Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JOSIE MURRAY RELEASES CHALLENGE FOR OCTOBER

• 19-08-2008 4:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

Well people the challenge has been put out once again by Mr murray wiling to fight anyone from any style in an effort to prove jui jitsu is supreme. The article in a local donegal paper when mr murray was being interviewed he has once again put out his chalenge to fight anyone from boxers to kickboxers to grapplers,in his mid 50's is he not a bit old for this,the challeng is for his show in october, apparently he believes there is no one in ireland at his level so he goes to brazil each year, so is there anyone in ireland at his level or is he that good an mma fghter, never seen or heard of him fight before. anyone up for the challenge. Love to see JK or Davy P take this challenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭spiral

maybe the challenge is only open to Donegal residents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

This can't be for real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Spending too much time with the Gracies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭roo1981

Just trying to drum up support for a power grab methinks...

http://www.nwipp-newspapers.com/DN/free/298793922591098.php

"Donegal footballer Neil Gallagher and Irish League Star, Anthony Gorman have been mooted as potential Fine Gael candidates in County Council elections while Ju Jitsu champion Josie Murray has also put his name forward to contest the Letterkenny Town Council elections. Former taxi driver representative Joe Terry is also a potential candidate in the Town Council elections."

Josie fears no footballers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭wayne1

Well people the challenge has been put out once again by Mr murray wiling to fight anyone from any style in an effort to prove jui jitsu is supreme. The article in a local donegal paper when mr murray was being interviewed he has once again put out his chalenge to fight anyone from boxers to kickboxers to grapplers,in his mid 50's is he not a bit old for this,the challeng is for his show in october, apparently he believes there is no one in ireland at his level so he goes to brazil each year, so is there anyone in ireland at his level or is he that good an mma fghter, never seen or heard of him fight before. anyone up for the challenge. Love to see JK or Davy P take this challenge.
    Keep it up josie i hope i be challenging at ur age respect;)

http://ca.youtube.com/user/sidsuoiciv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 johnjoemurray

yeah mick this is for real. i will post up a link for the article as soon as the paper puts it up on digital format.

anyone looking to accept the challenge heres the contact details

For more information contact Club Secretary Teresa Murray on 087 9222767.or e-mail donegal-jiu-jitsu-fed@hotmail.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

can't think of any 50+ year olds off the top my head who could give josie a go. perhaps one of the judo lads would be interested :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Gorman

Is it for money?
    What is the rule set?

johnjoemurray do you know Josie Murray?

that would actually be the logical challenge ie. somebody his own age but he hasn't specified it so i take it to be an open challenge to anybody,as i say as soon as the article is digital i'll post the link

Is it for money?
    What is the rule set?

johnjoemurray do you know Josie Murray

I take it to be pro A rules so i'm sure there is money involved.yeah i know him alright but wouldn't say we are close.just seen the article and thought it was interesting that nobody in ireland is willing to take him on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

If I were to go and pick up every article in every local newspaper that martial arts instructors have submitted then there would be a long, very embarassed list of people.

The guy is trying to promote his club so he's saying stuff like that. There's stuff written in the Northside People, the Irish Fighter and other publications around Ireland about "World Champions", National Champions and "Top International Fighters" and so on that might have a grain of truth to them but are stretched to provide a good story for the paper and a bit of publicity for the club involved. Alright, Josie Murray seems to go a bit OTT but I've seen some cracking bullsh1t in The Irish Fighter over the years.

At the end of the day, the guy is 50+ and still banging away at it. It's all very well being a 20 something and ripping the mickey out of him but if you're competing in the masters in the world championships I say fair play to you. I hope to still be on the mat when I'm 50.

Surely there's a pretty large conflict of interest if a promoter fights on his own show. If he was serious about this challenge it make more sense to have it in a neutral setting. I know a lot of coaches are also run promotions but they've over time a level of trust has been established between the various clubs/promoters in this country. It's hard to afford such legitmacy to a first time promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭troygracie

i think josie is a bit old for this.he needs to cop himself on he is a nobody and always will be he never had a mma fight in his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

troygracie wrote: »
    i think josie is a bit old for this.he needs to cop himself on he is a nobody and always will be he never had a mma fight in his life

created a user to post this? That is strange....wonder if you and johnjoemurray have the same IP address....

Grind your axe somewhere else mister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

created a user to post this? That is strange....wonder if you and johnjoemurray have the same IP address....

Grind your axe somewhere else mister.

Actually they don't. Had already checked.

OP, could you avoid using Caps to draw attention to your thread? No offence but your log on implies some connection to the event in fairness.

People can read, and will click if interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

Roper wrote: »

At the end of the day, the guy is 50+ and still banging away at it. It's all very well being a 20 something and ripping the mickey out of him but if you're competing in the masters in the world championships I say fair play to you. I hope to still be on the mat when I'm 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

Yawn....................... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 DAGEROUSDAVE

I think josie deserves more respect than he is getting in this thread. He is an accomplished bjj instructor and competitor and at his age most guys are just happy to take it easy never mind issue challenges to all-comers.

Although i have heard (from first hand sources) that his personality is for a distinguished taste and he has had a falling out with many people, we still cannot ignore the fact that he is a highly skilled martial artist and runs a class of highly trained bjj trainees of whom i presume he can best from week to week, hence cementing his ability to take on most comers.

I would like to wish josie and his students all the best and hope i have not talked too much sh*t as i have had a few alchoholic beverages b4 i wrote this... lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

There is no doubt about it that he's skilled. I don't think anybody questioned that. I never met the guy. The first time I heard in detail about him was an article proclaiming him to be an ultimate fighting champion, which at the time - was marked off as poor reporting or a misunderstanding. And now, dojo challenges. Which well, I don't have a problem with to be honest. If two dojos are willing, go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

Why doesn't he just get matched up on one of the shows?

sounds like a good idea, so whos up for offering the bjj master an mma fight on their show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

for me MMA isn't about grudge matches and vendettas and rivalry. it's about good clean contests between two people of similar size, ability and experience. this isn't pro-wrestling. I'd have no problem paying to see Josie Murray compete in a MMA bout in Dublin or Galway for example if I felt he was well matched up. I have zero interest in seeing him mismatched because of what was written in the local amateur newspaper.

I've had very little dealings with Josie, I fought against one of his students at the mmaleague and he was a very enthusiastic and passionate coach. As the lads said, 50 something years and still on the mat twice a week is probably something a lot us would like to be able to do in future.

we still cannot ignore the fact that he is a highly skilled martial artist and runs a class of highly trained bjj trainees of whom i presume he can best from week to week, hence cementing his ability to take on most comers.

I would really hope the guy at the top of the room would be able to take the people who are paying him for training, at least 8 times out of 10!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

sounds like a good idea, so whos up for offering the bjj master an mma fight on their show.

find some other bridge to hang out under dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

Dragan wrote: »
    I would really hope the guy at the top of the room would be able to take the people who are paying him for training, at least 8 times out of 10!!:)

in most of the boxing clubs i've been at the trainer would not be able to 'take the people who are paying him for training' yet they can still produce national champions....the same would go for most combat sports and athletics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I look forward to the day when I'm the worst guy in the room in my gym.

in most of the boxing clubs i've been at the trainer would not be able to 'take the people who are paying him for training' yet they can still produce national champions....the same would go for most combat sports and athletics

Ah come on John, smiley indicated that was purely tongue in cheek.

Or do i need to start applying tags lest people take me too seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Roper wrote: »
    I look forward to the day when I'm the worst guy in the room in my gym.

It's not all it's cracked up to be :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I think there's been enough silliness on this.

JK and NC made the valid points, now lets leave it alone. Thread closed.