Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Life in DBS

• 05-09-2008 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

hey i'm 17 and startin in DBS soon,

just wondering what the student life is like and does the stdent card have a DOB on it!?

P.S 1st post woo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 4r(4ng3L

same, i'd like some info on student life too....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

it's DBS, prepare for D4-heads, excessive amounts of fake tan, dubes, abercrombie and people talking like ross o carroll kelly...

having said that I may end up there soon too...

campus is near stephens green though so can't be all that bad! hopefully...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 eschaton

hehehe, woo, so they'll love the guy from glasnevin/ballymun then!? haha, cheers!

ah here dude, I'm a fibbers chick from Wexford! How dye think I'm gonna bleedin fit in! :P

hehe woo! i love fibbers! i lost my ID outside there thats why im wonderin about the age! hehehe,
    what course ya studyin?!

i don't actually know! I got into DIT but suddenly changin my mind and doing late application to the vacent spaces...either law, psychology or film, literature and drama...all still hopefully but it really should be a problem at this stage!

what'chu doin?

ah yeah, i didn't get into music in maynooth, stupid random selection!
    so now i'm doin the film, literature and drama course!

you should be grand, whens the next offer date?

they do em every thursday after twelve as far as I can make out from the CAO site, so hopefully I'll find out today! I have the film one down in my choices too! No doubt bump into ye though at some stage!

yeah definatly! what your first choice?!

law, followed by psychology followed by film iirc! only did it like two hours ago and I've forgotten!

hehehe i forgot i had music in DIT down until they sent me stuff about auditions!

ha! yeah i was goin for drama in DIT and I never got the letter about auditions until a week after em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 GBA

eschaton wrote: »
    hey i'm 17 and startin in DBS soon,

just wondering what the student life is like and does the stdent card have a DOB on it!?

P.S 1st post woo.

graduated from there in 2004. have to say, would not go back if you paid me. i found the college to be disorganised and the buildings sub-standard. plus i had a barney with them over a missing essay right before i was to graduate so the whole expereience left a bad taste in my mouth.

student life was pretty lame and no my staudent card did not have my date of birth on it. however, that was 4 years ago.

i hope for your sake dbs has come on in leaps and bounds... i suggest you do a year there and then look into transferring to ucd or the like.

may i ask, why you are not taking a year out? 17 is awfully young to be starting college. but i'm sure i'm not the first person to tell you this..

I always thought that too, about the age but looking around myself at my mates and such, I was near 19 starting, had some mates only gone 17, only using my own situation as an example but I left college after a year, took a year out and am goin back now, people have said to me that I was mature etc to do it because I had sense to see the course wasn't for me etc but having said that, my mates that started at 17 seem to know what they wanted, moreso that people my age, I seen more people of my age drop out than of the younger age, and people who start as mature students also seem to do a lot better, I don't know how much fact is in that but from what I've seen more people drop out having started at 18/19 than at younger or older ages....

as for dbs, I've been asking around and I've only gotten good happy fun time reports about it...GBA you say you had trouble with them over an essay, and they're disorganised and suggest goin to UCD? I'm a UCD drop out, and I can tell you first had they really aren't the most organised over there either by any means!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 GBA

as for dbs, I've been asking around and I've only gotten good happy fun time reports about it...GBA you say you had trouble with them over an essay, and they're disorganised and suggest goin to UCD? I'm a UCD drop out, and I can tell you first had they really aren't the most organised over there either by any means!

well i'm really glad to hear that! i was feeling a little bad for possibly putting the op off their choice of college. dbs obviously has improved since my time there.

thank you for your comments,

i hope it has gotten better,

and i'm afraid if i take a year out i wont go back, plus i feel i'm mature enough and prepared enough so why not!

if you take a year out, you will live in the adult world, you will feel the pain, and you will crave to go back to the student/school life! Speakin from experience here! :D

haha, if i take a year out i'll go to japan and never come back! hehehe! i should have some career prospect before i go i suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭VickBack

GBA wrote: »
    graduated from there in 2004. have to say, would not go back if you paid me. i found the college to be disorganised and the buildings sub-standard. plus i had a barney with them over a missing essay right before i was to graduate so the whole expereience left a bad taste in my mouth.

student life was pretty lame and no my staudent card did not have my date of birth on it. however, that was 4 years ago.

i hope for your sake dbs has come on in leaps and bounds... i suggest you do a year there and then look into transferring to ucd or the like.

may i ask, why you are not taking a year out? 17 is awfully young to be starting college. but i'm sure i'm not the first person to tell you this..

I totally agree.... I just finished in there this year and I found it completely disorganized... Lecturers always canceling... Timetables are soooo ridiculous and all over the place!! Nothing for students to do and get to know each other really... Not worth teh money at all!!

I couldn't get out of there quick enough!

The only good thing about it was making some friends...

Second week in LLB1 in Portabello, and loving it!

One thing I have found is there are very few socs...well there were only about 6 at the sign up this mornin...

yeah im in Auinger street doin the film literature and drama course and im really likin it!
    yeah i was there yesterday in portobello! ive only signed up for the film and the drama soc so... there wasnt really much else!

seeye in film and drama so! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

can anyone who goes to DBS please give me some excamples of the clubs/socitites in DBS.I kind of want to do psychology there as I wouldnt get the points for university.Thanks