Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sister gets into a proper mood over nothing

• 01-09-2008 9:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭

My sister who is 26 has a real moody attitude. She often gets into a mood over the slightest thing. Or even over nothing. 1 minute u could be talking to her and the next she is a complete bitch. And she goes off into a proper huff. She's grand if its something for herself.
    I have to watch what i say and sometimes i dont even have to say anything. She wont lighten up. She's in this mood almost 24/7. There's no need for it. It cant be pms, (can it?), doesn't this happen various times of the month? She's in this mood every day. At the moment, she is in this mood again and i honestly have no idea what i said/did/didn't do.

What do i do besides asking her and getting my head bitten off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Stop letting her walk all over you and dominate the house. Tell her to cop on and grow up. She's behaving like a 12 year old.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Burial

lisajane wrote: »
    My sister who is 26 has a real moody attitude. She often gets into a mood over the slightest thing. Or even over nothing. 1 minute u could be talking to her and the next she is a complete bitch. And she goes off into a proper huff. She's grand if its something for herself.
    I have to watch what i say and sometimes i dont even have to say anything. She wont lighten up. She's in this mood almost 24/7. There's no need for it. It cant be pms, (can it?), doesn't this happen various times of the month? She's in this mood every day. At the moment, she is in this mood again and i honestly have no idea what i said/did/didn't do.

What do i do besides asking her and getting my head bitten off?

First off, Don't move out, as someone here suggested.. My guessing is it's an older sister?? If she's causing the problems, SHE should move out, not you. (Though she won't) You won't get any peace unless you talk to her and tell her that this sort of carry on WILL NOT be tolerated anymore. If she wants to act like a child and treat you badly, she can do it at her house but not at your/your parents house. It's just not on. As Lil Kitten said, speak up and tell her to act her age. I have a sibling quite like this, best way to deal with it, is to tell her to grow up and know that her "moods" will be dealt with harshly around you. (ie she gets angry because you change channel, just tell her exactly what she says to you or ignore her) The more she realises she won't get her way or her actions won't be tolerated, the less likely her "moods" will suddenly re-appear, for no reason. She sounds like a very big child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

People (especially women I've noticed, though I might be wrong) have a tendancy to become irritable and moody in their twenties if they're still living at home.

Adult children should not live at home with parents and/or other adult siblings unless they're fulfilling the role of a carer. Point blank. At 26, you're an adult, you're responsible for deciding what you do with your life and with your time. If you're living at home, then you cannot assert your independence/responsibility, and you will become moody and irritable like a teenager.

At 26, you should be moved out of home and making your own rules.

If you're an adult too, then move out. You'll be shocked at how quickly your relationship with your parents and sister will improve. Your moving out may also spur your sister on to do it.
    If you're young or still in college, then talk to your parents about pushing your sister out the door.