Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****ing Flood Waters...

• 16-08-2008 6:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭

**** sake, I'm sick of this ****

I live in Mountrath in Laois, we have a small river called the white horse river running through but when it rains in town and up the mountains we ger flooded...ONLY because the Laois County Council aren't dredging the river! The fisheries board and wildlife conservation people are involved too.

Now, my grandmother lives in a house beside the river and her house has been flooded 3 times in the last year, the third time being today. And the wildlife conservation idiots are saying that there are mussels down river somewhere will be affected if the river is dredged as a result of the silt...now, when the river floods, which happens all the time, there's loads of silt, so wouldn't THAT kill them?!

The Laois county council are putting god damn mussels ahead of people, my grandmother is 80, her neighbours who are also elderly have had their houses flooded too.

We've been on the radio and the papers about this and the council are just putting it off and putting it off.

The whole country is getting this crap, I'm in Waterford now and they've been flooded out of it too

****ing sick of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I like rain.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I like mussels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

mmmmmm wet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

It seems to be a fact of life in this country.
    People always seem to come in second place to animals and environment.
    Before I get slammed for being anti environmentalist, just think there should be a bit of proportion. I f a person home is threatened by flooding from a river efforts should be made to protect their home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Darwin

OP I too live in Mountrath - the rain this morning was unbelievable, the kids play area opposite the health centre is completely submerged. I saw the mess you are talking about - the fire brigade were pumping out the area. Looks like we are in for another dosing tonight will it ever end!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Our town was flooded a couple of weeks ago, but we deserved it because we're the "Gomorrah" of Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

red menace wrote: »
    It seems to be a fact of life in this country.
    People always seem to come in second place to animals and environment.
    Before I get slammed for being anti environmentalist, just think there should be a bit of proportion. I f a person home is threatened by flooding from a river efforts should be made to protect their home.
    Have to agree there, Unless it was to do with endangered species
    (Welcome red menace)

I laugh at the idea that theres somebody out there who will actively oppose a council, just to save the mussel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

JangoFett wrote: »
    We've been on the radio and the papers about this and the council are just putting it off and putting it off.

And now here you are on boards.ie - what do you hope to achieve by this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

testicle wrote: »
    And now here you are on boards.ie - what do you hope to achieve by this?

What do you think he should do? Dredge the river himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Probably shouldnt have built the house next to a river.

Normally dredging is only carried out for an area where silt would affect the passage of boats, i.e. in harbours or canals. Not sure if it would even help your problem as if the river is gonna rise, it's gonna rise no matter how deep the bed is. If anything the only thing that would protect you would be to build levies or embankments.

Also the mussels are probably protected under an EU directive so its not really the council that's holding up the process.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That's what you get for living next to a river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

That's what you get for living next to a river.
    Yeah, always say that when I see old slags moaning on the news when we get a bit of rain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

get a fu*kin houseboat so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

op, has your granny lived in the same house for eighty years? if so then either she must be used to the flooding by now or maybe there is a new development/estate or something that has taken part of the drainage from the flood zone??

also with regards the local mussels.. actually the native mussel is already facing a dire kicking from the european zebra mussel right now, we actually do need to protect it believe it or not..!

(edit to add... this is after hours.. not the conservation or angling forum etc, id try them for a serious answer)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

this is what happens when short termism dominates those in the planning offices. building on floodplains should never have been allowed in the first place.

oh and i for one would like to welcome our new "raincloud" overlords!

(its the new yorema)!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'm hungry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

This sounds ridiculous, feck the animals, dredge away. The residents should come first.

And no I'm not an enviromentalist so dont bother trying to make me feel guilty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

What OP should have named the thread: ****ing Laois County Council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭crushproof

just by chance........any recent new developments built on the previous floodplains around Mountrath.
    It seems to have been the crazy during the housing boom times of 1993 - 2007. "Oh look at all that fertile land along the river...lets concrete it over and sure all the water that previously flooded it every year (there by soaking up water that would have flooded older settlements downriver) will magically disappear!"

Another example of developers getting into the beds of Irish politicans

Building on historic floodplains, good idea or what????

NO!

even stupider are the localcoco's who granted permission for then!!
    edit: pity the poor sods who bought them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Joking aside lads, I live in Ballyroan (village in Laois) and we were flooded out of it today, Second imte in two weeks. No firebrigade as they were in mountrath. Cvil defence came and scratched their heads and drove off

the water was less then a half inch away from coming in my door, rose a good foot or so, shed and everthing in it is ruined. The local river burst its banks, and the complete and utter shock of being told there is nothing anybody can do. We were told to go in and start moving our funiture, I am not particularly house proud but my floors were damn expensive and the thoughts of them and my furniture being runied almost killed me.Its very upsetting and I had a good cry over it. So im with op, i can sympatise completely, i was laughing at the good of it, until I reaised the seriousness of it. Laois county council better get their finger out, they gave the planning permission in the first place, we took enough pictures today to seriously shame the lack of support we recieve from any authorities.:mad:

On a side note it was out neighbours who got a water pump, another who got us sandbages and another who got a truck to deliver it all.Thank christ for my neighboours.

gogo wrote: »
    Thank christ for my neighboours.

come the heart of the recession and well all suddenly remember these people that we wont be trying to outdo anymore!

(sorry thread hijack)!

flanum wrote: »
    come the heart of the recession and well all suddenly remember these people that we wont be trying to outdo anymore!

(sorry thread hijack)!

At times like this people (hopefully) will help each other, usually because workijng together they may all save their homes, whereas working alone they save nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

(sorry thread hijack)!

Fortunatley, I'm the Missus Jones of this neighbourhood, I've never had to outdo anyone. Even my sandbags today were pretty delightful, Bord na mona loose peat briquette bags no less, none of that foreigh muck.

Seriously it was nice to see everyone (bar one or two) mucking in. One lad, twenty eight or so just sat in his doorway, while a neighbour (girl,42) carried bags to his door. Lazy fcuk, would have let him drown myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

JangoFett wrote: »
    **** sake, I'm sick of this ****

I live in Mountrath in Laois, we have a small river called the white horse river running through but when it rains in town and up the mountains we ger flooded...ONLY because the Laois County Council aren't dredging the river! The fisheries board and wildlife conservation people are involved too.

Now, my grandmother lives in a house beside the river and her house has been flooded 3 times in the last year, the third time being today. And the wildlife conservation idiots are saying that there are mussels down river somewhere will be affected if the river is dredged as a result of the silt...now, when the river floods, which happens all the time, there's loads of silt, so wouldn't THAT kill them?!

The Laois county council are putting god damn mussels ahead of people, my grandmother is 80, her neighbours who are also elderly have had their houses flooded too.

The whole country is getting this crap, I'm in Waterford now and they've been flooded out of it too

****ing sick of it.

gather all the flood water into drinking bottles and deliver them to the council.

intelligent people have been beating the face off the ennis city council for years (or the developers have been getting face beat off) cos theres 1 big flood plain in the heart of ennis and besides being good place for wildlife its also, you know, a flood plain. but someone wants to build on it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

this is what happens when short termism dominates those in the planning offices. building on floodplains should never have been allowed in the first place.
    Exactly. Heads should fúcking roll over the siting of the houses. They won't of course.

Dredging in 90% of cases won't make a blind bit of difference. In that I agree with the council, or more likely a gov/EU directive as the usual monkeys of councils would do it anyway. The rivers of this country were almost destroyed(some were) by a massive dredging program in the 60s.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Krieg wrote: »
    Have to agree there, Unless it was to do with endangered species

Actually... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freshwater_pearl_mussel

also with regards the local mussels.. actually the native mussel is already facing a dire kicking from the european zebra mussel right now, we actually do need to protect it believe it or not..!

That's a different mussel you're thinking of, the FW pearl mussel is not threatened by the zebra mussel cos they don't share the same habitat. Swan mussel is the one.

Yep. If you build/buy a house in a floodplain, don't be surprised when it floods. Its a fucking flood plain. Why should the rest of us pay for a river to be dredged cos you were too fucking stupid to build somewhere safe in the first place?