Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Picnic Advice

• 27-08-2008 10:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭

I have camped at festivals before but they have always been in sunnier climates and was looking for some advice.

i literaly have a tent and nothing else. Looking for advice on what to bring. Clothing, campsites, food, drink and other comforts.

Niall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Spider_Baby

• Baby wipes / face wipes
    • A small torch or headlight - very handy if there isn't much lighting in your area of the campsite
    • Booze! :)
    • Loo-roll
    • Possibly wellies as I hear it's a bit muddy there
    • Some kind of light poncho or raincoat
    • Money - atm queue is always HUGE
    • I wouldn't go overboard bringing food as there are heaps of different stalls selling all kinds of food. Maybe some bread and crisps for an aul' crisp sambo.
    • Deodorant! :)

I'll try to think of more....

Some more "essentials" that I bring every year (...but I am a girl...so delete as appropriate :) )
    • An inflatable bed...I know, I know, I like my comfort!
    • A pump for the inflatable bed
    • Sleeping bag
    • Plenty of dry socks!
    • A warm hoody or jumper...my tent was freezing last year
    • Water
    • Cd player
    • Gazebo
    • Pain-killers for the inevitable hangover

They have an off-license on site. You can pre-order your booze now through their website, so this will save you having to carry it from the carpark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭malinh

Thanks a million,

Please keep them coming even if similiar just so i dont miss anything.

niall

malinh wrote: »
    Thanks a million,

Please keep them coming even if similiar just so i dont miss anything.

niall

Don't worry about forgetting stuff, alot of it can be bought there (although probably at slightly higher prices!).
    • A camp chair or deckchair - although you can buy one there
    • I wouldn't bring a heavy rain coat, just a light one that folds up small, or a poncho.
    • Toothbrush and toothpaste! I forgot my toothbrush at the other big Irish festival and had to fork out €8.50 for one!
    • Print off the map and timetable from the website and bring a few copies. One copy is never enough, what with the rain and spilt drink etc.
    • A sense of adventure
    • Morals are optional :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

baby wipes. refreshing ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 cleftydave

i always bring my camper... but if thats not practicle- as none are available to rent and there are no new tickets....

my sister always brings a camp bed- a zed bed. but she hates being on the floor.

wet wipes,
    anti bacterial hand stuff
    loo roll
    earplugs- for MBV and the tents- someone always presumes you want to here their music even when you're trying to sleep
    a good jumper
    condoms
    a hat- every festival i go to i buy a hat. not sure why. i'm bringing one this year.
    a spare pair of trousers and at least 3 more tshirts than you think.
    and i found a pair of builders boots really useful last year- go ahead stand on my feet- i don't mind- they're steel
    something waterpoof to sit on is good.

keep them coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

A spare battery for your phone, or a solar powered recharger yoke like I have can be pretty damn handy... (that might be wishful thinking though!:p)
    Loo roll is a definite must, but I'd also advise on bringing a pocket sized packet of tissues... You're not always going to be close to your tent when you need a twosie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

cleftydave wrote: »
    i found a pair of builders boots really useful last year- go ahead stand on my feet- i don't mind- they're steel
    something waterpoof to sit on is good.

Anybody know a place to pickup a cheap pair of work boots in Dublin? In the city center or along the green luas line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 cleftydave

i got mine in a market- but try the places along capel street- there's a few industrial clothing shops. its on the red line- get off at jervis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

cleftydave wrote: »
    i got mine in a market- but try the places along capel street- there's a few industrial clothing shops. its on the red line- get off at jervis

Cheers. I should have got them a few weeks ago so that they'd be broken in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Does anyone know if EP is super-strict on ID? *worries*

Having an inflatable bed really is so much better, it's warmer and way more comfortable so you feel well-rested for the weekend.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Very strict

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭chris d

Dont forget your ticket.

or your dancing feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Ticket, ID, tent.

Try to bring food, while there is a very good selection at EP the cost is insane.

I wouldn't recomend alot of beer either, bring a few spirts and get a few nice cold beers down there, warm tent beer is vile.

1-2 changes of clothes, I brought like 5 changes last year and didn't wear most of them, waste of space.

A torch for finding the toilet at 5:00am totally wrecked out of your head.

Money.. lots and lots of money, EP is not cheap, not by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭jimmay

Holsten wrote: »
    Ticket, ID, tent.

Try to bring food, while there is a very good selection at EP the cost is insane.

I wouldn't recomend alot of beer either, bring a few spirts and get a few nice cold beers down there, warm tent beer is vile.

1-2 changes of clothes, I brought like 5 changes last year and didn't wear most of them, waste of space.

A torch for finding the toilet at 5:00am totally wrecked out of your head.

Money.. lots and lots of money, EP is not cheap, not by a long shot.

Good idea about the beer situation!
    Was thinking about food but other than a bit of fruit and sambos for the first day I didn't really come up with anything...??? What might u suggest?

Is there hot running water? I wear contacts and need to wash my dirty paws the baby wipes irritate my eyeballs! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Waxing the Gaza

jimmay wrote: »
    Was thinking about food but other than a bit of fruit and sambos

You're not going to a GAA matchl!! Generally food is fairly reasonable up there, 7 or 8 euro for a decent sized Curry/Pasta/Thai etc. We brought disposable BBQ's and a cooler full of rashers + sausages one year, went down well on one of the mornings, washed down with warm beer of course!
    jimmay wrote: »
    Is there hot running water? I wear contacts and need to wash my dirty paws the baby wipes irritate my eyeballs! :eek:

There probably is but you'll probably have to walk for miles to find it. I wear them too and i just use some liquid soap and cold water, bring a towel as well to dry the hands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Why do I need ID?
    I'm 32, don't think I brought any last year.

Surely it's only necessary if you're 18, 19 or look young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭loloray

Holsten wrote: »
    No way not true! It's 8 euro for a healthy organic full dinner? NOT expensive.

I disagree with the bringing loads of t-shirts thing. One per day should be fine.

My tips:
    - Keep a change of clothes and runners in the car. I've never used it yet but it could save me one year if my tent gets flooded.
    - A big bottle of water - they do have running water but everyone always wants some at the tent and it's handy to brush your teeth near your tent
    - Secure your tent down well. Get the scouts to help if necessary.

I agree with most suggestions on what to bring;
    I'll just add:
    - A towel if you plan on showering.
    - A mirror if you care what you look like.
    - Chewing gum
    - Plasters if you are getting them new boots!
    They always give two rolls of toilet paper at the entrance which should be more than enough for any normal person for three days. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭jimmay

You're not going to a GAA matchl!! Generally food is fairly reasonable up there, 7 or 8 euro for a decent sized Curry/Pasta/Thai etc. We brought disposable BBQ's and a cooler full of rashers + sausages one year, went down well on one of the mornings, washed down with warm beer of course!

There probably is but you'll probably have to walk for miles to find it. I wear them too and i just use some liquid soap and cold water, bring a towel as well to dry the hands.

Cheers for the tip re: seeing! I'll bear that in mind!
    Re: the food situation you might not have seen from my previous posts but I'll be working (12 hour shifts all 3 days) so unfortunately wont hav the luxury of a bbq! :( Any other ideas? Other than going round to yours!? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 bd85

whats the on-site off license like? expensive, poorly stocked, massive queues? is there anywhere to get ice at EP?- that'd solve the warm beer problem anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

When bringing in spirits, do you have to put the contents into a plastic bottle, or can you bring it in, in its original bottle?

Also is there a limit on how much drink you can bring in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Toast

No glass bottles. Theres a can limit of 48 but thats in one trip. If you seriously want more you could bring it in over a few gos.

Without a camper van:) coming from dublin city centre, whats the best way to get there. How far will the train leave you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

Some great suggestions there guys. I cant wait to get there and have a blast. Might see some of you there.

The only suggestion i'd make apart from all the other ones is buy a pint in the music arena and use the glass they give you for your beer all weekend. You cant bring cans into the music arena so just pour it into that glass and you can bring it where you want!

Have the time of your lvies people and hopefully i'll bump into some of ye there! Electric Picnic is my religion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,497 ✭✭✭quarryman

mbren wrote: »
    Might see some of you there.

fyi: not everyone looks like their avatars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭mbren

quarryman wrote: »

No way, seriously?...shooks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

quarryman wrote: »

Don't listen to him. We all do.

Got to get me a torch tonight somewhere damnit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

malinh, i don't think the train goes anywhere near Stradbally.

Check out the Picnic website for details on travelling. TBH, I think your best bet is to get the bus down if you're not driving.

Great advice btw!! Woohoo! This time tomorrow we'll be in our element!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

great advice guys :pac:

leaving shortly for stradbally myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Aspiration wrote: »
    malinh, i don't think the train goes anywhere near Stradbally.

Check out the Picnic website for details on travelling. TBH, I think your best bet is to get the bus down if you're not driving.

Great advice btw!! Woohoo! This time tomorrow we'll be in our element!!

Ah,train to Portlaoise?

Walk/taxi/hitch a lift to stradbally,not that far.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

anyone getting 8 o clock bus tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭keevita

Excira!!! I'm packed and ready to go. Theres been tents, wellies, chairs and sparkly hotpants parked beside my front door for the past two days. C'mon one more sleep!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

jackncoke wrote:
    Ah,train to Portlaoise?

Walk/taxi/hitch a lift to stradbally,not that far.

Jebus Portlaoise train station didn't even cross my mind... My bad! OP disregard my last post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

bd85 wrote: »
    whats the on-site off license like? expensive, poorly stocked, massive queues? is there anywhere to get ice at EP?- that'd solve the warm beer problem anyway.

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

Where's the best place to get last minute cheap tickets???

I really want to go but finances have thrown a spanner in the works...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Bit of a stupid question, I'm taking anti biotics for a fcuking chest infection. Whats the story with drinking whilst taking them????

I dont want it to mess up my weekend............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

Bit of a stupid question, I'm taking anti biotics for a fcuking chest infection. Whats the story with drinking whilst taking them????

I dont want it to mess up my weekend............

This is not medical advice, but the anti biotics you get for a chest infection(prob augmentin or amoclav) are quite weak and will have little issue with drink. I'm actually the same at the moment. If your ever given strong anti biotics the doctor will give you a proper lecture about drinking on them, wont just mention that you probably shouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

wonderboy wrote: »
    This is not medical advice, but the anti biotics you get for a chest infection(prob augmentin or amoclav) are quite weak and will have little issue with drink. I'm actually the same at the moment. If your ever given strong anti biotics the doctor will give you a proper lecture about drinking on them, wont just mention that you probably shouldn't.

Sound, i was afraid that after my 15th can of smithwicks tomorrow that i may have an allergic reaction or something. Its always the last one that gets me.:D

I cant bleedin' wait!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

Sound, i was afraid that after my 15th can of smithwicks tomorrow that i may have an allergic reaction or something. Its always the last one that gets me.:D

I cant bleedin' wait!!!

At least you can blame the antibiotics for the 4AM streaking:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Schlemm wrote: »
    Where's the best place to get last minute cheap tickets???

In your dreams perhaps? :P

You might pick up a cost price ticket on toutless but I doubt you'll find a cheap one very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 sTuMbLeD

There's a few tickets going on Toutless for €200, I just bagged mine.

I couldn't afford one last month, then work couldn't give me time off, but worked me ass off to complete my project today so I can sneak out early tomorrow and recover at home on Monday.

I can now start getting excited and begin bitching about the line-up clashes :D

Cheers to Toast and Toutless.com

mbren wrote: »
    Electric Picnic is my religion!

Same here!

I'll see ya at the inflatable church! haha :)