Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diarmuid O'Sullican on The Road To Croker

• 06-09-2008 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

Hello all
    I am the only one who nearly broke my tv when Diarmuid O'Sullivan declared on tv the other night that he had a rough enough year but finished strongly!!!!????
    He finished nowhere near strong, he caught 1-2 high balls against Kk but apart from that he did FA.
    What a miserable Cork stuck up idiot!!

He was roasted all year by every full forward line he came up against and RTE are blowing up his one off clash with Colin Lynch (he had the momentum, and of course the weight, so what).
    He should f**k off and retire from inter county hurling before he gets roasted for another year.
    Any opinions anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Drugness wrote: »
    Hello all
    I am the only one who nearly broke my tv when Diarmuid O'Sullivan declared on tv the other night that he had a rough enough year but finished strongly!!!!????
    He finished nowhere near strong, he caught 1-2 high balls against Kk but apart from that he did FA.
    What a miserable Cork stuck up idiot!!

He was roasted all year by every full forward line he came up against and RTE are blowing up his one off clash with Colin Lynch (he had the momentum, and of course the weight, so what).
    He should f**k off and retire from inter county hurling before he gets roasted for another year.
    Any opinions anyone?

Jaysus Chief you're not much fond of Diarmuid O'Sullivan are you? He did turn in an improved performance against KK although he was poor before that.

But so what? Why do you feel the need to start a thread about this? It won't go far I tell you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Drugness

His self praise on the show absolutely killed me!! He was rattled all year and then he gave himself loads of praise on TV!!!!
    It was just wrong, not to mention inaccurate!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Do you not realise he's from Cork and they automatically talk poppy cock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

yayamark wrote: »
    Do you not realise he's from Cork and they automatically talk poppy cock?

Please. :rolleyes:

This thread is worthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

I was only messing didnt think anyone was up this late to comment so quickly :)

I saw the RTC and didnt think it was that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

For the sake of Cork hurling, I think other counties would love the Crock to play intercounty for another 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Drugness wrote: »
    Hello all
    Any opinions anyone?

and you have played how many times for your county? .... sacrificed how many years of your life for the county jersey?

Whether he is 'past it' or not, show some respect.

In fact fcuk off back to the soccer forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

edit: actually maybe i should change that to he's not a very nice person.

Culchie wrote: »
    and you have played how many times for your county? .... sacrificed how many years of your life for the county jersey?

Whether he is 'past it' or not, show some respect.

all true but he's a gowl. ya can't help but resent a gowl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

all true but he's a gowl. ya can't help but resent a gowl.

And you know him personally do you? I'm sure you'd have no problem saying that to his face so?

Big brave boy sitting on front of your computer writing this tripe.

hawker wrote: »
    And you know him personally do you? I'm sure you'd have no problem saying that to his face so?

Big brave boy sitting on front of your computer writing this tripe.

i do know him, i wouldn't say personally, and i have said it to his face!! didn't tell him he was passed it though...at the time he was still pretty handy so that would have been unnecessary. but i did tell him what i thought of him. and he told me. i wouldn't cry over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Drugness

Cork c**ts!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

dungness banned for being a silly poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I think it was his fitness that got him this year. He wasn't up to the pace. I was talking to some Cork lads at the match in Croker yesterday and they were telling me that he is taking up rugby for the winter, so I expect him to emmerge a slicker leaner Rock next March/April. You would expect him to be cocky really, good players need to have a belief in themselves, otherwise they would win nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

i do know him, i wouldn't say personally, and i have said it to his face!! didn't tell him he was passed it though...at the time he was still pretty handy so that would have been unnecessary. but i did tell him what i thought of him. and he told me. i wouldn't cry over it.

Yea of course you did!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

When i think of the Rock, i automatically think of that point he scored against Limerick in 2001, barging out of the full back line with the ball, shouldering Jack Foley into next week and hitting a ball that seemed to go on forever, all the way over the bar from 100 yards out, it was the loudest cheer from a point scored i've ever heard. But alas Limerick had the last laugh that day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

The rock is too slow and cumbersome to be effective any more. He was poor this year, the QF v Clare springs to mind. Put a half decent pacy forward against him and Cork are in serious trouble. However he has been a good servant to Cork hurling through the years and deserves respect for that! He is also extremely popular with the Cork fans.

Didnt see him on ARTC but if he was blowing his own trumpet (based on his performances this year) then he is certainly one deluded individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

all this talk of the rock is getting stale by now!
    I think it sums it all up when he tipped Waterford to win on Sunday :rolleyes:

all this talk of the rock is getting stale by now!
    I think it sums it all up when he tipped Waterford to win on Sunday :rolleyes:

Of course he did, he was saying who he wanted to win, not who he thought would win. Didn't Kilkenny overtake Cork on the overall Roll of Honour by winning on Sunday. No Cork man/woman/child wanted that to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭deffin

Thought he came across OK on the road to croker. Funny, gracious and well able to express himself. Never saw him interviwed before but i took to him more than Donal Og who came across as a bit smug. Saw the rock recently with his little kid on the paper so is a family man. Lay off him, he is not a professional so any abuse is totally unwarranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

Of all the Cork players that played against Kilkenny, he was one of the few players in Red to walk of the pitch with credit. I saw him first hand against Galway, and yes, Canning had him rattled, but I'd look towards the other backs to blame for the first goal and the peno, not one of Cork backs was able to tackle Canning leaving it Donal Og and the Rock as last line of defense. If Donal Og hadn't lost the head against Galway,and the Rock go off with a cut. Cork would have won it easy enough. Galway = the Younger Canning, tbh.
    Any forward running into the Cork large rectangle knows that the Rock is going to be there, and he was the only back, who I felt shone when playing Kilkenny, and when push came to shove, the big names on the Cork team, the Deano's and the Ben +Jerry's were all missing in action, only the big name from Cork who holding the line was the rock.

I'm not a Cork fan nor Cork person, but he's right, He had a hard year, trouble getting/keeping fit, but he finished the year with his best performance.

Bogger77 wrote: »
    I saw him first hand against Galway, and yes, Canning had him rattled, but I'd look towards the other backs to blame for the first goal and the peno, not one of Cork backs was able to tackle Canning leaving it Donal Og and the Rock as last line of defense. If Donal Og hadn't lost the head against Galway,and the Rock go off with a cut. Cork would have won it easy enough. Galway = the Younger Canning, tbh.

Canning roasted him. He went off for treatment to the nick he got when Canning got the first goal and when he came back on he nearly took the head off Canning and got away with it. He should have been sent off. It wouldn't have changed much though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Bogger77 wrote: »
    Of all the Cork players that played against Kilkenny, he was one of the few players in Red to walk of the pitch with credit. I saw him first hand against Galway, and yes, Canning had him rattled, but I'd look towards the other backs to blame for the first goal and the peno, not one of Cork backs was able to tackle Canning leaving it Donal Og and the Rock as last line of defense. If Donal Og hadn't lost the head against Galway,and the Rock go off with a cut. Cork would have won it easy enough. Galway = the Younger Canning, tbh.
    Any forward running into the Cork large rectangle knows that the Rock is going to be there, and he was the only back, who I felt shone when playing Kilkenny, and when push came to shove, the big names on the Cork team, the Deano's and the Ben +Jerry's were all missing in action, only the big name from Cork who holding the line was the rock.

I'm not a Cork fan nor Cork person, but he's right, He had a hard year, trouble getting/keeping fit, but he finished the year with his best performance.

What about the roasting he got off Lar Corbett in the munster semi-final ;)