Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clay shoot coming up.

• 13-08-2008 11:11am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭

The boards.ie day out seems to have fallen by the wayside.

If anyone is interested, our local club is having a clayshoot on Sunday 24th August in Lakelands Shooting Grounds, Dalystown, Mullingar.

One of the events is a 5 man team shoot for an annual cup. It's shot over 30 targets DTL & Sporting. We usually have around 15 teams competing, mostly game clubs from Meath/Westmeath.

Maybe you could get a boards.ie team to enter?

Even if you don't enter a team, there is an open shoot with a high gun prize of €300 - not to be sneezed at!

Details and entry form are on the Dunderry Gun Club website - www.dunderrygunclub.bravehost.com

On the same topic - would any of the Dublin based boardsies be up for a days shooting in Courtlough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Got a match on the 24th, so can't make that, but a day in Cortlough would be a good laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I would be on for both the competition and on a boards day in courtlough.

I have not posted here before but am a keen marksman. I do have one problem regarding the competition (Two if you include transport). The gun is not licensed to me. It is licensed to my father. I am waiting for the license application to be approved so I can transfer the gun from him to me. Would there be a problem with me entering the competition with a gun that is not licensed to me specifically?

As for the day in courtlough, I am definitely on for it. Let me know when and I am there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭bayliner

am trying to get a team together for this shoot!
    assume there still individual comps on the day???

id be on for joining a team for it.

Bayliner, PM me if you want.

syklops wrote: »
    id be on for joining a team for it.

Bayliner, PM me if you want.
    sorry dude was reffering to my club team here:D:D...
    bit of a struggle with lads gone on holidays etc..
    but think have 5 to go,,apologies for the misunderstanding:)

PAB can i enter team for shoot via email and pay on sunday?
    says entries have to be in by wed....
    and what time does it start?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

bayliner wrote: »
    PAB can i enter team for shoot via email and pay on sunday?
    says entries have to be in by wed....
    and what time does it start?

No problem!
    We've a slight change in our usual format this year and I think I still have the old entry form on the web. We'll take entries on the day.
    We'll run the open shoot from 9.30am and run the team shoot alongside with the last teams done by 3.00pm. This will give lads a chance to come early, shoot a few lines in the open shoot as practice, and then shoot the team. It's over the same traps, so when a team shows up to shoot, say the DTL, then we'll just stop the open DTL competition for a few minutes, put the 5 man team through, and then resume the open!

We look forward to seeing a boards.ie team! Put a few faces to the names.:cool:

have emailed a team entry on last night,, so see ya sunday all goin well,,
    you should know who i am by the name of the team when you see it:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Im off tomorrow so if anyone is up for joining me for a couple of hours busting clays at courtlough, let yourself be known.

bitemybanger, Let me know what time your going out and ill join you. I'm not officially off and i have a meeting in the meeting in the morning sometime, but from lunch or after lunch I would love to go.

hey Skylops, in going to head over at around 1pm, too early??

Bitemybanger, that depends, where are you heading from?

syklops wrote: »
    Bitemybanger, that depends, where are you heading from?

Im going to aim to be there for 1.30, im fairly good with time.
    Im heading From Navan

fair enough. I PM'ed you my number. Ring me tomorrow round one and ill let you know my eta at courtlough.

See you tomorrow!

have emailed a team entry on last night,, so see ya sunday all goin well,,
    you should know who i am by the name of the team when you see it:eek::eek:

Go that...thanks!
    Look forward to seeing you all there.
    I'll be out of touch now until next Saturday night - off for a few days down to the World Championships:D

I'm refereeing for the 3 days so pop in a say hello if anyones there:)

have to say really enjoyed yesterdays shoot and fair play to denis and jason and ALL the lads that helped out on a fantasticly well run shoot,,
    we enjoyed ourselves big time!!! and would like to thank the organisers for a pleasant day out... top marks guys and nice to stick a face on the PAB...:D:D:D.............
    from the solr team......
    i know we have left out loads of guys but to every one involved well done and i hope you guys did as well as expected.....
    see ye soon please god...

have to say really enjoyed yesterdays shoot and fair play to denis and jason and ALL the lads that helped out on a fantasticly well run shoot,,
    we enjoyed ourselves big time!!! and would like to thank the organisers for a pleasant day out... top marks guys and nice to stick a face on the PAB...:D:D:D.............
    from the solr team......
    i know we have left out loads of guys but to every one involved well done and i hope you guys did as well as expected.....
    see ye soon please god...

Glad you enjoyed it and congrats on winning the cup:)
    Look forward to seeing you all next year and maybe a few more from boards.ie!
    When I recover I'll get the results and a few pics up on the website
    http://www.dunderrygunclub.bravehost.com/

Thanks again for your support!

PS - I did well yesterday.....fired 11 cartridges (damn that 2nd barrell) and took home a prize:D