Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robot Spider terrorizes Liverpool!

• 03-09-2008 6:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

http://gizmodo.com/5044936/50+foot-robot-spider-plans-to-attack-the-uk-on-friday
    Commuters at Liverpool's Lime Street station need only to glance at a nearby office block to bear witness to their impending doom. What they will see is a 50-foot, 40 ton spider that currently lies dormant, but it is set to "come alive" on Friday. Apparently, the spider is a component in an elaborate bit of street theater that will take place at various landmarks throughout the city—culminating in a "spectacular finish" on Sunday.

Mwahahahahahaa.... who else thinks it looks like a tachikoma? (who else knows what a tachikoma is :P)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Overheal wrote: »
    who else thinks it looks like a tachikoma?

Looks more like my ex tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Summon megastreisand! :D

Newsflash!!

Fly on the wall documentory team missing in Liverpool!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Jaysus. For a second there I thought this was a re-regged account thread.
    >>
    <<
    Doesnt look like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Might be the answer to Liverpool's width problem...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Might be the answer to Liverpool's width problem...?
    I dunno.
    If he has eight legs, city will probably try to sign him after christmas anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Phht, its Liverpool. Come friday it will be on blocks and the legs for sale on ebay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 iTroll

Marksie wrote: »
    Phht, its Liverpool. Come friday it will be on blocks and the legs for sale on ebay

It is not white either so it will probably get stabbed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Merseyful hour! I wonder if it eats beatles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

What they will see is a 50-foot, 40 ton spider that currently lies dormant, but it is set to "come alive" on Friday.

Fair play to the architect of the building that they have that thing hanging off the side of in the picture..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I dunno.
    If he has eight legs, city will probably try to sign him after christmas anyway.

:pac::pac::pac:

Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

This enormous spider shall consume us all! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

Mwahahahahahaa.... who else thinks it looks like a tachikoma? (who else knows what a tachikoma is :P)

A Tachikoma (タチコマ) is a fictional AI walker/roller tankette in the Ghost in the Shell universe, appearing in the manga created by Masamune Shirow and the Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex sub-universe. They are best described as a "spider type multi leg combat vehicle equipped with artificial intelligence". The spider design appears in other places in Shirow's other work, like the Appleseed manga. Shirow is noted to keep numerous spiders as pets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

.....w2g there mitchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I for one would like to welcome...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Lirange

Yer wan looks well fed. That's a scouser diet for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I for one would like to welcome...

I've seen your work in fighting the "yore ma" epidemic. I was impressed by some of your retorts. I thought you were one of the good ones.

But now you've stooped to this. I'm very disappointed Ikky. Where is that ashamed emoticon I asked for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

(who else knows what a tachikoma is :P)

<
    *ahem*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I knew sonbody would beat me to it ( only cuz i live in Liverpool ) :D

but i am going to take my own digi pic of spider tomorrow

watch this space ;)

FruitLover wrote: »
    <
    *ahem*
    Don't make me go nerd-fu on you!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Looks cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

MARKETING DEPARTMENT:
    Hey Guys, you know whats cool?
    Spiders Right!
    and you know what else is cool?
    Giant Robots!