Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green bus Transport

Options
  • 05-09-2008 5:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

I am a bus/coach operator so I sent an email to the green party asking them what would I have to do to convert one of my vehicles to green energy. I have not received any response?
    Any ideas?

Comments

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Maybe contact the department of transport directly?
    www.transport.ie

Although, you should know that the whole biofuel thing is up in the air after severe (and well-founded) criticism of the EU's (and in turn Ireland's) biofuel targets...umm, if you don't know already.

oh wait. www.sei.ie - probably better..? I assume they don't just do buildings?

http://www.sei.ie/index.asp?locID=1013&docID=-1

Meh..slim pickings..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭probe

patc777 wrote: »
    I am a bus/coach operator so I sent an email to the green party asking them what would I have to do to convert one of my vehicles to green energy. I have not received any response?
    Any ideas?
    You could convert it to hydrogen power – with an electric motor. But Ireland is one of the few countries in Europe without a single hydrogen fuelling station! The EU has a programme for hydrogen buses running in many European cities. Iceland is one country at the forefront of hydrogen for transport (not in the EU of course). Their hydrogen is clean (made from green electricity rather than natural gas). You can get some information and links at http://ec.europa.eu/research/environment/newsanddoc/article_3894_en.htm