Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just seen 'Wanted'

• 13-08-2008 4:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

And it didn't make much sense to me! Holes in the plot you could drive a bus through - or maybe that was just my interpretation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Yeah terrible storyline. Don't think there's anything to get. I liked the action scenes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 buffalo bill

I won't go into it too much at the risk of putting up some spoilers but did your version show a lot of text in a different language? For example some of the screens when he was at the cash point - the text was not english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

I won't go into it too much at the risk of putting up some spoilers but did your version show a lot of text in a different language? For example some of the screens when he was at the cash point - the text was not english.
    Piracy! Caught rapppihhhhh!!! :p

I thought it was great. It was made to be a big budget summer no brainer. it never tried to win any oscars, so ye cant moan that it wont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Question:
    So, where they just taking orders from a big sewing wheel???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

I think its safe to say it was the worst film I've ever seen. I would have walked out if I wasn't there with the people who dragged me there in the first place.

unreggd wrote: »
    Piracy! Caught rapppihhhhh!!! :p

I thought it was great. It was made to be a big budget summer no brainer. it never tried to win any oscars, so ye cant moan that it wont

I'm in the Far East - try finding a movie that HAS been legally sourced. That said, I think this one was a screener.

I still don't understand how that text change works - do they do this on screener versions?

Bashing the film for being brain dead is kinda missing the point. Wanted is junk food for the brain. It's loud, nice to look at and full of jaw droppingly stupidly awesome moments and it's certainly more entertaining than the source material.

True but given it clearly had a huge amount of money spent on the sets, actors, special effects, lighting etc and looked great, couldn't just some of that pie be carved up to pay for a bit of storyline?

Galvasean wrote: »
    Question:

Supposedly - but it was a loom!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

As I understood it, Morgan Freeman's character "co-ordinated" the distribution of the orders from the Loom of Fate,
    or at least he did until all the assassin's names came up
    . No explanation was ever given as to how that started or why, or at least not one worth a damn.

Then again, this was another example of a film where the only exciting bits have already been shown in the trailer. Donald Clark said it best in his review for The Ticket - it feels like a film written by a committee of boys for whom puberty is still only a rumour. Don't think I've ever been that bored by an action film before, I actually dozed off while watching it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I really liked it. Very amusing in places and great fun. Loved the completely absurd set-pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

the bit ill always remember is when leaving hearing 2 young lads goin on and on about how ya get to see angelinas ass! thats all they took away from the movie!

i consider wanted in the same category as snakes on a plane....pure fun, leave your brain at the door, popcorn movie! i really enjoyed it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Good film, enjoyed it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

It wasn't great but found it an ok flick for just switching the brain off and going "pfft, me bollix" a lot and laughing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Galvasean wrote: »
    Question:

Yes. Yes they were :(.

As a film it's pretty **** but it does get kudos for some nice action scenes.

Highlight: car chase scene

Lowlight:
    "Aha, we are actually the bad guys!" You don't say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I fell asleep during it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

For a movie based on a comic book (read that last bit again), I had it in mind that it wasn't going to be perfect. So it exceeded my expectations really!

The action had me glued to be honest (and yes Jolie's bits). But the
    bit with the rats.......I was mumbling "it's based on a comic, it's based on a comic".

chin_grin wrote: »
    For a movie based on a comic book (read that last bit again), I had it in mind that it wasn't going to be perfect. So it exceeded my expectations really!

The action had me glued to be honest (and yes Jolie's bits). But the
    bit with the rats.......I was mumbling "it's based on a comic, it's based on a comic".

You do realise that the film bears absolutly no resemblence to the comic. Bar the names and a few lines of dialogue they share absolutly nothing in common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

The book is about evil superheroes and has some genuinely cool bits.

But is constantly let down my Mark Millars inability to write decent dialogue and the fact that every villian in his stories seems to be exactly the same.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

You do realise that the film bears absolutly no resemblence to the comic. Bar the names and a few lines of dialogue they share absolutly nothing in common.

I would highly recommend the book to anyone who thought the film was immature: the film is like Ulysees compared to the foul-mouthed mean-spiritness of the comic. The book is so spectacularly OTT I wasn't quite sure if I was enjoying the satire or merely repulsed. Bears little to no resemblence to the film alright: far more rape, genocide and senseless murder in the book.

As for the film, I enjoyed it very much. It was kind of refreshing to see a film that didn't take itself anywhere bordering near seriously. Along with Iron Man, I think it was the pleasant light relief of the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

But is constantly let down my Mark Millars inability to write decent dialogue

I'll admit at this point that my knowledge of comics is very very limited but from reading on boards it would appear that the general consensus is the book is poorly written.

It was one of the first comic books I did collect though...and I did like the ridiculousness of it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Saw "Wanted" last weekend. Angelina Jolie was very subdued in her lead female actress role, in comparison to previous film roles. Expected more from her. Morgan Freeman failed in his role as the lead guru of the Fraternity, too. Other than that, it was a fast paced action film that served as a good distraction for a weekend outing. 6/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Just finished watching it.

It's totally unbelievable but what do you expect when the trailer shows someone bending a bullet. The action scenes were good and it was a decent movie as long as you can suspend all sense of reality for about 2 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

There's a film that expects you to leave your brain at the door, and then there's a film which seems to assume you never had one to begin with, this is Wanted. It wasn't fun, it was ****e, the action bits weren't just James-Bond-improbable, they were crap. James Mc Avoys accent was atrocious, I think he was doing it on purpose. I was expecting it to be bad, but it seriously was the worst film I've ever seen. Angelina Jolie's BACK was the best character in it (not her character, her BACK). And how did that Russian guy from the Nightwatch film manage to do such a crap Russian accent????

chin_grin wrote: »

That bit was kinda pointless when you think about it.
    They didnt kill anybody, just nuicenced them, and by the time James McIvoy got in they were well prepared.
    Also, if one of the bad guys had a rocket launcher (with all their money I'm sure they could afford some) the whole truck stunt wouldn't have worked too well

Maybe thats the problem, you shouldnt THINK about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

did the original have ratbombs in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Stupid as hell, the first few minutes are the only good parts in the movie.

james mcavoy character was an asshole

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

did the original have ratbombs in it?

Nope. It pretty much is completely different. For example, one of the supporting characters in the comic is call ****head, who is quite litreally a being made of poo, while another ally is called the Dollmaster (who attacks people with his evil puppets of doom).

So yeah, the film is a wee bit different.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Nope. It pretty much is completely different. For example, one of the supporting characters in the comic is call ****head, who is quite litreally a being made of poo, while another ally is called the Dollmaster (who attacks people with his evil puppets of doom).

So yeah, the film is a wee bit different.

Most of the reason for this difference is that the film option was sold on the basis of the first issue of the comic, at which point hardly any of the more extreme ideas had become apparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

The shameless Red Bull plugging was cringworthy

Nice,fun summer feature though, nothing deep, and full of plot wholes if you actually think about the content and events of the movie, but why the hell would you do that for a movie that contains characters who can curve bullets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

IMO "Wanted" was the comedy of the year. I could not stop laughing throughout, I think I came out of the cinema more stupid than when I went in. Just the ending alone...
    McAvoy: hey everyone, Morgan Freeman has been making fake pieces-of-cloth-what-tell-us-who-should-die because one said that he has to die!
    Freeman: Yes its true, but look what I have here, these never seen before and oh so obviously fake pieces-of-cloth-what-tell-us-who-should-die telling us that every member of this club needs to die!
    Joilie: The fact that you (Freeman) obviously just faked those pieces-of-cloth-what-tell-us-who-should-die in case this happened, does not occur to me, so I will now shoot in a circle and hit myself in the head!
    Me: Outstanding!:D

Only one of a few enormous holes....
    How did they all survive the train crash. Why didn't pops mention anything until it was too late - he had more than one chance. They must have known the limo was bullet proof and had an open sun roof as they already had plan b arranged after he fails to kill the guy first time. Why is the guy in the limo still cruising casually along after a killer has just put two bullets into his window - surely pull over or try to escape or something..... the list is near endless.

and this was by the same guy as nightwatch etc was it, those movies were wierd and silly but good, this was just forced.