Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children Of Non Nationals and GAA

• 08-09-2008 11:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭

I Dont have Kids so I dont know. I also havent been involved in a CLub in a few years or school for that matter. But Im wondering, with the extent that we have so many Non Nationals Living here in Ireland. Are their Children picking up GAA at school and playing it or is it just Irish Kids that are playing it ? I think it would be great if they where.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

I am not a kid...(I am young though:pac: :D ) butI am a Non National and I can tell you that I would love picking up Camogie soon...
    I think that what you do in Ireland with the hurling and football is amazing...
    I have been told that the players are not professionals as the don't get paid and this makes everything even better...
    they do what they do for their passion and because they believe and love their county.
    I have gone to a few matches in Croke Park and I really loved the atmosphere...in Italy we don't have this thing of wearing our colours at the matches, being so supportive of our team like you do....

You should be really proud of what you have :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

There are plenty non-nationals at underage level involved in North Cork anyway. Good for the game and great for building communities.

Just open the sports pages of any local newspapers to see the mix of names and skin colours involved in GAA and other sports. AFAIK the captain of the Polish Rugby team was playing local Rugby in Wexford a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Yeah there are alot of non national kids playin the game now sure even look at a fair few of the half time matches in croker lately i think it might have been the first floodlit match between Dublin and tyrone and most of the kids on both teams (from Dublin schools) were non nationals. And there was that one black lad who was playin soccer more then gaelic with a 30 run where the ball never left the ground :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

In Cork at least, there are plenty of children/teenagers born outside of Ireland playing GAA(although it fluctuates throughout the county), and I wouldn't be particurly suprised if the Cork Senior Football team didn't have a kid born in Africa or the continent on the squad within the next decade.

funloving wrote: »
    I am not a kid...(I am young though:pac: :D ) butI am a Non National and I can tell you that I would love picking up Camogie soon...
    I have been told that the players are not professionals as the don't get paid and this makes everything even better...
    they do what they do for their passion and because they believe and love their county.
    I have gone to a few matches in Croke Park and I really loved the atmosphere...in Italy we don't have this thing of wearing our colours at the matches, being so supportive of our team like you do....

You should do it. My nieces - a lot younger then yourself - have taken up Gaelic Football this year and hopefully Camogie next year and its great for getting them out to meet new people, get stronger and away from the TV.

Orizio wrote: »
    In Cork at least, there are plenty of children/teenagers born outside of Ireland playing GAA(although it fluctuates throughout the county), and I wouldn't be particurly suprised if the Cork Senior Football team didn't have a kid born in Africa or the continent on the squad within the next decade.

You will definitely hear "And its sean og o Moeketsi on the ball with a driving run up the field" within the next ten years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

GAAman wrote: »
    Yeah there are alot of non national kids playin the game now sure even look at a fair few of the half time matches in croker lately i think it might have been the first floodlit match between Dublin and tyrone and most of the kids on both teams (from Dublin schools) were non nationals. And there was that one black lad who was playin soccer more then gaelic with a 30 run where the ball never left the ground :)

Here is my video of the half-time entertainment and the second half of that Dublin v Tyrone game. You can see plenty of non-nationals in it, including that kid.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8wozd9VT28

Frequently you will see non-nationals on the mini-sevens and in time they will come through the ranks to be playing in the bigger games.

Flukey wrote: »
    Here is my video of the half-time entertainment and the second half of that Dublin v Tyrone game. You can see plenty of non-nationals in it, including that kid.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8wozd9VT28

Frequently you will see non-nationals on the mini-sevens and in time they will come through the ranks to be playing in the bigger games.

I wasnt 100% if it was that match or not, by the looks of that vid we were sittin quite near each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

There are plenty of non-Irish nationals playing GAA in schools and clubs and in time you will see more and more of them coming through the ranks and ages. They wont be named Sean Og either, they'll have their own names.

I came across the begining of this trend a few years ago when in the mBunscoil finals there was a 13-year old Ghana girl who was taller than the male adult referee and was completely dominating the game and greatly helping her school win a title. Not only did she play, she was the best player on the pitch.

The more that play the merrier ..... and 'New Ireland' will become evident on the playing fields in time.

Redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Why are we making this distinction???

Basically you're saying

IRISH kids playing GAA.

Who cares where their parents are from.

Would you sescribe Phil Lynott as a "non-nationals's child".......Paul McGrath. Sean Og O Halpin ffs.

I'm sick of this veiled racsim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭silliegillie

SetantaL wrote: »

Basically you're saying

IRISH kids playing GAA.

Who cares where their parents are from.

Would you sescribe Phil Lynott as a "non-nationals's child".......Paul McGrath. Sean Og O Halpin ffs.

I'm sick of this veiled racsim.
    Get a Life will you. What aspect of this discussion spells racism. I knew some eejit would get on this band wagon just because they see the word non national. There is nothing racist about this topic, you would know that if you read the posts. FYI Phill Lynott mother was irish he was an Irish national. The O'halpains father is Irish they are irish nationals. They Do not come into question here. You are the one with the problem mate. Why would you even bring Phil Lynott or the O'halpains into a conversation about Children of Non nationals. Wtht is a Non National eh let me see ehhh would it be Some one Not Born In ireland with no Irish Conections Maybe ehhh I guess thats they way I would consider this. Are children Of Non Nationals Irish ehhh Just because their parents arent irish Doesnt mean they arent. What is the Subject of this Topic ehhhhh Children of Non nationals. Now Go away to your little minded life where you are the one grouping people into groups that they dont even belong to.I think you are the one with racist tendencies.

Every one else thank you for submitting to this post and please ignore my rant above. It brings warmth to my heart to know that the GAA is being enjoyed by all Cultures within Modern Irish Society we have today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Look I don't want to hijack the thread and to be honest it was a bit off topic but what is the point of your question?

Are children with foreign parents playing GAA?

Yes. So what. What's the core point/quesion you are trying to make?

What is your definition of non-national parents:
    FYI Phill Lynott mother was irish he was an Irish national. The O'halpains father is Irish they are irish nationals.

Oh so if one of your parents is Irish you're an Irish national suddenly?? Children's parents don't make a diffence one jot. The kids are Irish.

You are making a distinction here between people with one Irish parent and people with none. Why?

What does it matter if Sean Og's mother is from Fiji or a kid's parents are from Ghana.

I'm not trying to troll, I'm asking a genuine question. Why are you making a disction between national and non national children playing GAA?

And this is a serious question. 80% of us voted to maintain a distiction in the constitution between children of Irish and non Irish parents in Ireland. This isn't just a GAA question so I'm raising a valid quesion to your post silligille.

You might not realise that it's racist but it is- you are making a distiction based on race- on their parents race. Half and half makes you Irish, but foreign parents to a child playing hurling in Offaly doesn't.

This is a serious question- look at those appaling scenes from the 12 year old who suffered racist abuse playing hurling.

You seem to have a rather strict and counter-intuitive definition of racism. People instictively divide people up depending on race, fashion, gender, age, their class and so on and draw conclusions without even talking to them - it is I would assume a part of our evolutionary 'programming', a tribal instinct. Regardless, its purely based on instinct and by your defitinion racist because we are making 'distinctions'. Bringing this further, we are also ageist, sexist, elitist etc and so on purely because we make distinctions however nuetral and intuitive. This to me, is far too broad and harsh.

To me at least, racism suggests intent, a conscious attempt to offend or harm someone purely based on their race. To think 'Well that persons black' is simply to acknowledge fact and little more, and to discuss whether or not the GAA is doing its bit for integration and bridging a racial divide that undeniably exists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Shes a sexy non national! Sorry blackbelt, ill back away :D

Basically you're saying

IRISH kids playing GAA. No they are not Irish as neither of their parents are Irish

Who cares where their parents are from. Nobody cares on this thread we were discussing non national children playing

Would you sescribe Phil Lynott as a "non-nationals's child".......Paul McGrath. Sean Og O Halpin ffs. Nope as they have Irish family

I'm sick of this veiled racsim. Yep we are racist, and if we deny it (despite it being the truth) we are racists in denial, who has the lynchin gear and pillow cases :rolleyes:
    Look I don't want to hijack the thread and to be honest it was a bit off topic but what is the point of your question? The point of funloving's question was, are there many non nationals playing Irish sports as she is considering doing so herself and was maybe worried about sticking out

Yes. So what. What's the core point/quesion you are trying to make? See above

What is your definition of non-national parents: Not gonna waste my time answering that as the answer is obvious

Oh so if one of your parents is Irish you're an Irish national suddenly?? Children's parents don't make a diffence one jot. The kids are Irish. Why do you think the Irish soccer team had so many players BORN IN ENGLAND, by your definition they are english as they were born there but not so, as they have Irish parents/grand parents they have Irish nationality

You are making a distinction here between people with one Irish parent and people with none. Why? I believe i have already answered this above

What does it matter if Sean Og's mother is from Fiji or a kid's parents are from Ghana. It doesnt and as far as i am aware sean og is not looked down upon for having a fiji'in parent although i could be wrong

I'm not trying to troll, I'm asking a genuine question. Why are you making a disction between national and non national children playing GAA? I dont know if you saying you dont mean to troll is true or not but it definitely seems that way and calling people racist for discussing a topic in a very non racist manner smacks of troll, and i already answered the second part of this above

And this is a serious question. 80% of us voted to maintain a distiction in the constitution between children of Irish and non Irish parents in Ireland. This isn't just a GAA question so I'm raising a valid quesion to your post silligille. Super, nothin to do with the matter at hand though

You might not realise that it's racist but it is- you are making a distiction based on race- on their parents race. Half and half makes you Irish, but foreign parents to a child playing hurling in Offaly doesn't. No, it isnt racist and we are not making a distinction as if we were truly racist we would be demanding these non nationals be banned from participating, and no before i am not ( i cant say we as i cant possibly speak for everyone else)

This is a serious question- look at those appaling scenes from the 12 year old who suffered racist abuse playing hurling.I agree with you 100% here and iirc there was a thread where the majority of posters registered disgust amongst other feelings at this matter, although maybe they were in denial or tryin to hide their kkk side

I have my answers in bold above as it is easier that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

A nice thread that is being brought into yet another accusation of racism.

SetantaL banned for one week.

blackbelt wrote: »
    A nice thread that is being brought into yet another accusation of racism.

SetantaL banned for one week.

I would have liked to see the response to what i said, is this your first scalp? :)

GAAman wrote: »
    I would have liked to see the response to what i said, is this your first scalp? :)

No,second.I have given infractions too.

I didn't want to ban SetantaL but I had no choice.It is like refereeing when you send somebody off for a second yellow card,its not a nice thing to have to do.:(

His comments/response are welcome when he returns.

Look I don't want to hijack the thread and to be honest it was a bit off topic but what is the point of your question?

Yes. So what. What's the core point/quesion you are trying to make?

What is your definition of non-national parents:

Oh so if one of your parents is Irish you're an Irish national suddenly?? Children's parents don't make a diffence one jot. The kids are Irish.

You are making a distinction here between people with one Irish parent and people with none. Why?

What does it matter if Sean Og's mother is from Fiji or a kid's parents are from Ghana.

I'm not trying to troll, I'm asking a genuine question. Why are you making a disction between national and non national children playing GAA?

And this is a serious question. 80% of us voted to maintain a distiction in the constitution between children of Irish and non Irish parents in Ireland. This isn't just a GAA question so I'm raising a valid quesion to your post silligille.

You might not realise that it's racist but it is- you are making a distiction based on race- on their parents race. Half and half makes you Irish, but foreign parents to a child playing hurling in Offaly doesn't.

This is a serious question- look at those appaling scenes from the 12 year old who suffered racist abuse playing hurling.

I just responded By letting you know that one of his parents where Irish therefore how could he be included into the Phrase Children of Non nationals. You assumed that I was a Biggot and Jumped on the Band wagon and that infuriates me. The way only distinction I made was asking if Kids who parents are not from Ireland are playing GAA .And this would include Americans who Consider themselves Irish from the roots of the Famine Days and now Live back in Ireland.Would I be racist to ask whether or not Catholics where now beginning to join the PSNI?eh this is a legitimate question brought up in stormount. This conversation was brought up with me by an italian man and an estonian woman, who where asking me these questions themselves after mentioning to them of what i got up to at the weekend. I have plenty of friends who where born in different parts of the world and they refer to themselves as of the Non National Irish Community.I watched the AI final on sunday. Oh No Im being racist I called some one Italian and estonioan, thats bad of me as an irishman oh no Im being racist towards myself branding myself Irish ahhhhhh. I was asking a GAA question, If you want to get political on this issue I suggest that you start up another forum and I would be glad to Discuss you taughts and views there. In the referendum you are talking about, in no way shape or form did it talk about anyone playing GAA. I Disagreed with the result of said referendum.

I didn't want to contribute to the political side of this thread as it is off topic but thought what the heck.Just to clear a few things up.I believe the correct term is "Foreign Nationals" when talking about immigrants from outside Ireland and the EU.It has got to do with citizenship.The link below confirms this and is applicable in the Irish context.

http://www.videojug.com/expertanswer/immigration-basics-4/what-is-a-foreign-national

So any Asian,African,American etc that emigrate to Ireland are foreign nationals and there is a lot,especially African,that are picking up GAA in primary school which is good to see.

Now that I added my 2 cents and cleared up the issue,please get back on topic re: The original post.SetantaL,you are free to respond to GAAman on your return as I'll allow it but keep it civil and keep it friendly but from now until then,everybody keep on topic.

Its good to see most people have common sense and are bringing opinions on the topic in hand unlike some, but they got their Discipline.
    Its good to here that many of these children are playing our Beautiful Games. I look forward to the Day when Michael Muircheartaigh has to try and pronouce a Lithuanian or Asian Name and put it as geailge.
    I was watching a program before the olympics and apparently anyone who has broken the 100 metres in Less than 10 seconds is of West african origin. No white man has yet to do it. Can you imagine the speed and skill when this Physique is brought into GAA ? The best Long Distance runners come from East africa again the stamina will improve the game. We already have the fastest field sport in the world. Think of the added advantage of having people with Naturally athletic physique Playing. I just Hope that they Dont settle in Kilkenny , then we are all screwed :).

blackbelt wrote: »
    I didn't want to contribute to the political side of this thread as it is off topic but thought what the heck.Just to clear a few things up.I believe the correct term is "Foreign Nationals" when talking about immigrants from outside Ireland and the EU.It has got to do with citizenship.The link below confirms this and is applicable in the Irish context.

http://www.videojug.com/expertanswer/immigration-basics-4/what-is-a-foreign-national

Thanks fort that Can I change the Thread name ?

Its good to see most people have common sense and are bringing opinions on the topic in hand unlike some, but they got their Discipline.
    Its good to here that many of these children are playing our Beautiful Games. I look forward to the Day when Michael Muircheartaigh has to try and pronouce a Lithuanian or Asian Name and put it as geailge.
    I was watching a program before the olympics and apparently anyone who has broken the 100 metres in Less than 10 seconds is of West african origin. No white man has yet to do it. Can you imagine the speed and skill when this Physique is brought into GAA ? The best Long Distance runners come from East africa again the stamina will improve the game. We already have the fastest field sport in the world. Think of the added advantage of having people with Naturally athletic physique Playing. I just Hope that they Dont settle in Kilkenny , then we are all screwed :).

THey'll arrive in Dublin,to save us and bring Sam home.:):pac:

Great post here even if I am totally biased and wearing a green,white and red tinted glasses.:p You have yet to be brought to Parnell Park to see the clubs play and the National League games through Autumn,winter and spring.All 5mins walk down the road.:D

As for camogie,I'll look into it for you.Its a great way of making friends and meeting people and sure the taking part is the main thing.;)

We're very proud of our national games.I think the Irish Tourism Board should look at these things as well and put a bit more emphasis into them.

I've been to Serie B matches with excellent stadiums that are less than half full and the standard of soccer is amazing.However,the fans that do go are the passionate ones.The fans that hold season tickets or pay at the gate every Saturday,Sunday or even Monday evenings.I want to see a Bari-Lecce match just to see the rivalry but I'll have to wait a year until Lecce eventually and inevitably get knocked out of Serie A.The rivalry is supposed to be huge.It is supposed to be comparable to Dublin-Meath or Derry-Tyrone.

Funloving, Are you in school or out of school. Im sure someone will call to you Door selling some sort of Lotto ticket or draw for the Local GAA club.You just need to ask them. Or else call up to your nearest GAA pitch with a Hurl and ballm, there is always some type of team up there training or playing a match. Just ask these people about playing Camogie. Let us Know how you get on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

Funloving, Are you in school or out of school. Im sure someone will call to you Door selling some sort of Lotto ticket or draw for the Local GAA club.You just need to ask them. Or else call up to your nearest GAA pitch with a Hurl and ballm, there is always some type of team up there training or playing a match. Just ask these people about playing Camogie. Let us Know how you get on?

mmm....I am 2 years out of college :p;)
    I know there are many ways to pick up a gaelic sport...I am sure i'll find what I am looking for and all the GAA lads I know here will be as useful as they always are giving right advices :)

Thanks for your interest anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I think its brilliant that so many kids of foreign national parents are getting involved in GAA - great for integration of communities and great for the GAA. But its not really that new - I remember playing hurling against Setanta from Ballymun from under-10 up to adult, and I used to mark a guy called Rodney Hussain, think he was Pakistani, and their centre-half-back was called Brendan and he was black - both I think had at least one foreign national parent. Thats going back over 20 years. Both very good hurlers. Even better, they spoke fluent Irish on the pitch as they went to a gaelscoil! We hadn't a clue what they were saying... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Go back far enough and we all came from north Africa. If a child is good enough to play the game and be picked on a team, then no more needs to be said. I remember seeing a darkish lad playing corner forward for a team some years ago in a minor match. He was a great bit of stuff, standing not just for his colour, but for his skill. You may have heard of him. His name is Jason Sherlock.

Now us Dubs always see our fans attacked by posters here, but even the most racist Dublin fan has no problem making an exception for Jayo. In years to come, the biggest racist GAA fans will also be making exceptions for their vitriol when it comes to certain stars on their team. It will be wonderful to see. Anything or anyone that can enhance our game should always be welcomed.

In years to come our "pure Irish sport" will become a bit wider as a result of the new Irish playing. So not only will a young lad with parents from Ghana be playing, but some of his relations in Ghana will for the first time be hearing about these strange sports played in Ireland. Following that the voice of Micheál O'Muirecheartaigh being heard in far flung places can only be welcomed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Orizio wrote: »

i hear there are a good lock of brazilians in parts of galway amd roscommon, i hope if they are as keen for gaa as they are in soccer, the rossies will be flying it in a few years time. they got the right football kit and all, it will be like watching brazil:D (depending that they wont fall too fond of the drink like some of the past players)