Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MPH to KPH

• 05-09-2008 9:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

Anyone know if you can get like a template type thing for yer speedometer on the car. My car is in miles and Its very difficult to see the KMPH numbers

• Registered Users Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭patrickc

it's pretty easy really to remember

50kph = 30 MPH
    60kph = 40mph
    100kph= 60mph
    120kph=75mph

not 100% accurate translations but as near a guide as you need to remember

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

I know with experience when ill not be concentrating on evrything else thst itll be easy to remember like that, I learned in a 08 car so that was grand, id take a glance to check d speed, bt with my car now I have to kinda stare to see the km clock, cant be safe ye know

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

patrickc wrote: »
    it's pretty easy really to remember

50kph = 30 MPH
    60kph = 40mph
    100kph= 60mph
    120kph=75mph

not 100% accurate translations but as near a guide as you need to remember

40mph will put him over the speed limit in a 60kph. He should stick to below 35/36mph.

Apart from that the conversion are more or less spot on without getting into semantic.

why not print them off and stick them on your steering wheel or something like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭masseyno9

Depending on the car you drive you can get a replacement dial if it bothers you that much. Fitting it will involve taking the dash apart though. Plenty of places on internet do them, google is your friend.

40mph will put him over the speed limit in a 60kph. He should stick to below 35/36mph.

Apart from that the conversion are more or less spot on without getting into semantic.

yeh but no garda will do you for 4mph over the limit so thats why I gave that one,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

AFAIK you can't stick anything over the top of the speedo if it would resrict your view of it.

Me personally, I wouldn't open up the speedo to put a template in behind it as it may make any future buyers suspicious of the accuracy of the mileage.

Easiest to glance at the MPH reading and know in your head what the equivelant in KMPH is.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    Anyone know if you can get like a template type thing for yer speedometer on the car. My car is in miles and Its very difficult to see the KMPH numbers
    As the position of the 60mph varies with different makes of cars this can tricky to find.
    You'll just have to memorise that various speed I think.

true i suppose, Just thinking its a ford escort, I only bought it there a few days ago, paid €800 for it, so bn honest gonna drive it for a year or 2, cant imagine id be getting a whole heap for it when it comes to selling it anyway, so might jst c if i can fabricate 1 myself

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Multiply mph by 1.6.

30mph - 30 v 0.6 = 18. 30+18 = 48kph

50mph - 50 x 0.6 = 30. 50+30 = 80kph

70mph - 70 x 0.6 = 42. 70+42 = 112kph

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Seen as you arent too worried about resale you could take off the speedo and put a tippex or bright sticker mark at the different speed limits 30kmph, 50kmph etc and then you can see at a glance if you are under/over the limit...

If i was stopped for some reason, is there implications with changing this like

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Put a few thin strips of duct tape on the glass covering the speedo. You can remove these at NCT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Mr.David

biko wrote: »
    Put a few thin strips of duct tape on the glass covering the speedo. You can remove these at NCT.

Your viewing angle of the speedo constantly changes. Would lead to a large difference in what speed the tape seemed to correspond to on the dial

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

This is what you are looking for:

http://www.redial-uk.co.uk/

It replaces the old speed dials in your speedometer. All the boy racers do it to get white/yellow/red speedos like these:

http://www.directcarparts.co.uk/lockwood.htm

Alternatively look for a German/French/Spanish/etc breakers on-line site & buy the speedo from a Euro equivalent of your car & use that set of dials.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

This is what you are looking for:

http://www.redial-uk.co.uk/

It replaces the old speed dials in your speedometer. All the boy racers do it to get white/yellow/red speedos like these:

http://www.directcarparts.co.uk/lockwood.htm

Alternatively look for a German/French/Spanish/etc breakers on-line site & buy the speedo from a Euro equivalent of your car & use that set of dials.
    These were popular with Jap import bikes when we had the standard system. You could also buy stick on MPH numbers and visa versa.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

patrickc wrote: »
    yeh but no garda will do you for 4mph over the limit so thats why I gave that one,

You can't make such assurances. Had a girlfriend done doing 53 in a 50 zone when were still using MPH. I was in the car at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Iv never work in km since it came in, Mph all the way, its prob only cos the km are really small in my car and because i know what speeds km are in mph pritty easy to remember tbh, Its a waste of time trying to change your speedo to km