Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Solas Festival

• 18-08-2008 5:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭

What a weekend!!!
    Anyone else at it? And what did you think of it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

It might have had a chance if thered been less muck. :(

Sad that it didnt work out for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Great craic on Saturday but the buzz had died on a sunday. Shame really, it could have been a fantastic weekend had the weather not been bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

Nope i didnt make it! was it any good??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

A Guy called Gerald was fantastic on Saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Spider_Baby

I thought it was a great weekend!
    I really felt sorry for the organisers though. They obviously put in a lot of hard work (...except for in the advertising department!). It's just a shame more people didn't go.
    They got a good mix of people though...oldies, young people...and even a few dogs roaming around! :)
    I really enjoyed it. We didn't let the mud and rain spoil our fun.
    Sat was great. It helped that the rain stopped and the sun came out for a while.
    I'd go again next year...if it's on again.

The fact that there were only 40 tents on the campsite was hilarious though. There was still a great atmosphere though. The fact that there were so few people meant that everyone got to know everyone else. I met more sound people there then I have done at any EP etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

worse weekend ever for me!
    i mean...
    Beside the fact that my slot was moved to 2.40pm on Saturday when it was originally planned for Saturday 4pm then moved to Sunday 7pm then brought fwd to 3.10pm Saturday, i played to the sound man and 2 lovely security guys who were kind enough to give me a sip of their whiskey (badly needed to handle that amount of mud) - there was not a soul there.

Wasnt planning to stay overnight in the end cos my lift down had said he would drive back after his set. Then there was nowhere to chill and sit your ass so i worked in the gear room a couple of hours and then I was stage hands on the main stage for murder of crows, back doors and GIIA.

The guy who drove me decided to get drunk and i had no tent nor sleeping bag to kip in and was wrecked from walking in the mud all day so i hoped a good looking man would be kind enough to offer his arms and some room in his tent alas i didnt find any good looking man. In fact it was too dark to see anything. All I could see was slushy mud. Many a time did I fall flat on my face.

I freaked on sunday morning when i woke up alone in the gear room. Prayed to get a lift back at that very moment. Waited like a wet puppy at the main entrance and eventually found someone heading back to Dublin.

No more festivals for me this year thats for sure.
    well maybe electric picnic
    if the sun shines

byebye
    lauren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 draiocht23

Had a deadly weekend - the crowd (well, the couple of hundred who turned up) was really nice (better than your average festival) and the music was great. The incessant rain and the mud were a bit of a pain in the a**e but it's Ireland - we have to grin/grimace and bear it.

Trying to get outta there on Monday was a bit of a mission tho...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Spider_Baby

draiocht23 wrote: »
    Had a deadly weekend - the crowd (well, the couple of hundred who turned up) was really nice (better than your average festival) and the music was great. The incessant rain and the mud were a bit of a pain in the a**e but it's Ireland - we have to grin/grimace and bear it

I agree completely. Everyone there was in a sort of "feck it, lets make the most of this!" mood :) Such a nice crowd of people in the campsite. The staff in the food thingy in the campsite were really sound too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

I won tickets for it & was looking forward to it and then it turned out I couldn't go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

40 tents? sounds awesome!