Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Affluencism

• 01-09-2008 4:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭

Over the last while I have noticed that the general population on boards really have a problem with people who come from an affluent background. Now i'm not saying that i come froma particularily wealthy background but I do notice a certain theme whereby people who are successful or wealthy are deemed to, in some way, get it easy or are talked about in an unfavourable manner?

What exactly is everyones problem? Is it just old fashioned begrudgery or is there some other reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

Relevant wrote: »
    Over the last while I have noticed that the general population on boards really have a problem with people who come from an affluent background. Now i'm not saying that i come froma particularily wealthy background but I do notice a certain theme whereby people who are successful or wealthy are deemed to, in some way, get it easy or are talked about in an unfavourable manner?

What exactly is everyones problem? Is it just old fashioned begrudgery or is there some other reason?

This is Ireland, you will be begrudged everything. No matter what you have worked for or how hard you worked, someone will begrudge you...

Its sad really.
    </div>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Sorry bud, I can't understand all those big words.

Ya bleedin' snob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

Sorry bud, I can't understand all those big words.

Ya bleedin' snob.

Why do all povos bleedin hate all poshers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Dey dook der jebs and go back from where you came from 'richer'!

But no, I hold no begrudgery. The richers are too snobbish to speak to people that are actually sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you're sound money don't matter. Unfortunately the nouveau riche are mostly **** - "look at my expensive car, look at my expensive clothes, all this make me better than you".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

It's my party and I'll wear a monacle if I want to!

chin_grin wrote: »
    Dey dook der jebs and go back from where you came from 'richer'!

But no, I hold no begrudgery. The richers are too snobbish to speak to people that are actually sound.

But since you have a preconception that they are "snobbish" there is no real point in them talking to you because you have already made your judgement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

They turk dur jabs, so they did!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Because it's easier to pigeon hole people. If your from Foxrock/Blackrock then your a posh cnut, if your from Ballyfermot then your a scumbag and so on and so forth.

People hate anything that might break there pre-established beliefs. Sad fact of human nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Dragan's hitting some heads-of-nails there with his nail-hitting hammer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

But since you have a preconception that they are "snobbish" there is no real point in them talking to you because you have already made your judgement

I'm being prejudiced at their prejudice at my suspected prejudice. That just so happens to really be their original prejudice all along and making me look like the bad guy. You know?

That and I can't stand rich cun...............<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

chin_grin wrote: »
    The richers are too snobbish to speak to people that are actually sound.

Could it not be said that on the flipside there is the same. How often do we see people of a less affluent background offering an Olive branch?

I have to disagree, from both sides of the spectrum there is hostility really.

There is never going to be a breaking of all classes.

Personally I couldnt give a rats where someone comes from, as long as they are a good head I can deal with it.

Be they, adorned in designer gear just stepping off the Marina or drenched from head to toe in a shellsuit with a "Burbery" hat and a collection of fake gold.

Again with out sounding like a snob, IMHO there is a greater turnover of sound heads from one section of society, I shall not be divulging who

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

With regard to animosity, I think that there is much greater bitterness aimed at people from affluent backgrounds than working class backgrounds.

For instance, just look at the terms D4-head or whatever. This is a demeaning term applied to all people from well-to-do areas (not just in D4), whereas the flip side terms - scumbags, knacks etc is more a description of a persons attitude and not necessarily because of their address or income bracket.

I rememeber a thread from a good while back where a number of posters claimed they preferred scumbags to "D4-heads". I mean, wtf? An up-them-selves snob is annoying at worst and often humerous (as in - to laugh at them). Whereas a scumbag/knack is at best, a waste of good tax money (between social welfare support, policing, insurance) and at worst, a violent criminal. I think I know which one I would rather eliminate from society if I had to choose 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I don't think inverse snobbery is anything new.

I remember when I was at medical school, people were tripping over themselves to prove to other people how working class their background was.

It was a proper "my family were poorer than yours" thing goin on, especially amongst the guys.

The girls were more into acting more affluent than they really were, which was interesting.

It's also interesting to hear how people often start sentences with "now, I'm not rich, but.....", whereas you rarely hear people starting off with "Now, I'm not working class or anything, but....".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

this type of thinking is extremely stupid imo. People should be judged for how they act, not their backgrounds, thats just prejudice imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

this type of thinking is extremely stupid imo. People should be judged for how they act, not their backgrounds, thats just prejudice imo.

Troof.... I've met many a well off person who acts like a complete and utter scumbag. And many not so well off people who couldn't be more polite.

That being said, the nouveau-riche and middle class wannabe scum bags are the most annoying in my opinion.

At either end of the scale (mega rich, drug dealing granny robbing scum) you've got people who were brought up in that environment and it's genuinely all they know so I don't mind them acting that way as much, but with the ones trying to appear more well off than they are, or more scummy than they are, you can tell it's all an act to be the hard/flash guy.

It's even funnier when they transition between groups based on who they're hanging around with at the time. I've heard a few stories of people who now like to say "affluence" (after reading Ross of course!!) who acted like scummers in school and had a completely different accent to what they now have!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I hold all strata of society with equal contempt ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭celticcutie

biko wrote: »
    If you're sound money don't matter. Unfortunately the nouveau riche are mostly **** - "look at my expensive car, look at my expensive clothes, all this make me better than you".

I'm witch ya on the nouvea riche - they muddy the waters. Rich people are just people and can often be sooo sound just like 'financially challenged' (pc enough? ;) people) - it's the showiness that grates on peoples' nerves me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'll +1 the idea that guys tend to play up the working class bit and girls the affluent bit.
    I was in school in Belgium, and as my parents taught for the EU, I was given free schooling in the European School system. One guy in my year who's parents paid for him privately to go always attempted to portray the kids who went for free as the rich kids and himself as poor, his logic being that his family was destitute after paying his schooling fees.

I've noticed a fair few clashes between my parents as my old man is working class rural and my ma middle class Dubliner, both are teachers but have completely different outlooks.
    For example, when I first started boxing in an area with a lot of travellers, my old man was happy. "he'll learn discipline, mix with other young people etc"
    Ma was opposed to it as she didn't want me mixing with the rough children (yes, honestly)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Doesnt really matter how much money you have or havent
    You cant buy class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

LouOB wrote: »
    Doesnt really matter how much money you have or havent
    You cant buy class

I beg to differ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Its a lot of the attitude "they never worked for anything... everything handed to them... " that sh*te

Really bugs me too... some people work unbeliveable hard to get what they have..
    And also, as said by someone earlier in the post - this is Ireland, "we" (and i use that loosely) give out about the rich & the poor.. The hard workers and the lay-abouts alike..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Where did you get that idea. I love the Laura Applebys of boards. I never once think they're idiotic spoilt ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Anybody who lives in Terenure gets it from both sides. Scumbags will tell you that Terenure is posh. Posh people will tell you that Terenure is full of scumbags.

It's confusing really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I beg to differ...

Only pure gobsh8tes & Elton John would buy that
    Poor choice but nice try

I just love it when people don't get irony...

Sherifu wrote: »
    Where did you get that idea. I love the Laura Applebys of boards. I never once think they're idiotic spoilt ****.

There is the problem... How come everyone who is wealthy is said to be spoilt?A large proportion of these people work very hard for what they have.

Surely the people who laze around all day drinking cans and living off the state in their free houses are the ones who are spoilt and not the ones who work long hours and pay taxes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

There is the problem... How come everyone who is wealthy is said to be spoilt?A large proportion of these people work very hard for what they have.

Surely the people who laze around all day drinking cans and living off the state in their free houses are the ones who are spoilt and not the ones who work long hours and pay taxes!
    I don't like them either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Everything was simpler when it was just the culchies and us Dubs.

Begrudgery is prevalent in modern day Ireland over any medium.

But to use boards.ie as an analogy, its not the spec of your PC that you post from that determines that quality of your post! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭rowlandbrowner

Ow… the poor upper classes, of course, upperclass white people, the most oppressed minority in Ireland.

Well, the negative feelings might have something to do with the ever widening gap between rich and poor in Ireland. Rich people are not taxed enough, most inherit their money not earn it and rich white people – the world over - are responsible for the awful condition the world is in. Further inequality brought from private health and educational fees will only increase the resentment. If I didn’t enjoy bagels and whine bars so much I’d probably take to the streets in protest and end up beheading you Bourgeois pigs.

Ow… the poor upper classes, of course, upperclass white people, the most oppressed minority in Ireland.

Well, the negative feelings might have something to do with the ever widening gap between rich and poor in Ireland. Rich people are not taxed enough, most inherit their money not earn it and rich white people – the world over - are responsible for the awful condition the world is in. Further inequality brought from private health and educational fees will only increase the resentment. If I didn’t enjoy bagels and whine bars so much I’d probably take to the streets in protest and end up beheading you Bourgeois pigs.

You would say that being from clondalkin:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

'Tis nothing new. When I went to school you'd find kids from those areas considered more posh - Malahide, Sutton, Howth - often putting on a bit of a Dublin accent as if they felt the need to to mix with those from other nearby areas like Baldoyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I blame the increased availability of broadband to the proles for this.
    In the good old days it was only the affluent and educated members
    of society and boards.ie that could post here. Now that the commoners
    are online they are following the tabloid like trend in attacking those
    who prosper in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

It's easier to pigeonhole certain groups of people that to judge each individual on a case by case basis, which would obviously be impossible. Then people tend to notice the worst traits of the pigeonholed group. If a small minority of wealthy people act like thick snobs then the perception is that all wealthy people are like that. No matter how sound and down to earth the majority might be, it's the minority of snobs who get all the attention and in the minds of others their behaviour becomes typical of ALL wealthy people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I blame the increased availability of broadband to the proles for this.
    In the good old days it was only the affluent and educated members
    of society and boards.ie that could post here. Now that the commoners
    are online they are following the tabloid like trend in attacking those
    who prosper in society.

Tis true, the serfs have gained literacy and are threatening the landed gentry...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Freudian slippage?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

Steve_o wrote: »
    Tis true, the serfs have gained literacy and are threatening the landed gentry...:D

Looks like they haven't gained enough of it since nobody seems to have noticed that 'affluencism' isn't a real word.;) Affluencism sounds like something a newly monied peasant would say in a desperate attempt to appear posh.

anti-venom wrote: »
    Looks like they haven't gained enough of it since nobody seems to have noticed that 'affluencism' isn't a real word.;) Affluencism sounds like something a newly monied peasant would say in a desperate attempt to appear posh.

There are some strangely humourless people on boards today...

Personally I blame Paul Howard for all this reverse snobbery. Some povs read the ROCK series (assuming there are some who can read) and think that's what all of the monied classes are like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dragan wrote: »
    Because it's easier to pigeon hole people. If your from Foxrock/Blackrock then your a posh cnut, if your from Ballyfermot then your a scumbag and so on and so forth.

People hate anything that might break there pre-established beliefs. Sad fact of human nature.
    Nail on the head.

dotsman wrote: »
    With regard to animosity, I think that there is much greater bitterness aimed at people from affluent backgrounds than working class backgrounds.

For instance, just look at the terms D4-head or whatever. This is a demeaning term applied to all people from well-to-do areas (not just in D4), whereas the flip side terms - scumbags, knacks etc is more a description of a persons attitude and not necessarily because of their address or income bracket.

I rememeber a thread from a good while back where a number of posters claimed they preferred scumbags to "D4-heads". I mean, wtf? An up-them-selves snob is annoying at worst and often humerous (as in - to laugh at them). Whereas a scumbag/knack is at best, a waste of good tax money (between social welfare support, policing, insurance) and at worst, a violent criminal. I think I know which one I would rather eliminate from society if I had to choose 1.

See, here's the opposite side.
    This guy is basically saying that anyone on the dole is a scumbag.
    Now he will come back and rebut this, but we all know that this is what he meant.
    There-in lies the problem.

Get with the times, buddy.
    Unemployment is at a 20 year high and most people on the dole are not scumbags.
    you just tend to notice the scumbags and ignore the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I assume you're unfamiliar with the concept of Capital Gains Tax. ;)

Irish people are begrudgers. Plain and simple. No-one likes seeing someone else get ahead in life. Not here anyway. :pac:

Add to that, as Dragan said, it's far simpler for the vast majority of people in this country to pigeonhole minorities. They'd rather hate all people from D4 (using that as a catch all term for middle-class Dublin) than face the fact that people are usually unique. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Terry wrote: »
    Nail on the head.

Now he will come back and rebut this, but we all know that this is what he meant.

I wouldn't ever call everyone on the dole a scumbag.

However, having just come back from holidays in a country without a dole or any provisions for the poor/unemployed it has reminded me of some types of people who do exist in this country. For as long as I can remember, my dad, whose a wealthy, hard-working man has dedicated part of his weekend to helping people for the Vincent de Paul society. He gives people who need it his money. But he's often complained about the fact that he would call over at 9 or 10 in the morning to find an entire family lazing in bed, or just sitting in front of their (expensive) TV, with no motivation to get out there and do anything. There are people in this country who milk the system. Sad but true. They're scumbags, but not everyone on the Dole is like that. Far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Rich people are not taxed enough, most inherit their money not earn it and rich white people – the world over - are responsible for the awful condition the world is in. Further inequality brought from private health and educational fees will only increase the resentment. If I didn’t enjoy bagels and whine bars so much I’d probably take to the streets in protest and end up beheading you Bourgeois pigs.

42% (or more or whatever it is) is never enough... feic it - lets tax the poor people 42% also... give the GOVERNMENT more cash to waste on "research " trips to St. Lucia and all that ;)
    I think we should all protest so much - that we stop using Money altoghether and revert to bartering... and we can all be rich in spirit.. :D

42% (or more or whatever it is) is never enough... feic it - lets tax the poor people 42% also... give the GOVERNMENT more cash to waste on "research " trips to St. Lucia and all that ;)
    I think we should all protest so much - that we stop using Money altoghether and revert to bartering... and we can all be rich in spirit.. :D

Surely bartering would be useless. I could grow endless amounts of cabbages from my rich soil in my big garden. The poor person could only grow two cabbages from their balcony of their flats. Therefore i grow two hundred cabbages to barter where the poor person would have two.

So if I am correct you are recommending that we spread the divide between rich and poor??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Now i'm not saying that i come froma particularily wealthy background but I do notice a certain theme whereby people who are successful or wealthy are deemed to, in some way, get it easy or are talked about in an unfavourable manner?

What exactly is everyones problem?
    To be honest, it sounds like the problem is looking back at you from the mirror. Why waste energy worrying what other people think about your background, let them carry the chip on their shoulders, and much joy may it give them. If you are living your life as best you can, you have nothing to prove.

Its not where you are coming from, its where you are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

m3llowship wrote: »
    Could it not be said that on the flipside there is the same. How often do we see people of a less affluent background offering an Olive branch?
    Well i was brought up in, and still live in, a pretty crappy area of Dublin city centre, always thought of as a scumbag etc because of where i live, yet i'm actually just a decent guy trying to get on with life and have as few problems as possible. I don't even sound like i should be living here, not as common an accent i had when i was in my teens.
    Personally I couldnt give a rats where someone comes from, as long as they are a good head I can deal with it.
    +1 totally agree here, i've always lived like this myself and will continue to do so.

I, like many people where i live, can get on with any section of the social ladder. It all happens to depend on whether they are naturally cocky a$$holes or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Terry wrote: »

You didn't read my post did you:confused: Go on... admit it.

If you actually want to read it, you might see that I said quiet the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The last thing Ireland needs is to become like England, where people are obsessed with the idea of class. The amount, I hear people here, going on about it, does my head in.
    Any issue in the media eventually ends up being an issue of class. (Fox hunting, SUVs, tax cuts, etc)
    Somehow it's commendable to be working class. Nobody admits to being middle class. It's almost a dirty word. (Despite the fact that the vast majority of people actually earn enough to be in the middle class bracket).

I personally hate the whole idea of social class. I find the idea of being rich or poor much more easy to stomach. Social class is like a badge of who you are, fixed in stone, an identity. Being rich or poor is just an attribute. It's flexible Anyone can be rich, anyone can be poor. You can go from being rich to being poor overnight.
    At the end of the day, it's stupid to define yourself based on what background you're from, or how much you earn. Define yourself with your interests, friends, personality, what you do with your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Blisterman wrote: »
    The last thing Ireland needs is to become like England, where people are obsessed with the idea of class. The amount, I hear people here, going on about it, does my head in.
    Any issue in the media eventually ends up being an issue of class. (Fox hunting, SUVs, tax cuts, etc)
    Somehow it's commendable to be working class. Nobody admits to being middle class. It's almost a dirty word. (Despite the fact that the vast majority of people actually earn enough to be in the middle class bracket).

I personally hate the whole idea of social class. I find the idea of being rich or poor much more easy to stomach. Social class is like a badge of who you are, fixed in stone, an identity. Being rich or poor is just an attribute. It's flexible Anyone can be rich, anyone can be poor. You can go from being rich to being poor overnight.
    At the end of the day, it's stupid to define yourself based on what background you're from, or how much you earn. Define yourself with your interests, friends, personality, what you do with your life.

I would also go one further and say that people who are rich are considered to be somehow "better" than poorer people, success usually being defined in terms of monetary wealth in the media, at least thats how I perceive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I would also go one further and say that people who are rich are considered to be somehow "better" than poorer people, success usually being defined in terms of monetary wealth in the media, at least thats how I perceive it.
    Which one of those gangsters owns that ranch in Kilcock?
    Gilligan, is it?

Yeah, money buys class.

Blisterman wrote: »
    Nobody admits to being middle class. It's almost a dirty word.

I do! I'm middle class to the marrow of my bourgeois bones!