Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ESC help, which battery?

• 03-09-2008 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭

Well lads,
    Thinking about getting another glider, this time with an electric motor so I don't end up burning it cos I couldn't fly it:rolleyes: what kind of a battery do ye recommend I get? I want it to be cheap enough so I can get 2 and also that it will charge in 15-20 minutes.
    Heres are the Dimensions of the esc:
    1.30" x 0.43" x 0.71"
    [33 x 11 x 18mm]
    Weight: 1.08oz. [31g]
    Input Voltage: 6-12 cells NiCd/NiMH
    2-4 cells Li-Po
    Continuous Current: 35 amps
    Max Rated Current: 45 amps
    BEC Voltage: 5V / 1.5A
    Low-Voltage Cutoff: 0.8 volts per cell NiCd/NiMH
    2.75 volts per cell Li-Po
    Battery Plug: Deans Ultra Plug
    Switching Frequency: 1.3 kHz

cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

Have you ever heard of deal extreme?

Check out some of their lipo's. Unreal prices and free shipping worldwide. One example here.....
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12821

I would have passed these off straight away but was surprised to see that some people have posted good reviews on forums I've read. I didn't look into them that much as I have no requirement for them at the moment so I'm not sure how many cycles you can expect but I think I read that one person had 50 cycles on it and it was grand.

There was even speculation that these batteries could be made in the same factory as bigger name brands and just being sold under different labelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Have you ever heard of deal extreme?

Check out some of their lipo's. Unreal prices and free shipping worldwide. One example here.....
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12821

I would have passed these off straight away but was surprised to see that some people have posted good reviews on forums I've read. I didn't look into them that much as I have no requirement for them at the moment so I'm not sure how many cycles you can expect but I think I read that one person had 50 cycles on it and it was grand.

There was even speculation that these batteries could be made in the same factory as bigger name brands and just being sold under different labelling.
    The chargers for them are 2 expensive and they take ages to charge:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

Plug wrote: »
    The chargers for them are 2 expensive and they take ages to charge:(

My Triton 2 can charge up to 5 cell lipos. (and that's not really a lipo charger)

lipos can take ages to fully charge up to 100% but charging them to 95% could knock loads of time of the charge time as it trickles very slowly for the last few percent - this is where most of the time goes to.

Were's coolwings?:eek:

Do you need separate AA battery's for the receiver or does the 7 cell battery do the job for both the servos and the motor?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

For a 1.5 metre motor glider, using a 400 size motor, 6" prop, with micro servos on board, flying weight about 600-850grams all you need it an 8 pack of KAN1300 nimhs.
    Cheap, cheerful, charge in 30 mins.

If you are planning to use standard 42g servos, and I wouldn't, you need a bigger 1.8 metre plane to carry those bricks! In which case an 8 x 2200 nimhs with a 540 size motor and 8" prop is appropriate. recharge in 30 mins.

Lipo weighs less than nimh, but takes at least an hour to charge.

I'm using the brushed motor sizes as a guide, it could be brushless, but does not have to be. Depends on what the ESC is made for using.

Forget 7 cells, it's for cars, boats and crud planes. ( 7 x 60g cells = 420g) Anyway, the 8 packs I'm describing are made up of smaller lighter individual cells, so the 8 pack weighs a lot less than 7 of the big C-cells. ( for the big pack eg 8 x 50= 400g) and the smaller 8 pack is even less weight.

No rx battery is needed for a BEC esc. (BEC=battery eliminator circuit)

Do you sell them chargers? Its a 2 meter glider Im getting. Heres the glider http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&W=001117492&I=LXJ597&P=K and heres the motor http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXJ766&P=V
    cheers.

Coolwings would a normal 7 cell battery do? like the ones for cars? Its a deans connector on the esc though....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

Don't worry about the Deans connector, they work and in that model you'll not notice a difference.

On a 7 x 60 gram cells with a 2 metre motor glider you will have a 30 degree climb rate max. That means half a battery is consumed flying in circles climbing, ever so slow, all the time. Then it's time to conserve power and come down. Picture your buggy or truck with the brakes stuck on. Believe me: the plane will certainly fly faster with motor OFF and prop folded, than it will with motor ON if you have 6 or 7 big size (C) cells.

I would think it would fly better as a glider with no battery if the battery is that weight, (but I acknowledge that all beginners think a propeller is necessary for satisfaction ... it's incorrect ... ever see a motor surfboard?) so you will require extra lift to get the weight up high.

Are you wanting to find a use for batteries you have for ground models already ? Or a plane you will enjoy using? Not being smart, just wanting to get you to look at what will work well. A good used plane set up right would be a thousand times better than a crud new model if you see the way I'm talking.

A bungee adds great possibilities . Now popping off a 30 metre bungee and 100 metres of line your low power motor glider would be starting at 130 metres before you even switch it's motor on. That would cancel out some disadvantages of a heavy small model.

Undoubtedly slope lift is the best way to do it with a 7 cell setup.
    For slope lift near you .... the Nore valley sides at Talbots Inch are steep enough, but very overgrown now - much dodging bushes required! There is a small ridge local past the Cave Bar, in pasture, with good possibilities. Next nearest are Ballyfoyle, Tullowbrin, Ballyragget, Poyntstown (north of Killenaule) , then ( a bit farther) 2 miles east of Johnstown at Donaghmaore, and Slievenamon at Fethard.

I'll see what I can do nxt time I'm in Kky.

coolwings wrote: »
    Don't worry about the Deans connector, they work and in that model you'll not notice a difference.

On a 7 x 60 gram cells with a 2 metre motor glider you will have a 30 degree climb rate max. That means half a battery is consumed flying in circles climbing, ever so slow, all the time. Then it's time to conserve power and come down. Picture your buggy or truck with the brakes stuck on. Believe me: the plane will certainly fly faster with motor OFF and prop folded, than it will with motor ON if you have 6 or 7 big size (C) cells.
    All I want the motor and battery for is to get it up high enough then shut it off and just glide around. Tower hobbies say it can climb to 500feet in a minute with that motor and a 7 cell battery pack. Is a normal 6-7 cell battery pack found in cars different from that of a battery pack required to run that thing?:confused:
    I would think it would fly better as a glider with no battery if the battery is that weight, (but I acknowledge that all beginners think a propeller is necessary for satisfaction ... it's incorrect ... ever see a motor surfboard?) so you will require extra lift to get the weight up high.
    I get you now, so if I was going to use a battery pack and motor(which I am:p) what kind of battery do you recommend? Its only going to be used to get it up to a nice altitude.
    Are you wanting to find a use for batteries you have for ground models already ? Or a plane you will enjoy using? Not being smart, just wanting to get you to look at what will work well. A good used plane set up right would be a thousand times better than a crud new model if you see the way I'm talking.
    Have no battery's at home intended for it. I always would have thought a glider with a motor is better than a glider with no motor. When its up n the air will it fly or fall?(The one with a motor in it).

Any Idea's?
    cheers coolwings!