Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinkies outside the PALE!

• 23-08-2008 7:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭

ok I've been commanded to start a new thread on where/when a good session can be had outside THE PALE!(all people inside said PALE are ofc welcome to venture outside)

So my choice is anywhere in Munster!...

Time whenever someone picks a date to be sure..

Where for drinking mightily""" 20 votes

CORK
    0% 0 votes
    KILKENNY
    45% 9 votes
    CAVAN?
    35% 7 votes
    Somewhere else..
    20% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

It's a landslide! Cork 100% of the vote, sold! If it's in Cork after September I'd definitely be up for it..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

What about Sligo? Sligo's AWESOME.

Uh, sorry.

Actually in all seriousnessness ness if it was in Galway I'd have some where to stay.

A bit o advice from the doom would be to push it back right to the end of Sept, there's a BGRH beers in Sept and as mighty as the nocturnal forum are, they are no match for the Brotherhood when it comes to beering :)

If it's in Galway I could offer some boardsies a place to stay for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Kilkenny!!! For once I wouldnt have to travel to a beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

y'no... if this happens while im still in the country, i might just go wherever it is on, if a good group are heading from the pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Galway is a very nice city also. So people could go up and stay a few days extra to enjoy all the other distractions Galway has to offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I say Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Galway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭ewj1978

ok 5 people have posted their pref for galway yet only two votes on the somewhere else choice... Press the button people.... or else can a mod change the poll to say Galway pls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭DenMan

Never been to Cork before. I hope somebody can say something good about it. For some reason a lot of people don't seem to like it. I honestly don't mind where in Ireland as I am sure it will be a great get-together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

cavan and kilkenny are in the pale IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

zuroph wrote: »

*glare*

Kilkenny maybe.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

The pale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

What's this "outside the Pale" place that you speak of? I'm confused. :confused:

zuroph wrote: »

hehe! ciavaan inside The pale.... funniest thing I've read in a while... kilkenny well yeah ok maybe... place seems to be the Dub's weekend home...

What's this "outside the Pale" place that you speak of? I'm confused. :confused:

Ahem and i Quote...

"The Pale (An Pháil in Irish) or the English Pale (An Pháil Sasanach) comprised a region on Ireland's east coast stretching from Dalkey, south of Dublin, to the garrison town of Dundalk north of Drogheda. The inland boundary went to Leixlip around the Earldom of Kildare, towards Trim and north towards Kells"

"The Pale boundary essentially consisted of a fortified ditch and rampart built around parts of the medieval counties of Louth, Meath, Dublin and Kildare, actually leaving half of Meath, most of Kildare, and south west Dublin on the other side. The northern frontier of the pale was marked by the De Verdon fortress of Castle Roche, whilst the southern border roughly corresponds to the present day M50 motorway in Dublin"

Ah wikipedia where would we be without you.... probably searching google for hours....:D

ewj1978 wrote: »
    kilkenny well yeah ok maybe... place seems to be the Dub's weekend home...

Thats not because of choice on behalf of Kilkenny. We call it an invasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Ahem and i Quote...

"The Pale (An Pháil in Irish) or the English Pale (An Pháil Sasanach) comprised a region on Ireland's east coast stretching from Dalkey, south of Dublin, to the garrison town of Dundalk north of Drogheda. The inland boundary went to Leixlip around the Earldom of Kildare, towards Trim and north towards Kells"

"The Pale boundary essentially consisted of a fortified ditch and rampart built around parts of the medieval counties of Louth, Meath, Dublin and Kildare, actually leaving half of Meath, most of Kildare, and south west Dublin on the other side. The northern frontier of the pale was marked by the De Verdon fortress of Castle Roche, whilst the southern border roughly corresponds to the present day M50 motorway in Dublin"

Ah wikipedia where would we be without you.... probably searching google for hours....:D
    could have just said "leinster" IMO :D

Poor medieval town Kilkenny. I read there is an average of 5 stag or hen parties there every week. Must pi$$ off a lot of the locals. Great for business but I believe the councilors and locals want to put a stop to it. Maybe a boards beers night out there would be a whole lot better than the stags/hens.

Nightwish wrote: »
    Thats not because of choice on behalf of Kilkenny. We call it an invasion.

defence you need to defend!... omfg.... a few snipers placed on high buildings... possibly on the castle... and target any person wearing a dub jersey/D4 style clothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭siobhan.murphy

tralee:eek:

tralee:eek:

Suggestion or warning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Does Coppers count as outside the Pale?

Would that be this infamous "cop on ya face jack" we've been hearing about? .... erm no i'm pretty sure its inside the M50 so that'd rule it out.

Does Coppers count as outside the Pale?

Might as well be outside the Pale, it's always full of culchies, guards and nurses.

Aye a few mates I have in the Navy*snigger* go to Copper's and come back saying its Deadly etc... Fs if you're gonna go to the Big Smoke goto where the locals go right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

We're having a field trip?

*goes to fill the tank of the little yellow school bus*

if possible, yes and you and the "big yellow bus" (probably a mini right?) are more than welcome...Galway is leading the choices at the mo.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Cavan? Is one of the mods from there, or something? :confused:

CORK ftw. Coz we are legends.

Bunch of langers tbh.

cork people? or just boardies? or ciavan people? Clarify that statement young man...

Who you calling man? I'm all woman!

Langers = Cork people.

I'm so sorry my dear... I get confused ....

defence you need to defend!... omfg.... a few snipers placed on high buildings... possibly on the castle... and target any person wearing a dub jersey/D4 style clothing...

The cops did escort 30 Dubs out of the town at 7:30 on sat night and told them not to come back! One small step :D

should just put landmines on the main Carlow rd tbh.. :D

The railway line you mean. The riff raff tend to travel by train.

The line tracks could be switched and it would divert them elsewhere. Cork would be a great idea. Let them go there instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Well if its in Galway I might go, which may be a reason not to have it there, after the last time...

DenMan wrote: »
    The line tracks could be switched and it would divert them elsewhere. Cork would be a great idea. Let them go there instead.

doesnt it switch towards Waterford? send them down to the Deise... blue on blue action then...

Well if its in Galway I might go, which may be a reason not to have it there, after the last time...

ooh a story please do tell...

doesnt it switch towards Waterford? send them down to the Deise... blue on blue action then...

I am sure you are right, I am not familiar with that part of the country. Was due to go down last year and film the homecoming for the Kilkenny hurlers but our job changed almost at the last minute. Beautiful architecture in Kilkenny. Was so mad when I heard about the ancient road that was being dug up by the council. :mad:

A pack of drunk Dubs and the town of Waterford together. That would be a lot of fun (from a spectators point of view) :) Would definitely get my camera and capture that event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

ooh a story please do tell...

Just got very drunk and was an eejit, hardly a story. Jumped on tara and dragan a few times...sorry guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Cavan? Is one of the mods from there, or something? :confused:

Nope, we're just organised. And have an idea.

That is to say I'm organised. Mirror had the idea. :P