Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wiring Quote Too High ?

• 02-09-2008 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭

Folks,

I am building a house at the moment and I have an issue with the wiring quote I have gotten from the electrician. He is looking for circa 25k for the spec below. I feel this is too much as I am doing all the audio / network / ct100/alarm cabling myself.

I don't know if anyone can or has the time to comment, but if you do its welcome.

Best regards, P.

Internal Lighting (Section A)

Location Type Quantity Switch Type

Section A1

Basement / Changing Downlighter 6 One Way
    Basement / Games Rm Downlighter 10 Two Way
    Basement / Hall Area Downlighter 5 One Way
    Basement / Gym Downlighter 10 One Way
    Basement / Study Downlighter 9 One Way
    Basement / Services Double Florescant 1 One Way

Section A2

Ground / Family & Dining Downlighter 12 Two Way
    Ground / Family & Dining LED 10 One Way
    Ground / Family & Dining Lighting Point 1 Single Dimmer
    Ground / Lounge Downlighter 12 Two Way
    Ground / Utility Downlighter 8 Two Way
    Ground / Entrance Downlighter 8 Two Way
    Ground / Basement Stairs Downlighter 4 Two Way
    Ground / WC Vapour Proof Downlighter 4 One Way
    Ground / Kitchen Lighting Point 6 Two Way Two Gang
    Ground / Store Lighting Point 1 One Way

Section A3

First / Master Bedroom Lighting Point 6 Two Way Two Gang
    First / Master Bedroom Downlighter 2 One Way
    First / Master Bed WC Lighting Point 3 One Way
    First / Master Bed Closet Lighting Point 2 One Way
    First / Hall Back Downlighter 6 One Way
    First / Hall Front Lighting Point 4 Two Way Two Gang
    First / Main Bathroom Lighting Point 3 One Way
    First / Main Bathroom Floor LED 8 One Way
    First / Bedroom 4 Lighting Point 6 One Way Three Gang
    First / Bedroom 5 Lighting Point 6 One Way Three Gang
    First / Bedroom 2 Lighting Point 4 One Way Two Gang
    First / Bedroom 3 Lighting Point 4 One Way Two Gang
    First / Bedroom 2 WC Lighting Point 2 One Way Two Gang
    First / Bedroom 3 WC Lighting Point 2 One Way Two Gang
    First / Wet Room Vapour Proof Downlighter 4 One Way

Total Downlighters 92
    Total Vapour Proof Lights 8
    Total LED 18
    Total Lighting Points 50
    Total Fluorescant Lights 1

External Lighting (Section B)

Location Type Quantity Switch Type

Section B1

Front Door Lighting Point 2 One Way
    Family & Dining Patio Lighting Point 2 One Way
    Lounge Patio Lighting Point 2 One Way
    Games Room Patio Lighting Point 3 One Way
    Kitchen Patio Lighting Point 3 One Way

Section B2

Front Of House Recessed Uplighter 6 One Way
    Rear Of House Recessed Uplighter 6 One Way
    Lounge Decking Connection for recessed deck lights 1 One Way
    Dining Area Deck Connection for recessed lights 1 One Way

Section B3

Drive Way Connection for lights 1 One Way / Timer
    Front Wall Connection for lights 1 One Way
    Kitchen Wall around patio Connection for lights 1 One Way
    Games Room Patio Connection for lights 1 One Way

Section B4

Rear of Garage (Car Park) Flood Lamps 2 Two Way
    Front Lawn Flood Lamps 4 One Way
    Side Lawn Flood Lamps 4 One Way
    Kitchen Garden Flood Lamps 4 One Way
    Front Gate Connection for lights 1 One Way

Electrical Sockets (Section C)

Location Type Quantity Notes

Section C1

Basement / Games Double Socket 6
    Basement / Changing Double Socket 4
    Basement / Services Double Socket 7
    Basement / Gym Double Socket 5
    Basement / Hall Double Socket 1
    Basement / Study Double Socket 7

Section C2

Ground / Family & Dining Double Socket 8
    Lounge Double Socket 8
    Hall Double Socket 4
    Utility Double Socket 4
    Kitchen Double Socket 6

Section C3

First / Master Bedroom Double Socket 5
    First / Bed 2 Double Socket 4
    First / Bed 3 Double Socket 4
    First / Bed 4 Double Socket 6
    First / Bed 5 Double Socket 6
    Hall Double Socket 3

Section C4

Family & Dining Patio External Socket 1
    Kitchen Patio External Socket 1
    Lounge Patio External Socket 1
    Games Room Patio External Socket 1

Additional Supply Requirements (Section D)

Automatic Gates Connection 1 Power supply for auto gates.
    Towel Rads Connection & Timer 6 Timer located at door outside room.
    Main Bathroom Connection for LCD 1
    Services Supply for Alarm Panel 1
    Cooker / Oven Connection 2
    Kitchen Island Connection 1
    Extractor Fan Supply Connection 1
    Room Thermostats Connection 13
    Door Bell Connection 1
    Smoke Detectors Connection 9
    Heating Supply / Timeclock Connection 2
    Roof Space Heat Recovery Connection 1
    Roof Space Sockets Double Socket 2 One socket each gable wall.
    Velux Window Connection Opener Connection 5

Garage Supply (Section E)

Main Garage Double Socket 4
    Workshop Area Double Socket 6
    Garage Lighting Twin 5ft Batten Florescant 6
    External Lights Connection Point Above Doo 3
    External Socket Power Supply 1
    Garage Doors Supply 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭randombar

If you're doing all the other cabling yourself why not do the whole lot??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭bauderline

I have done lots of work with network cabling in the past as I am in the IT business. Also done lots of work with motorised satellite systems and running CT100 around a house... and audio cabling is what it is....

I am not an electrician though and whilst I understand the concepts behind light circuits and sockets etc I guess it is illegal for me to wire this myself and even if it was legal I would have good craic trying to get a spark to certify it !

Where do I stand with this out of curiosity. I know its illegal for me to install an alarm system for someone else as I am not certified but I can legally install my own system....

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Leadership

I would get a few extra quotes but from what I see its lot more than the average house requirements. I am interested in the walls and floors of the build as that is a lot chasing if its into concrete.

I am going to do all my own audio & TV wiring but I have my own rules.

Dont touch electrics, it goes bang (unless is changing a fuse or wiring a plug!)
    Dont touch plumbing as that can go bang & sploosh
    Dont touch roofing as that goes crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭randombar

What cabling are ye using for networks by the way lads?

also what's ct100? Sorry rookie here by the looks of things.

Audio is speakers in the ceiling and surround ya??

Also do you live in a mansion :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

Fairly big job, you havent said how far away the automated gates are. That alone could run into thousands for cabling and labour alone alone. Also external lighting will be expensive, all that swa/armoured cable doesn't come cheap.

Get some more quotes, you will find the cable price is the killer on the job. Cable has got very expensive, I am sure you will be aware of that from experience with CT100, its gone up by 300% in last 15 months.

The house is 1.5 over basement. Its the basement which makes the house appear big on paper... see here, there is a jpeg of the plans at the start of the blog.

www.watergate-house.blogspot.com

What spec of swa cable do I need for the gates ?

The swa stuff I looked for the lights was circa 2 euro per meter...

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Off the top of my head I came up at about €21,000. I'm sure if I looked closer it would go up though.

BTW with all those down-lighters I would suggest going for energy saving CFL versions.

Dotsie,

Your figure is in line with two quotes I got back recently. Thanks for taking the time to give it a ballpark though, its good to know I am paying the correct rate for the work.

Best regards. P.