Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upcoming Movies

• 27-08-2008 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭

Out of sheer boredom, I signed up for the IMDB Pro trial (planning on quitting before they charge me. Seriously, $13 a month to find out what’s being made?) and thought I’d list some of the films that are in production at the moment. Some of these you may know, others you may not and others still you may not care about.

This list is in no particular order (at the moment, that might change).

Twilight Watch
    The third part of the Night Watch trilogy. Probably more of the same, but sure the other two films were a bit of fun to watch.

Rambo V
    Written and directed again by Rambo himself (Sylvester Stallone, not the character) so expect more violence and dodgy dialogue.

Death Wish
    Again with Stallone writing, directing and starring in. It’ll probably be just like Rambo V but set in a city.

The Dam
    OK, I looked up Stallones bio and got a load of films he’s making. Apart from a biography of Edgar Allen Poe (a horror version of Rambo?) he’ll also be making a sequel to Cliff Hanger, presumably set in or around a dam.

Ender’s Game
    There are a lot of fans of this series of books. I’m not one of them, so I’m not going to bother writing anything of note for this. Look up Wikipedia if you have to.

The Stanford Prison Experiment
    Some genius in the 70’s thought it’d be a great idea to throw a load of random people into a prison, set some as guards, some as prisoners and see what happens. Years later we have Big Brother every f*cking year, melting our brains. See where it all began.

Warcraft
    Yes, that’s right, they’ve made a film about the Warcraft games. Not sure if it’s going to be based on the online game, or the original series. But considering the popularity of the MMO, it’s most likely based on the former. Will it be a success? Most certainly not, but I’m sure it’ll make a fair amount of money regardless.

Red Sonja
    Another reboot of a craptastic film. This time Rose McGowan will play the titular (emphasis on tit) comic book character. It’s directed by Douglas Aarniokoski, who is Robert Rodriguez’s main second unit director, so he might of learnt something that will save this car crash of a film.

Tekken
    Another game turned film. With Luke Goss, wrestler Nathan Jones and a cast of nobodies, how can it possibly fail? The answer is spectacularly.

The Green Hornet
    Seth Rogen plays a mild mannered…blah blah…becomes superhero…blah, blah… To be honest, you’ve heard the same plot in every other superhero film. I’ve yet to meet anyone who is a fan of this character, so I can’t imagine there being anything other than greed behind this particular cash in.

Nine
    How do you assure a great film? You don’t. And remaking a Federico Fellini film with Nicole Kidman, Penèlope Cruz and Kate Hudson will pretty much prove that point. But if you realise that you’re doomed for failure, you can somehow blackmail Daniel Day-Lewis, Judie Dench and Sophia Loren to be in it. It’s quite literally a toss-up if it’ll succeed or not (but I’m still siding with not!)

Tintin
    For f*cks sack…

The A-Team
    A film I’m actually looking forward to. Updated to follow Iraq War veterans on the run, John Singleton (Boyz In The Hood) is set to direct with Michael Brandt (3:10 to Yuma) working on a script. The latest rumours are that Bruce Willis is in negotiations to play Hannibal, Ice Cube to play BA and Woody Harrelson to play Murdock.

Beverly Hills Cop IV
    Could it be a return to form for Eddie Murphy? Not bloody likely.

Spy Hunter
    Based on one of the greatest games ever made (well, I thought it was), The Rock plays an ex-fighter pilot who’s given a super car and speeds vertically up the screen bumping into other cars and driving into trucks to get power-ups. What more could you want?

All Creatures Great And Small
    The only info on this is that it’s an action film. So I put it here in the hopes that it’s a remake of the old TV series about vets in the north of England, but with explosions and tits, to fit in with the modern age.

Neuromancer
    One of my favourite books is to be butchered for the big screen. It might be good, but it’s brought to us by the director of the Britney Spears video “My Perogative” and the film Torque. So actually, no, it won’t be.

Creature From the Black Lagoon
    Creature Feature with Bill Paxton. You can’t expect much so I’m sure it’ll be a laugh.

The Saint
    Hard to replace Roger Moore, but James Purefoy will give it a shot in this remake of the spy-type TV series thingy.

The Invisible Woman
    Certain to be shìt.

Meg
    Based on a book about a Carcharodon Megalodon (big crocodile) that eats things. That’s pretty much the whole plot.

The Seven Samurai
    Because it hasn’t been remade enough.:rolleyes:

Eddie The Eagle
    No, seriously, they really are making a film about him. Steve Coogan is set to play England’s first Olympic ski jumper.

Clash Of The Titans
    I love mythology of all sorts so this remake is automatically a winner for me.

The World’s End
    Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg finish off their “Blood and Ice Cream” Trilogy. I’ve no idea what it’s about, but I’ll watch it anyway.

Plan 9
    I’m not usually against remakes (usually just disappointed with human kind), but I’m dead set against this one. Plan 9 from Out Space was one of the worst films ever made and yet is a cult film. It’s so badly made and written that you will look on in disbelief, yet never be able to look away. So why the hell would they remake it? It’s a terrible, terrible idea.

The Legend Of Spyro
    Based on the game about a little dragon jumping about and doing a load of trippy shìt. Some people just need a slap and to be told to cop on!

Clock Tower
    Another game to film. I should probably just list all of these together under the banner “AVOID!!!”

Gamers
    I added this one just to show the sheer stupidity of some of the film ideas out there. Synopsis:
    Detectives Remy Munro and Margo Davis are hurled into the addictive and money making world of video games, where they attempt to track down a serial killer who re-enacts the methods of killing from popular video games.
    Seriously, I’m not making this up. They’re actually in pre-production at the moment!

The Mandalorian Legacy
    A biography of Boba Fett, from Star Wars. I’m sure it’ll be more exciting than I’m making it sound. So far I haven’t seen George Lucas’s name associated with it, so it still stands a chance.

Case 39
    I got a copy of the script to read from a mate of mine and it’s like someone took the scripts for The Omen and Problem Child, mashed them together and decided the only way it could be made worse was by throwing Renèe Zellweger into the mix. Another one to avoid.

TR2N
    A sequel to Tron! You heard me! Tron! A sequel! A sequel to Tron! It’ll be rubbish, but still, a sequel to Tron!

Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li
    Kristen Kreuk plays the titular eye-candy in yet another game turned film. Also starring Michael Clarke Duncan as Balrog and Neal McDonagh as M. Bison, which has me curious about how surreal this will be. Definitely one to watch with mind-altering substances.

Edge Of Darkness
    A thriller about a cop investigating his daughter’s murder. The plot may not be anything new, but it stars Robert DeNiro and Mel Gibson, so I’m wondering how this pairing will get on together.

Angels & Demons
    Tom Hanks reprises the role of Robert Langdon in Dan Browns prequel to the DaVinci Code. It’s almost identical to the last book, but the fun comes in trying to figure out the ending as soon as you can. I did it after the second murder. Can you beat that? Ewan McGregor and Stellan Skarsgard co-star.

Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen
    I guess we all knew this was coming. Same cast and same plot with more explosions.

Sherlock Holmes
    Guy Ritchie is directing and Robert Downey Junior is starring. A bizarre mix, but hopefully it’ll pay off.

Untitled Sherlock Holmes Film
    No sooner was Guy Ritchies version announced, that another Sherlock Holmes film is too. This one is a comedy with Sacha Baron Cohen as Sherlock and Will Ferrell as Watson.

Project A
    I’m not sure if it actually is, but it currently looks like a remake of the Jackie Chan film. *Sigh*

Anchorman 2
    Yep, that’s right, a sequel is currently being written. If you didn’t like the original then sod off and stop complaining that it wasn’t funny. YOU didn’t find it funny. That’s your problem. Keep bringing it up and I will cut you. I will cut you deep!!!!

The Hardy Men
    I have to admit that I’m kind of looking forward to this. Ben Stiller and Tom Cruise play the adult Hardy Boys in this comedy.

Fantasy Island
    A remake of the 70’s show that will have Eddie Murphy hammering the final nail into the coffin of his career, playing multiple characters with “hilarious results”.

Trouble Is My Business
    Clive Owen will take up the role of Raymond Chandlers iconic PI, Philip Marlowe in this Frank Miller scripted thriller. Should be good. But then again Indiana Jones and The Crystal Skull should have been good too.

The Jetsons
    Robert Rodriguez directs this live action version of the terrible cartoon.

Barbarella
    Another Rodriguez remake. This one has Rose McGowan (seriously, she must have some serious dirt on Hollywood to be getting so many roles), as the intergalactic space tart. If it’s anything like the comics or the original, it’ll be shìt.

Untitled 300 Project
    It’s anyone’s guess as to whether this will be a sequel or prequel, but we do know that it’ll be full of homoeroticism and crappy slow motion, dragging out an overly long, gory comic adaptation.

The Brazilian Job
    Sequel to the Italian Job remake, but this time they'll be in Brazil...doing a job...

The Evil Dead
    A remake of the cult classic. Bruce Campbell is only producing so I don’t hold out hope for this.

The Thomas Crown Affair 2
    Showing that nobody in Hollywood listens to people complaining about the lack of new material, Pierce Brosnan stars in this heist sequel.

The Hobbit 2
    They haven’t even released the first one and the sequel is already in the works. Not sure if they’ve just split the original film in two or, (and I hope this is what they did) they’ve written a sequel themselves, bringing Bilbo and friends to modern day LA where they battle evil corporations hell bent on destroying the environment.

Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
    Jesus Christ!

Rendezvous with Rama
    Morgan Freeman stars in the film adaptation of Arthur C. Clarkes novel. Freeman has been trying to get this made for years, so I kind of feel a pang of joy in my heart for him to finally get it done. That said, I thought the book was rubbish, so I doubt I’ll bother watching it.

Mortal Kombat
    Christopher Lambert reprises the role of Rayden is this sequel to yet another game to film adaptation.

Metal Gear Solid
    No doubt they just took the ten minutes of gameplay out of the last game and claimed it’s a new film. I can’t see this being in any way decent. And it sickens me that obsessive fans will clamber onto IMDB and rate it as the greatest film ever made.

Wonder Woman
    Meh

Silver Surfer
    It can’t be worse than Fantastic Four 2, can it?

The Sweeney
    This is more like it. Jason Statham and Ray Wonstone are the leads in this remake of the classic tv show. Currently listed as “On Hold”, I hope it’s temporary.

Untitled Jason Bourne Project
    Matt Damon jumping around, beating people up and dodgy cameramen giving us headaches with their Blair Witch style camerawork.

Crank 2
    Yes, they’re making a sequel. No, it doesn’t make sense. Yes, it’ll be f*cking brilliant!

Hannibal The Conqueror
    Vin Diesel directs and stars in this telling of Hannibal (the one with the elephants, not the one with the cigars. Although they both appear to love it when a plan comes together). Diesel has been trying to throw off his action star status for a while, so let’s see if he manages it.

Conan
    Reboot of the Conan franchise with Scarlett Johansson (presumably not as Conan) if it’s anything like the game, we’ll enjoy the first 10 minutes and have to return to the cinema continuously for the next two years to find out what’s going on.

Akira
    A two-part live-action version of the acclaimed anime comic. Like all anime, you won’t have a f*cking clue what’s going on. Leonardo DiCaprio is currently rumoured to be part of it.

A Nightmare on Elm Street
    For some reason this is being remade. Probably a good thing, as I saw the original recently and couldn’t believe that it used to scare me shìtless.

Arrested Development
    Film of the acclaimed comedy series. It’s going to be great, there’s no question of it.

Halo
    Shìt film version of a shìt game

Jurassic Park IV
    Obviously being made by someone who didn’t realise that nobody liked the last 2.

And to round things off, here’s a quick list of Marvel comic adaptations coming up:

The Avengers (2010)
    The First Avenger: Captain America (2010)
    Runaways (2011)
    Thor (2010)
    Iron Man 2 (2010)
    Ant-Man (2010)
    Doctor Strange (2010)
    Sub-Mariner (2010)
    Luke Cage (2009)
    X-Men Origins: Magneto (2009)
    X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)
    Deathlok (2008)
    Spider-Man 4 (2011)

And there's Superman: Man Of Steel coming out 2009, and also and untitled Superman film set for 2011.

I may find some more and add them later, or I might just lose interest and not bother. Who knows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Eh...Sarcasm...overload...:)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

humanji wrote: »
    Out of sheer boredom, I signed up for the IMDB Pro trial (planning on quitting before they charge me. Seriously, $13 a month to find out what’s being made?) and thought I’d list some of the films that are in production at the moment. Some of these you may know, others you may not and others still you may not care about.

Seriously, $13? Rip off!

This list is in no particular order (at the moment, that might change).
    Rambo V
    Written and directed again by Rambo himself (Sylvester Stallone, not the character) so expect more violence and dodgy dialogue.

Is there anyone left for him to kill??
    Warcraft
    Yes, that’s right, they’ve made a film about the Warcraft games. Not sure if it’s going to be based on the online game, or the original series. But considering the popularity of the MMO, it’s most likely based on the former. Will it be a success? Most certainly not, but I’m sure it’ll make a fair amount of money regardless.

Do you have to pay the monthly fee before seeing this movie???
    ]
    The A-Team
    A film I’m actually looking forward to. Updated to follow Iraq War veterans on the run, John Singleton (Boyz In The Hood) is set to direct with Michael Brandt (3:10 to Yuma) working on a script. The latest rumours are that Bruce Willis is in negotiations to play Hannibal, Ice Cube to play BA and Woody Harrelson to play Murdock.

please dont mess it up, please dont mess it up!!
    Spy Hunter
    Based on one of the greatest games ever made (well, I thought it was), The Rock plays an ex-fighter pilot who’s given a super car and speeds vertically up the screen bumping into other cars and driving into trucks to get power-ups. What more could you want?

Last i read about this it was on hold indefinitely?
    The Seven Samurai
    Because it hasn’t been remade enough.:rolleyes:

*face/palm*
    Plan 9
    I’m not usually against remakes (usually just disappointed with human kind), but I’m dead set against this one. Plan 9 from Out Space was one of the worst films ever made and yet is a cult film. It’s so badly made and written that you will look on in disbelief, yet never be able to look away. So why the hell would they remake it? It’s a terrible, terrible idea.

I would rather see rocky horror remade than Plan 9, i cant understand why its being done.
    Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li
    Kristen Kreuk plays the titular eye-candy in yet another game turned film. Also starring Michael Clarke Duncan as Balrog and Neal McDonagh as M. Bison, which has me curious about how surreal this will be. Definitely one to watch with mind-altering substances.

best movie title ever!
    Angels & Demons
    Tom Hanks reprises the role of Robert Langdon in Dan Browns prequel to the DaVinci Code. It’s almost identical to the last book, but the fun comes in trying to figure out the ending as soon as you can. I did it after the second murder. Can you beat that? Ewan McGregor and Stellan Skarsgard co-star.

I hate ron howard!
    Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen
    I guess we all knew this was coming. More explosions with some plot

Fixed that for you! ;)

looks like the future is fairly grim.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

The “Dredging the bottom of the barrel” list
    Fraggle Rock: The Movie
    Spawn 2
    The Mummy 4: Rise Of The Aztec
    National Treasure 3
    Scream 4
    Jumper 2 (because everyone loved the first one. Apparently.)
    Ghost Rider 2
    Resident Evil 4
    Jeepers Creepers 3
    Gears Of War
    Bioshock
    Kane & Lynch (Bruce Willis is in negotiations to play Kane)
    The People Under The Stairs
    I, Robot 2
    Return To Castle Wolfenstein
    Far Cry
    S. Darko (sequel to Donnie Darko. Richard Kelly has distanced himself from it)
    Devil May Cry
    Untitled I Am Legend Prequel
    EverQuest (a film of the MMO)
    Raging Bull 2 (This is beyond belief)

The “I can’t f*cking believe they’re remaking that”list
    Battle Royale
    Logan’s Run
    Fantastic Voyage
    The Smurfs (John Lithgow is rumoured to do a voice in it)
    CHiPs
    Fahrenheit 451
    Voltron
    Thundercats
    Robocop (get this, Darren Aronofsky is set to direct!)
    Child’s Play
    Hellraiser
    21 Jump Street
    The Lives Of Others
    Suspiria
    Short Circuit
    Ghost In The Shell
    Flash Gordon
    Point Break Indo
    I Dream Of Jeannie
    Highlander
    Magnum PI (Matthew McConaughey is rumoured to play the lead)
    Friday the 13th
    Poltergeist
    Robotech
    My Fair Lady
    Westworld (sacrilege!)
    Escape From New York
    All Quiet On The Western Front
    Untitled Karate Kid Remake
    The Equalizer
    The Thing (AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH)
    Hawaii Five-0
    The Prisoner
    Buck Rogers
    Monster Squad
    Near Dark

The “hmmm, that might be ok” list
    Splinter Cell (the book wasn’t that bad)
    Dune
    Nick Fury (it’s Sam Jackson, after all)
    Austin Powers 4
    Green Lantern
    Battle Angel (apparently it’s James Cameron’s opus, along with Avatar)
    Rainbow Six
    The Taking of Pelham 123 (this might work. It’s got Denzel Washington, John Travolta, Luis Guzmàn, John Turturro, James Gandolfini and is directed by Tony Scott)
    X-Men: First Class (another X-Men spin-off. Might be good, but is rumoured to be about teen mutants)
    Children Of Men (tv series of the film/book)
    Scanners (exploding heads are fun)

The “Ah feck it anyway, I may as well watch it” list
    House Of Re-Animator
    Silent Hill 2 (the original had potential)
    GI Joe: Rise Of Cobra (I don’t know why, but I feel compelled to watch it)

The “Wow, a film I actually really want to see” list
    Knight Rider (don’t judge me!)
    Untitled Inside Man Sequel
    World War Z (strange, it’s not a remake/reboot or sequel!)
    V: The Second Generation (you can’t not like V)
    Dark Tower
    Preacher (set to be a tv series at the moment)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I seriously can't see that happening in a form that any way resembles the comics, the right-wing American christians would go absolutely bat-**** nuts. If The DaVinci Code caused that much controversy, how do you think Preacher's depiction of the descendants of Christ would sit with them? And that's only scratching the surface as to what would be considered supremely blasphemous.

Considering the studios neutered The Golden Compass for fear of offending people, I'd dread to think what an adaptation of Preacher could turn out like. Maybe Jesse Custer goes on a mission to confront the devil? I shudder at the thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

This is great, instead of crappy licensed games based on movies we are now getting a wave of (probably) crappy licensed movies based on games.

Is there any single original idea left in Hollywood?

The only one that sparked my interest on that list was the Arrested Development movie. Damn fox for cancelling it but at least we get one last hurrah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Some of these are known and might have been discussed here e.g. TR2N, Rendezvous with Rama. The Tintin movie has been in the news a bit: Steven Spielberg is set to produce and direct it.

As for Rose McGowan in Barbarella... no dirt on Hollywood there, she's boffing the director. It's Geena Davis and Renny Harlin all over again.

A Neuromancer film has been proposed several times over the years, and William Gibson wrote a screenplay that leaked online. Robert Fripp (guitarist with King Crimson) was asked to do the soundtrack, back in 1988, before it fell through. If they make The Silver Surfer, I hope they get Joe Satriani in for that. :pac:

edit: If the Wikipedia article is correct, Tintin is going to be three films, with Spielberg and Peter Jackson both producing and directing, starting next month. It will be motion capture animation, so you'd expect Andy Serkis to be involved... and so he is.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

I seriously can't see that happening in a form that any way resembles the comics, the right-wing American christians would go absolutely bat-**** nuts. If The DaVinci Code caused that much controversy, how do you think Preacher's depiction of the descendants of Christ would sit with them? And that's only scratching the surface as to what would be considered supremely blasphemous.

Considering the studios neutered The Golden Compass for fear of offending people, I'd dread to think what an adaptation of Preacher could turn out like. Maybe Jesse Custer goes on a mission to confront the devil? I shudder at the thought.

Yeah, I was thinking the same. I knew it'd have to be cut down if it were to ever be released as a film, but it doesn't stand a chance on TV. But then again, the info on IMDB could be wrong, or it could indicate a mini-series, which would give it a little bit of room to breath.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    This is great, instead of crappy licensed games based on movies we are now getting a wave of (probably) crappy licensed movies based on games.

Is there any single original idea left in Hollywood?

What about the Eddie The Eagle film? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

humanji wrote:
    The Saint
    Hard to replace Roger Moore, but James Purefoy will give it a shot in this remake of the spy-type TV series thingy.
    Is Val Kilmer in that one again? A sequel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

What about the Eddie The Eagle film? :P
    Hollywood, he said - this sounds like a quirky Brit production, with Steve Coogan on board. Hollywood already did Cool Runnings. :rolleyes:

You want to talk Sacrilege, I have to say: how the hell do they propose to remake My Fair Lady? Can you name another Audrey Hepburn film that has been remade? There's a reason for that... can you imagine Lindsay Lohan trying to speak Cockney? What's next, a remake of Breakfast at Tiffany's? :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'm looking forward to the Tintin movie.

I've always been a big fan of the comics and Steven Moffat, the best writer for Doctor Who, wrote the screenplay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

The “I can’t f*cking believe they’re remaking that”list
    Battle Royale
    Logan’s Run
    Fantastic Voyage
    The Smurfs (John Lithgow is rumoured to do a voice in it)
    CHiPs
    Fahrenheit 451
    Voltron
    Thundercats
    Robocop (get this, Darren Aronofsky is set to direct!)
    Child’s Play
    Hellraiser
    21 Jump Street
    The Lives Of Others
    Suspiria
    Short Circuit
    Ghost In The Shell
    Flash Gordon
    Point Break Indo
    I Dream Of Jeannie
    Highlander
    Magnum PI (Matthew McConaughey is rumoured to play the lead)
    Friday the 13th
    Poltergeist
    Robotech
    My Fair Lady
    Westworld (sacrilege!)
    Escape From New York
    All Quiet On The Western Front
    Untitled Karate Kid Remake
    The Equalizer
    The Thing (AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH)
    Hawaii Five-0
    The Prisoner
    Buck Rogers
    Monster Squad
    Near Dark

Good God! And The Birds isn't even on that list! :O

The “hmmm, that might be ok” list

...Austin Powers 4

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Meg
    Based on a book about a Carcharodon Megalodon (big crocodile) that eats things. That’s pretty much the whole plot.

Big shark actually, but I'm sure it'll be crap either way.

I would take most of those with a large bucket of salt. I doubt The Thing remake will ever come to pass. I hope The Thing remake will never come to pass.

Lol @ Street Fighter. Michael Clark Duncan say bye bye to your career.

SofaK wrote: »
    Is Val Kilmer in that one again? A sequel?

No, it's a new one apparently. But I'd say you can easily claim it's a sequel, in the same way all the bond films aren't connected by plot, but are by characters.
    doonothing wrote: »
    Huh?
    The first one was good, second rubbish and the third had some good moments. So I'm thinking that it's possible I'll be able to sit through a fourth one. :D
    Creature wrote: »
    Big shark actually, but I'm sure it'll be crap either way.

Yeah, I just realised that. I was trying to think of comparisons and had a mix of Deep Blue Sea and Lake Placid in mind. Meh, it's still something big with teeth!
    Creature wrote: »
    I would take most of those with a large bucket of salt. I doubt The Thing remake will ever come to pass. I hope The Thing remake will never come to pass.

Well it's being scripted at the moment, but it may not be a total failure off the bat. Granted, the current writer wrote and produced several episodes of Star Trek: TNG, DS9, Voyager and also some episodes of Roswell, but he also wrote and produced episodes of Carnivale and Battlestar Galactica (the new series). So at least he knows Sci-Fi. Hopefully he can blend it with horror and make a new story rather than reboot/f*ck up the Carpenter version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

The “Dredging the bottom of the barrel” list

Bioshock

This could be good, the game has a lot of atmosphere and a good story, it could work in the same way Silent Hill worked as a film.

I, Robot 2

If they tell Will Smith to fcuk off and use some of Isaac Asimovs Robot stories and do it like a life of Susan Calvin, this could be awesome.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

A remake of Dune? That book is kinda of like Watchmen to me, as a Dune fan i really dont think it can be pulled off on the big screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Spawn 2
    Call me crazy, but I'd quite like to see this :o
    Resident Evil 4
    After an enjoyable first, the series has nose-dived IMO. Hell, even Wesker's presence couldn't make the third film good.
    I, Robot 2
    With even more Converse?!
    i_robot.jpg
    Untitled I Am Legend Prequel
    Oh boy. At least they've no source material to butcher this time.
    Silent Hill 2 (the original had potential)
    I loved the first one. This is definitely one to watch for me.
    Dark Tower
    I started a thread on this, but it seems to be complete speculation. I'd love it to happen, but I think we'll be reading about it in development hell for some time yet.
    As Karl said, there's no hope in hell this is going to happen, at least not in a way that would resemble the comics. It would kick up some unholy shit storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Actually a Preacher tv show on HBO was supposed to go ahead, but it never took off.

Coincidentally , just before seeing this post I saw this:
    http://www.comicscontinuum.com/stories/0808/25/index.htm

Confirms the series is dead, it seems even HBO are afraid to touch it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

there's no hope in hell this is going to happen, at least not in a way that would resemble the comics. It would kick up some unholy shit storm.

Iv'e never seen the comics, What happens in them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

The Green Hornet
    Seth Rogans movies have all been enjoyable so I hold some hope for this
    The Hobbit 2
    Hobbit 1 isbased on the book Hobbit 2 is an entirely new story which is being written at the moment
    Iron Man 2
    Looking forward to this
    Arrested Development
    Cannot wait for this movie!
    Random Video Game adaption
    If even 25% of them are good ill be shocked

ziedth wrote: »
    Iv'e never seen the comics, What happens in them?
    The short version is:
    a Texan preacher is imbued with the offspring of a demon and angel and he goes to hunt down God to make him answer for all his sins.
    It's hilarious and very violent and incredibly blasphemous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Thats what HBO is for....(Just noticed above post so ignore this)..

However I live in hope for the day a 4/5 series adaptation of 100 bullets is announced....A guy has to dream.