Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New band

• 26-08-2008 9:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

HI all, after putting a couple of post's up here regarding musicians wanted, and having gottin a couple of jokers reply so i ask the question...is anyone really looking in this forum to get into a band or are you all just pretending to be musicians....

i'm not looking for people who want to play music that fits in around there spare time, i would like to meet people who fit there spare time in around there music, the people who really want it know what i'm talkin about

i'm ready to go...who wants to come...

http://www.myspace.com/theculturevandals

Ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Ross Mc

What kind of band?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭23

HI all, after putting a couple of post's up here regarding musicians wanted, and having gottin a couple of jokers reply so i ask the question...is anyone really looking in this forum to get into a band or are you all just pretending to be musicians....

i'm not looking for people who want to play music that fits in around there spare time, i would like to meet people who fit there spare time in around there music, the people who really want it know what i'm talkin about

i'm ready to go...who wants to come...

http://www.myspace.com/theculturevandals

Ed

F*cking well said. A loOols of wanabe jokers here. I got a few reply for a singer but they all disapeared and never reply.
    Good luck in your search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 splitterung

Ross Mc wrote: »
    What kind of band?

a rubber band...did you even follow the link????

23 wrote: »
    F*cking well said. A loOols of wanabe jokers here. I got a few reply for a singer but they all disapeared and never reply.
    Good luck in your search.

Nice one 23 thanks for the support, ive always been the one bending over backways to facilitate other musicians who just didnt want it much as myself, so now i'm not going to settle..i'm just so sick of people expecting something and not willing to do the really and i do mean really hard work it will take to make a band be sucessfull, so wannabe's of boards.ie....if you have any doubt in your mind ...(after you've followed the link provided above and listened to the songs that i've spent long hours writing, recording, mastering, re-editing in a studio i put together with little or no money)....then just dont get in contact, and if your looking for a free ride (which i've come up against in the past), you really dont want to be looking at me for it.

having said all that i will move mountains for the people who really want to make something good, music that will stand to them, something they and myself can be proud of...it can be as simple or as complicated as you want to make it guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭hexagramer

giving my thanks for saying that, you clearley have your head properly screwed on, unlike the rest of ireland where drink is the other half of music.

your music is lovley to listen to and i can feel that it took long to write properly, to which it is.

keep up the hard work, cos i know i am.

sorry no need to be a prick about it

Ross Mc wrote: »
    sorry no need to be a prick about it

sticks and stones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

a rubber band...did you even follow the link????

No wonder you cant find musicians for your band with that kind of attitude in the quote you left above smarty pants:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Colinboy wrote: »
    No wonder you cant find musicians for your band with that kind of attitude in the quote you left above smarty pants:rolleyes:
    There's no need for that snide response. If Ross is interested enough to reply to the thread why wouldn't he open the MySpace link to listen to the band? If he's in work and it's blocked or something then he should say so!

Ed, best of luck getting the band together, you've got some good tunes posted!

cheers malice, but it's alright, i was sure someone would comment on that remark...if he couldent look at it fair enough...i hold the hands up and say sorry...if he could and didnt bother then well it dosent really matter then anyway

and Colinboy..listen mate i'm just speakin my mind here, through expierence (some good, some bad) iv'e found that some people will see through to whats really being said while others will just look at the gloss and make a assumption..so you work away with your comment it dosent bother me, hope it made you feel good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 nidhona3

I feel you were quite quick off the mark with your man asking what kind of band you were trying to get together.

I took the time to listen to your songs, and feel he had a very valid question, considering the music sounds more geared towards a soloist as opposed to a band.

Was it so bad that someone asked what type of band you had in mind? Like would the skills of this individual be appreciated if even needed if he were to put himself forward.

Tóg go bog é

the music sounds good

nidhona3 wrote: »
    I feel you were quite quick off the mark with your man asking what kind of band you were trying to get together.

I took the time to listen to your songs, and feel he had a very valid question, considering the music sounds more geared towards a soloist as opposed to a band.

Was it so bad that someone asked what type of band you had in mind? Like would the skills of this individual be appreciated if even needed if he were to put himself forward.

Tóg go bog é

you got all that from "what kind of band?"

as for the skill of the individual in qustion you can judge for yourself
    http://www.bebo.com/ross-mc-e...he's a lead guitarist from what i can gather, so your right his skill for the songs i put up prob wouldent suit...maybe you could give him a shout

i'm glad you liked the tunes...take care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

cheers malice, but it's alright, i was sure someone would comment on that remark...if he couldent look at it fair enough...i hold the hands up and say sorry...if he could and didnt bother then well it dosent really matter then anyway

and Colinboy..listen mate i'm just speakin my mind here, through expierence (some good, some bad) iv'e found that some people will see through to whats really being said while others will just look at the gloss and make a assumption..so you work away with your comment it dosent bother me, hope it made you feel good.

I thought you were abit rash with your comment about the rubberband fella,thats why i made my comment.even if the chap ross listened to your music via the 'myspace' link i still dont think it was a stupid question as you havent explained in your thread what type of band your looking for and what type of musicians your looking for,influences etc.

i have been let down too recently by ejits replying to my adds who are supposedly interested in starting a band but didnt bother meeting up to do anything about it.you cant paint everyone here who uses the boards with the same brush just because youve had a few muppets let you down.

listened to a few of your songs and there not bad by the way.like the lyrics on 'complacency'.best of luck with you venture.;)

nidhona3 wrote: »

Tóg go bog é

Thank you

Colinboy wrote: »
    I thought you were abit rash with your comment about the rubberband fella,thats why i made my comment.even if the chap ross listened to your music via the 'myspace' link i still dont think it was a stupid question as you havent explained in your thread what type of band your looking for and what type of musicians your looking for,influences etc.

i have been let down too recently by ejits replying to my adds who are supposedly interested in starting a band but didnt bother meeting up to do anything about it.you cant paint everyone here who uses the boards with the same brush just because youve had a few muppets let you down.

listened to a few of your songs and there not bad by the way.like the lyrics on 'complacency'.best of luck with you venture.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

I don't wish to hijack this thread but ther is some discussion about jokers.

This is really starting to get on my nerves. I have posted / replied to ads and people have a tendency to express an interest and then back away when a get-together is suggested. Also, people look for musicians and then literally ignore responses.

As I said to the OP here (who pm'ed me back immediately, gentleman BTW, who unfortunately already has a bassist lined up), please at least acknowledge my reply, even if I am not what you are looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

I don't know what you people are talking about saying his music sounds good..

This stuff is AMAZING... powerful, passionate, heatfelt, well executed and with such amazing talent. I honestly think this is better than 99% of commercial irish bands and songwriters. Just IMHO... but I mean it :cool: [sorry, I'm getting carried away, I'm just amazed by the quality of this undiscovered gem]

I'm pretty fussy, but there isn't anything out there at the moment that catches my attention like this in Ireland.

Seriously mate, you don't need anyone. You can probably do fine with session musicians and it's probably going to cause you less heartache. You don't want to end up being as pissed off as Billy Corgan during the Siamese Dream recordings!

wow dagon....i'm humbled by your reply, thankyou very much. if only you owned a record lable!! lol

as for the other comments, i'm only human lads, i get fed up with struggeling against the messers, but a major positive has come out of this thread and thats i have now hopefully found the perfect people to fill the line up in the band which i hope will be Odins Son...

a drummer who i met with last night who absolutly has his head in the right place for making music and no just swillin beer (mind you swillin beer sometime is the business)
    a bassist who i already had lined up.
    and an absolutly amazing acoustic guitarist/piano player who i spoke to this evening and a lovley guy to talk to aswell, these are the people as i said earlier in the thread that i will move mountains for...because in the immortal words of roy castle....Dedications what ye need...if ye wanna be a record breaker.

THanks for all your kind words, i'll keep ye all posted

I understand that your frustrated, I'm the same but their is no need to take it out on me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 nektar1

Ross Mc, what the hell are you talking about? How you possibly say YOU'RE frustrated? I've seen you reply to ads as a singer/guitarist and then tell people that they practise too far away from where you live. If you were in anyway serious about your music you wouldn't mind travelling to make a bit of progress with your music career.You're not frustrated,you're just lazy.

Btw,you've some seriously good music there.Good luck with it.Sorry about the rant.

Well excuse me. If I was to travel to most to those places it would take hours. I live in North Co. Dublin, it the hardest place to travel from and also I don't have a car with would mean that I would have to take a guitar and amp on trains and buses and don't about you but I would be on my own and plus I am not exatly the tallest or strongest person in the world, so anybody could nick my stuff off me. Oh and btw I am gonna be jammin' with next week. So go f*** yourself.

ross sorry for you being the but of all this...best of luck with your jam next week...but in defence...loads of people who dont live in dublin travel up there every week sometimes two or three times a week who dont have a car to play in bands...i did it for 4 years....but if someone cant travel an hour or so down the road to BE in a band then how can the same person be expected to travel round the country gigging, or across europe or anywhere for that matter..but i do agree it does make it a little harder when you've no car...having said that again your already in dublin, and the north side there are plenty of busses...i suppose you'll find a way if you want it...again best of luck

Thanks. I understand where you're coming from.

nice one ross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Esy

an absolutly amazing acoustic guitarist/piano player who i spoke to this evening and a lovley guy to talk to aswell

Haha. Cheers.

Glad to hear you've sorted out your differences

good man yourself