Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3 and RTE go head to head

• 28-08-2008 9:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭

At last TV3 start making an effort, well even if it is with public money (<<< ye all know I cann't stand them in Ballymount).

But even with my hate of TV3 they seem to be making an effort. I hope their Drama works out well for them, mainly because if it doesn't it will be another 10 years before we see another drama from them.

Details of TV3's new autumn line up is available here: -

http://www.iftn.ie/broadcast/?act1=record&only=1&aid=73&rid=4281464&tpl=archnews&force=1

and details of RTE's new autumn line up is available here: -

http://www.rte.ie/tv/newseason/index.html

I haven't seen TG4 new schedule yet and expect TV3 shows to gain access to much of Channel 6's schedule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

WTF is wrong with Kathryn Thomas? It's as tho she looks in the mirror every morning and thinks "Dya know what, I'm really not ugly enough already".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Don't tell me TV3 have the Champions League rights again. Please someone, for the love of Packie Bonner, tell me it's not true!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Yes they do.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

:confused:Not this year though??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Oh goody! TV3 have a programme starring both Carrie Crowley AND Linda Martin!!

I'd better set my DVD recorder now in case I miss it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

the westerns on TG4 are brilliant where do they get them from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Alan Cantwell, Colette Fitzpatrick and Martin King will come together to present the new daytime talk show ‘Midday’, while TV3 regulars ‘Xposé’, ‘Nightly News With Vincent Browne’, ‘The Political Party Ireland AM’, ‘Champions League and Diary of a Debutante’ all return for the autumn season.

For the love of all thats good and holy, it'd bring a grown man to tears. That studio needs to be fire-bombed, at about 6:10pm when Xpose is in full tilt.

On the plus side, The Afternoon Show is coming back with a vengence:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

In fairness to Carrie Crowley she is quiet a good actress. Having already starred in The Running Mate and a few other drama's both on RTE and TG4.

I assume that Linda Martin has just got a cameo. I would be more worried about Connor Mullen who won't ever connect me to a representive at Eircom !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

All I can say is thank god were not back in the days where we only had access to Irish channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭iseegirls

Here's TV3's press release:

http://www.tv3.ie/media.php?action=news&id=165

The only thing i'm looking forward to is a new website. Seriously needs to be re-done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

"TV3 and RTE go head to head". Why does that bring up images of the scene in the Simpsons where Homer and Bart are running at each other with saucepans on their heads? :)

token56 wrote: »
    All I can say is thank god were not back in the days where we only had access to Irish channels.

when i thought TG4 Power Ranger Ban Dearg did it all

has anyone seen the doodlepops on TG4 dubbed as gaelige.

thats really brings TV into another dimension

the voices are sinister kind of exorcist stuff - real classy

will send the poor little dears hiding under the stairs - who thinks up this stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

CDfm wrote: »
    when i thought TG4 Power Ranger Ban Dearg did it all

has anyone seen the doodlepops on TG4 dubbed as gaelige.

thats really brings TV into another dimension

the voices are sinister kind of exorcist stuff - real classy

will send the poor little dears hiding under the stairs - who thinks up this stuff

Spongebob As Gaelige rocks!

TBH I think you are all being a bit down on Irish programming. I think there are a few programmes that I will tune in for just as I think there are things on the UK big 4 that I will also tune in for. And then there are all the imports that they will also show.

I amn't sure about Fringe, I might leave this one out I am a bit sick of Lost and it sound very like lost. Sam Who? I will give that a miss it sounds ****.

I think it is good that we have all of this choice.

As for the Irish dubbing of English lanuage shows, IMO TG4 shouldn't dub live action shows, puppets and cartoons you can dub but live action never turns out well.

Elmo wrote: »
    TBH I think you are all being a bit down on Irish programming. I think there are a few programmes that I will tune in for just as I think there are things on the UK big 4 that I will also tune in for. And then there are all the imports that they will also show.

I amn't sure about Fringe, I might leave this one out I am a bit sick of Lost and it sound very like lost. Sam Who? I will give that a miss it sounds ****.

As for the Irish dubbing of English lanuage shows, IMO TG4 shouldn't dub live action shows, puppets and cartoons you can dub but live action never turns out well.
    you cant dub westerns - ya cant do it ever

MMMM the irony, Sapgetti western where half of the actors speak Italian and then dubbed quite badly into English!!!!!

TG4 don't re-dub westrens or movies. And as I said no one should ever dub live action programmes/films.

MMMM the irony, Sapgetti western where half of the actors speak Italian and then dubbed quite badly into English!!!!!

TG4 don't re-dub westrens or movies. And as I said no one should ever dub live action programmes/films.

No westerns in Irish please

Dia Duit Cochise

Dia Muire Duit is Padraig Gruig Bui - Ca bhfuil tu

Cuisoch gan a bhe muitach

Agus an athair mor ban

Ceart go leor

Lads lads - tog go bog e - fan noimead - Eist le Gruig bui

It doesnt do it for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

What a combination :eek::eek:

No westerns in Irish please

CDfm I agree with you, I don't think you should ever dub something in to a new language. If you are watching a live action English language film in France then you should have French subtitle. The same goes for French films in other countries, it should not be re-dubbed to suit the audience. TG4 rarely redub films into Irish, bar the occassional Harry Potter or Scobby Do which I disagree with.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by square_igloo

What a combination

Have either of you seen Carrie Crowley act? (I agree Linda Martin is a bad choice).

CDfm I agree with you, I don't think you should ever dub something in to a new language. If you are watching a live action English language film in France then you should have French subtitle. The same goes for French films in other countries, it should not be re-dubbed to suit the audience. TG4 rarely redub films into Irish, bar the occassional Harry Potter or Scobby Do which I disagree with.
    mind you if it was dubbing the Waltons from Ros na Run it could make it interesting.

or the odd Jerry Springer or Maury would go a long way to reviving the language

mind you if it was dubbing the Waltons from Ros na Run it could make it interesting.

or the odd Jerry Springer or Maury would go a long way to reviving the language

Have you ever watched Ros Na Run? TG4 isn't just there to revive the language it is also their to provide programming to Irish speakers.

Used to watch it a bit. But am not a real soap or TV fan.

I only ask because you seem to really dislike the idea of TG4 and while I understand (but disagree) with your reasoning, I find it annoying to see such quick replies to Irish television (regardless of channel). I find that we haven't even given these shows a chance and yet we have already gone againist them completely.

So far no one has pointed to any thing that they may sit down and watch or record or view online.

Did you like Ros Na Run? While I amn't a soap fan, I would rate Ros Na Run very highly and I would never put any of the soaps in the same sentence as the Waltons.

Does anyone have anything positive to say? (I may end up being negative, as everyone gets so positive). Can anyone please write something negative and give a reason as to why they dislike or disapprove of the type of programming on offer rather then just "this is so ****, Carrie Crowley she is ****".

I am generally negative towards TV3 but for the moment I will keep quiet about them

I only ask because you seem to really dislike the idea of TG4 and while I understand (but disagree) with your reasoning, I find it annoying to see such quick replies to Irish television (regardless of channel). I find that we haven't even given these shows a chance and yet we have already gone againist them completely.

So far no one has pointed to any thing that they may sit down and watch or record or view online.

Did you like Ros Na Run? While I amn't a soap fan, I would rate Ros Na Run very highly and I would never put any of the soaps in the same sentence as the Waltons.

Does anyone have anything positive to say? (I may end up being negative, as everyone gets so positive). Can anyone please write something negative and give a reason as to why they dislike or disapprove of the type of programming on offer rather then just "this is so ****, Carrie Crowley she is ****".

I am generally negative towards TV3 but for the moment I will keep quiet about them
    I have watched some of the interview shows - you know the one to one - and i have found them very relaxing with real irish.

rather than the guttaral fake stuff i associate with other irish programming

compared to many soaps I would rate Ros na Run highly but not a fan of soaps dont watch it often

i think TG4it has improved but would like it be a bit more racy as i know it could be more interesting

my kids have appaling irish and it amazes me that you can get thru 15 years of school and not be able to swear or curse in a language - down with that sort of thing

Could do with something to attract the cool kids with the cool hair like mine

i think TG4it has improved but would like it be a bit more racy as i know it could be more interesting

my kids have appaling irish and it amazes me that you can get thru 15 years of school and not be able to swear or curse in a language - down with that sort of thing

Could do with something to attract the cool kids with the cool hair like mine

It really depends on what age group your kids are in, TG4 have good viewing figures for their children's strands and Afric has been a huge hit for them, Skunk Fu was orginial commissioned by TG4 and a german company. Sile to me seems like a far better show than the alternatives on either TV3 (Expose) or RTE 2 (TTV).

They plan a new "racy" drama based around the Galway Races (no pun intended). Their documentry have often been well received.

I think TG4 often do it better then either RTE or TV3. Sometimes they get it wrong and there are plenty of examples of bad programming on TG4.

I don't know about cursing in Irish, perhaps we should revive that.

TV cann't always be for the kids.

But my kids are young adults. My point is as an educational tool tv gets hijacked by educationalists or trendy teachers.Theyve proved a disaster with the Irish language so far.

Must say the docmentaries on crime exectutions and scandals and the like are very well done.

It lends itself to my level of bog Irish and lowbrow viewing

Wouldnt mind a few shorts on worst GAA tackles - fights at matches - unbelievable ref decisions frm the archives either. ;)

My point is as an educational tool tv gets hijacked by educationalists or trendy teachers.Theyve proved a disaster with the Irish language so far.

What TG4 or Tready Teachers?

My own point would be that TG4 is there for Irish Speakers not there to teach Irish. part of their out put should be for learning Irish but not its main service. They have to provide Entertainment and Information through Irish.

Anyway I amn't trying to get into a discussion about the merits of TG4. I want to know what people think of RTE, TV3 and TG4's autumn schedule.

the whole idea of Linda Martin and Carrie Crowley in anything other than a bus to carlow is laughable. And I would only agree to them going on the bus provided it was not filmed or broadcast ever.

Are the Seoige sisters supposed to be the Irish definition of hot totty. We really are scrapping the bottom of the barrell. Why do they foist these talentless people on us?

Carrie Crowley can be seen in The Running Mate tonight on TG4 at 10:30. If you still feel the same about her acting let us know.

Carrie Crowley has been acting for the last number of years, it is not a new thing.

The Whistleblower starts tonight on RTÉ (carrie isn't in this) but it would be nice to see what people think of this drama surrounding Dr. Neary. http://www.rte.ie/tv/whistleblower/

Both can be seen on the net at www.rte.ie/live and www.tg4.tv

Just as the Autumn season begins.

will tune in - if it gets all american and weepy - thats me gone to sleep