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

Yea there have been a good few scuffles in croker now that it has been mentioned!

Being a Tipp-man myself after the all-ireland semi this year just put my head down on the rail in front of me on the hill and turn around to see at least 40 people brawling! guards knocked my friend running up the steps to sort it out...just wondering if anyone else saw that??? It was about halfway down the hill slightly to the left of the goals btw! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Simple solution:
    Support Dublin and go to Dublin games in the Hill!

You won't get any abuse in there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

CyberDave wrote: »
    When Kilkenny started getting a stranglehold on the game, the Kilkenny man in front of me turned around and told me in no uncertain terms to "Shout for your own county", Pretty hard I thought since they weren't playing, so I gave a wry smile and ignored him. I had done nothing to provoke him. For each of the Kilkenny goals I was almost assuaulted by this same man waving his fists and roaring in my face like a baboon. I have been to many matches throughout the years and never been verbally attacked like this. To make it worse, his kids and wife were sitting along side him, so it's not as if he was some sort of thug. He certainly acted like one. I am a pretty laid back and didn't retaliate quote]

tbh imo your overreacting.

so the man was sitting infront off you and he still managed to assault you affter every goal?by waving his fists and roaring in you face??? even when hes looking at the match and sitting in front of you??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

tbh imo your overreacting.

so the man was sitting infront off you and he still managed to assault you affter every goal?by waving his fists and roaring in you face??? even when hes looking at the match and sitting in front of you??

As the OP said,in the paragraph you quoted, the guy TURNED AROUND, ie he stopped watching the match.

Do you think he's overreacting, or do you doubt his story?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I hear ya. Except it was the Tyrone supporters that were at it when we were playing them in 2004/2005?? Michael Lyng scored the equalising point well into injury time from a free and a few of them lost it, shouting "free state bastards" while walking out the gate. A bunch of Cavan fans heard this and started sing "If you'd rather be a Euro than a Pound". Needless to say they weren't too pleased. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭phase-3

I know this is a bit off the topic of conversation but when I was leaving croker last sunday (left with 10 mins to go) I saw a KK man shouting to a waterford man "yous are useless"..he kept winding the waterford man up till the deise man struck him a blow to the face. He absolutely floored him. The Waterford man then just walked off. But it goes to show that losing hurts and there is no need for other supporters to rub it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 scottbag

After the Meath - Tyrone game last year Tyrones ''fans'' Started jeering at meaths supporters calling them West Brits. Where is Tyrone again?? Oh yeah its in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to be exact!!!:D:D:D

So does being a west brit actually make me less British than your average Tryone fan??LOL