Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident yesterday

• 23-08-2008 5:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭

Was playing in a 4ball in Macreddin yesterday and we were playing the 5th hole.

We played 3 and 4 and not a sign of anyone behind use.

Next thing we are all playing our 2nd shots from the fairway :D and one of us look around to see 2 lads on the tee box with his hands on his hips and then he throwns his hands in the air as in whats the story as we never even think about looking behind with balls on the fairway to let them tee off while we walked.

They were in a buggy so we said we will let them play through up at the green.

So we were around the green and let them hit there seconds and thirds into the green.

So they arrive at the green with the 4 of us standing around and not a word of thanks lads or anything like that when they arrived.

They preceded to putt out and didn't even try to avoid standing on any of our balls lines. One ball wasn't marked and about 10 feet away but one of them stood right on his line even though he could have avoided it. So they finish out and starting walking away and still no thanks.

So one of us goes your welcome to which we got a reply of we have jump in a head of them.

So next thing an argument starts with what hole we were on and we said 5th (praying that we hadn't played the wrong hole) and they start giving out about our etiquette on the course. So that started it all of. Us saying that you could at least saying thank you for letting you play through and them accusing us of jumping in ahead of you.

Didn't seem to realise that 4ball (walking) is going to be much slower than a 2 ball in a buggy.

There was a 4ball ahead of use but we had lost a half a hole to them as we searching for a ball on the 3rd.

So off they went and ended up been held up for the rest of the round behind the 4ball infront of us.

How would other people handle this incident?

On a different note I thought Macreddin is a nice course. Greens in super nick with all the rain. front 9 is suffering a bit from the rain but the back nine is not.

The index 1 is some hole. Reminds me of the 14th (I think) in Druids Glen. Such a though drive and even the 2nd shot is hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Jam a 5 iron up their holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

I wouldn't have let them through after seeing their initial behaviour on the tee (i.e. throwing arms in air).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Cant stand that sort of ignorance.Utterly unacceptable.
    I'm sick of guys playing up my arse when on the golf course.
    I'm not a slow golfer by any means .
    Some guys seem to think its a race to get round and most of them I find are rubbish golfers.
    They rush along and frustrate other golfers ahead of them.
    Had an incident last year where I was putting on the 5th green and I heard this guy shouting at me from down the fairway to "Move along".
    He was a former captain.
    He was completely out of order as we were not playing slowly (2 ball) and there was a group ahead of us.
    I told him where to go in no uncertain terms.You have to put these imbaciles in their place.
    Met him the following week on the putting green and he was all palsy walsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Trampas wrote: »
    How would other people handle this incident?

I would have let them play through. Their behaviour was absolutely appauling but regardless, your mate saying "your welcome" was only ever going to spark off an already awkward situation.

If it was my home club, and they were likely to be members I would report the behaviour and walking on lines etc, but in an away club, I'd just shut my mouth rather than have every one's day spoilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

I would have said nothing to them.

If they hadn't the decency to say thanks then it's pretty obvious that being sarcastic is potentially going to start an argument.

A two ball playing in a buggy is always going to cause a problem....they can come up very quickly behind a 4 ball and they should realise that the people in front need a bit of time to realise that they are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

They shouldn't be playing in buggies anyway. They should get out and walk. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Tbh I'd have let them through as soon as possible, i.e. when you first spotted them on the tee. As for walking on your of your groups line you say the ball wasn't marked on the green, why didn't ye mark it after calling them through?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

stockdam wrote: »
    I would have said nothing to them.

If they hadn't the decency to say thanks then it's pretty obvious that being sarcastic is potentially going to start an argument.

A two ball playing in a buggy is always going to cause a problem....they can come up very quickly behind a 4 ball and they should realise that the people in front need a bit of time to realise that they are there.

Can't agree here - accept that based on their behaviour they were always going to be "thick" - but letting them play thru and saying nothing is only re-enforcing that behaviour.

Dosn't matter whether they were members or visitors - their behaviour as described was wholly unacceptable and needed to be confronted.