Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Station Equipment

• 03-09-2008 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

The Garda Station Conditions thread got me thinking.

In road wars , the station is kitted out with hi-tech fingerprinting devices,
    shoe print thingys and specialised rooms. Now I know that these are the kind of big district stations, but is this heard of in stations in the republic, or do you have to send it to the technical bureau/ Harcourt Street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Finger print scanners - was reported last year or the year before that every district HQ was to get them. I only know that one is installed in the Bridewell Station Dublin
    Fingerprint analysis - there was a machine in Drogheda which worked off glue fumes to highlight fingerprints (best method) but these are very expensive and I've it was removed. Forsenics could have one though

Most of the specialised stuff is kept in the Forsenics Lab, Dublin though and sent there for analysis from all country stations. At the moment there are building a new building for them in the Phoenix Park. Its supposed to be quite big - 5-7 storeys high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Yea i did work experience in the tech bureau in the park, they had all that.

As for the livescan fingerprint scanners think its just store st and bridewell, could be more though its 3 years since i did it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

very radically 21st century.. do not expect to pay more then 50 for one

http://www.dealtime.com/xGS-fingerprint_scanner

but by the time they'd get through the crony contracts they'd probably cost 10k a pop.

Begorra begorra

I've seen hand and finger printing done using a domestic PC scanner more then 15 years ago (there used to be a scanning setting on my fathers scanner for doing finger prints -- you just selected the setting and put your hand on the glass and pressed the scan button -- and viola perfect prints)

Also if you printed the picture of the prints on to certain kinds of glossy photo paper , you could grease the print and create finger prints off the scan on to any object that would take them.

But computers are a bit much for a country that always prided it's self on it's backwardness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

WE had an IFAS machine but no one was ever trained how too use it so pretty much a typical Garda pilote scheme.

then they replaced it with a new one and trained a few lads on it which means you cant take your own prisoners fingerprints anymore :rolleyes:

We are a good police force in certain areas but by god technology and resources aint them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

We have..... a phone! Its a magical thing.... some1 miles away dials a selection of numbers into their "PHONE" and WOLLA..... the "PHONE" in our station makes a ringing sound and if you lift the handset part, you can talk to that person! TOP CLASS!!!!

This job is great 'cos I've just come to realise that you can get sponsorship. Take my I/C, he always says to me "just do it". He's said it so often that I began to take more notice of his uniform and guess what I found, yes you guessed it, the chevrons on his epaulettes are shorter on the left so you have three signs of Nike on each shoulder. Christ he must be gettin a ton o' money

TheNog wrote: »
    Finger print scanners - was reported last year or the year before that every district HQ was to get them. I only know that one is installed in the Bridewell Station Dublin
    /QUOTE]

None in the Bridewell, they have a room for it though! Store St and Pearse Street have them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Do the 'larger' stations have those breathalysing machines,that give a more detailed reading/result??

*1000th post . . . . . about feckin time!!:D*

foreign wrote: »
    None in the Bridewell, they have a room for it though! Store St and Pearse Street have them though.

None in the Bridewell????? I thought I heard there was one going in there or maybe they had planned it and never got round it to. considering the Bridewell takes in 10-12,000 prisoners annually it would make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

None in the Bridewell????? I thought I heard there was one going in there or maybe they had planned it and never got round it to. considering the Bridewell takes in 10-12,000 prisoners annually it would make sense

10-12000 prisoners! Woo!
    eroo wrote: »
    Do the 'larger' stations have those breathalysing machines,that give a more detailed reading/result??

*1000th post . . . . . about feckin time!!:D*

Yep, in every district hq more than likely me thinks.....or even more!

Not sure about every district hq, becuase coolock doesnt have one and thats the district hq, all the suspected drink drivers in this area go down to santry to blow on the intoxalizer (sp?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 ramair

motorola afis machines are going to be in all div hq before end of year... this is phase 2 of the project... its to print people registering for gnib cards, all ports will also be getting them.. phase 3 of the project will be integrated with pulse apparently before this time next year to print prisoners and phase 4 appaently will be then integrated with psni, eurpol, interpol etc.. plus deployment of handheld units

phase one - pearse st, store st, bridewell, office if the refugee applications commission & the joy prison...

its excellent technologhy & v. user friendly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

ramair wrote: »
    motorola afis machines are going to be in all div hq before end of year... this is phase 2 of the project... its to print people registering for gnib cards, all ports will also be getting them.. phase 3 of the project will be integrated with pulse apparently before this time next year to print prisoners and phase 4 appaently will be then integrated with psni, eurpol, interpol etc.. plus deployment of handheld units

phase one - pearse st, store st, bridewell, office if the refugee applications commission & the joy prison...

its excellent technologhy & v. user friendly

All sounds good but have to say, phase 4 sounds bloody fantastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

I still find it difficult to believe people are being processed there and not having prints or dna taken.

I know the dna issue is different under Bunreacht na hEireann etc etc, but what offences require dabs being taken? Serious arrestable offences?

wet ink prints are still taken metman... dna swabs for serious offences.. the issue with dna is the storage in a databank...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

eroo wrote: »
    timmywex wrote: »
    Yep, in every district hq more than likely me thinks.....or even more!

I know of at least one Divisional HQ which doesn't have one.

aye Navan doesn't have one yet

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Satan Polaroid viewpost.gif

aye Navan doesn't have one yet..

all dependson where the traffic corps is located dosen't it???... traffic corps in dma south are based in terenure but crumlin is the div hq

Same for DMR north as i said, coolock doesnt have one, but santry does

ramair wrote: »
    all dependson where the traffic corps is located dosen't it???... traffic corps in dma south are based in terenure but crumlin is the div hq

In MEath division Kells, AShbourne and Trim have intoxilyser machines but Navan as the Divisional HQ doesn't. I've heard they do have one but there is no room for it. The station is supposed to get some portacabins for extra space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

In MEath division Kells, AShbourne and Trim have intoxilyser machines but Navan as the Divisional HQ doesn't.
    Give them their due, Nog. The lads on Navan must be on top of the situation so, if they don't need an intoxilyser.

deadwood wrote: »
    Give them their due, Nog. The lads on Navan must be on top of the situation so, if they don't need an intoxilyser.
    Quite the opposite, Navan I'd say has more 49s than the rest of the districts in Meath so they have to travel to Kells or Trim to use the machine.

Not saying anything against the folks in Navan, they are very good at catching them and we have a good relationship with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Same for DMR north as i said, coolock doesnt have one, but santry does

Coolocks not the div hq. Santry was up until last week and it has the intoxilyser. Ballymun now has the job of div hq but not the intoxilyser. Which is nice cos it means no brass around Santry :)

The bridewell does handle alot of prisoners but they are mostly coming from other stations before court appearences so they would have to be processed by the station that they are coming from.