Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My invisibility cloak

• 02-09-2008 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭

Since the school term kicked in, my bike appears to have been secretly kitted out with an amazing invisibility cloak, which makes it impossible for other road users to see me, most of the time. It’s not just the school run commuters who are affected by this cloak, as it seems to affect van drivers, truckers, bus drivers too. Some examples include;
    • The lady pulling out onto Ballinteer Road from the Willows who took up a position with her nose jutting out onto the main road, forcing me out into the line of traffic. The complete absence of eye contact leads to believe the cloak was operational at that time.
    • The van driver turning onto Dundrum Road from Upr Churchtown Road (under the Luas bridge) who stopped in a position that blocked the cycle lane completely, leaving no room for me to proceed.
    • The male Skoda driver on Herbert Road who decided to wash his windscreen while passing me out, resulting in an unpleasant shower (on one of the few dry evenings we’ve had recently).
    • The Yummy Mummy with a car full of kids who did a u-turn on Milltown Road (again, just under the Luas bridge) and stopped in a position that completely blocked the cycle lane, forcing me to stop. She then proceed to make an illegal left turn up Richmond Ave South (which is marked as ‘no left turn – except for cyclists’ at that time of day.
    • The lady BMW driver on the other end of Milltown Road who drifted so close to the kerb while moving around the bend that I again had to stop.
    • The three drivers who stopped in slow-moving traffic on Dundrum Road yesterday evening in position that forced me to stop cycling and waddle through using my feet.
    In most of these cases, I got to make some contact with the drivers in question, and the usual response was ‘Oh, I never saw you’, despite my wearing of a yellow Lidl-special gilet, lime green gloves, 2 x flashing Cateye front lights (most of the time) etc. If only I could find the on-off switch for the invisibility cloak – wouldn’t it be cool to sneak through the red lights at pedestrian crossings (when there are no pedestrians around) and know that no-one could see?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

You should loudly exclaim "Beep Beep. Out of my way!" any time you encounter such obstructions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

Get yourself an airzound and appeal to one of their other senses............. bang on their cars with their fist (gently). If that doesnt I'd be tempted to use a U-Lock to get the point through........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

I always imagine myself in these situations jumping up and down on their bonnet whilst shouting, "can you see me now, can you ****ing see me now" etc until a white van comes and carts me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Break one of the RotR. Then they'll see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭'68 Fastback

I have a big dirty climbing karabiner for my keys which comes out as a warning beacon from time to time. it makes a great noise on windows, without doing damage. however it also seems to have the power to ward off any numbskulls as anytime i preempt any incident, by putting it in my hand before i get on the road, nobody comes near me!? I reckon that a driver sees the keys(dangling in mid air as i also have a cloaking device), realise their paint scraping abilities and stay clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

c0rk3r wrote: »
    I always imagine myself in these situations jumping up and down on their bonnet whilst shouting, "can you see me now, can you ****ing see me now" etc until a white van comes and carts me off.
    I have come close, I wonder what the legality is to walk over a car parked on a cycletrack, what would the gardai say? it is an obstruction and it is illegal to cycle around it, so I would love to get up on the back and drag my bike over it scraping it to bits.

The other trick would be cycling on an old banger and locking it to a car on a cycletrack, then just sit back at the side of the road with a paper, if they expect you to wait so can they. If they drive off it is likely they will damage their car. What will they do? ring the gardai! they would love that.
    "Beep Beep. Out of my way!"
    I can think of a few more choice words

I have hammered windows before, a lad was on a mobile parked up on a cycletrack and nearly dropped the phone with fright, I was just short of smashing in the glass, I was roaring "C*NT!!", also happened to be wearing a balaclava:D

Have roared in at people dropping kids off, letting them just swing doors open while parked up on cycletracks. Once the door opened so I went right up so the door could not close, and screamed in at the driver a torrent of abuse, it is not the kids fault.

If I had a dog I know where I would dispose of its doggy bags of poo, smeared all over some bastards mirror, window and door handle, shame I don't have a dog, just have to use my own ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Walking over a car would be definately illegal irrespective of it's parking. Like the locking an old banger to the car idea though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Yeah plenty of SUVs have bullbars bike racks on the front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

rubadub wrote: »
    I was just short of smashing in the glass, I was roaring "C*NT!!", also happened to be wearing a balaclava:D

Have roared in at people dropping kids off, letting them just swing doors open while parked up on cycletracks. Once the door opened so I went right up so the door could not close, and screamed in at the driver a torrent of abuse, it is not the kids fault.

If I had a dog I know where I would dispose of its doggy bags of poo, smeared all over some bastards mirror, window and door handle, shame I don't have a dog, just have to use my own ;)

Jesus H, take a chill pill. People on bikes roaring like psychos in car doors doesn't help the cause one iota. Imagine the person in the car, what will they say/think when they get home. It won't be, 'oh I was in the wrong there'. No, they'll have forgotten they were in the wrong and will just remember a violently angry, red face, spittle spraying and curses. They'll tell this story to their friends and family and all will lament the psychotic nature of cyclists.

People who park in bike lanes, open doors ito traffic etc. are not intrinsicly bad people, they are (generally) simply either ignorant or careless. The vast majority will respond with shame and embarrassment if you point out to them, calmly, what they are doing wrong. They'll remember how they were in the wrong and hopefully be aware of it next time. They'll remember the fault and nothing extraneous.

Optimistic ? Yes. Certainly easier said than done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭'68 Fastback

It's pretty laughable that the very people who won't let their children cycle to school because of the danger involved, probably make up 50/60%of the danger involved.

Verb wrote: »
    Imagine the person in the car, what will they say/think when they get home. It won't be, 'oh I was in the wrong there'. No, they'll have forgotten they were in the wrong and will just remember a violently angry, red face, spittle spraying and curses. They'll tell this story to their friends and family and all will lament the psychotic nature of cyclists.
    If they leave out the bit about being in the wrong, then I expect the person hearing the story would ask "what in christs name did you do to warranty that reaction", and then they spill the beans, or at least they will remember that they were in the wrong or ask the person what they think they could have done wrong if they truely are that ignorant. That is my point with locking the bike to the car on the cycletrack, what would they say if they called the gardai? "
    "some crazy fecker locked his bike to my car".
    "OK, where is it parked at the moment"
    "ehhhhhh", hangs up....

Same with the walking over the car (which I would not do incase they drove off!) but what would they report to the gardai? it would be like burglars reporting somebody attempting to hit them.

People who park in bike lanes, open doors ito traffic etc. are not intrinsicly bad people, they are (generally) simply either ignorant or careless. The vast majority will respond with shame and embarrassment if you point out to them, calmly, what they are doing wrong. They'll remember how they were in the wrong and hopefully be aware of it next time. They'll remember the fault and nothing extraneous.
    If I gently tapped on the guys window I imagine he would have just ignored me, I doubt he will be pulling up on the same spot anytime soon. There is no way to point out or talk to many who pull up to drop kids off. On both those occasions I was wound up due to lots of similar events on the same journey.

My planned new approach is to just stop on the bike right in front of them on the track, just wait there right up at the bumper, maybe take out a paper to read or make a text, if they reverse back follow them. Maybe hold an object so if they did go forward the bonnet would be scratched. They can beep all they want, then wait until they get out of the car, say "now you know what it is like to be blocked" and cycle off, maybe even go back again when they get back in :D -like I said if they expect you to wait, they can too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

'68 wrote:
    It's pretty laughable that the very people who won't let their children cycle to school because of the danger involved, probably make up 50/60%of the danger involved.

+1, mothers driving cars with bonnets (and bull -bars) at precisely the height of a 6 year old's head? silly. it emphasises the fact that biology plays a cruel trick us on when we become parents. humanity becomes divided into two camps: progeny, and everyone else. and everyone else can get fucked, thank you very much.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Maybe hold an object so if they did go forward the bonnet would be scratched. They can beep all they want, then wait until they get out of the car, say "now you know what it is like to be blocked" and cycle off, maybe even go back again when they get back in :D -like I said if they expect you to wait, they can too.

Rubadub: dispenser of urban justice

085391264828.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

niceonetom wrote: »
    +1, mothers driving cars with bonnets (and bull -bars) at precisely the height of a 6 year old's head? silly. it emphasises the fact that biology plays a cruel trick us on when we become parents. humanity becomes divided into two camps: progeny, and everyone else. and everyone else can get fucked, thank you very much.

I have to declare an interest here, I'm a parent and I do a school run every day.

As a cyclist, I am constantly amazed at the blinkered type of school run driving that puts everyone else in jeopardy. I pass another school on our route, and cars literally just stall in the middle of the road, deposit their kids (often while staying in the driving seat), blissfully unaware of the random chaos they inflict on pedestrians, cyclists, other kids making their way into the school etc etc.

At my child's school it gets even sillier, there is a narrow lane leading up to the school gates. People drive up as close as they can, up on to the pavement full of children, deposit their child and then do a three point turn that involves mounting the rear of the car onto the pavement. There is ample parking around a nearby green, but some parents would drive up to the classroom door if they could. It is only luck that has prevented one of these three pointers from hitting a child.

I've done the journey by car plenty of times, but will avoid doing so as much as possible this year. The walking does us both good (even in heavy rain like this morning), and then I cycle the rest of the way to work.

One thing I'll never quite get the hang of is letting him walk up that lane by himself. I just don't trust anyone else's driving...which brings us back to yummy mummy (and yummy daddy...you know what I mean); she/he drives that big defensive tank because she/he doesn't trust anyone else's driving either. But therein lies the irony, they increase the danger by trying to guard their child against it.

First day back on Monday and as I cycled from the school gates I had to cycle around three cars in mid three-point turn, avoid a 'dooring' from a prize lemon who excels on getting his entire car up on the pavement sometimes, and as I slowed to avoid said lemon, got beeped by the car behind me!

Are soaring oil prices having any effect on these people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

If they leave out the bit about being in the wrong, then I expect the person hearing the story would ask "what in christs name did you do to warranty that reaction", and then they spill the beans, or at least they will remember that they were in the wrong or ask the person what they think they could have done wrong if they truely are that ignorant.

No offence, but you don't seem to have a great understanding on how people think. This guy will tell his friends and family about the incident. He will paint the cyclist in a poor light. The listeners will be sympathetic because they are his friends/family. They will agree, shake their heads and say 'Well whatever it was, even if you did something wrong, the cyclist shouldn't have responded like that'.
    That is my point with locking the bike to the car on the cycletrack, what would they say if they called the gardai? "
    "some crazy fecker locked his bike to my car".
    "OK, where is it parked at the moment"
    "ehhhhhh", hangs up....

Yes. That is what will happen.
    Same with the walking over the car (which I would not do incase they drove off!) but what would they report to the gardai? it would be like burglars reporting somebody attempting to hit them.

As above.
    If I gently tapped on the guys window I imagine he would have just ignored me, I doubt he will be pulling up on the same spot anytime soon. There is no way to point out or talk to many who pull up to drop kids off. On both those occasions I was wound up due to lots of similar events on the same journey.

How do you know he would have ignored you. You didn't even try. Instead, you probably scared the crap out of the kids, if they were still around. You probably scared him. What sort of attitude do you think he'll have towards cyclists now ? Next time he see a cyclist indicating to change into his lane, or trying to pull out of a turn, do you think he will by symathetic to the cyclist? Not bloody likely.
    My planned new approach is to just stop on the bike right in front of them on the track, just wait there right up at the bumper, maybe take out a paper to read or make a text, if they reverse back follow them. Maybe hold an object so if they did go forward the bonnet would be scratched. They can beep all they want, then wait until they get out of the car, say "now you know what it is like to be blocked" and cycle off, maybe even go back again when they get back in :D -like I said if they expect you to wait, they can too.

Same sort of crap as critical mass. An aggressive confrontational attitude which polarises people. It achieves nothing. How's about you be aware of people driving like this and avoid school runs, or failing that, take the lane going past the school ? That is, cycle defensively.

Complain to the school about the state of driving out front. They'll complain to all the parents. Complain to the Gardai AND the school. All it takes is a letter to the school, or a phone call or God forbid, call into the principal and have a reasoned conversation with them. Email/contact the local TD if nothing is still going on. Or is that too much effort ?

It is easier to shout and roar at some chap dropping his kids off alright. Doesn't achieve much though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

cycle defensively.

Best advice.

To be honest rubadub, you are better off chilling a bit and being civil to people, no matter how much they are in the wrong. I sometimes do have a word with motorists and it works a lot better if you are civil. Otherwise you do just come across as the "crazy cyclist" I can assure you. We all make mistakes and I like to give people the benefit of the doubt.

I respond to any hoot in my direction with a friendly wave, rather than the finger. It could be someone I know. If it is someone hooting at me for some other reason the wave pisses them off a hell of a lot more too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Yeah I very rarely go insane at motorists while commuting. Most of the time if someone decides to do the old pull out and block the cycle lane trick I'll just stop, make sure I get eye contact (Polite knock on window if I can't get it by just looking in the window) and then a bemused look and point at the situation they've put themselves in. Most look horribly embarrased and apologise.

For me, getting motorists to appreciate your presence on the road comes through education, not retaliation. My younger sister started driving about a year back (I stick to the two wheels!) and whenever I'm in the car with her I'll always point out to her how she might be inconveniencing cyclists if she makes a mistake by getting in the way of the cycle path etc. She's told me before that she keeps an extra careful eye out for cyclists because of the things I've told her. 1 more driver awake to cyclists' presence = progress.

I say take the same approach with strangers. As said, it's much easier to dismiss someone if they argue a point with you in anger rather than calm accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

blorg wrote: »
    I respond to any hoot in my direction with a friendly wave, rather than the finger. It could be someone I know. If it is someone hooting at me for some other reason the wave pisses them off a hell of a lot more too :D

I need to develop this habit.

I've flipped the finger three times in the last week, and every single time I realise it's hugely counter productive (voice in head goes 'doh'!). It galvanises the negative attitudes toward cyclists (so sorry guys if you met any of the people I p1ssed off in the last week).

The friendly wave tells the driver you're a happy cyclist, and even if they find that irritating it gives them something (else) to think about.

rubabdub, I can appreciate your anger, frustration and the need to somehow get even. Engaging the rage only makes you rage further. Chill out, and while I'm giving that advice to you, I'm reminding myself to try to do the same.

How do you know he would have ignored you. You didn't even try. Instead, you probably scared the crap out of the kids, if they were still around.
    It took a good few hard bangs before he even noticed, there were no kids in his car.

I take on board what you are all saying, like I was saying, there was a lead up to both those times, they were the straw breaking the camels back. Straight after the guy with the phone there was a woman parked up the same way just 100m on who I just breezed by, I usually do just go by as it just winds me up.
    Same sort of crap as critical mass. An aggressive confrontational attitude which polarises people.
    With critical mass the motorists have not really done anything to warrant/deserve obstruction, simply stopping in front of the car on the cycle track is not really aggressive, no more aggressive than them obstructing me in the first place really. At worst you could call it passive aggressive I suppose, just let them sit and think what they have done for a while, like a naughty boy in the corner. Stopping and not even looking or acknowledging their presence might be more effective, wait till they have to get out and ask you to please get off the cycletrack.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

One of my optional ways of getting home / into town from collage last year was past the national school in Ballyfermot - the amount of parents parking half on the cycle lane and half on the footpath was unreal. Never mind about cyclists, I'm surprised a child doesn't get hurt along the footpath.

Thankfully my main commuting path was included the Memorial Park at Islandbridge and the cycle path after it along the river - which vastly reduced my interaction with cars and made for a far nicer cycle just bythe view alone.

The most direct path to take for my new commute from Parkgate Street to DCU includes something like 10 sets of lights and two cyclist unfriendly two and three lane one-way triangular road layouts.

On a serious note, I think this thread illustrates the sheer uselessness of on-street bike lanes. It's not just the parents dropping kids off to school, it's the buses at stops, taxis pulling in and out, delivery vans etc. You end up doing what you'd be doing if no lane was there, simply riding around them. A bike is a vehicle too and trying to segragate it from other traffic invariably doesn't do much good for cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

I have to disagree with you there, on street bike lanes are find as long as there's enough space for both the car traffic and the lane, and as long as they aren't pockmarked with drains / manholes and the like. I sure prefer them to the seperated cycle lanes that cars have a tendancy to pull out over when driving past them and the ones that end out of the blue and take almost right angle turns into traffic.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

I'm open to correction or additions, but the problems seem to be...

- simply poorly design lanes (an fool should know it's wrong)
    - lack of high quality design guidlines
    - laws which could be improved
    - putting lanes in too small of sections
    - an overall total lack of lanes which motorist should not be allow into
    - lack of enforcement (same goes for cars on footpaths etc)

I have to disagree with you there, on street bike lanes are find as long as there's enough space for both the car traffic and the lane, and as long as they aren't pockmarked with drains / manholes and the like. I sure prefer them to the seperated cycle lanes that cars have a tendancy to pull out over when driving past them and the ones that end out of the blue and take almost right angle turns into traffic.

The off-road cycle lanes are worse. The thing about the on-street ones is that I can't see how they make any difference at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

el tonto wrote: »
    The off-road cycle lanes are worse. The thing about the on-street ones is that I can't see how they make any difference at all.

Since the advisory lanes have been added along the coast at Clontarf, I have noticed people in cars a lot less likely to drive close to the left. That's just my experience on that particular stretch of road. I'm intimately familiar with it, having been commuting on it for years. The advisory lane was added a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

its them bad drivers in the churchtown dundrum area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

unionman wrote: »
    At my child's school it gets even sillier, there is a narrow lane leading up to the school gates. People drive up as close as they can, up on to the pavement full of children, deposit their child and then do a three point turn that involves mounting the rear of the car onto the pavement. There is ample parking around a nearby green, but some parents would drive up to the classroom door if they could. It is only luck that has prevented one of these three pointers from hitting a child.
    Ask the council to put bollards on the kerb. Its keep the path clear and hopefully once the first 9 year old slams a door on one, discourage the "park immediately outside the school" mentality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

Raam wrote: »
    Since the advisory lanes have been added along the coast at Clontarf, I have noticed people in cars a lot less likely to drive close to the left. That's just my experience on that particular stretch of road. I'm intimately familiar with it, having been commuting on it for years. The advisory lane was added a few months ago.
    I'd agree that the (as yet, incomplete) lanes have had an effect on driver behaviour. I think it's because most drivers are ignorant of road traffic laws and don't know thay can drive in them if they like. A few, who do know the law, are parking in them.

I just don't understand why the city council hasn't moved the parked cars obstructing the completion of the road markings , has failed to put up the road signs mandated by law for such features and how they've ignored the problem of dangerous illegal parkiing on the bend at the OddBins off-license beside the continuous white line.

The inbound cycle track (on path) at Fairview....out of commission for 9 months and looking like its going to be reinstated with all the worst features of the original.

The track passing the car-park at the foot of Vernon Avenue....dangerously unlit at night while loads of money spent on artistic lighting for the pumping station beside it.

When the City Council provides 'cycle facilities' it does not actually see cyclists on them.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

neilled wrote: »
    Get yourself an airzound and appeal to one of their other senses........

this will work alright, scare the **** out of them too :)

@cyclopath- incidentally you are only allowed park in a non-mandatory cycle track for 30 minutes (not that anyone is checking mind.)

This morning cycling down from clonskeagh to Ranelagh (just after the junction of Clonskeagh Road and Whitebeam Road just before OSheas) I came across a bike lying on it side, in the cycle track, with a man (guessing in his 50s or so) standing on the grass beside it - helmet, lights, hi-vis - I'd put him into the category of careful commuter I suppose.

I stopped to ask if he was OK, thinking he'd had a puncture or something, and (he said) he was, but he'd just been taken off his bike by a car, which didn't stop on the spot but continued down the road a bit and pulled into a driveway - I suppose that this is better than blocking the whole road, but it looked initially like a hit-n-run. He said the driver pulled right over into the cycle track to go down the inside of a line of cars which were waiting to turn right down to Donnybrook.

Anyway, the cyclist had just called the cops and taken the reg plate of the car. The driver came back up and asked what the hell the cyclist was doing going down the inside. We cyclists both pointed down at the cycletrack, which is a continuous white line one at that point, but the driver insisted that since it ends a few metres further (just before the pedestrian lights) that it wasn't a cycle track and that it was the cyclists own fault. The other cyclist asked him to look at the big blue sign about 2 metres back up the road, and his face fell when he read out loud "cycle track". He also tried to excuse it as "everyone drives in it" :rolleyes: He also said something about there being a car half way out of Whitebeam road, which I didn't understand. Anyway we cyclists were both very calm, the driver was quite angry, and I even explained to him that it was illegal for us NOT to use the cycle track, just as it was illegal for him to use it.

Since the cops were called, and I didn't see the actual impact, I headed on my way (asked the other lad if he wanted me to hang around though). Hopefully the cops came - very slowly - so the drivers attempt to save 20 seconds on his commute actually ended up costing him far far longer.

Luckily this morning the other chap came off (relatively) unscathed, at least at first glance, but it could have been a lot worse. And if you're the other cyclist reading this, can you tell us what happened when the cops came?

neilled wrote:
    Get yourself an airzound and appeal to one of their other senses........
    Cabaal wrote: »
    this will work alright, scare the **** out of them too :)

I have one of these too, and I find it brilliant - it's loud enough that drivers can hear it inside the car, and PLENTY loud for pedestrians who are about to step out onto the road/cycletrack etc without looking. Just remember to keep it well charged!

I'd agree that the (as yet, incomplete) lanes have had an effect on driver behaviour. I think it's because most drivers are ignorant of road traffic laws and don't know thay can drive in them if they like. A few, who do know the law, are parking in them.

I just don't understand why the city council hasn't moved the parked cars obstructing the completion of the road markings , has failed to put up the road signs mandated by law for such features and how they've ignored the problem of dangerous illegal parkiing on the bend at the OddBins off-license beside the continuous white line.

The inbound cycle track (on path) at Fairview....out of commission for 9 months and looking like its going to be reinstated with all the worst features of the original.

The track passing the car-park at the foot of Vernon Avenue....dangerously unlit at night while loads of money spent on artistic lighting for the pumping station beside it.

When the City Council provides 'cycle facilities' it does not actually see cyclists on them.

I don't really mind the parking in the lane, or where the lane "should" be. As far as I am aware (and I must check) some of the houses on one of the stretches don't have drives. They have probably been parking outside their house for years and I wouldn't expect them to park anywhere else. I've no issue with it. People are always going to need to park near services such as Oddbins or whatever. Of all the years I've been doing that stretch it's never once bothered me.

I never go on the inbound Fairview track. I'll take my chances on the road :)

As for the Vernon Ave carpark, yes, that is a suspect spot and caution is certainly needed there.

@kenmc- I hope you gave your details to the cyclist as the gardai can't really do anything unless there is an independent witness willing to make a statement.

As I said I saw nothing other than the bike on the ground and the cyclist standing beside it - I was unaware of the fact that he'd been hit until he said it. I know from previous experience that I would be of no use to the cops, once they come they'd tell me to move along. I never thought of giving my details to the cyclist though, based on that :(

With all this talk of bad driving and parking, I guess it's time for this again...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAOHhV1EFe4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

I don't really mind the parking in the lane, or where the lane "should" be.
    Except that with a cycle track, you're obliged by law to cycle with your right arm stuck out when you pass the parked cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

With all this talk of bad driving and parking, I guess it's time for this again...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAOHhV1EFe4

Love this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I think the majority are missing the point about the poor driving. It not neccesarily a bike V car battle it's a car V car battle too. The roads have become a lot more unpredictable since schools started again. I don' think any sort of yelling will sort the prob or stop them acting as they are because they don't think.

Most of us when we're beeped at or abused would analys the situation to see if we were in the wrong and then remember the mistake we'd made and correct it, if it was indeed out fault. Most of these people just go on the defensive straight away, accuse the 'beeper' and go ahead with life as it was.

When they tell the story of what happened they probably telling to likeminded people who won't question if they were in the wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Down Westland Row this morn, a lady decided to walk right out in front of me (outside Pearse St Station)

I thought I had found the antidote to the invisibility cloak in a bright yellow cycling top, but obvsiously not. I shouted and was brought to a standstill - God bless disc brakes, they have saved me ( and others ) numerous times now.

You really have to be wary when cars ae stopped on the road, pedestrians will often not bother to check for bikes coming. I'm sure I awoke her from her morning slumber though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I pass Drimnagh Castle every morning now, it's a disaster!!! :mad: