Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McIver ousted

• 02-09-2008 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭

Seems the clubs didn't want McIver to continue.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/donegal-manager-mciver-ends-reign-1467299.html

By Colm Keys

Tuesday September 02 2008

Brian McIver has been ousted as manager of the Donegal football team.
    McIver, who has been in charge for the last three years, came under pressure last week when a number of clubs raised the issue of his appointment for a fourth successive year
    McIver stepped down at a County Board meeting last night once it became apparent that he had not got the support of the clubs.
    "I sensed that there was a feeling of negativity from a number of clubs. Whenever I joined Donegal one thing was certain that I would never overstay my welcome.
    "It was entirely up to the clubs. I was quite happy that I had the full backing of all the players. We were making our plans for the following season. If there is a feeling in the county that we are not making progress then I'll hand over the reins," he said last night.
    McIver quit briefly last season but was persuaded to come back for another year. Donegal lost championship games to Derry and Monaghan this season.
    John Joe Doherty and Tony Boyle are among the early favourites to take over from the Ballinderry man.
    SEAMUS MCENANEY has confirmed that he will continue as Monaghan football manager in 2009.
    McEnaney delivered the confirmation to a meeting of Monaghan County Board last night.
    It is expected that he will retain the services of Martin McElkennon as trainer and Adrian Trappe as selector.
    Monaghan staged a recovery in the All-Ireland qualifiers in July when they beat Derry and Donegal before losing to Kerry.
    a member of the Cork football backroom team has made a strong call for Conor Counihan to be re-appointed as manager of the Rebels' side.
    Ger O'Sullivan, a selector under former team boss Billy Morgan and Counihan, feels it would be in the best interests of Cork football if the Aghada man was given some additional time at the Rebels' helm.
    "I think the first thing that should happen is that the county board should go away and re-appoint Conor as the manager for the next two seasons," said O'Sullivan.
    "Then Conor could sit down and decide who his backroom team will be. Conor is a very good appointment. His attention to detail is second to none, and certainly the Cork team would be in very good hands with Conor in charge."
    - Colm Keys

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Am not sorry to see the back of him, ok, fair play to him, we won a national league but in the championship his team selections and tactics (or lack of them) were mind baffling.. please step forward the wee man for the job.. might take it now that a certain person has left county board..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Probably not a huge surprise after last year's messiness, although others will be closer to the situation than I am. Certainly, the lack of progress from last year's league success to the two championships they've had since (particularly last year) is a bad indictment of somebody or something... I guess McIver's paid the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭mousey007

not a surprise at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭RMDrive

It's all very well getting rid of him but who is going to take over? McHugh has already ruled himself out and we are not exactly blessed with top qualilty managers are we?

RMDrive wrote: »
    It's all very well getting rid of him but who is going to take over? McHugh has already ruled himself out and we are not exactly blessed with top qualilty managers are we?

We did not get rid of him, he walked after certain clubs last night showed no confidence in him(from what i heard, the usual shambles of a meeting).. we are not blessed with managers but we were to me going backwards with him which is not much use either.. would not give up on mchugh yet..

shiibata wrote: »
    We did not get rid of him, he walked after certain clubs last night showed no confidence in him(from what i heard, the usual shambles of a meeting).. we are not blessed with managers but we were to me going backwards with him which is not much use either.. would not give up on mchugh yet..

McHugh has come out today and said that he is not interested. Unless you can work some magic ;) I'd say thats a non runner.

will try and use my magic powers then, although they have not worked since 1992:D

shiibata wrote: »
    will try and use my magic powers then, although they have not worked since 1992:D

LOL. In fairness you did a pretty good job that year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

No big surprise with this. The team hasn't progressed in the last 18 months.

While we aren't blessed with an abundance of managers and McHugh won't take the role, it looks like we could be shopping outside the county again. Why not set our sights on a proven inter-county manager?

smashey wrote: »
    No big surprise with this. The team hasn't progressed in the last 18 months.

While we aren't blessed with an abundance of managers and McHugh won't take the role, it looks like we could be shopping outside the county again. Why not set our sights on a proven inter-county manager?

I'd 100% support the idea of a manager from outside the county but from what I hear, the motivation for the move against McIvor was partly down to the desire to have a Donegal man in charge. If thats a prerequisite then I think we will struggle to replace McIvor with someone as/more capable.

Big Joe would rattle a few cages if he came here, bet nobody would speak up against him in the same room.. No matter who has been in charge of Donegal and even when there going well, there has always been negativity towards the man in charge.. some clubs when they dont have a player involved with squad(and they think they should have) want the county to fail which is a disgrace:mad:..

I personally, think the squad at the moment is good enough to get to the last 4, just getting the right man to get them there is the problem..
    Kerry and Dublin(still embarrassed from that hiding a few years back in replay when lads went for refreshments instead of training) are the only 2 teams I would fear..

Kevin Cassidy has come out and backed McIvor...

Cassidy hits out at McIver departure

03 September 2008
    Donegal captain Kevin Cassidy has revealed that there is a ’bad feeling’ in the county following the departure of Brian McIver as senior football boss on Monday night.

McIver had planned to resume into his fourth year in charge of the county, but after receiving a vote of no confidence at a board meeting Monday night from a significant number of club delegates the Tyrone native decided to step down from his position.

After citing McIver as the best trainer in the country, Cassidy explained that the team were still fully behind McIver last night.

"We had one of the best managers in the country and definitely the best trainer. I can’t understand how this has come about.

"I spoke to most of the lads last night. All the players were 100 per cent behind Brian, and at the minute there is a bad feeling in Donegal."

This could also mean team has no faith in him, as this man has got a few stories lately, badly mixed up;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

03 September 2008
    Donegal captain Kevin Cassidy has revealed that there is a ’bad feeling’ in the county following the departure of Brian McIver as senior football boss on Monday night.

McIver had planned to resume into his fourth year in charge of the county, but after receiving a vote of no confidence at a board meeting Monday night from a significant number of club delegates the Tyrone native decided to step down from his position.

After citing McIver as the best trainer in the country, Cassidy explained that the team were still fully behind McIver last night.

"We had one of the best managers in the country and definitely the best trainer. I can’t understand how this has come about.

"I spoke to most of the lads last night. All the players were 100 per cent behind Brian, and at the minute there is a bad feeling in Donegal."

Was going to post that. Mulgrew is being mentioned now too! Probably the most experienced of the internal managers being mentioned. I can't see McHugh going for it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Seanies32 wrote: »
    Was going to post that. Mulgrew is being mentioned now too! Probably the most experienced of the internal managers being mentioned. I can't see McHugh going for it.

Agree about McHugh. Can't see him being interested. I don't know about Mulgrew. There seems to be a lot of varying opinion on his ability and whether these players would respond to them. As you say though, he's the only one being mentioned that has any experience.

Would not be eager on Mulgrew myself, fair play to him with what he done with fermanagh though. Would hate to think Eunans spoke up at the meeting as in hope of getting Mulgrew in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

So according to Newtalk, Eunans proposed the motion and Gweedore seconded it-WTF-don't tell me Eunans are pi$$ed that John Haran wasn't starting :rolleyes:.

Joe said he wasn't interested in the Dublin job while his sons were playing for Armagh, so I don't see him being interested in Donegal (would he be interested anyway?)

At this stage, let's give Mulgrew a chance and see how he gets on. I doubt there will be much interest from anyone with a far superior CV.

It's a shame Martin McHugh never gave it a shot (not too late I suppose), but it's his perogative.

Not terribly sad to see McIvor however-as was said earlier we haven't progressed in 18 months-that could be the players fault, but the manager has been sticking with the same players all along (pretty much).