Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I'm with the band"

• 18-08-2008 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭

Myself and my mates are going to a couple gigs this week and were telling stories of previous times we met the band or whoever after, either at the gig or in a hotel afterwards (one of the funniest being one of the lads being punched by a drunken Phil Anselmo).

Anybody have funny stories of meeting bands/famous people after gigs? Where'd you meet them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Met yore ma in the green room after a gig one time. Everyone was having a go of her.

/obligatory boards response

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I sooo wanna tell my story but I cant :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

faceman wrote: »
    Of course you can faceman. Impossible is nothing. Free your mind of the clutter and let those fat little fingers tell us your illicit story.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Pighead wrote: »
    [peer pressure]Of course you can faceman. Impossible is nothing. Free your mind of the clutter and let those fat little fingers tell us your illicit story.[/peer pressure]

Fix that for you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I sooo wanna tell my story but I cant

Bout the time dickie rock gave ye a seeing to in the back of a ford transit and his wee chap "spat" all over ye? We already know. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

I really couldn't be arsed meeting any bands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Wee Daniel O'Donnell met me once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Look we could do the whole to-ing and fro-ing. Trying to convince you to tell us while you pretend you can't and then oh wonders of wonders you "reluctantly" tell us anyway.......... or you could forgo all that and just tell us now.

"You won't believe what I just found out!"
    "Go on what?"
    "I can't tell you"
    "You're an awful bollocks you know that. You're off my phone a friend for free list"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

Yo epic you sound really interesting! :/ You fail.

I haven't met any bands but i would seriously like to meet Muse. And i've missed their last two gigs here! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

gamblitis wrote: »
    Yo epic you sound really interesting! :/ You fail.

I haven't met any bands but i would seriously like to meet Muse. And i've missed their last two gigs here! :(

Oh I fail? Dammit! Can I start again.. or what?:confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I really couldn't be arsed meeting any bands

For the record, I agree.

Why would you bother?

Nah you just fail.

Anyway anyone ever met Chris Cornell.Is he a dick or whats the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Oh I fail? Dammit! Can I start again.. or what?:confused::rolleyes:

Do not pass Go, Do not collect €100.

I've met a few bands and DJ's during my time as a lowly concert security guard. Met most of G-Unit doing their warm up, sound chaps y'know. Met Mick Jagger as he came off stage, well he kinda fell on me so I'd no choice in the matter.

Gloria Gaynor touched my body once, but she'd no choice in the matter then. :o

Oh yeah and met the Pussy Cat Dolls, was with the missus so couldn't throw the leg over any of em. Y'know the way it is :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Des Hynes

Liam Gallagher asked me for a toke of my spliff about 10 years ago at an Ash gig in London.

I said no.

connundrum wrote: »
    Oh yeah and met the Pussy Cat Dolls, was with the missus so couldn't throw the leg over any of em. Y'know the way it is :P

Ha throw the leg over anyway! Your woman gonna get pissed at ya for trying it on with a famous chick? I think not. She may even like to spectate! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

connundrum wrote: »

Used to be $200. Feckin' recession is even affecting board games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

met Garth Brooks once in Oklahoma. nice enough bloke. met his missus Trisha yearwood too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

was talking to Jonny Greenwood at the bar in the temple bar music centre about 8 years ago for about 30mins without realising who he was. only found out when I went back to my mates and they wanted me to introduce them.

same thing with larry from u2. only made worse by the fact that I was in the lobby of their studios at the time. I thought he was a roadie or something and was peering through the door into the rehearsal room the entire time i was talking to him to see if any of the 'band' were there. i'm not very smart.

i play with a band who have a small following in the south dublin 16-18year old female market. it's actually unbelievable how star struck some of the fans get. panic attacks, wailing crying, the works...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

I think i met the killers last night i was working in the academy and was talking to these american guys backstage and at the time I was even like they actually look like the Killers.... then I find out theyre playing in the academy on wed...

wonder if it was them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭scottledeuce

Myself and a mate snack backstage at Ruisrock this year by knocking over a portaloo and using it as leg up to get over the fence.

Got chased by security but met Bullet for my valentine who proceeded to give us backstage passes when we added the bit about there being someone in the toilet at the time,
    http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=133852899&PhotoAlbumId=8273034634&PhotoId=8273232328

This was shortly followed by a free bar, naive Finnish girls who figured as I was speaking english and had a bmfv backstage pass that I must be in the band and were more than happy to let me sign their bits along with other stuff

http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=17725299&PhotoAlbumId=8305587586&PhotoId=8305657885

Ended up getting pretty drunk and taking a piss in apocalyptica's green room and stealing their pineapple...

good times:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Met Roger Glover (Deep Purple) before their last gig at the point (Skynyrd and Purple 35 years - 2004)

He was coming out of Brown Thomas with his wife and I nearly shát myself.

Probably doesnt rank big in celeb terms but I was and am a huge deep purple fan, I learned bass playing along with machine head when I was younger so it was a big thing for me to get to talk to him. Absolute gent, polite, asked me if I was going to the show shook my hand and said see you there

Later on at the gig we got up the front, doing what you do at concerts and after Highway Star he spotted us and walked over to the edge of the stage to say hi - not that we could hear anything but he waved and motioned to me. After smoke on the water he came back over and threw his pick to us - proud moment :)

Regret not asking him if Richie Blackmore really was a prick....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Met Republic of Loose over in London last year when they were playing a tiny bar in Camden. They were all out of it...After the gig I went to the toilet and the bassist went into one of the stalls, guitarist comes runnin in "I'll just join you in there for a minute!" My guess is lines off the toilet seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

bluto63 wrote: »
    Met Republic of Loose over in London last year when they were playing a tiny bar in Camden. They were all out of it...After the gig I went to the toilet and the bassist went into one of the stalls, guitarist comes runnin in "I'll just join you in there for a minute!" My guess is lines off the toilet seat.

NO WAY!!!! A band that do drugs? That's amazing. Really. You're like Sherlock Holmes the way you figured that one out.

Bands are just as boring and/or interesting as everyone else. It's not that much craic meeting them. An ex of mine was in music and through her I met a bunch of bands and musicians that would be very famous and/or successful. You know what? Most of the time the crew were much better craic.