If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Dog Unit

• 31-08-2008 07:39PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

Have any Gardai out there ever been involved with the dog unit?If so ,did it help, do you feel there could be more patrols etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

As a civilian I've never seen a Garda dog unit. I live in Dublin. I'd have expected to see them at some stage in my life in DUblin ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭opti76

ya i worked with em

fantastic dogs fantastic unit .. not used properly though.. not enough dogs and handlers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭DanOB

Random wrote: »
    As a civilian I've never seen a Garda dog unit. I live in Dublin. I'd have expected to see them at some stage in my life in DUblin ..
    seen them last month outside dalymount and around phibsboro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

opti76 wrote: »
    ya i worked with em

fantastic dogs fantastic unit .. not used properly though.. not enough dogs and handlers.
    There are plans for a reserve dog unit. Next thing there'll be wannabe cross breeds who couldn't make the grade as a full time doggies with limited growling powers roaming the streets being babysat by fully trained alsations.

deadwood wrote: »
    There are plans for a reserve dog unit. Next thing there'll be wannabe cross breeds who couldn't make the grade as a full time doggies with limited growling powers roaming the streets being babysat by fully trained alsations.
    maddog.JPG

Is there seriously plans for a reserve dog unit though? And if there is do you mean one to work with the Garda reserves or a backup to the regular dog units?

Random wrote: »
    Is there seriously plans for a reserve dog unit though? And if there is do you mean one to work with the Garda reserves or a backup to the regular dog units?
    Ah no. They'll just train up a few dogs. They'll only work at weekends in ruff areas. Their hours will be limited too...and when you convert those to doggy hours..
    Sorry Random.

I asked for it. :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭mac_attack

Read on the website current number of dogs is something like 19. Recently had an interview for the Guards and was asked what unit I mite like to specialise in if I was to get in, mentioned the dog unit (along with the NBCI) coz I have about 12 dogs at the moment (not through choice mind), the lady from the civil service said straight away that it is a fairly small unit, she fairly knew her facts, suppose she want to haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

mac_attack wrote: »
    Read on the website current number of dogs is something like 19. Recently had an interview for the Guards and was asked what unit I mite like to specialise in if I was to get in, mentioned the dog unit (along with the NBCI) coz I have about 12 dogs at the moment (not through choice mind), the lady from the civil service said straight away that it is a fairly small unit, she fairly knew her facts, suppose she want to haha.

Ah the old chairperson, still there purely to try and piss you off.

I came across the dog unit a few times on patrol but only once at a call, pretty hairy call and while they tries their best the scum were obviously nervous about starting anything with old Fido snapping at them. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Dog was nervous too, karlitos was growling at him, picking a fight with a german shep :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Dog was nervous too, karlitos was growling at him, picking a fight with a gaerman shep :p

I know where you live :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I've seen the vans a few times, or at least i think i have, ones with an air intake on the roof and they are not the standard paddy wagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭civdef

2 infractions given for off-topic chatting.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I saw a dog unit in operation in Liverpool at a football game when trouble erupted outside the ground. The crowd dispersal was unbelievable, I was incredibly impressed watching it in operation. The dog was the size of a Shetland pony which may have had an effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭mac_attack

Feck arming the guards, give every guard a dog instead! Imagine the bill for that tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mc carthy 2

T When is the Reserve Dog unit starting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Id say the reservist dog unit will start around the same time as.................

WhenPigsFly.jpg

The dog was the size of a Shetland pony which may have had an effect.
    With the height restriction gone, they could have a mounted dog unit.

Might attract crowds rather than disperse them, though.

T When is the Reserve Dog unit starting

It'll be more like a reserved dog unit.

They won't bark too loudly and you'd never see them sniffing each others butts in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

you'd never see them sniffing each others butts in public.

Impossible!