Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does the Gov bend over for travellers?

• 22-08-2008 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭

Last weekend my GFs sister who works in a pub in Athy gets a call from the Gardai telling her to close the doors at 7 as there will be a bunch of travelers coming through town.

Obviously this struck me as odd to think the the force to upload the law in the country is telling the people they are hired to protect to hide from the "bandits rolling into town".

Of course this all stems from the fact that once a travelers gets through the door of a pub they can not be asked to leave or you risk being done for discrimination or worse your pub wrecked.

Now I completely get trying to help people from outside the regular realms of society try to integrate or just survive.
    But literally bending over for the entire traveling community, which has a notorious history of criminality just seems like no one with any authority has the balls to just come out and say enough is enough and treat them the same as ever other citzen of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Hmm....A discussion about travellers in AH.

Yeah, this will not end well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

*zaps popcorn*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Move to Waterford Forum. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Moved to Marseille forum :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

it sounds like it was poker night in the garda station in athy that night and they didnt want to be interupted..........fcukin cowards why dont they just do what their paid to do.............uphold the law!

and in any case the travelling community may have a bad reputation but you cant paint them all with the same brush ,they all deserve a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

markos79 wrote: »
    it sounds like it was poker night in the garda station in athy that night and they didnt want to be interupted..........fcukin cowards why dont they just do what their paid to do.............uphold the law!

and in any case the travelling community may have a bad reputation but you cant paint them all with the same brush ,they all deserve a chance.

Maybe its easier for the Guards and the Publicans to close up than the publican getting his premises trashed and the cops arrive after the fact.

Its not uncommon, this is from last week in Carlow
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/0814/1218477531587.html

I agree that they deserve a chance but a Publican deserves to make a living in safety as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Would the cops in a small town like athy have the recources to deal with hundreds of travellers running amok with slash hooks?
    No of course not.
    The only way to deal with them when they're on the rampage is to either let them fight themselves out or send in the Public Order Unit.
    Of course if they did this the wanky,lefty,bleeding-heart liberal scumbags would be all over the media condemning the actions of the cops and using words like "racism", "culture" and "excessive force".In fact the lowlifes at residents against racism would be calling for resignations and handing in poxy petitions at leinster house.
    They cant win and its enough to make you sick.
    The fact is that do-gooders are ruining the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Obviously this struck me as odd to think the the force to upload the law in the country is telling the people they are hired to protect to hide from the "bandits rolling into town".

They are uploading the law now?! :eek::eek:

*scrambles to delete certain items*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Yeah - might need the cnunts to do a cheapo finish job on the M50 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

you see if you bend over it's harder for them to hit you in the face with the bottle...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

It's a joke alright. I've done security in Buttevant and in Dunmanway during horse fairs, and it's just pure trouble. All well and good saying that it's a minority causing the trouble when the majority refuse to police their own.

Pavee Point have some ****ing neck to condemn citizens defending their property and then just kick back when the fecking tinkers wreck Castlebar or slice each other up in Waterford.

Police are useless with em.

That Pavee Point shower absolutely wreck my head when they are in the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

travellers have sacred cow status

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

lee_arama wrote: »
    All well and good saying that it's a minority causing the trouble when the majority refuse to police their own.

Just like in the 0% crime us settled peeps enjoy from policing the minority of scum , oh wait ..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

bigkev49 wrote: »
    That Pavee Point shower absolutely wreck my head when they are in the media.

Its funny they defend all of them, even those who step out of line. At least be honest Pavee.. (Does Boards have any of them on Boards I wonder? We have travellers on the Waterford forum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

It's a joke alright. I've done security in Buttevant and in Dunmanway during horse fairs, and it's just pure trouble. All well and good saying that it's a minority causing the trouble when the majority refuse to police their own.

Pavee Point have some ****ing neck to condemn citizens defending their property and then just kick back when the fecking tinkers wreck Castlebar or slice each other up in Waterford.

Police are useless with em.

Same story here, delt with them for years on the doors, met some lovely travelers, but as soon as the scumbag travelers hear that you leave another traveler in they come give you grief at the door. And as ye no doubt know, doormen hate having to do what they are paid for (work)

In other news, howrya lee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

irish_bob wrote: »
    travellers have sacred cow status

more like third class citizen status.

Sully wrote: »
    Its funny they defend all of them, even those who step out of line. At least be honest Pavee.. (Does Boards have any of them on Boards I wonder? We have travellers on the Waterford forum)

thats not true they've been on the radio several times in the last month and always condemn criminal activity.

Sully wrote: »

Thats my point exactly. If they admitted that there are some truly bad apples in their community and that traveller weddings/funerals/etc. then I wouldn't mind but ignorance seems to be bliss.

Also, all they ever seem to do is blame the government, nothing new or unique there I suppose, it really is tiresome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

oeb wrote: »
    Same story here, delt with them for years on the doors, met some lovely travelers, but as soon as the scumbag travelers hear that you leave another traveler in they come give you grief at the door. And as ye no doubt know, doormen hate having to do what they are paid for (work)

In other news, howrya lee!

All good tall fella. Having a good ol bitch here about the feckers.

When I was running the Statoil out the Straight Road in Cork we had travellers casing the delivery area (which was private property and not readily open to the public). Called the police, who promptly went and gave the grubby pricks my name. Half an hour later a van load arrive on looking for me.

Thank god for CCTV cos I was goosed if I didn't have something to record my death, preventing my death.

Having said that I would have hammered any of them one on one. They can't land a punch to save their filthy lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

Why does the Gov bend over bckwards for travellers?

Cos they'll get their 5000 inbred cousins after you otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

phenomenon wrote: »
    Cos they'll get their 5000 inbred cousins after you otherwise

Shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

the travelling community may have a bad reputation but you cant paint them all with the same brush.

Yes you can.

they all deserve a chance.

Its been my experience that you can't.

And even when you take the chance here's a typical scenario of what happens...

John Paul Jacobs and Rosie Crackers arrive, have a few drinks. Don't bother anyone and leave...

Next week the lovely couple come back, with John Paul's brother and his lovely missus 'Young Rosie. Have a few pints, the craic is great so they ring an extended family of 50 and tell them that they're in 'Such & such' bar and the craic is mighty and the doormen are sound.

30 minutes later a truck full of 'em arrive singing Big Tom songs and smelling of carbolic soap. They get rowdy (and trust me thats putting it very mildly). The manager/bar person asks them to keep it down, they (the travellers) play the race card - which they feel also gives them the right to smash the place up.

You loose your good customers, the publican spends a mint defending himself in court against accusations of discrimination. John Joe Jacobs & Miss Cracker move onto some other poor unsuspecting sod.

Any discrimnation they feel they are subject to are their own making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

All good tall fella. Having a good ol bitch here about the feckers.

When I was running the Statoil out the Straight Road in Cork we had travellers casing the delivery area (which was private property and not readily open to the public). Called the police, who promptly went and gave the grubby pricks my name. Half an hour later a van load arrive on looking for me.

Thank god for CCTV cos I was goosed if I didn't have something to record my death, preventing my death.

Having said that I would have hammered any of them one on one. They can't land a punch to save their filthy lives.

Same experience also, in fact they were living outside the station and every single night it was chasing the kids out of the store stealing empty petrol cans and slice pans, then the father would come in get €3..63 worth of green diesel and only have €2 euro on him.

One night when I had enough I told one little thieve to get out and the Ma and Da appeared spouting on about the law and court but when I mentioned the cameras recording the robbery they soon left and probably grabbed some motor oil on the way.