Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANDITZ POKER

• 02-09-2008 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭

BANDITZ POKER
    Schedule for new venues.
    Tuesdays : Smiths bar Tallantstown Co. louth

Wednesdays : Murtaghs lounge , Kingscourt ,Co. Cavan.

Thursdays : The Valley Lodge , Carrickmacross Co. Monaghan
    All games are €40 + 1x rb & top up @€;20
    Games reg at 8:00 and start at 8:30 sharp
    bonus chip before 8:30
    For further information you can contact .banditzpoker@yahoo.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

OK , im thinking of running a league between the three venues starting on the 16th september and running until the 4th of december, that gives 12 wks to accumulate a nice prize fund before xmas , there will be €100 held from the prize fund every nite at each venue for the league final.
    The top 6 at each venue will qualify .Points will be awarded for turning up and where you finish . You must play at least 6 nights to qualify . A player can only qualify from 1 venue.
    if anyone has any other ideas for the league pm me here or contact me at banditzpoker@yahoo.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

PM sent.

PM sent.
    TNX Coillte_bhoy. Thats a great help.

Come on out tonite guys . its my first tourney as BANDITZ POKER and i think there will be a good crowd , which will leave some value for you seasoned pro's.
    Im in for the long haul and i dont give up easy , so thats only good news for poker players.

Results for thursday 4th sep. 1st sean duffy €400, 2nd pairaic duffy €250, 3rd joe callan €150 , 4th robbie lynch €100 .
    14 players took part and there was €1000 taken in with rebuys and top ups and €900 paid out . There was plenty of craic and the Mayor of monaghan attended the game and was the first to exit .
    This week will be the first full schedule in the three venues , so come on out and try your luck , you never know you might even like it .
    PS. i would like to send my thanks to those that turned up last wk .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Please read this and post full details in the proper format in future please.

Ste05

Ste05 wrote: »
    Please read this and post full details in the proper format in future please.
    sry ste05 . i had it in an earlier thread and did not know that i had to re-do it . tnx
    Ste05
    BANDITZ POKER

1. Who is running the event (BANDITZ POKER)
    2. The purpose of the event (commercial)
    3. Date and Location of event: Every tues , wed & thursday from the 4th of september
    4. Registration and Start time of event. reg 8pm start 8:30pm
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, which is free)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (players can pay on the day, maximum number is about 60,
    7. Type of Tournament (NL Hold'em, 1 re-buy & top option)
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €40 entry reg inc. with 1 re-buy & top up option for €20
    9. Cost of registration €10 per player included in above price
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund 100%
    11. Any guaranteed prize pool. No
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. 1 for 1st 4 levels then top ups
    13. Starting Chips 5+ 1k bonus for players registered before 8:30pm
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. 6k & 10k
    15. Blind levels, 15mins for length of tournament, blind levels may be replayed depending on big blind/average stack ratio
    16. Blind timeframes 25/50 50/100 100/200 200/400, 300/600, 400/800, 500/1000, 800/1500, 1000/2000, 1500/3000, 2000/4000, 3000/6000, 4000/8000 etc
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash. top 5 or 6 depending on numbers
    18. Are there going to be dealers - final table only
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules yes
    20. Is there a tournament director yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. TD

For further info you can contact me at banditzpoker@yahoo.ie
    or call me on 087 7829325
    user_online.gifreport.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Cheers,

Yeah, you have to do it for every tournament you advertise, just copy and paste and change any details in future, will save you some time.

Ste05

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭pokerkingsni

DAMO72 wrote: »
    BANDITZ POKER

8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. €40 entry reg inc. with 1 re-buy & top up option for €20
    9. Cost of registration €10 per player included in above price
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund 100%

So if you dont use the rebuy/topup its €30+€10? Seems a bit much on the Reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Mr. Wolf

'14 players took part and there was €1000 taken in with rebuys and top ups and €900 paid out'
    I think you'll see from reading this post that the company took €100 from a €1,000 prize pool which works out at €7.14 per player. More than fair imo. The game still ran for over 5 hours and the TD worked for all this time and longer, setting up, registering, giving out chips and dealing as well as the work he did advertising the game in the first place.
    If he had dealt a cash game for this length of time how much do you think he would have made?
    I really feel its time that people stopped whinging about the wages earned by people running decent poker games and doing a tough nights work with long hours.
    Who decided that cash tables should be able to earn 5 or 10 times as much with a fraction of the players as tournaments where the work is considerably harder and the charge is far more consistent?
    Somebody runs a tournament with 20 players they make €200. This amount covers all expenses for the running of the game as well as the company earnings. The players know how much they are going to spend walking in the door, the prize pool is reflected fairly and evenly.
    Somebody else runs a cash table with 9 players, between rakes and tips the earnings are far higher and the players don't know what they are going to spend or what they might win (if anything).
    Where the justice in this?
    Keep up the good work Damo, ignore the begrudgers buddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Xiang Xiang

exactly where is this place tonite

where do i get off the M1 etc. i will try to make it out

Xiang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

Mr. Wolf wrote: »
    '14 players took part and there was €1000 taken in with rebuys and top ups and €900 paid out'
    I think you'll see from reading this post that the company took €100 from a €1,000 prize pool which works out at €7.14 per player. More than fair imo. The game still ran for over 5 hours and the TD worked for all this time and longer, setting up, registering, giving out chips and dealing as well as the work he did advertising the game in the first place.
    If he had dealt a cash game for this length of time how much do you think he would have made?
    I really feel its time that people stopped whinging about the wages earned by people running decent poker games and doing a tough nights work with long hours.
    Who decided that cash tables should be able to earn 5 or 10 times as much with a fraction of the players as tournaments where the work is considerably harder and the charge is far more consistent?
    Somebody runs a tournament with 20 players they make €200. This amount covers all expenses for the running of the game as well as the company earnings. The players know how much they are going to spend walking in the door, the prize pool is reflected fairly and evenly.
    Somebody else runs a cash table with 9 players, between rakes and tips the earnings are far higher and the players don't know what they are going to spend or what they might win (if anything).
    i agree here here well done damo if u need any help give us a shout jim he poker room ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Mr. Wolf wrote: »

Agree!

It seem to me that people in Ireland really just don't understand how good they have it when compared internationally.

Nearly every single player here plays online which has a 10% reg for most tournaments. Just because you can get a game online for 10% doesn't mean you can get a live game for the same price (there has to be a min reg in order to cover the cost of dealers, food, room hire, TD's wages, companies profit after taxes have been paid).

You just can't compare the two!

I know most casino's run tournaments in Ireland at 10% reg fee, but they do this at a loss, in the hope that you'll play some blackjack ect were you can lose €100's in less than an hour.

Too be honest i still don't understand why casino's in Ireland still run poker tournaments at a loss, each area of your business should be profitable or at lease breakeven if it helps your cash cow.

The point i was malking was that the entry is €40. 10% of that is €4. Not €10.

The point i made above, there has to be a min reg fee in order to be worth a TD's while in running the game. At €4 per player and 14 players Damo would have made a total of €56 before costs.

My guess is Damo probably spent around €25 at least on food.

Would you be willing to spend weeks putting up posters, buy poker tables, chips, cards ect and work approx 5 hours for €31?

JP Poker wrote: »
    The point i made above, there has to be a min reg fee in order to be worth a TD's while in running the game. At €4 per player and 14 players Damo would have made a total of €56 before costs.

My guess is Damo probably spent around €25 at least on food.

Would you be willing to spend weeks putting up posters, buy poker tables, chips, cards ect and work approx 5 hours for €31?

No i wouldnt. But ive run poker tournaments for years and the simple fact is they dont make good profit. Charging players €10 reg to a €30 tourny isnt justifiable in my opinion.

Oh and if 30 people turn up next week then its €300 for a nights work. Then 40 next week €400.

But then if people are happy enough then thats up to them.

Just throwing my 2 cents in.

I genuinely hope the tournys go well for the fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Mr. Wolf

If 30 or 40 people turn up then its because Damo runs a good game (which he does) should he be criticised for making a success of his business? If 30 or 40 people turn up the prize pool grows to €3,000 or €4,000 so he's making it worth while for thos 30 or 40, but if he gets 9 some night what then? Does he cancel the game and piss off the few players who turned up? I think not.
    This is a business as you should know having run poker tournaments for years you take the good with the bad like any business. And at the end of the year you look at how many players you had, how much you earned and (if you're pedantic like I am) you look at how much you paid out and I think you should find that it was worth everyones while playing with you.
    Damo has a lot of friends in the poker community and could simply phone up 9 of them and run one cash table for 5 or 6 hours and make more on rake and tips than he would from running a tournament, but he provides this unprofitable (for him) poker tournament in the hope of increasing numbers and provides a good service in doing it, i think he should be appluaded for his efforts.

No i wouldnt. But ive run poker tournaments for years and the simple fact is they dont make good profit. Charging players €10 reg to a €30 tourny isnt justifiable in my opinion.

Oh and if 30 people turn up next week then its €300 for a nights work. Then 40 next week €400.

But then if people are happy enough then thats up to them.

Just throwing my 2 cents in.

I genuinely hope the tournys go well for the fella.

If i've come across as having a go at you, that wasn't my intension. Am i'm not trying to defend Damo here as he's big enough to that for himself. It's just annoys me when i see people so hung up on the 10% reg.

As you said you ran tournament for a number of years and it wasn't profitable. Maybe this was because you charge 10% on small buy in games.

I'm sure the guys that played with you would have been happy to have paid a higher reg fee in order to keep your game going.

Like wise i don't think it's justified to charge 10% on some bigger buy in games take the WOSP €50k Horse event for example.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

People arent complaining/caring about the organisers wages its just that its difficult enough to beat a 10% rake never mind 20%

As to casinos running poker at a loss, most dont, theyll try to at least break even on small tournaments knowing that if the numbers come in for the small tournaments theyll get good profit on cash games and end of month tournies etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Xiang Xiang

who cares if they make money or not

well i do, if a poker organisor closes down because he cant make money, that would be my loss

if an organisor, like JP, Nicky, Neill etc to mention just a few, was to charge a bit more but continued to run really good tournaments like they usually do, then i would pay the little extra

too many players get hung up on the 10% thing and i even saw Nick from Vegas Nights writing a justification for a measly €15 registration fee in Portmarnock

there has to be costs incurred, what with dealers and room hire alone it has to be a risky business

if players dont like the fee, then they should try running one themself,

i like value for money like every player but i wouldnt like to see the loss of tournament organisors and that is what would happen and we would all be stuck with a poorer selection of tournaments

all i want to know is, how do i get to that place tonight? anyone ?

JP Poker wrote: »
    If i've come across as having a go at you, that wasn't my intension. Am i'm not trying to defend Damo here as he's big enough to that for himself. It's just annoys me when i see people so hung up on the 10% reg.

Didnt come across like that at all JP :)

I agree as well that 10% isnt actually enough to make a good profit off a tourny. Something like 15%. I suppose we're all used to casinos cahrging a 10% fee on tournament poker then making a massive profit from cash poker, blackjack, roulette etc.

Pub tournaments are indeed hard to make any money from. I wasnt trying to derail this thread btw, just thought a tenner was too much. But perhaps without a tenner reg it wouldnt happen, in which case everyone loses.

sry xiang xiang . take the m1 to the ardee exit , after roughly 6 mile go through the 1st roundabout and take the 3rd exit at the nxt roundabout for tallantstown approx. 3mile

sry i havnt time to answer all these posts atm . i wll do so tomorrow . but tnx for the support guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭The Little Guy

I really can't understand all the negativity...

The guy is trying to bring poker out into the community.

Keep your chin up Damo.........

.....You build it, they will come....

All the best tonight

Bru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

So if you dont use the rebuy/topup its €30+€10? Seems a bit much on the Reg.

If you're stupid enough not to rebuy/topup you're not going to care about the reg either way because the entire entry fee will basically be reg.

Its not been too bad so far . 12 players in Tallantstown last nite creating a prizepool of €700 , for a small village i think it was pretty good . Thanks to the guys that came from Drogheda (you know who you are ). Anyway its kingscourt tonite so i hope i get at least a table as its completely unknown territory to me for players. Dont forget to come to the valley lodge in carrickmacross on thursday nite , 14 players last wk and good reports for a better turnout this wk .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Gus2008

Hi new user here to boards lurking around for a while. Just want to say this looks like a top tournament for the pub poker scene in monaghan. Just one quick question how does the 15 min blinds work out? Usually these type of pub tournaments are 20 min blinds. I know its early days but is the structure relatively decent for the duration of the tournament? Hopefully I will get to this in the next couple of weeks. Keep up the good work.

Gus2008 wrote: »
    Hi new user here to boards lurking around for a while. Just want to say this looks like a top tournament for the pub poker scene in monaghan. Just one quick question how does the 15 min blinds work out? Usually these type of pub tournaments are 20 min blinds. I know its early days but is the structure relatively decent for the duration of the tournament? Hopefully I will get to this in the next couple of weeks. Keep up the good work.
    it has worked pretty well so far , even with the small amount of players there is still loads of play because of the size of the starting stack and rebuys, and also if you havnt used your rebuy you can get it at the break along with your add on . The game hasnt run past 1 am yet so you still have plenty of beauty sleep. I hope you get down some nite , if you do get down introduce yourself to me , its always good to put names to faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

results of tallanstown mtt? i heard some lucky northerner won and two legends of the irish poker scene came 2nd and 3rd........just what i heard

LOL . 1st Stevie Mc Clenaghan , 2nd Danny Pearson, 3rd John Devlin .
    For the record Stevie is not some lucky northerner , he is a local lad who is unfortunate to have a strong northern accent who has a string of good results (some girls get all the luck). I didnt know Danny and John were known as legends in these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Welll bud,

Hope the game is going well for ya ...Bell me when u can about killarney

Neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

DAMO72 wrote: »
    I didnt know Danny and John were known as legends in these parts.
    belive thattt