Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bridgestone Gym Novice Show 31/8/08

• 23-08-2008 9:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭

b]Bridgestone Gym Novice Show 31/8/08[/b]

The Bridgestone Gym are holding a Novice fight show at their Gym with 16 bouts under Amatuer rules.

Venue: The Bridgestone Gym, 11 Arbour Place, Stoneybatter, Dublin 7.
    Date: Sunday 31st August, 2008.
    Time: Doors open 12.45am. First Fight 1.00pm
    Spectators entry fee: €5.00

N.B. Tickets for the Professional show 'ULTIMATE ARMAGEDDON' will be available to purchase on the day. Also available from Mullen Sports, corner of Mary Street and Capel Street at any time.

Line up for Novice show as follows:

GYM - FIGHTERS NAME - Bout Weight - FIGHTERS NAME - GYM

Bridgestone Gym - Gary Meleady - 63kg 3x1.5min - Douglas Quinlan -Siam Warriors

Bridgestone Gym - Shane McConkey - 59kg 3x1.5min - Anton O Connor - Warriors Gym

Bridgestone Gym- Ciaran Tyrol - 63kg 3x1.5min - Tiernan Murphy -Siam Warriors

Bridgestone Gym -Islam Bisayev - 59kg 3x1.5min- Alan Turner- Warriors Gym

Bridgestone Gym -Brian Murphy - 52kg 3x1.5min- Craig Leahy- Siam Warriors

Bridgestone Gym -Peader Lieb - 76kg 3x2min - Tommy Fitzpatrick -Phoenix Thai

Chupasart Gym - Sean Quinn - 69kg 3x2min - Trevor O’ Sullivan - Siam Warriors

Bridgestone Gym - Raphael Ravom - 67kg 3x2min - Karl McCallig -Warriors Gym

Bridgestone Gym - Branislav Bartek - 76kg 3x2min - Gary Ormond - Chupasart Gym

Bridgestone Gym - Matt Kearney - 63kg 3x2min - Dylan Sheehan -Siam Warriors

Bridgestone Gym - Declan - 73kg 3x2min- Ciaran Ward - Phoenix Thai

Bridgestone Gym - Naoise Creaven - 79kg 3x2min - Marcus McCallig - Warriors Gym

Bridgestone Gym - Michel Muraille - 78kg 3x2min - Dave Dunne - Chupasart Gym

Bridgestone Gym - Paul Canavan - 61kg 3x2min - Keith Ryan - Dumski Gym

Chupasart Gym - Johnny Moore - 73kg 3x2min- Aaron Joyce -Warriors Gym

Bridgestone Gym - Greg Grudziev - 86kg 3x2min - Ian Fitzpatrick -Phoenix Thai

Its gonna be a busy day for Bridgestone :P

Yours in Muay Thai,
    Paul Kelly.
    THE BRIDGESTONE GYM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Should be good Paul. Looking forward to it. GL to all ... esp the Chuasart fighters :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Great value day out. Also, you get to see me in action. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I must go up and watch this now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭phoenix-MT

Yeah goodluck to all the lads especially the ones fightin my lads!!! :p No luck for our super super heavyweight then!!! good luck Paul + crew your gunna be busy. Cant wait

Khannie wrote: »
    Great value day out. Also, you get to see me in action. :D

Hey Khannie who are ya fighting?

phoenix-MT wrote: »
    Hey Khannie who are ya fighting?

Lad from Dumiski's gym (I'm 3rd last on the card). Was supposed to be one of your lads but he had to pull out. I think Paul said it was an injury. Bummer. :( Happened me the last time (had to pull out because of an injury). Sounded like a decent match up too. Sure it'll happen another day I'm sure.

Glad to see your lads in there though. It's always good to have more competition on the scene. Benefits everyone.
    I must go up and watch this now.

If you make it down, say hello.

Lad from Dumiski's gym (I'm 3rd last on the card). Was supposed to be one of your lads but he had to pull out. I think Paul said it was an injury. Bummer. :( Happened me the last time (had to pull out because of an injury). Sounded like a decent match up too. Sure it'll happen another day I'm sure.

Glad to see your lads in there though. It's always good to have more competition on the scene. Benefits everyone.

If you make it down, say hello.

Thanks Khannie. Oh right lol yeah sorry bout that he strained his hamstring playing football so hes in physio at the moment but hes mad to fight so we can arrange it for the next one if you want. On that note if anyones got a couple of lads around 100kg, got 3 ready for a novice. Id appreciate it if your arranging one soon to keep us in mind. Give it 6 months and ill a good few more on the line ups :D

Oh right lol yeah sorry bout that he strained his hamstring playing football so hes in physio at the moment but hes mad to fight so we can arrange it for the next one if you want.

No need to apologise at all. It's all part of the sport. As for next time....I never get any say. Bridgestone man says "oh...by the way....". :D
    On that note if anyones got a couple of lads around 100kg, got 3 ready for a novice. Id appreciate it if your arranging one soon to keep us in mind. Give it 6 months and ill a good few more on the line ups :D

Jaysus. They're big lads for MT! You might have some difficulty getting matchups for them.

haha ok very true. yeah i know was talkin to "bridgestone man" and he said the same, the only problem is one of them has dropped 3 stone since he started but hes 6'3" so i cant see him loosing alot more now. maybe get him down to 95 ish....but even thats gunna be hard to match eh. might have to ship him over to america or something :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

if you stuck and they desperate for fightin I will jump in with them on the day and do a few rounds of sparring... but they better not be any good or i gonna have to pretend i hurt my leg or something and pull out:)

paddy

Hehe. Good man Paddy. I might give ye an oul' tip around anyway if I've no injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

khannie your on... wanna place a side bet:)

haha good man thanks.

paddyc wrote: »
    khannie your on... wanna place a side bet:)

Haha. Yeh, I bet that you knock the sh1te out of me in the first 10 seconds. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Rob Carry

I can't wait for this one! Five lads climbing in for the Warriors - great stuff :)

Good day out. Great value for money anyway. The place was fairly packed. Got bejaysus hot at one point.

I opted for some food instead of sparring Paddy after my fight. :D I think he was a bit upset. Next time Paddy.

Me: "Is this the queue for the jacks?"
    Paddy: "No....This is the queue for the champions" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Paddy: "No....This is the queue for the champions" :D

I guess you just passed right in front of them then eh Khannie!!!;)

Great show today, some nice technical stuff on display from these lads, really good to see so early with these fighters. Some accidental knees/kicks to the groins but these things happen, decent show of mutual respect from them by touching gloves after a foul strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Bridgestone Man

I would like to thank all the participating Gym's that attended the show. All the fighters showed great heart and skill. Thanks to Siam Warriors Gym - Cork, Warriors Gym - Bray, Chupasart Gym - Dublin, Dumski's Gym - Dublin, and a special thanks for the first time attending a show since being set up Phoenix Gym - Mullingar and of course thanks to all the Bridgestone fighters and guys who helped out before, during and after the show.

Results for the show are as follows.

Bridgestone Gym Shane McConkey 59kg 3x1.5min Anton O Connor Warriors Gym
    Shane McConkey, Bridgestone Gym - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Matt Kearney 63kg 3x2min Dylan Sheehan Siam Warriors
    Dylan Sheehan - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Islam Bisayev 59kg 3x1.5min Alan Turner Warriors Gym
    Draw

Bridgestone Gym Brian Murphy 52kg 3x1.5min Craig Leahy Siam Warriors
    Brian Murphy, Bridgestone Gym - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Ciaran Tyrol 63kg 3x1.5min Tiernan Murphy Siam Warriors
    Ciaran Tyrol, Bridgestone Gym - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Peader Lieb 76kg 3x2min Tommy Fitzpatrick Phoenix Thai
    Peader Lieb, Bridgestone Gym- Win points

Bridgestone Gym Branislav Bartek 76kg 3x2min Gary Ormond Chupasart Gym
    Gary Ormond, Chupasart Gym - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Raphael Ravom 67kg 3x2min Karl McCallig Warriors Gym
    Draw

Bridgestone Gym Declan Gannon 73kg 3x2min Ciaran Ward Phoenix Thai
    Declan Gannon, Bridgestone Gym - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Naoise Creaven 79kg 3x2min Marcus McCallig Warriors Gym
    Naoise Creavan, Bridgestone Gym - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Gary Meleady 63kg 3x1.5min Douglas Quinlan Siam Warriors
    Gary Meleady, Bridgestone Gym - Win TKO round 3

Bridgestone Gym Michel Muraille 78kg 3x2min Dave Dunne Chupasart Gym
    Michael Muraille, Bridgestone Gym- Win points

Bridgestone Gym Paul Canavan 60kg 3x2min Keith Ryan Dumski Gym
    Paul Canavan, Bridgestone Gym - Win TKO round 2

Chupasart Gym Johnny Moore 73kg 3x2min Aaron Joyce Warriors Gym
    Johnny Moore, Chupasart Gym - Win points

Bridgestone Gym Greg Grudziev 86kg 3x2min Ian Fitzpatrick Phoenix Thai
    Greg Grudziev, Bridgestone Gym- Win points

Bridgestone Gym Brian Murphy 54kg 3x1.5min Neil Connon Dumski's Gym
    Brian Murphy, Bridgestone Gym - Win points (second fight and win on the day for Brian as he voleentered to jump in as a last minue replacement)

Chupasart Gym Sean Quinn 69kg 3x2min Mike Dockery Warriors Gym
    Demo fight - no descision

Best regards,
    Paul Kelly.
    Bridgestone Gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Havo

Legend farmer!!

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone there and to bridgestone for having us, was a great day. some great fights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Excellent fights lads. Really enjoyed the day. Well done Paul and the gang, good show. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

well done khannie, unfortunately missed this.

RedRaven wrote: »
    Some accidental knees/kicks to the groins but these things happen, decent show of mutual respect from them by touching gloves after a foul strike.

Guilty of this myself actually. Knew I'd done it and apologised immediately. Fair play to Keith. He was a real gentleman about it.
    well done khannie, unfortunately missed this.

Cheers. Fitness was really good for this one. Hopefully we'll see you next time or maybe at the big one in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Hey all, just wondering. How long on average have these guys spent training before their first fight?
    3 x 1.5 min rounds seems like a great way to get into the sport, looks like it was a good show anyhow.

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone there and to bridgestone for having us, was a great day. some great fights

My wife was well impressed with your matching tracksuits. :D

How long on average have these guys spent training before their first fight?

It varies by age. Typically the younger you are, the faster you'll get fecked in the ring. :) I'd be guessing, but I'd say around 9 months on average. I'm sure one of the trainers can give you a better answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Cheers Khannie, 1 other question. I'm guessing it's 12oz gloves with punching & kicking to head, body & legs but knees to legs & body only?
    Congrats on the win.

Cheers Khannie, 1 other question. I'm guessing it's 12oz gloves with punching & kicking to head, body & legs but knees to legs & body only?

16oz gloves. You're right on the strikes. Elbows below the head are allowed at novice / amateur level too but are rarely used. Throws / topples (from the clinch or from a kick / sweep) are allowed as well. No judo style throwing though.
    Congrats on the win.

Cheers.

My wife was well impressed with your matching tracksuits. :D

gotta look good when ya loose, know what i mean haha :D

did anyone record it?

Yeah...Ollie was on camera duty. I'd say Paul will be selling DVD's in the next week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Havo

Awh no not Ollie... worst camera man ever!!:D
    Well done lads

lol alright thanks khannie.

RE: DVD's

All competing gyms on any Bridgestone show get a complimentary DVD. Providing Ollie didnt dose off or his attentioned wained when he was eating his sandwich as havnt watched it yet. Should have it done by end of week. Will contact coaches when ready.

Regards,
    Paul.

haha :D cheers paul

Havo wrote: »
    Awh no not Ollie... worst camera man ever!!:D

HAHAHAHA. His reputation precedes him. :D Can't wait to see his handywork now between you and Paul talking his laziness up. :D

HAHAHAHA. His reputation precedes him. Can't wait to see his handywork now between you and Paul talking his laziness up.

Now, now 'CANNONBALLS' less slagging off the lazy people sure you could even get through 3 rounds of your last 2 fights:p:p

Hahaha.

Where in the name of bejaysus did this cannonball malarky come from???? Got a good oul' laugh out of it on my way out of the dressing room let me tell ye. :D

I'm guessing.....little Tommy......Or Darren.

Whoever it was....I'll never f*ckin' get rid of it now after you bringing it back up. :p:p