Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards ToI September 27/28

• 28-08-2008 2:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭

Splitting off from Blorg's thread about this

Who would definitely be interested in cycling to Cork on the weekend of 27/28 and taking the train back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I could be interested in it... downside will be majorly sweaty back from carrying our normal clothes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

I plan to get a rack and I have some pannier bags. I could feasibly take 2/3 people's change of clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I would be interested, but I can't give you a definite answer just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I'd be on for it certainly.

blorg wrote: »
    I'd be on for it certainly.

Would you be on the tourer or the cayo?

I reckon I would be on the tourer, but if you are going to carry my stuff, it's very good of you penexpers, I might take the Cayo :D

You bring the tourer and carry others peoples stuff too Blorg -might slow you down a lil!

That would be great, I have a couple of Anvils and gold bars I like to carry around on cycles, so if Blorg could carry them it would be swell!

I just had a look at the route on mapmyride, its not as bad profile-wise as I had assumed, chances of me going are increasing, at 62% now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

I have tickets for a gig on the 27th (can't say who or where for legal reasons).

However, I will watch this space, because a boards 'Superspin' (to give it it's full and proper TinyExplosions title) might actually be enough incentive for me to give up my tickets.

I might volunteer to carry a couple of other's stuff as long as they are sensible and lightweight! E.g. if you have SPD shoes, wear them and don't bring a second pair, etc.

@DirkVoodoo- the route is flat as a pancake, I did a similar Cork-Dublin cycle a few months ago.

I like pancakes! Feck it, count me in then penexpers! A few of my mates work in Cork, there is a slight chance I could organise to have one of them collect some gear next time he is up in Dublin and have it waiting in their place down there.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I like pancakes! Feck it, count me in then penexpers! A few of my mates work in Cork, there is a slight chance I could organise to have one of them collect some gear next time he is up in Dublin and have it waiting in their place down there.
    To be honest something like that would be a very good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

Feck it im in need to start getting the miles in again ive been a lazy sh*te lately

unionman wrote: »
    I have tickets for a gig on the 27th (can't say who or where for legal reasons).

I like a challenge... on that date, we have a choice of:
    Amanda Palmer(The Dresden Dolls)
    Teddy Thompson
    Ladyhawk
    The Elvis Presley Story
    Joan Baez
    Goodgreef

Now... given Unionman's age, and what I know of his musical leanings (which isn't a huge amount) -I'm going to plump for Amanda Palmer, or Joan Baez as an outside bet...

Teddy Thompson
    Ladyhawk
    The Elvis Presley Story
    Joan Baez
    Goodgreef

Now... given Unionman's age, and what I know of his musical leanings (which isn't a huge amount) -I'm going to plump for Amanda Palmer, or Joan Baez as an outside bet...

And the prize goes to Tiny for Amanda. If I get cuffed and banned you're to blame!!:D

Given my age and my musical leanings? People are going to think I'm 60 when you preface like that, and Joan Baez? Seriously dude, that hurts.;)

Now, I'm off for a nice cup of tea and a sit down. Pipe? check, Slippers? check...

penexpers wrote: »
    Splitting off from Blorg's thread about this

Who would definitely be interested in cycling to Cork on the weekend of 27/28 and taking the train back?

Is the plan to split this as per blorgs original suggestion (Dublin-Cahir Saturday, Cahir-Cork Sunday)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Teddy Thompson
    Ladyhawk
    The Elvis Presley Story
    Joan Baez
    Goodgreef

I am pretty sure he mentioned the dresden dolls a couple of weeks ago...

I did didn't I?

I seem to remember banging on about "Brechtian Punk Cabaret"...

Sorry, really off topic now.

I think I might sacrifice the tickets for the SUPERSPIN.

*sssssh!* don't give the game away!

@Unionman -be thankful I didn't say you were goin to the Elvis show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

As long as Unionman isn't allowed to be in charge of any music, ever, I'd be on for this.

I was suggesting that split based on getting down to the ToI finish on time, but in any case, I think a longer one on the Saturday followed by a shorter one on the Sunday would work best in any case, we can relax a bit then on Saturday night.

Raam wrote: »
    As long as Unionman isn't allowed to be in charge of any music, ever, I'd be on for this.

Ooh that's harsh:confused:

I'm never allowed be in charge of anything:(

Just checking if people are still up for this?

... cycling w/ clothes in backpack eh? Very adventurous. I guess I could be in.

Or my panniers if you ask nicely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Needabike

Dudes

Parcel up all your change on clothes and drop by Huston then get them fasttracked to Cork and collect at the train station

Did this once when doing Athenry to Dublin

Happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭peterk19

Just checking if people are still up for this?

Ill let you know closer to the date im just trying to build the miles back up and shift a chest infection but its looking good

If it is to be a flat one I will volunteer a bit of space in my panniers too. No high heels mind.

Needabike's suggestion is also a good one.

If it is to be a flat one I will volunteer a bit of space in my panniers too. No high heels mind.

I think I would just use my MTB pedals and shoes, so no need to bring a spare pairt of shoes, just the miminum you know, hair dryer, straightner, make up :D ...

Serioulsy though, I am a girl but I can travel light if I need to.

Would we all stay in a B&B?

Depends on where we overnight, but probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

Sounds cool. How far is the first leg?

Blorg had suggested Cahir I think. Best idea is to get most of the trip done on the first day and leave a small amount for the second day.

Yes, there are plenty of options anyway what with the Tour of Ireland not being in the picture, doesn't absolutely have to go to Cork, could be some sort of out and back loop with ~200km first day and ~100km second day.

If we have a particularly strong turn-out Cork might not be the absolute best option as guards van space is a bit limited (I think they state an official count of max 6 bikes but 8 might well be possible.) Some other destinations have enormous guards' vans that will take a pretty unlimited number of bikes (Waterford and Killarney are two for example.)

Also, the best may be train down, and cycling back -as trains back up to Dublin on Sunday evenings can be pretty busy at times... Galway anyone?

Sorry guys, looks like I'm out of this. Work are sending me away to Seattle for a few weeks.

Seattle? Outrageous! You know it rains nine months of the year in Sea...

Never mind:(

Have fun.

Well just to completely mess it up- is 20/21 definately out for everyone? I ask only as the National Trails Day (www.nationaltrailsday.ie) is on 28th September.

Dublin Wheelers randonee is on the 21st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

I could be up for 20/21 or 27/28.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Hi guys, what's the status on this? I'd be interested in it - have to be back for the rugby match Sunday evening (28th) though :)

Also 20/21st suits too.

What kind of pace would you guys be doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

20/21 is out for me, forgot about the GAA final Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Raam wrote: »
    Dublin Wheelers randonee is on the 21st.

hmm, well that's a dilly of a pickle.

i think i'd be in favour of doing the superspin on the 21/22 though. i have a sneaking suspicion that i might be the world's greatest mountain biker who just hasn't had the right opportunities, and there's only one way to find out if i'm right.

niceonetom wrote: »
    i think i'd be in favour of doing the superspin on the 21/22 though. i have a sneaking suspicion that i might be the world's second greatest mountain biker after TinyExplosions who just hasn't had the right opportunities, and there's only one way to find out if i'm right.

Fixed it for you there sir :)

Assuming this isn't going ahead, anyone on for something similar maybe first weekend of October?

Is it definitely off then?

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Is it definitely off then?
    I dunno, there hasn't been any updates on this thread from the original group of posters.

I suspect Blorg will re-ignite this one when he returns from his holliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

I am interested if it is still on.

Depending on needs I can leave Madone at home and take tourer and pannier(s) instead.