Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great lineup for Mens 100 in Brussells

• 04-09-2008 1:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭

How will this go tomorrow. Will we get a world record or is the track fast enough? 8 guys who are sub 10 this season. I think Bolt will win obviously but Powell could push him as its a one-off race. It'll be interesting to see how Bolt reacts if (and big if) Powell is ahead at 60m.

Kim Collins 10.05
    Tyson Gay 9.77
    Michael Frater 9.97
    Asafa Powell 9.72
    Marc Burns 9.97
    Churandy Martina 9.93
    Nesta Carter 9.98
    Usain Bolt 9.69
    Travis Padgett 9.89

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I don't think the track is fast enough. Powell holds the track record at 9.84, so it's a long way to 9.69. Maybe 9.75-ish will win it. Brussels typically has very light or adverse winds. It's a cracking line-up. Pity the IAAF have sold the GL rights to the wrong people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Anybody know if this is live on tv?

Setanta were showing the Golden League all season but I think they're only showing highlights of this at 10.00pm on Setanta Sports 2 on Friday night (only listing I can find).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Don't know if its live or not, Magners League kicks off friday so that may take precedence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭High&Low

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I don't think the track is fast enough. Powell holds the track record at 9.84, so it's a long way to 9.69. Maybe 9.75-ish will win it. Brussels typically has very light or adverse winds. It's a cracking line-up. Pity the IAAF have sold the GL rights to the wrong people.

Track record in Lausanne was 9.85 up to the other night and that was Leroy Burrell's WR from 1994!

It is a shame that the GL is on Setanta, but I think the only reason that eurosport have the other grand prix is that no-one is interested in buying the rights. Oh how I miss athletics on a Friday night on ITV hosted by Jim Rosenthal!

High&Low wrote: »
    Track record in Lausanne was 9.85 up to the other night and that was Leroy Burrell's WR from 1994!

Since Powell holds the track record in Brussels this point is not really relevant. Powell last ran in Lausanne in 2004.
    High&Low wrote: »
    Oh how I miss athletics on a Friday night on ITV hosted by Jim Rosenthal!

The BBC do Athletics best. I couldn't stand Alan Parry commentating on those ITV programs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Looks like Tyson Gay has pulled out:

iaaf.org

"World champion Tyson Gay was to run but in the last hour (19:45hrs, 4 Sep) has informed the meeting organisers that he will NOT run tomorrow, as he has not yet fully recovered from his hamstring injury, and does not want to risk further injury in the possibly cold and wet conditions."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,364 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Bolt ran 9.69 in Beijing and coasted for 30 metres. If he gets a decent track tonight and decides to go all out and even gets pushed, I wouldn't be surprised if he goes sub 9.6.

Any definite on this being shown on TV?

walshb wrote: »
    Bolt ran 9.69 in Beijing and coasted for 30 metres.

Not true, he only appeared to ease off at 85m (not 70m) but didn't put the brakes on until 90m ish. He was still speeding up (are at least not braking massively) at 90m and only his last 10 was very slow. Consensus from those who know more about this than me was he could have run 9.62 at best and probably 9.65-9.66.

As Pheredykes said its a slow track and conditions could be iffy, but then again he is the Bolt.

But remember, the man was not pushed and knew after 50-60 that he was the winner.
    A push and a hard run combined will see him lower the record considerably; and I saw
    him slow at what looked about 70 meters. I don't think 85 was where he began to slow.

He began to look across and then took 6-7 strides (at 2.5m a stride). Who knows, Powell ran well in **** weather in Gateshead on sunday so he could push him.

I'm gonna' make a bold prediction that if he has a slight tail wind and a good track and runs flat out without slowing at all, he will run close to 9.5....about 9.52-9.54

Bolt ran 9.69 in Beijing and coasted for 30 metres. If he gets a decent track tonight and decides to go all out and even gets pushed, I wouldn't be surprised if he goes sub 9.6.

Any definite on this being shown on TV?

According to analysis carried out by USATF hi-performance Bolt's 10m splits were

.........10m..20m..30m..40m..50m..60m..70m...80m...90m..100m

split....1.85 .1.00 ...0.94 .0.86 .0.82 .0.82 ..0.83 ....0.84 .0.86 .0.87

cum....1.85 .2.85 ..3.79 ..4.65 .5.47 .6.29 ..7.12 ...7.96 ..8.82 .9.69

m/sec..5.40 9.98 10.71 11.58 12.23 12.16 12.05 11.90 11.64 11.49

This shows that there was no discernable slowing by Bolt that wouldn't be explained by normal end-of-race deceleration. He may have lost .02-.04, but that's about it. On top of that, Powell's track record is 9.84, which is worth about 9.82 in totally still conditions, and Powell himself is in the race, and we all know he's a different animal without championships to worry about. Bolt is getting tired (IMO) and Powell is really up for it, so I'm predicting a win for Powell in a basic time of 9.75 (i.e. wind not factored in).

Pherekydes wrote: »
    According to analysis carried out by USATF hi-performance Bolt's 10m splits were

.........10m..20m..30m..40m..50m..60m..70m...80m...90m..100m

split....1.85 .1.00 ...0.94 .0.86 .0.82 .0.82 ..0.83 ....0.84 .0.86 .0.87

cum....1.85 .2.85 ..3.79 ..4.65 .5.47 .6.29 ..7.12 ...7.96 ..8.82 .9.69

m/sec..5.40 9.98 10.71 11.58 12.23 12.16 12.05 11.90 11.64 11.49

This shows that there was no discernable slowing by Bolt that wouldn't be explained by normal end-of-race deceleration. He may have lost .02-.04, but that's about it. On top of that, Powell's track record is 9.84, which is worth about 9.82 in totally still conditions, and Powell himself is in the race, and we all know he's a different animal without championships to worry about. Bolt is getting tired (IMO) and Powell is really up for it, so I'm predicting a win for Powell in a basic time of 9.75 (i.e. wind not factored in).

Excellent data there and it goes a way to really explaining the finer details of that amazing performance, however, I will still stand by my BOLD prediction!

Looking at the splits, it is not inconceivable that Bolt, had he kept up the .82 pace from 60-70-80-90-100, could have broke 9.6 secs. And that's still without the PUSH from another athlete. At 60 he had the race won in his mind and wasn't forced to try an up the pace....

http://www.athletics-leics.com/

Above is where the athletics is being shown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭High&Low

I think if Powell pushes Bolt or the other way round the time will be slower... All of Powell's sub 9.8s (and he has quiet a few) were in races where he was under no pressure.

Bolt's top performances are similar, he had some pressure (but not much) from Gay in NY but in his other races, including the olympics, he has been pretty much untroubled.

Looking back at all the 100m WRs since Calvin Smith's 9.93, with the exception of Lewis in 1991 and Bailey in 1996, the athletes who have set the WRs have been under very little pressure throughout the races and won comfortably. The other big difference with Lewis and Bailey is that they both had rubbish starts and came through very late, compared to Burrell, Greene, Powell and Bolt...

So after that ramble, I believe that if both Powell and Bolt show up, it might not be that fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 griffspeed

no doubt that Bolt wins V Powell in head to heads from here on out. The brussells track is slow so anything in the 9.7s would be great.
    Shame to see Powell under achieving in championships in my opinion he has a far better tecnique than bolt to watch and for kids to try to replicate, its probably what every coach is trying to achieve.
    Bolt is still raw especially in upper body technique, so he has more to give in improvement terms and in the next few years we will see the record in the 9.5s.
    Still I will be rooting for Powell, its rare to see perfect form, Carl Lewis had it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,447 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'll spoiler this in case some of you have not seen it yet. Incredible race.

Bolt got off to the worst start possible, he is the only man alive that could recover from that start and win, and to run 9.77 into a headwind on a damp track after starting like that is just incredible. Fair play to Asafa, he ran his race I don't know what time he did but it must have been a very low 9.8 time.

1 BOLT, Usain JAM 9.77 0.223
    2 POWELL, Asafa JAM 9.83 0.145
    3 CARTER, Nesta JAM 10.07 0.193
    4 FRATER, Michael JAM 10.08 0.172
    5 PADGETT, Travis USA 10.15 0.167
    6 COLLINS, Kim SKN 10.22 0.182
    7 MARTINA, Churandy AHO 10.24 0.207
    8 POGNON, Ronald FRA 10.26 0.160
    9 FORSYTHE, Mario JAM 10.36 0.164

Wind -1.3

Bolt gave Powell a head start of 0.08 and beat him handily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Amazing time by Bolt considering his start and the conditions, he has such great speed endurance and just keeps going when everyone else is slowing down, or else he just slows down alot well slower.

Also credit to Powell he ran a good race but the better sprinter one.