Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clondalkin 10k

• 25-08-2008 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks

Due to commitments a few races I had planned to do including the Dondea 10k mentioned on this forum are not feasible. I was looking around this morning for something to aim for and found this one

Clondalkin 10k

Has anyone ever participated in this race and would like to share their experiences with me?

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Havent done it myself but this is on in the park that I train in. depending on the route they have it will be a mulit lap race, ( i'd say 2 laps) on path's . There are a couple of hils longest one would be about 500m not too bad but this will depend on the route that they take. It would be a good place to run a time if the wind isnt too bad on the day. A few nice lakes to run around but again this depends on the route.

Its a really nice place to run but will need to be well organised to get a good 10 k from it. I'm going to do it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭epo addict

This is the 1st time the event is been run..Clondalkin AC organised a 5 miler in the phoenix pk a few years ago. It was the most un-organised race i've ever competed in. The 5miler became a 4miler due to the Gardai nearly cancelling this farce of a race on the day.. Nobody knew where the start was sure we just about made it for the gun!! I hope this one goes better for them..I've seen this race been advertised in the echo and in my local gym so it looks like a bit of effort is been put into this race

Might do it for the laugh!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Thanks for the information guys. i am going to do it anyway as it fits in with my training schedule and is a weekend I will be around Dublin. Hopefully I can find the start now :D.

Taking this week off to give my legs a good rest and spending it in the gym. Training to start again Tues 2nd September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

Am gonna do this myself - anyone any ideas where I can find parking nearby? Haven't a clue how to get to the park to be honest and the South County Dublin website gives lots of info about their parks but none on how to actually find any of them (ok just the one that I was lookin for - didn't check the others)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭rdunne

who007 wrote: »
    Am gonna do this myself - anyone any ideas where I can find parking nearby? Haven't a clue how to get to the park to be honest and the South County Dublin website gives lots of info about their parks but none on how to actually find any of them (ok just the one that I was lookin for - didn't check the others)

where are you coming from. I can give u directions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭SlyRax

Any one have any details on Clondalkin AC, just started running myself around 10-12 weeks ago, running about 7k at the moment, working my way up. Would they cater for a n00b like me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Just curious as to whether it would be feasible for me to do a 10k at this stage? I'm up to being able to run 6-7k at the moment (I've been running for just over 2 months), would a 10k be pushing it? Or should I just be looking to the Rathfarnham 5k?

SlyRax wrote: »
    Any one have any details on Clondalkin AC, just started running myself around 10-12 weeks ago, running about 7k at the moment, working my way up. Would they cater for a n00b like me??

I think they are more a junior club at the moment and have a hand full of senior runners, if you pm me i can send you contact details of one of the guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

rdunne wrote: »
    where are you coming from. I can give u directions

Thanks rdunne.. I'll be comin from Kilcock, so down the dual carriageway through Lucan - kinda vague about there on.. Haven't been in Clondalkin for years!

Anyone get anymore details on Sunday's race? Will the start etc. be obvious once we get up there as I have never been to this park. Hopefully there will be distance markers so that I can pace myself.

B

stmochtas wrote: »

Anyone get anymore details on Sunday's race? Will the start etc. be obvious once we get up there as I have never been to this park. Hopefully there will be distance markers so that I can pace myself.

B

I've no idea , jsut got back form a run in the park now. If you go to the car park thats on the naas road you will be no more hten 2 k away from the start where ever it is , once its in the park .
    I might go down and do it myself as i run there on sunday anyway.

do you know where your going?

Not Really, Could you stick up a google map with the ideal parking spot you mentioned? Thanks. I can get to the park no worries but it is where the best place to leave a car etc. that would be a great help.

Well if you have a look at this

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=clondalkin&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=30.957823,72.158203&ie=UTF8&ll=53.30498,-6.413012&spn=0.004904,0.013229&t=h&z=17

Thers is a carpark just inside the gate , if you go down the N7 then turn off for kingswood , then come back down the other side on the boot road , you will see a camp ground on the left and can enter the park there,

I'm not sure where the start is from there but it woudl be no more then 2.5k to the far side of the park.

From the map you see you can come down the N7 then go around the two roundabouts to go down the boot road.

Grand thanks I know where I am now, and it would make sense to start the race close to car park but we will see. Good luck if you take part. I am going to go for sub-50 after my 82 mins in the frank-duffy 10 mile.

if i do it, i may not be too far from you , would say 51-52 ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

Doing this myself and have been training for about 2 months now 3 nights a week. Really looking forward to it, hopefully get the right weather too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Going to be running it myself, looking forward to it now. Going to be aiming for a sub 50 myself.

Anyone know what the overall route is? 2 laps of the park maybe?

Well got a little more information for us on the race although the girl was still a bit sketchy.

The start is at the green Isle entrance to the park so I guess that is at the car park mention by Shels4ever. I asked about changing facilities and she said she wasnt sure, she didnt think so, so wear the gear underneath your clothes. She obviously doesnt sweat as much as me. :)

The course is 3 laps of part of the park and is currently marked out, so if anyone is training there tonight they can have a wee look and report back.

ah man, just got back from doing my speed work session there this morning, didnt see the marked out course but I think i know the route, i've a run that is 3k there on the paths so could be that lap.

I'll be there tomororw morning again so will have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭maximalistic

hey all,

can you register on the day for this run?

Late Registration is possible near the start according to the girl I talked too. You could double-check by calling the carers association as that is what i did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I believe you can, a girl from the irish heart foundation rang me about the pack they send out the other day (I signed up through their site). She recommended registering online at: http://www.runireland.com/events/clondalkin-10k-challenge, as it'll beat the queues registering on the day.

Did an 8 mile int he park this morning, did my usual route but then did a few miles looking for this route, didnt see any markings at all, jsut the normal walking route thats marked out, maybe they are going on that.

Anyway should be an ok course, i'm sure you will have at least one up hill section per lap but nomore hten 2-300 m ,

What did people think? I expected to see more turn up.

how did it go in the end?

Very enjoyable and well managed too, although one a%$hole deliberately wheeled a bike into the path of two lads behind me.

Great weather. Like Ger I expected a bigger turn out, 200+ in total I was told including walkers. 3 Laps of a 3.3k circuit with a bit extra to the finish line. Measured with a wheel so distance was accurate.
    Plenty of water if needed. Would have liked more distance markers for pacing.

I did it in 48:54 which I was very happy with I could have even pushed myself harder but the goal was sub-50 and I got it.

Next 10k will be the Aware one in December in the Phoenix park, havent decided on a goal for that yet.

Well done good running, so the training is going well, are you going to do any of the Cross country this season?

Cheers. I dont plan any CC this year just focussing solely on my 8/10k time and setting some PBs.
    It might be something I will consider next year but for now it is going to be 8 hard weeks to the Aware 10k in Dec.