Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help trackdown a former Corolla !!!

• 02-09-2008 12:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

Hi there ,
    as the title says i am looking for help to track down an old Corolla we had at home here many years ago .It was my fathers first of many family Toyota's . He is no longer with us and i would love this car back with intention of a restoration for sentimetal reasons . :o:o

It was a 1985 Toyota Corolla DX 4dr saloon (model ee80) fwd in RED
    REGISTRATION [ AGI-142 ]

The picture below is not of the exact car ,but it would be practically identical
    111-1.jpg

I do know it has not been taxed and insured since 2000 and i believe it was registered to someone in Douglas Cork at some stage and also last date of sale was March 2001 .

Any help would be appreciated . If anyone in the Cork area remembers it being around or anybody in the scrap trade or anything like that may have spotted the car at some stage please let me know .
    Finders fee is negotiable :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Someone (may have been maidhc) posted here before that members of the public can get details of a car's ownership by filling in a form and paying a small fee to the county council. Personally I have never heard of anyone doing this and wouldn't have thought it'd be possible - for privacy reasons etc.

I believe Gardai have access to the NVDF so if you know one he might tell you the ownership but probably shouldn't :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Someone (may have been maidhc) posted here before that members of the public can get details of a car's ownership by filling in a form and paying a small fee to the county council. Personally I have never heard of anyone doing this and wouldn't have thought it'd be possible - for privacy reasons etc.

I believe Gardai have access to the NVDF so if you know one he might tell you the ownership but probably shouldn't :)

.........I doubt they will tell you the owner but they may tell you when it was last taxed and if a certificate of destruction was ever granted.

The only thing the Gardai will do in relation to ownership is confirm details. Same with the tax office, so if you knew a previous owner and gave their details the authorities would say yes or no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭macautos

Thanks lads ,
    thats how i got the info i have above about it being in Douglas at some stage . But he wasnt willing to give me an address or name for privacy reasons :rolleyes: .
    I did the gold star check on cartell and it showed up when it was last taxed and when it was last due an NCT ,number of previous owners etc.etc. Cost 15 euro or something like that .

I was told also about a form that you fill up and pay 5 euro and you get all the details off just a reg. So I was in the tax office taxing my wifes car a while back and asked the girl but she said it is only the head office in each district that handles that .Rang them and the girl though it very odd what i was asking but i told her my story and she said that if i wrote a detailed letter explaining they MAY tell me the status on the vehicle .
    Might have to go this route .

Anyone else with any info ,id be greatly appreciative .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

^ I got details of my father's old car from the motor tax office, cost £10 at the time. They'll want the request in writing, stating reasons etc. This was years ago, dont know what the their policy is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

macautos wrote: »
    Hi there ,
    as the title says i am looking for help to track down an old Corolla we had at home here many years ago .It was my fathers first of many family Toyota's . He is no longer with us and i would love this car back with intention of a restoration for sentimetal reasons . :o:o

It was a 1985 Toyota Corolla DX 4dr saloon (model ee80) fwd in RED
    REGISTRATION [ AGI-142 ]

The picture below is not of the exact car ,but it would be practically identical
    111-1.jpg

I do know it has not been taxed and insured since 2000 and i believe it was registered to someone in Douglas Cork at some stage and also last date of sale was March 2001 .

Any help would be appreciated . If anyone in the Cork area remembers it being around or anybody in the scrap trade or anything like that may have spotted the car at some stage please let me know .
    Finders fee is negotiable :p

will keep an eye for sure, ill pass on the reg to all the classic hunting friends with a 20 quid tip if they find it.

S.I.R wrote: »
    will keep an eye for sure, ill pass on the reg to all the classic hunting friends with a 20 quid tip if they find it.

Oh most definately S.I.R .
    50 quid here for whoever can find out her whereabouts for me . :)

@blue850 . Ya this sounds like what the tax office were saying .Has to be in writing with a genuine legitimate reason .
    Thanks will check it out sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Cartell would be a starting point,could be a tough one after that though,if it hasnt been on the road since 2001 its not looking good.

Ya i did the cartell check on it .Payed the money an all for the gold star check but that wont give location etc.etc.

Ya i know it aint looking good ,but it may be just laid up somewhere at the back of a house or something .Once tis not scrapped and baled .

Even if twas in bad shape and i could locate the vin and chassis number :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Fair play OP for trying to find the car. Best of luck with the search.

I would say you would have to go in deep to try and get info on it. The tax office certainly won't give you anything, only confirm the address if you know it etc. etc. I'd say get pen and paper out and start writing a detailed letter. If you have any photo's of the cars year ago etc. etc. might help your case if you included them.

Best of luck again.

AGI*** is a tipp south reg,did he buy it new?

Thanks Limerickman . Ya i may have to get writing as you say . Have various pics of the car here down through the years .

@carchaeologist . True lad AGI being TippSouth and all but , No he bought it around 2 years old in '88 if i remember rightly . Sold it in '94 and bought a brand new Carina E ,

macautos wrote: »
    a brand new Carina E ,
    And a great car they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

BrianD3 wrote: »

Indeed. Cork Co. Co. definately do it.

Si 352/1999, regulation 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

maidhc wrote: »
    Indeed. Cork Co. Co. definately do it.

Si 352/1999, regulation 11

..........that section appears to only relate to driving licences !

Am I wrong ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭oflynno

i rang the dept of the environment in shannon about a motorbike i was buying

i told them i just needed to confirm the reg with the make of motorbike to find out what cc's the bike was,nothing else so no laws were broken

they gave me a number for old cars,i rang that,she got the details and sent them to the tax office in cork where i had to go in and collect it

i'm sure if you have the years you owned the car,name and address at the time and ask very nicely they will do the same for you

or they might contact the last registered owner of it and pass on a phone number for you

it's worth a try but the scrappage scheme from years ago has done away with a lot of 80's car history from this country,shame on the government,how many mk1 escorts,beetles and that have been squashed

keep us up to date with progress please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

If you have a friend a guard they'd help you if you plead your case.

Going to bump this up again and see can anyone give me any new info .

Car is a Corolla DX (ee80) 1985 in red .
    Reg number AGI-142

Last registered to an owner in Douglas Co.Cork in 2001

Can any of the cork heads on here let me know of any scrap yards in the cork area

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Im willing to bet that a Mr. K. Hickey owned that car for most of the 90's From Tipperary Town.

We had it up until 1994 so possible that he bought it then and had it on the road .
    Any more info greatly appreciated

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Strange, i just remembered to check back here in case you replied, AGI 142 came into my head immediately so i searched "AGI 142" its stuck in my head (on a black rear numberplate??) I could supply you with that mans address, im not 100% sure now but it definately rings a bell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

sorry to hi jack this but if you bought a car
    and you registered it name 'location 'chassis no' reg
    on a website and it was interlinked with the tax office ,
    nearly what the gardai have on there systems that would be great at least you could always track your car i've had this idea in my head for ages always wondered where my old cars went after they were sold on ,,

BUMP to this thread lads .

Still on the hunt for AGI-142 . Red 1985 COROLLA DX saloon .

Any info greatly appreciated ;)