Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Products to attract ladies

• 28-08-2008 1:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi im just wondering do expensive aftershave and body lotions, lip balms, moisturisors, shaving under arms, chest, down below, do these things make a male more attractive to women? or maybe women could point out to us lost guys the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Hi im just wondering do expensive aftershave and body lotions, lip balms, moisturisors, shaving under arms, chest, down below, do these things make a male more attractive to women? or maybe women could point out to us lost guys the way to go.

Speaking from male perspective here, for a start you shouldnt be calling stuff like that "products" doesnt sound too manly ;) Being clean helps immensely but NO man needs most of that stuff you listed, aftershave, shower gel and shampoo and maybe hair gel are all you really need apart from a razor.

As for the shaving body parts, thing is that all women are different, some like hairy men, some dont it's a mixed bag really.

Possibly the most required thing to attract a woman is confidence, have this and you are well on your way already :) More women go for this than looks or money. Sure how come you would see some men who may not be the best lookers, but can get women to cling to em? maybe he has a good sense of humour? that there is confidence in himself so dont go grabbing all that stuff you listed just yet, i doubt you will need it :D

I'll await a female response to your questions, hopefully i'll be agreed with heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

As long as you don't smell bad, don't worry too much about smelling good. You don't need to do a ton of manscaping or self-maintenance. What exactly is your concern?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

Speaking from male perspective here, for a start you shouldnt be calling stuff like that "products" doesnt sound too manly ;) Being clean helps immensely but NO man needs most of that stuff you listed, aftershave, shower gel and shampoo and maybe hair gel are all you really need apart from a razor.

As for the shaving body parts, thing is that all women are different, some like hairy men, some dont it's a mixed bag really.

Possibly the most required thing to attract a woman is confidence, have this and you are well on your way already :) More women go for this than looks or money. Sure how come you would see some men who may not be the best lookers, but can get women to cling to em? maybe he has a good sense of humour? that there is confidence in himself so dont go grabbing all that stuff you listed just yet, i doubt you will need it :D

I'll await a female response to your questions, hopefully i'll be agreed with heh.

Too true, this man knows his stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Sarah**

I agree with MAster of Nothing, but i have to say there is some aftershaves or "Products" :D that make me stop and smell again and it is an attractive thing but then there could be a smell i hate and it would turn me off the guy!! Depends on each individual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 CapnMark

Try using Personality. By Calvin Klein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

PillyPen wrote: »
    manscaping

Lollers! :pac:

Clean and tidy is really good. Deodorant obviously. A very hairy back would be a no-go area for me :eek: but otherwise a nice aftershave or something is nice and would make me do a double take. Find one you like yourself. I love Estee Lauder Pleasures for Men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Character.
    Openness
    Confidence
    The ability to laugh with and at yourself.

You can't bottle those, but they are irresistible in the right mix.

Though I have just been informed that some really good clothes help :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

OP it sounds like you may have some self confidence issues which is nothing to be ashamed off to be honest, it happens to us all.

For a start, fancy products wont help. Physical attraction is normally just the ice breaker, its personality thats the best "cologne" of all!

Some years ago i did a "social experiment" shall we say to see how little i could take care of myself physically before women lost interest. I was surprised to find out that over a period of time, it made little difference!

Anyway, what marksie said above hits the nail on the head. A nice shirt or something could be all it takes to be that ice breaker! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Sex Panter: 60% of the time, it works ALL of the time.

No look, I think (and I'm a guy obviously) that there's no harm (although i'm WAY too lazy) trimming a bit and being neat and well presented. My skin is a bit ropey so I use a clenser, scrub, moisturiser (shamer!) and it helps loads. But there's such a thing as WAYYY to much! You still want to look vaugely man like!

R

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Being clean and brushing your teeth is a necessity. After that, preen to a level you want. After all, your look and how you smell should be done for yourself first, cos its what you like. Behaving in any other way is on some level artificial, and how long into a relationship would you maintain it?

Personally I prefer the subtle smell of showergel to any overpowering aftershave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Notatoxford

I'd say the best things to attract some gash are a 12 inch shlong and a few billion in the bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I'd say the best things to attract some gash are a 12 inch shlong and a few billion in the bank

The shlong has nothing to do with it as they are usually faking it anyway the smell of money is what attracts them (see my other posts).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭LittleBear

bom chicka wah wah!!! Lynx is hott!! Also nice clean Fiacla's (teeth)!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Annie Bananie

ehh.. any smart replies about size and money I would ignore.

OP, for me it works if the guy is clean and smell nice. It does not have to be an "expensive aftershave", it just needs to smell nice :) If a guy uses lotion or lip balm, in my opinion, it's up to him really if he feels like he needs it (has dry skin etc.).

And as other posted, some girls like their men well shaved and some like them hairy. We are all different :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭trio

Being Clean is really essential. And that means down below too - there have been some hilarious stories over in that "bad date" thread in the Ladies Lounge about getting down to business with a guy and the whiff from his willy would knock a horse.

That means also smelling clean. Deodorant is essential just because it waves the "I SHOWERED TODAY SO HAVE SEX WITH ME WITHOUT FEAR OF MANKINESS!" flag. :D

I don't give a bog about aftershave. I don't know many women who've had sex with a guy because he decided to wear aftershave - I certainly haven't. I certainly haven't ever thought "Hmmm...attractive personality...but if only he'd worn aftershave!" :rolleyes:

Having clean teeth is good - especially if you're a smoker.

If you've got spotty skin, then cleansing and moisterising with products for oily skin works wonders but it's not something that us ladies would even know you do till we stay the night so it's not as if we care. That'd be more for yourself, to clear it up and give yourself more confidence, which would in turn make your personality more appealing.

Hair Gel is a bit of a turn-off for me - that wet look just makes hair look a bit greasy. I prefer if guys use stuff that's matte so your hair at least still looks clean. But to be honest I quite like baldys anyway. It's the cleanest look there is. No worries about nuzzling into someone's neck and realising that their hair smells distinctly unwashed! (Has unfortunately happened - especially back in the Student days)

I once dated a guy who said that shampoo was a cod, that all you needed to do was get it all wet in the shower. As you can imagine, I stayed the hell away from his hair after that. Didn't even want to touch it, let alone run my hands through it. It looked OK - I'd never have guessed - but EEEWWWW! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

What are girl's opinions on lads waxing- the old back, sack and crack for example, neccessary if its a bit hairy down there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Daithi McGee

a few billion in the bank

A few hundred grand would do the trick but you get a much classier gold digger per added '0

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

What are girl's opinions on lads waxing- the old back, sack and crack for example, neccessary if its a bit hairy down there?
    If a guy is very hairy down there, at least trim it. Full on waxing of the crotch Id find a bit freaky. A hairy chest is ok, doable at least, but a very hairy back simply doesnt appeal to me at all. I could probably overlook it, but given the choice Id prefer non hairy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Rayven199

Oryx wrote: »
    If a guy is very hairy down there, at least trim it. Full on waxing of the crotch Id find a bit freaky. A hairy chest is ok, doable at least, but a very hairy back simply doesnt appeal to me at all. I could probably overlook it, but given the choice Id prefer non hairy.

Yeah the full on waxing (of down below!) would not be my cup of tea at all!!

As everyone has said above its different strokes for different folks!!

Personally, I like a bit of hair! And Im not into the whole products thing, bit of aftershave and some hair gel(or not, dont really care) does the trick - just once the guy keeps himself clean thats about it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭SarahJ

Ha I'd actually hate a man to have bare underarms!

Personally, showing and a bit of aftershave is fine for me. Forget all this 'man liner' and stuff. Just smell clean boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

No hairy backs PLEASE!!!! Cant stand them! Even chest hair doesn't appeal to me.

OP, clean lads.. with a bit of aftershave or nice cologne should do you fine...

I personally don't like guys using products on their hair... wax/gel i can't stand it. Nice clean hair and body is ze best! ;)

Showering everyday and deoderant are overrated.
    I tend to date hippies, and honestly they don't smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Yeah, I'd never go for the full was down front below I reckon, it would be a bit weird. I give it a trim there tbh. Chest a little hairy but nothing major and none on back, but have been considering getting something done about down below at the rear. What do you reckon, is it neccessary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

a BMW m3 is one product that nearly always impresses the ladies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Marksie wrote: »
    Character.
    Openness
    Confidence
    The ability to laugh with and at yourself.

You can't bottle those, but they are irresistible in the right mix.

Though I have just been informed that some really good clothes help :)
    how do you know and recognise confidence. Two men in front of you how do you tell the confident one What about wearing a tie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

attracto wrote: »
    how do you know and recognise confidence. Two men in front of you how do you tell the confident one What about wearing a tie?

80% of communication is non verbal. So its body language, attitude, the way they talk and act.

You can't miss it when you see it, they may not necessarily be the ones doing all the talking, but they will be the ones to provoke the interest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭mrDuke

well my confidence isnt an issue, i always make girls luagh, though one put off is i can talk too much at times, im genuinely not your classic attractive guy so meeting girls i dont know never works, the pub or night club scene, i tend to be more lucky when i get to know someone in a work or social context and meet them afterwards. So im trying to improve my appearance but thats clearly a plastic surgeons job i need, becuase i wear deodrant, shower, shave and gel hair frequently it seems im doing everything else properly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭RoosterIllusion

Just search on Amazon for a loincloth, all the product you will ever need.